开放银行:定义及其运作方式

开放银行

从电费和抵押贷款支付到我们每周购买的汽油和咖啡,银行会记录我们的大量消费、储蓄和借款。 作为被称为“开放银行”(也称为“开放金融数据”)的全球运动的一部分,其中一些客户数据现在正在与第三方共享。 它已经酝酿了大约五年,即将掀起数字金融创新的海啸。 第三方提供商 (TPP) 可以帮助您节省资金、更快地借款并使用开放式银行更轻松地付款。
英国的法规已经要求银行与授权的 TPP 合作。
在美国,几家开放银行业务自愿提供数据。 预计这一趋势将继续下去,无论它是否成为一项任务。

开放银行的定义

开放式银行业务是一种以电子方式安全地共享金融信息的技术,并且仅在客户同意的条件下进行。

借助应用程序编程接口 (API),TPP 可以有效地访问财务信息,从而鼓励创建新的应用程序和服务。 在理想的世界中,开放式银行业务将为客户带来更好的体验。

您可能已经在使用开放式银行业务可以增强的服务。 第三方个人财务管理 (PFM) 应用程序利用您的银行账户信息来帮助您跟踪支出并实现其他目标。

了解开放银行

在开放银行下,银行允许第三方服务提供商(通常是软件初创公司和在线金融服务提供商)访问和控制其客户的个人和财务数据。 客户通常需要向银行提供某种类型的协议才能获得此类访问权限,例如通过单击在线应用程序中服务条款屏幕上的框。 然后,来自第三方开放银行供应商的 API 可以访问客户的共享数据。 将客户的账户和交易历史与各种金融服务选项进行比较,汇集参与金融机构和客户的数据以生成营销资料,或代表客户执行新交易和账户调整都是可能的用途。

不再需要屏幕抓取。

第一代 PFM 应用程序(也称为帐户聚合器)要求您使用与访问银行帐户相同的用户名和密码。 然后,该软件可以自由地“屏幕抓取”,或者从它拥有的所有数据中选择它需要的信息。 这是不方便且不可靠的,并且必须在您的银行网站更改后重做。 另一方面,API 为程序​​提供了对某些数据位的直接访问。 这可能包括您的账户余额或特定交易详情。 此外,您无需向任何人透露您的密码。

开放银行能为您做什么?

开放银行计划对银行、监管机构和 TPP 而言意义重大。 从长远来看,客户应该有更多的选择来管理他们的资金、借贷和付款。

#1。 对银行的压力。

虽然开放银行允许 TPP 访问银行信息,但银行可能会选择改进它们提供的服务。 银行可以与改进的 PFM 工具和透明、有竞争力的定价竞争,而不是让其他人决定他们在运营中获得的沟通。

#2。 其他资源

更多第三方 PFM 解决方案正在开发中。 使用开放 API,应用程序开发人员将更轻松地帮助您控制支出。 他们可能能够预见您帐户中的事件或推荐使用人工智能为您省钱的产品。 当然,某些应用程序可能不会推荐最好的项目和服务。 但是,他们可能会推荐那些支付推荐费或附属费用的人——因此请谨慎选择您的工具。

#3。 简化融资

获得或再融资贷款可能会变得不那么困难。 消费者无需从多个来源收集信息并手动将其提交给潜在的贷方,而是可以让贷方简单地获取他们需要的信息并为他们提供更好的报价。

#4。 企业贷款

如果您的小企业需要贷款或信用额度,贷方可能希望检查您的账簿。 同样,您不必生成在贷方看到它们时可能不准确的报告,贷方可以从您的银行和会计系统获得他们需要的所有信息。

#5。 会计自动化

更简单、更便宜的会计系统可能使企业和消费者都受益。 当您发送或接收付款时,集成系统可以立即更新,您可以节省准备报税的时间。

#6。 新的付款方式

支付是欧洲开放银行政策的重要组成部分。 银行必须允许第三方支付发起人代表您开始支付 欧盟委员会的第二支付服务指令 (PSD2). 同样,这不一定是新的,但它将使更多服务提供商更容易处理付款。 减少支付处理费用也可能使企业受益。

#7。 对隐私的担忧

开放银行基于数据共享,但您可能希望将您的信息保密。 幸运的是,开放式银行业务不应意味着失去安全性或隐私性。 TPP 和银行将不得不采取预防措施来保护敏感信息。 他们将教育客户他们面临的新风险。

#8。 数据交换

金融机构何时以及如何共享个人数据通常在开放式银行计划中指定。 例如,英国的客户必须接受与特定合作伙伴的信息共享。 美国的银行目前在您允许的情况下管理(和规范)您共享信息的方式。 他们似乎并不热衷于放弃这种权力。

您授权的任何共享都会将您的信息交到其他人手中。 然后是TPP 在保护您的信息方面的有效性以及他们将如何处理这些信息的问题。

开放银行的风险

开放式银行可以通过更轻松地访问金融数据和服务以及为金融机构节省成本的形式为消费者带来好处。 但是,它可能对金融隐私和消费者财务安全以及金融机构的责任构成严重危害。 开放式银行 API 并非没有安全隐患,例如欺诈性第三方软件可能会删除客户的帐户。 这将是一个严重(且不太可能)的威胁。 更大的担忧包括安全性差、黑客攻击或内部威胁导致的数据泄露。 它们在当代变得相当规律。 这在金融机构中更为常见,并且随着更多数据以更多方式相互关联,可能会继续普遍存在。

开放银行可能会改变金融服务业的竞争格局。 如上所述,这可以通过增加竞争来使消费者受益。 但是,如果它导致金融服务的整合,它也可能产生相反的效果并增加消费者成本。 这是由于大数据和网络效应带来的自然规模经济。 由此产生的市场集中度和定价权可能超过为客户节省的任何成本。 这种市场整合以前在其他基于互联网的服务(如在线购物、搜索引擎和社交媒体)中已经见证并受到严厉批评,因为消费者和监管机构担心这会导致科技巨头滥用客户数据谋取私利。 除了市场集中的直接成本外,从长远来看,对客户私人财务数据的可比性利用可能会产生更多问题。

客户如何看待开放银行?

根据我们的调查结果,向客户询问有关数据共享的基本问题并不能准确反映他们对开放银行业务的渴望。 为了更全面地了解情况,我们制作了几个开放银行理念的模型,要求消费者对他们喜欢的理念打分。 然后我们询问他们是否准备好允许访问他们的数据以使用它们。 在这项针对 3,000 名英国消费者和中小企业的调查中,我们发现客户的情绪非常积极。 毫不奇怪,对开放银行最感兴趣的是精通技术的年轻专业人士。 以下是一些更重要的发现:

  1. 虽然消费者天生对数据共享持怀疑态度,但当他们发现特定产品或服务具有吸引力或了解它可能给他们的生活带来的价值时,他们共享数据的意愿增加了一倍多。 这与共享数据的普遍愿望相反。 在所有类别中都是如此,包括那些对开放银行支持的想法持最保守看法的类别。

2. 虽然不是金融服务的通常目标,但财务压力大的个人可能是开放银行解决方案的关键部门。 财务资源低、处理财务时间少或两者兼有的消费者表示对有助于他们节省和管理资金的解决方案感兴趣。

3. 此外,近 40% 担心工作保障的英国客户发现可以帮助人们自动省钱并更好地跟踪他们的支出的应用程序很有吸引力。

4. 富裕的老年人也是一个有吸引力的人群,15% 的人渴望为他们喜欢的概念提供数据。 这些客户通常精通技术,意识到技术可以如何改善他们的财务状况。 因此,他们更愿意尝试新的解决方案。

在结论

几乎可以肯定的是,中小企业愿意为基于数据分析的增值服务付费,这将有助于他们成长。 这就是为什么该领域的某些公司已经获得大量资金的原因。 这就是为什么开放银行是技术与经济相互作用的核心。

因此,如果金融科技度过了美好的一年,那么这肯定只是故事的开始。 在开放银行计划的支持下,该行业现在处于银行业革命的最前沿,最终将为中小企业提供应有的服务水平,同时释放他们在整个经济中的全部潜力。

开放银行常见问题解答

开放银行如何运作?

所有金融机构 [存款机构] 必须在开放银行下向第三方提供商提供客户和/或支付数据。 开放银行打破了金融服务垄断,让更多的参与者进入市场。

开放银行有什么好处?

对客户开放银行最显着的优势是它消除了他们定期访问银行的需要。 开放银行意味着客户旅程不需要银行——银行主要是一种服务,而不是一个机构。

我可以选择退出开放式银行业务吗?

我如何选择退出? 实际上,您不需要选择退出。 您必须选择加入才能让任何第三方访问您的数据。 您将通过使用允许您从多个提供商拖放帐户的应用程序来完成此操作。

0股
发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被公开。 必填 *

你也许也喜欢

Open Banking: Definition & How it Works

open banking

Banks keep track of a lot of what we spend, save, and borrow, from power bills and mortgage payments to our weekly gas and coffee purchases. Some of that customer data is now being shared with third parties as part of a global movement known as “open banking” (also known as “open financial data”). It’s been in the works for about a half-decade, and it’s about to unleash a tsunami of digital financial innovation. Third-party providers (TPPs) can help you save money, borrow more quickly, and pay more easily using open banking.
Regulations in the United Kingdom already require banks to work with authorized TPPs.
In the United States, several banks in open banking voluntarily make data available. This trend is expected to continue, whether or not it becomes a mandate.

Definition of Open Banking

Open banking is the technique of sharing financial information electronically, securely, and only under terms that clients agree with.

TPPs can efficiently access financial information thanks to application programming interfaces (APIs), which encourage the creation of new apps and services. In an ideal world, open banking would result in a better experience for customers.

You may already be using services that open banking would enhance. Third-party personal financial management (PFM) apps, leverage your bank account information to help you track spending and meet other objectives.

Understanding Open Banking

Under open banking, banks let third-party service providers, typically software startups and online financial service suppliers, access to and control over their customers’ personal and financial data. Customers are typically required to offer some type of agreement to the bank in order for such access to be granted, such as by clicking a box on a terms-of-service screen in an online app. APIs from third-party open banking suppliers can then access the customer’s shared data. Comparing the customer’s accounts and transaction history to a variety of financial service options, pooling data across participating financial institutions and customers to generate marketing profiles, or executing new transactions and account adjustments on the customer’s behalf are all possible uses.

Screen scraping is no longer necessary.

The initial generation of PFM apps, also known as account aggregators, required you to use the same user name and password that you use to access your bank account. The software would then be free to “screen scrape,” or select the information it required from among all the data it had at its disposal. That was inconvenient and unreliable, and it had to be redone after your bank’s website was changed. APIs, on the other hand, provide programs with direct access to certain bits of data. This may include your account balance or specific transaction details. Furthermore, you don’t need to disclose your password to anyone.

What Can Open Banking Do for You?

Open banking initiatives are significant for banks, regulators, and TPPs. In the long run, customers should have more options for managing their money, borrowing, and making payments.

#1. Pressure on Banks.

While open banking allows TPPs to gain access to bank information, banks may elect to improve the services they provide. Banks can compete with improved PFM tools and transparent, competitive pricing instead of allowing others to dictate the communications they get in ope.

#2. Additional Resources

More third-party PFM solutions are on the way. With open APIs, app developers will have an easier time assisting you in gaining control of your expenditure. They may be able to foresee occurrences in your account or recommend products that will save you money using artificial intelligence. Of course, some applications may not recommend the finest items and services. However, they may recommend those that pay referral or affiliate fees—so choose your tools cautiously.

#3. Streamlined Financing

Obtaining or refinancing a loan may become less difficult. Instead of gathering information from many sources and manually submitting it to a potential lender, consumers can allow lenders to simply grab what they need and make them a better offer.

#4. Loans for Businesses

Lenders may want to inspect your books if your small business requires a loan or a line of credit. Again, rather than you produce reports that may be inaccurate by the time lenders see them, lenders can obtain all of the information they require from your bank and accounting system.

#5. Accounting Automation

Accounting systems that are simpler and less expensive may benefit both businesses and consumers. When you send or receive payments, integrated systems can immediately update, and you may save time on tax preparation.

#6. New Payment Options

Payments are an important component of the European open banking policy. Banks must allow third-party payment initiators to commence payments on your behalf under the European Commission’s Second Payment Services Directive (PSD2). Again, this isn’t necessarily new but it will make it easy for more service providers to handle payments. Reduced payment processing expenses may also benefit businesses.

#7. Concerns About Privacy

Open banking is based on data sharing, yet you may wish to keep your information private. Fortunately, open banking should not imply a loss of security or privacy. TPPs and banks will have to take precautions to safeguard sensitive information. They will educate customers about the new risks they face.

#8. Data Exchange

When and how financial organizations can share personal data is often specified in open banking programs. Customers in the United Kingdom, for example, are required to accept information sharing with particular partners. Banks in the United States currently manage (and regulate) how you share your information, with your permission. They don’t appear keen to relinquish that power.

Any sharing you authorize places your information in the hands of someone else. Then there’s the question of how effective that TPP will be at securing your information—and what they’ll do with it.

Risks of Open Banking

Open banking may provide benefits to consumers in the form of easier access to financial data and services, as well as cost savings for financial institutions. However, it may offer serious hazards to financial privacy and the security of consumers’ finances, as well as responsibilities to financial institutions. Open banking APIs do not come without security hazards, such as the possibility of fraudulent third-party software deleting a customer’s account. This would be a severe (and unlikely) threat. Much bigger worries would include data breaches caused by poor security, hacking, or insider threats. They have become rather regular in the contemporary period. This is more at financial institutions, and would likely continue to be common as more data becomes interconnected in more ways.

Open banking is likely to change the competitive landscape of the financial services industry. This can benefit consumers by increasing competition as described above. However, it could also have the opposite effect and increase consumer costs if it leads to consolidation in financial services. This is due to the natural economies of scale from big data and network effects. The resulting market concentration and pricing power may outweigh any cost savings for customers. Such market consolidation has previously been witnessed and heavily criticized in other Internet-based services, such as online shopping, search engines, and social media, because consumers and regulators worry it would result in tech giants misusing customers’ data for their own gain. Aside from the immediate costs of market concentration, comparable exploitation of customers’ private financial data may create even more problems in the long run.

What do Customers think about Open Banking?

According to our findings, asking customers basic questions about data sharing does not provide an accurate picture of their desire to embrace open banking. To gain a more complete picture, we produced mock-ups of several open-banking ideas, asked consumers to score which ones they preferred. We then asked them if they will be ready to allow access to their data in order to use them. In this survey of 3,000 UK consumers and SMEs, we discovered that customer sentiment was extremely positive. Unsurprisingly, the most interested in open banking were tech-savvy young professionals. Here are a couple more important findings:

  1. While consumers were innately skeptical of data sharing, their readiness to share data more than doubled when they found a specific product or service appealing or understood the value it may bring to their lives. This is as opposed to a generic desire to share data. This was true across all categories, including those with the most conservative views on open banking–enabled ideas.

2. Although not a usual target for financial services, financially stressed individuals are likely to be a crucial sector for open-banking solutions. Consumers with low financial resources, little time to handle their finances, or both expressed interest in solutions that would help them save and manage their money.

3. Furthermore, nearly 40% of UK customers who are concerned about their job security found apps that help people automatically save money and keep better track of their spending appealing.

4. Affluent seniors are an appealing demographic as well, with 15% eager to provide data for concepts they like. These customers were often tech knowledgeable, realized how technology might improve their financial lives. So, they were more comfortable trying out new solutions.

In Conclusion

It is almost guaranteed that SMEs will be willing to pay fees for data-analytics-based value-added services that will assist them in growing. This is why certain firms in this field are already receiving significant funding. That’s why open banking is at the heart of the interplay between technology and the economy.

So, if fintech has had a wonderful year, this is most certainly just the beginning of the narrative. With the support of open-banking initiatives, the sector is now at the forefront of a banking revolution that will finally provide SMEs with the level of service they deserve while also unleashing their entire potential across the economy.

Open Banking FAQ’s

How does an open bank work?

All financial institutions [deposit-taking institutions] must make customer and/or payment data available to third-party providers under Open Banking. Open banking dismantles financial services monopolies and allows more players to enter the market.

What are the benefits of open banking?

The most significant advantage of open banking for customers is that it eliminates the need for them to visit the bank on a regular basis. Open banking implies that the bank is not required for the client journey — the bank is primarily a service, rather than an institution.

Can I opt out of open banking?

How do I opt out? In reality, you are not required to opt out. You must opt IN in order for any third party to gain access to your data. You will accomplish this by utilizing an app that allows you to drag and drop accounts from several providers.

0 Shares:
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You May Also Like