什么是消费税以及由谁支付?

什么是消费税

销售税和消费税,有时也称为消费税,是重要的收入来源,占所有州税收的一半以上。 这些税在所有 XNUMX 个州都征收,并且经常被消费者视为“隐性”税,因为它们分散在多次购买中,而不是一次性支付。 本文简要介绍了房地产、燃料和汽车消费税的支付方式以及支付者。

什么是消费税?

消费税是对特定产品或服务征收的税。 对香烟、酒精饮料、苏打水、燃料、保险费、娱乐活动和博彩广泛征收消费税,它们通常只占州和地方税收收入的一小部分且可变,而且在较小程度上,联邦税收。

什么是联邦消费税?

联邦政府对各种商品和服务征收联邦消费税。 商家可能会或可能不会将其包含在价格中。 这意味着消费者不会直接支付这些税款,因为他们会支付任何其他类型的税款,例如所得税。 燃料、机票、烟草和酒精都定期缴纳联邦消费税。

谁支付消费税?

某些商品和服务,例如燃料和酒精,需要缴纳消费税。 企业直接缴纳这些税款。 这种税收经常转嫁给消费者,消费者可能知道也可能不知道它已支付给商家,因为它已包含在价格中。 这在燃料行业很普遍,当公司在客户在加油站支付的价格中增加消费税时。

消费税如何运作

消费税一般是对企业征收的。 许多是由商家支付的,商家随后以更高的价格将税款转嫁给客户。 商家向批发商缴纳消费税,并将其计入产品定价,从而提高整个零售价格。 1 因此,大多数消费税可能对客户直接可见,也可能不直接可见。 然而,一些消费税是由消费者直接支付的,例如财产税和对某些退休账户活动征税。

消费税可由联邦、州或市政府征收。 虽然所得税资金是联邦和州政府最大的收入来源,但消费税收入只占总收入的一小部分。

消费税主要是公司税。 它不同于公司必须履行的其他义务,例如所得税。 收取和收取消费税的企业必须定期提交 720 表格联邦消费税申报表,并包括季度付款。 2 消费税征收员还必须履行其职责,在必要时将消费税转嫁给州和市政府。 商家可能有资格在其年度所得税申报中获得消费税减免或抵免。

消费税分为两类:

  • 从价税: 这些消费税是对某些商品或服务征收的固定百分比税率。
  • 特定项目的税收: 这些是适用于特定购买的固定美元金额。

在特定情况下,政府可能会对具有重大社会成本的商品征收消费税,例如香烟和酒精。 这就是为什么这些税有时被称为罪恶税。
汽车燃料、机票、香烟、酒精、与健康相关的商品和与健康相关的服务是美国创收最多的消费税。

从价消费税

Ad valorem 是一个拉丁词,意思是“根据价值”。 它是按百分比征收的。 因此,根据商品或服务的价值征收消费税。

例如,美国国税局 (IRS) 对室内日光浴服务征收 10% 的消费税。 这意味着如果晒黑诊所收取 10 美元的晒黑费用,晒黑诊所必须向 IRS 支付 100 美元的消费税。 同样,如果晒黑服务的费用为 200 美元,则公司必须支付 20 美元的消费税。

其他物品的从价消费税包括武器 (10%)、机票 (7.5%) 和重型卡车 (12%)。
财产税是另一种从价消费税。

特殊消费税

从量消费税是对特定商品按单位征收的固定税费。 香烟(每包 1.01 支 20 美元)、烟斗(每磅 2.83 美元)、啤酒(前 7 桶 60,000 美元)、游轮乘客(每人 3 美元)和汽油(每加仑 0.183 美元)是联邦的一些例子,特别是消费税。

某些商品的罪恶税,例如啤酒和酒精,有时会在联邦和州一级征收,从而提高了这些商品的成本。 例如,在纽约,每 4.35 包香烟征收 20.5 美元的特别消费税。 加上 1.01 美元的联邦税,仅消费税就达 5.36 美元。 这些税收对消费者有重大影响。
美国国税局第 510 号出版物提供了关于消费税的说明。

什么是汽车消费税?

汽车消费税是对登记机动车或拖车的特权征收的年度税。 在马萨诸塞州注册车辆的任何人都将收到车辆存放地的市政当局颁发的消费税单。 消费税的计算方法是将车辆价值乘以税率(每千美元价值 25.00 美元)。 车辆的价值由注册公式确定,该公式采用制造商当年建议零售价 (MSRP) 的适用比例。 机动车消费税是使用制造商的标价而不是实际购买价格计算的。

年度适用百分比:

  • 制造前一年的 50%:
  • 90% 制造年份:
  • 第二年生产60%
  • 生产第三年40%
  • 生产第四年 25%
  • 第 10 年及以后的生产:XNUMX%

不要忽视你的消费税账单! 即使您已出售、交换或以其他方式处置车辆,您的帐单也始终会在发出之日起三十 (30) 天内到期。 如果您未在账单签发之日起三十 (30) 天内支付账单,您将对账单产生利息和费用。 此外,您的驾驶执照和/或车辆登记将被退还给机动车登记处,以进行非续期程序。

什么是房地产消费税?

房地产消费税 (REET) 是对出售房地产征收的税。 除非设立特殊例外,否则该州的所有不动产销售均需缴纳 REET。 房地产消费税通常由财产的卖方支付,而如果不支付则由买方承担责任。 未缴纳的税款可以对转让的财产形成留置权。
REET 也适用于在该州拥有房地产的公司的控股权(50% 或更多)的转让。

资金的用途是什么?

1年2020月30日至2023年1.3月XNUMX日,各县征收的国税留存XNUMX%,用于行政支出。
公共工程援助账户收到国家净收益的 1.7%。
1.4%分配给市县帮扶基金。
普通基金获得79.4%的资金。
其余部分存入教育遗产信托账户。

为什么要征收燃油税?

联邦和州政府对燃料征收消费税,以资助基础设施项目和公共交通。

联邦燃油税是多少?

联邦燃油消费税为每加仑 18.4 美分。 还对柴油征收每加仑 24.4 美分的联邦消费税。

联邦燃油税如何运作?

联邦燃油消费税的颁布是为了资助全美与运输相关的举措。 它首先根据 1932 年的《税收法》以每加仑 125 美分的税率实施,第一年收入 18.4 亿美元。 这些年来成本逐渐增加,现在汽油每加仑 24.4 美分,柴油每加仑 XNUMX 美分。

联邦汽油税是一种消费税,是对某些物品(例如汽油)的销售征收的一种税。 这些税被转嫁给客户,因为它们包含在产品成本中。

虽然美国各地的消费者在购买一加仑汽油时支付相同的联邦汽油消费税,但他们实际支付的金额取决于购买燃料的州和地方的法规。 例如,密西西比州的司机每加仑汽油共支付 36.8 美分的联邦和州税,而加利福尼亚州的司机为同一加仑汽油支付的联邦和州税高达 83.5 美分。

高速公路信托基金由联邦汽油税资助,多年来,这项政策一直是各种团体冲突的根源。 根据美国土木工程师协会关于美国基础设施的报告卡,该国 40% 以上的道路处于“差”或“中等”状态。 据一些分析师称,提高汽油消费税可能有助于薪酬改革。

另请参阅: 表格 720(消费税):说明和指南

联邦汽油消费税结合了两种税种。 它为泄漏的地下储罐 (LUST) 添加了每加仑 01 美分的成本,这被添加到汽油和柴油燃料的税率中。

LUST 费用存入 1986 年设立的信托基金。其目的是将联邦授权地下储罐的石油泄漏降至最低。 它还支付石油泄漏清理的监督和执行费用。 当责任方未知时,它会支付清理和检查费用。

目前的联邦汽油消费税,以及每个州的汽油税,已经可以对您在加油站支付的价格产生重大影响,具体取决于您居住的地方和您所在州的汽油成本。

天然气价格因州而异,并且经常波动。 据美国汽车协会称,5.453 年 9 月 2022 日,加利福尼亚州的平均汽油价格为每加仑 3.511 美元,弗吉尼亚州的平均价格为每加仑 XNUMX 美元。

州汽油税

除联邦税外,每个州还对销售的每加仑汽油征收自己的税。 根据美国石油协会的数据,以下各州的汽油税最高和最低:

  • 阿拉斯加每加仑 15.13 美分
  • 加州每加仑 68.15 美分
  • 伊利诺伊州每加仑 59.60 美分
  • 密西西比州每加仑 1.79 美元
  • 密苏里州每加仑 19.92 美分
  • 新泽西每加仑 50.70 美分
  • 新墨西哥州每加仑 18.88 美分
  • 宾夕法尼亚州每加仑 58.70 美分

退休账户消费税

一些退休账户活动也需缴纳消费税。 这些作为惩罚的税收为许多人所熟知。 未在适用截止日期前调整的个人退休账户 (IRA) 超额供款需缴纳 6% 的消费税。 当投资者在 5912 岁之前退出某些 IRA 和其他符合条件的计划时,他或她将面临 10% 的消费税罚款。

此外,如果投资者不从某些退休基金中获得强制性最低分配 (RMD),他们将面临 50% 的消费税罚款。 传统 IRA 账户和其他几个 72 岁的延税退休储蓄计划需要 RMD(适用于 72 年或之后年满 2020 岁的任何人)。

如何确定您的消费税支付

由于消费税包含在您购买的商品的价格中,因此很难说出您支付了多少。 还有某些法定消费税,这就是为什么各州之间的汽油和香烟差异如此之大。 例如,在弗吉尼亚州,香烟的法定消费税为 0.30 美元,而在纽约,该税为 4.35 美元。 所有包装都是如此。 法定汽油税也可能有很大差异。

找出您支付的费用的最佳方法是查看您所在州的消费税。 联邦消费税在美国国税局网站上公布,但每个州将在其网站或文件中公布信息。 它可能会发生重大变化,但受影响的产品将保持一致,让您可以更仔细地检查您实际支付的费用。

总结

虽然大多数人都知道什么是所得税和营业税,但消费税可能并不是每个人都最关心的。 但是仅仅因为你不知道他们并不意味着你不付钱给他们。
这些税通常由提供这些商品和服务的商家对特定商品和服务的价格征收。 因此,它们可能会在您不知情的情况下传递给您。 然而,其他企业,如燃料公司,则相当透明。 下次你去加满油箱时,看一眼水泵。 公司可能会规定加油站的价格中有多少是用于燃料的,有多少是用于税收的。

参考资料

0股
发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被公开。

你也许也喜欢

WHAT IS EXCISE TAX & WHO PAYS IT?

What is excise tax

Sales and excise taxes, sometimes known as consumption taxes, are a significant source of revenue, accounting for over half of all state tax collections. These taxes are levied in all fifty states and are frequently regarded as “hidden” by consumers since they are spread out over numerous purchases rather than paid in one big payment. This article brief examines how real estate, fuel and car excise tax is paid and who pays it.

What Is an Excise Tax?

An excise tax is a tax levied on a specific product or service. Excise taxes are widely charged on cigarettes, alcoholic beverages, soda, fuel, insurance premiums, amusement activities, and betting, and they normally account for a tiny and variable fraction of state and local tax revenues, as well as, to a lesser extent, federal tax collections.

What Is a Federal Excise Tax?

The federal government levies a federal excise tax on various goods and services. The merchant may or may not include it in the price. This means that consumers do not pay these taxes directly, as they would any other sort of tax, such as income taxes. Fuel, airline tickets, tobacco, and alcohol are all regularly subject to federal excise taxes.

Who Pays Excise Tax?

Certain commodities and services, such as fuel and alcohol, are subject to excise taxes. Businesses pay these taxes directly. This tax is frequently passed on to the consumer, who may or may not be aware that it is being paid to the merchant because it is included in the price. This is widespread in the fuel industry, when companies add excise taxes in the price that their customers pay at the pump.

How an Excise Tax Works

Excise taxes are generally levied against enterprises. Many are paid for by merchants, who subsequently pass the tax on to customers in the form of higher pricing. Merchants pay excise taxes to wholesalers and factor them into product pricing, raising the entire retail price. 1 As a result, most excise taxes may or may not be directly visible to customers. Some excise taxes, however, are paid directly by consumers, such as property taxes and levies on certain retirement account activity.

Excise taxes can be imposed by the federal, state, or municipal governments. While income tax money is the largest source of revenue for federal and state governments, excise tax revenue accounts for a modest part of total revenue.

Excise taxes are largely a corporate tax. It is distinct from other obligations that corporations must meet, such as income taxes. Businesses that charge and receive excise taxes must file Form 720 Federal Excise Tax Return periodically and include quarterly payments. 2 Excise tax collectors must also meet their duty to pass on excise taxes to state and municipal governments as necessary. Merchants may be eligible for excise tax deductions or credits on their annual income tax filings.

Excise taxes are classified into two types:

  • Ad Valorem Tax: These excise taxes are fixed percentage rates levied on certain goods or services.
  • Taxes on specific items: These are fixed dollar amounts that are applied to specific purchases.

Governments may apply excise taxes on commodities with a significant societal cost, such as cigarettes and alcohol, in specific instances. This is why these taxes are sometimes known as sin taxes.
Motor fuel, airline tickets, cigarettes, alcohol, health-related commodities, and health-related services are the most revenue-generating excise taxes in the United States.

Ad Valorem Excise Taxes

Ad valorem is a Latin word that translates to “according to value.” It is levied on a percentage basis. As a result, an excise tax depending on the value of the goods or service is imposed.

The Internal Revenue Service (IRS), for example, assesses a 10% excise tax on indoor tanning services. This means that a tanning clinic must pay the IRS $10 in excise tax if it charges $100 for a tanning session. Similarly, if the tanning service costs $200, the corporation must pay a $20 excise tax.

Ad valorem excise taxes on other items include weapons (10%), airline tickets (7.5%), and heavy trucks (12%).
Property taxes are another sort of ad valorem excise tax.

Specific Excise Taxes

A specific excise tax is a fixed tax or fee levied on a specific commodity on a per-unit basis. Cigarettes ($1.01 per pack of 20), pipe tobacco ($2.83 per pound), beer ($7 for the first 60,000 barrels), cruise ship passengers ($3 per person), and gasoline ($0.183 per gallon) are some instances of federal, particular excise taxes.

Sin taxes on certain goods, such as beer and alcohol, are sometimes levied at both the federal and state levels, raising the cost of these things. In New York, for example, there is a special excise tax of $4.35 per 20.5 cigarette pack. When combined with the federal tax of $1.01, the excise taxes alone amount to $5.36. These taxes have a significant influence on consumers.
Publication 510 of the Internal Revenue Service provides instructions on excise taxes.

What is a Excise Tax on a Car?

A car excise tax is a yearly tax levied on the privilege of registering a motor vehicle or trailer. Anyone who registers a vehicle in Massachusetts will be issued an excise tax bill by the municipality where the vehicle is kept. The excise tax is computed by multiplying the vehicle’s value by the tax rate ($25.00 per thousand dollars of value). The vehicle’s value is established by the Registry formula, which takes the applicable proportion of the Manufacturer’s Suggested Retail Price for the year (MSRP). Motor vehicle excise tax is calculated using the manufacturer’s list price rather than the actual purchase price.

Yearly Applicable Percentage:

  • 50% in the year preceding the year of manufacture:
  • 90% in the year of manufacture:
  • 60% in the second year of production
  • 40% in the third year of production
  • 25% in the fourth year of production
  • In the fifth and subsequent years of production: 10%

Do not disregard your excise bill! Even if you have sold, exchanged, or otherwise disposed of the vehicle, your bill is always due thirty (30) days from the date of issue. If you do not pay the bill within thirty (30) days after its issue date, it will accrue interest and fees for which you will be accountable. Additionally, your driver’s license and/or vehicle registration will be returned to the Registry of Motor Vehicles for non-renewal proceedings.

What is a Real Estate Excise Tax?

The real estate excise tax (REET) is a tax levied on the sale of real estate. Unless a special exception is established, all sales of real property in the state are subject to REET. The real estate excise tax is normally paid by the seller of the property, while the buyer is accountable if it is not paid. Taxes that are not paid can form a lien on the transferred property.
REET also applies to the transfer of a controlling interest (50% or more) in a company that owns real estate in the state.

What is the purpose of the funds?

From January 1, 2020 to June 30, 2023, 1.3% of state tax collected by counties is retained to meet administrative expenditures.
The public works aid account receives 1.7% of the net proceeds to the state.
1.4% is allocated to the city-county aid fund.
The general fund receives 79.4% of the funds.
The remainder is deposited into the educational legacy trust account.

Why is there a Fuel Excise Tax?

The federal and state governments levy an excise tax on fuel to fund infrastructure projects and public transit.

How Much is the Federal Fuel Excise Tax?

The federal fuel excise tax is 18.4 cents per gallon. A federal excise tax of 24.4 cents per gallon is also levied on diesel.

How Does the Federal Fuel Excise Tax Work?

The federal fuel excise tax was enacted to fund transportation-related initiatives throughout the United States. It was first implemented under the Revenue Act of 1932 at a rate of one cent per gallon, earning $125 million in its first year. The cost has gradually increased over the years, and it is now 18.4 cents per gallon for gas and 24.4 cents per gallon for diesel.

The federal gas tax is an excise tax, which is a sort of tax levied on the sale of certain items, such as gasoline. These taxes are passed on to customers because they are included in the cost of the product.

While consumers across the United States pay the same federal gas excise tax rate when they buy a gallon of gas, the actual amount they pay is determined by the regulations of the state and locality where the fuel is purchased. For example, whereas drivers in Mississippi pay a total of 36.8 cents in federal and state taxes per gallon of gas, drivers in California spend a whopping 83.5 cents in federal and state taxes on the same gallon of gas.

The Highway Trust Fund is funded by federal gas taxes, and this policy has been a source of conflict for various groups throughout the years. According to the American Society of Civil Engineers’ Report Card on America’s Infrastructure, more than 40% of the country’s roads are in “poor” or “mediocre” condition. According to some analysts, boosting the petrol excise tax could assist pay renovations.

Read Also: FORM 720 (Excise Taxes): Instructions and Guidelines

The federal gasoline excise tax combines two taxes. It adds a.01 cent per gallon cost for the leaking underground storage tank (LUST), which is added to the tax rate on both gasoline and diesel fuel.

The LUST fee is deposited into a trust fund established in 1986. Its purpose is to keep petroleum spills from federally authorized subsurface storage tanks to a minimum. It also pays for the supervision and enforcement of petroleum leak cleanups. When the responsible party is unknown, it pays for cleanup and inspections.

The present federal gasoline excise tax, as well as each state’s gasoline tax, can already make a significant difference in the price you pay at the pump, depending on where you live and how much petrol costs in your state.

Gas prices vary by state and fluctuate often. According to AAA, the average gas price in California was $5.453 per gallon on November 9, 2022, and the average price in Virginia was $3.511 per gallon.

State Gasoline Taxes

In addition to the federal tax, each state levies its own tax on each gallon of gas sold. According to the American Petroleum Institute, the following states have the highest and lowest state gas taxes:

  • 15.13 cents per gallon in Alaska
  • 68.15 cents per gallon in California
  • 59.60 cents per gallon in Illinois
  • $1.79 per gallon in Mississippi
  • 19.92 cents per gallon in Missouri
  • 50.70 cents per gallon in New Jersey
  • 18.88 cents per gallon in New Mexico
  • 58.70 cents per gallon in Pennsylvania

Retirement Account Excise Taxes

Some retirement account activities are also subject to excise taxes. These taxes as penalties are well known to many individuals. Excess individual retirement account (IRA) contributions that are not adjusted by the applicable deadline are subject to a 6% excise tax. When an investor withdraws from some IRAs and other eligible plans before the age of 5912, he or she faces a 10% excise tax penalty.

In addition, investors face a 50% excise taxes penalty if they do not take the mandatory required minimum distributions (RMDs) from certain retirement funds. RMDs are required for traditional IRA accounts and several other tax-deferred retirement savings plans at the age of 72 (for anyone turning 72 in 2020 or later).

How to Determine Your Excise Tax Payment

Because excise taxes are integrated in the price of the things you purchase, it’s difficult to tell how much you’re paying. There are also certain statutory excise taxes, which is why gasoline and cigarettes vary so much between states. For example, in Virginia, the statutory excise tax on cigarettes is $0.30, whereas in New York, the tax is $4.35. That is true for all packs. Statutory gasoline taxes might also vary widely.

The best approach to find out what you’re paying is to look up the excise tax in your state. Federal excise taxes are published on the IRS website, however each state will publish the information on their website or in documents. It can change significantly, but the products affected will remain consistent, allowing you to keep a closer check on what you are actually paying.

Conclusion

While most people understand what income taxes and sales taxes are, excise taxes may not be at the forefront of everyone’s mind. But just because you’re unaware of them doesn’t mean you don’t pay them.
These taxes are frequently levied on the prices of specific goods and services by the merchants who offer them. As a result, they may be passed on to you without your knowledge. However, other businesses, such as fuel firms, are quite transparent. Take a glance at the pump the next time you go to fill up your tank. The corporation may lay down how much of the price at the pump is for fuel vs how much is for taxes.

References

0 Shares:
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You May Also Like