Be sure your car is properly insured before hitting the roads of Utah. Whether you’ve recently moved to Utah or are simply shopping around for a cheaper rate, we can help. Finding the appropriate auto insurance for you in Utah entails keeping up with the state’s regulations. Here you’ll find information on Utah’s car insurance requirements and the best car insurance rates and companies in the state.
Car Insurance Utah
Some of Utah’s most recognizable landmarks are the Colorado Plateau, Arches National Park, and the Great Salt Lake. Driving one of Utah’s 27 scenic byways, such as the Logan Canyon Scenic Byway, Mirror Lake Scenic Byway, the Trail of the Ancients, or Highway 12, is a great way to take in the state’s breathtaking scenery. Keep your car insured as you explore Utah’s stunning landscape. In the event that a law enforcement official in Utah requests proof of auto insurance, all drivers in the state must comply.
Utah law mandates the following coverages at the bare minimum for drivers on the road:
- Liability for bodily harm sustained: $25,000 per injured person and $65,000 per accident
- Accidental property damage liability is limited to $15,000.
Insurance for individual injuries: $3,000 per incident Uninsured motorist coverage limits are $25,000 per person and $65,000 per accident. $25,000 per person and $60,000 per accident for underinsured motorist coverage.
Car Insurance Utah Requirements
Minimum liability limits and types of car insurance are among the requirements needed in Utah. The standard in the insurance business is to have coverage of at least $100,000 per person and $300,000 per incident for bodily injury liability.
As a no-fault (see definitions) state, Utah requires that you have at least $3,000 in PIP (medical payments) coverage in addition to liability insurance. The following are car insurance requirements in Utah, these are to be included in Utah car insurance policies:
Minimum Requirement for Liability:
$25,000 for each victim of physical harm
$65,000 for each victim of a physical injury.
$15,000 in property damage per incident
Private medical insurance, or PIP, The minimum PIP coverage required by Utah law is $3,000. Personal Injury Protection (PIP) frequently covers medical expenses incurred as a result of an accident.
Protection against drivers who aren’t properly insured Those who have car insurance but still worry about getting into an accident with someone who doesn’t have insurance might choose this additional protection.
The policy includes coverage for both collision and comprehensive losses. If your automobile is damaged in an accident with another vehicle, an object, or a rollover, your collision insurance will cover the costs. Despite the fact that it is not required by law, most financial institutions require collision insurance as a loan requirement. Comprehensive auto insurance provides protection against a variety of risks, including vandalism, theft, broken glass, hail, high winds, and flooding.
If you can afford it, carrying more insurance than what’s required by law is a good idea. Consider how much coverage you’ll actually need in the event of a major insurance claim.
Car Insurance Utah Rate
Minimum car insurance in Utah costs $539 per year, while complete coverage costs $1,510 per year on average. This average fee is significantly less than the national average for complete coverage ($2,014) and is also substantially less than the national average for basic coverage ($622). Since Utah is not as populous as some other states, drivers may be safer on the roads, leading to cheaper car insurance rates.
The average annual rate of car insurance for Utah drivers is also cheaper than the national average. The average cost of minimum coverage insurance in Arizona is $587 per year and the cost of a full coverage policy is $1,810 per year. In Nevada, the cost of a minimum coverage policy is $973 per year and the cost of a full coverage policy is $2,779.
Other factors besides the coverages, limits, and deductibles you select may have an impact on your car insurance rates in Utah.
- The specifics of the insured vehicle (year, manufacturer, and model)
- How often and how far do you drive each year?
- Geographical and other demographic indicators
- If there are any discounts available,
Best Car Insurance Utah
Utah drivers may expect to pay an average of $539 per year for the bare minimum liability coverage required by law and an average of $1,510 per year for full coverage, which also includes collision and comprehensive coverage.
We did the legwork and found the top car insurance companies in Utah. Our research indicates that Progressive, Auto-Owners, State Farm, and Geico are among the best in the industry.
Geico provides additional opportunities to save through multi-vehicle policies, bundling, association with a company, school, or the military, and more. You may get a quotation, make policy changes, get roadside assistance, and file a claim all through the carrier’s convenient mobile app and website gateway. Geico may not be the best option for customers who want to conduct business in person in the state of Utah due to a dearth of local agents.
- Some of the state’s lowest average premiums
- Powerful tools for managing policies in cyberspace
- Salt Lake City is the only local branch.
- Less variety in coverage than in rivals
According to J.D. Power’s customer satisfaction statistics, this is one of the best carriers in the entire country, and Utah is no exception. Even if it seems that client satisfaction is a top concern for the insurance company, not everyone is eligible for coverage. Members of the military, both active and retired, and their families are eligible to join USAA. USAA provides a wide variety of discounts and coverage choices, but their military-specific alternatives, such as a possible discount for storing your vehicle on post, set them apart.
- Military-specific policies
- Extremely high levels of satisfaction among previous customers
- Strict conditions for participation
- There are not many community organizations
#3. State Farm
State Farm is not only the market leader in auto insurance in the United States, but it also offers a wide variety of policy choices, discounts, and safe-driving incentives. Two examples of Utah’s innovative approach to helping drivers save money are the usage-based Drive Safe and Save program and the Steer Clear program for teenagers. According to the 2023 J.D. Power Auto Insurance Study, State Farm is the best insurer in the Southwest, and Utah drivers who have State Farm are the happiest. However, our average rate study suggests that State Farm is not the cheapest insurance provider in Utah, so it’s possible that consumers on a tight budget might look elsewhere.
- Throughout the state, there are a number of unique local agents.
- Top-rated mobile application
- Compared to average rates, it may be more expensive than competing services.
- There is no option to buy accident forgiveness.
Drivers looking for flexible coverage at a reasonable price may find Progressive to be a good option. To help customers obtain affordable coverage, Progressive provides a number of discount options, including the Snapshot telematics program and the Name Your Price tool. The 2023 J.D. Power U.S. Auto Insurance Study found, however, that Progressive was among the lowest-rated providers. Customer reviews can give prospective Progressive policyholders an idea of what it’s like to be a customer of the company.
- The Your Price tool could simplify the buying procedure.
- Mobile app and web portal for a robust digital presence.
- J.D. Power’s measure of customer satisfaction is below average.
- Standard pricing: you might be able to save more money with another service.
Due in large part to its extensive array of endorsement options, this regional insurer made our list of the top Utah auto insurance providers. Auto owners provide specialized endorsements in addition to more standard coverage options like gap insurance. Reduced value and rental and hotel costs in the event of an accident are two examples of these outlays. If you live in the Southwest, where Auto-Owners had a lower-than-average score from J.D. Power in its 2023 Auto Insurance Study, you might want to talk to people you know who already have coverage with the business to get an idea of what it’s like.
- A++ (Superior) rating from A.M.
- Many coverage endorsements are available
- Limiting it to just 26 states
- No one but an agent can get you a quote.
How to Find the Best Car Insurance in Utah
Your specific requirements and budget will determine which Utah auto insurance policy is ideal for you. Think about these tips as you begin to narrow down your options for insurance providers and plans.
#1. Think About Utah’s Insurance Requirements.
Liability insurance coverage requirements in Utah are quite strict. Personal injury protection (PIP) coverage is mandatory in Utah because it is a no-fault state. PIP covers medical expenses and lost wages incurred as a result of an accident, regardless of responsibility.
#2. Think About What the Lender Needs
The minimum insurance requirements set forth by Utah statutes may not be the only determining factor. You should expect to increase your liability limits and carry full coverage if you finance your vehicle. While Utah mandates a minimum of 25/65/15 liability coverage, most lenders instead employ a standard of 100/300/50.
#3. Think About Your Specific Requirements.
Car insurance is a highly customized product, despite having to meet some regulations, such as those imposed by the Utah Insurance Department or your financial lender. You may get an insurance policy that fits your needs and your budget with a little bit of homework or the assistance of a professional insurance agent.
Which Car Insurance Is the Cheapest One?
vehicle-Owners provides the most affordable vehicle insurance rates for medium-sized businesses, at $337 per year or $28 monthly on average. State Farm is typically the least expensive auto insurance choice for drivers in 15 different states.
Is It Illegal to Drive Without Insurance in Utah?
In Utah, using a motor vehicle without insurance is a class B misdemeanor. Without insurance, drivers risk losing their license, paying a minimum $400 fine, and being forced to carry an SR-22 insurance policy.
Is Car Insurance High in Utah?
Utah has auto insurance premiums that are below the national average. This implies that you have a decent chance of getting cheap and comprehensive auto insurance in Utah. Listed below, we’ll begin with the least expensive options for vehicle insurance in the state and work our way up to the most expensive.
Can Cops See if You Have Insurance in Utah?
During normal traffic stops, checkpoints, and at the site of an accident, Utah law enforcement authorities are allowed to request evidence of insurance. The state also uses an electronic monitoring system to keep tabs on the insurance status of every vehicle on the road.
Is Utah a No Fault State?
The state of Utah follows the “No-Fault” system. This means that the first $3,000 in medical bills following an accident have to be paid by the policyholder, regardless of who was at fault. There is a law mandating this, often called the “PIP Statute” (for “Personal Injury Protection”).
What Insurance Is Mandatory in Utah?
The state of Utah requires all licensed drivers to carry minimum bodily injury liability insurance of $25,000. The average cost of injuries per collision is $65,000. Each accident has a $15,000 property damage limit.
Which Insurance Company Is Most Expensive?
Hanover Insurance Group typically has the highest-priced auto insurance rates, according to our survey results. Insurance premiums for this firm might be more than 400% higher than the national average, on average, for both liability and comprehensive coverage.
- General Liability Insurance Utah: The Complete Guide
- STATE FARM AUTO INSURANCE REVIEW 2023
- Best Car Insurance in Utah: Top 6 in 2023