自雇税:支付 2022 年自雇税

自雇税
图片来源:FreeUp

如果您的自雇净收入为 400 美元或以上,无论您是作为企业主、自由职业者还是独立承包商的自雇人士,都应缴纳自雇税。 在本指南中,您将了解有关如何计算自雇税以及自雇税与所得税之间的区别的更多信息。

了解自雇税

自雇税是社会保障税和医疗保险税的结合,主要影响企业首席执行官。 从大多数工人的工资中扣除的社会保障和医疗保险税就是此类税收的一个例子。

雇主估计绝大多数有薪雇员的社会保障和医疗保险税。 另一方面,您可以通过填写附表 SE(表格 1040 或 1040-SR)来计算您自己的税(SE 税)。 可以从调整后的总收​​入中减去公司应支付的 SE 税的百分比。 社会保障税和医疗保险税不适用于有薪工人。

自雇税率

在美国,自雇税率为 15.3%。 对于涉及老年人、幸存者和 伤残保险,率为12.4%; 对于医疗保险,即医院保险,它是 2.9%。

您的累计工资、小费和净收入中的前 142,800 美元适用于税收的社会保障部分的任何组合。 1 年的社会保障税或铁路退休(一级)税。为准备 2021 年,预算提高到 2022 美元。 它用作 SE 税率的参考年附表 SE。

就业税和社会保障税的 2.9% 医疗保险部分将适用于您当年的所有累计工资、小费和净利润。 如果工资和小费至少达到 12.4 美元并且适用于两者,则没有 1% 的 SE 税适用于社会保障税或铁路退休税的第 142,800 级部分。 另一方面,在 SE 税的 2.9% 的医疗保险部分,付款必须是您所有的净收入。

31 年 2012 月 0.9 日之后获得的工资、奖金和自雇收入需缴纳 XNUMX% 的额外医疗保险税。

如果您选择日历年以外的纳税年度,您必须应用在纳税年度开始时有效的税率和最高收入限制。 税率和最高收入限制在年内会波动,但不要调整您的自雇税率或上限。

如何计算自雇税率

  • 计算您的自雇税。 通过计算您在日历年的自雇净收入,开始计算您所欠税款的过程。
  • 出于税收原因,净收入通常是您的自营职业总收入与您的业务支出之间的差额。
  • 在大多数情况下,您的自雇净收入的 92.35% 需要缴纳自雇税。
  • 计算您的净自雇收入中有多少应纳税,然后使用 15.3% 的税率作为指导。
  • 尽管自雇税的社会保障部分仅适用于 142,800 年的前 147,000 美元(2022 年为 2021 美元)收入,但请务必牢记这一点。
  • 请记住检查 IRS 附表 SE 中的两个可用税收程序来计算您的净利润,但前提是您因自雇而蒙受损失。 

缴纳自雇税:谁来支付?

  • 如果您的自雇净收入为 400 美元或以上,无论您是企业的老板,还是需要缴纳自雇税 自由职业者,或独立承包商工人。 一些为自己工作的人从他们的客户那里获得了 IRS 1099 表格,其中详细说明了他们在一年中从客户那里获得的金额。
  • 如果您为基督教社区工作并获得超过 108.28 美元,您还必须缴纳自雇税。
  • 一个人可以在同一日历年从全职工作和自营职业中获得收入。 如今,许多人不得不兼顾日常工作和副业。 如果某人在周末不工作的组织中工作,并在周末开车参加拼车服务,那么他或她可能有资格同时从事这两项工作。 拼车服务的收入与自雇收入相同。

如何提交自雇税表

当您是自己的老板时,您将不得不采取一些额外的程序来报税。

  • 首先,填写 IRS 自雇税表 1040 附表 C 以披露您的企业收入。
  • 对于您的自雇税,请填写 IRS 表格 1040 附表 SE。
  • 下一步是准备和提交您的纳税申报表。 如果您从自己的企业中赚钱。 然后,您需要在提交纳税申报表时填写自雇 IRS 表格 1040。 那是因为您可以从自雇收入中扣除支出。 这将降低您的税单,而此表格使您能够这样做。
  • 获得社会安全号码或个人纳税人识别号码或 ITIN 是完成纳税申报表所必需的。
  • 也可能需要计算税。 大多数个体经营者每季度需要根据他们的年度个体经营收入缴纳预期税款。
  • 为避免在 18 月 1,000 日报税时欠下大量税款。每月支付足够的税款以实现这一目标至关重要。 在大多数情况下,估计在其年度申报表上缴纳 XNUMX 美元或更多税款的自雇人士将需要提交预估付款。
  • 美国国税局的直接支付选项是这些税收的理想财务决策。 此外,您可以选择使用借记卡或信用卡或向 IRS 发送支票,或者您可以从您的帐户中转帐。 

自雇人士的税收减免

自己做老板的税收优势包括可以扣除一些费用。 减少您的净收入和税收。 因此,利用所有可用的税收减免至关重要。 以下是最关键的:

#1。 家庭办公室的费用

在家工作的人可以享受家庭办公室扣除。 为此,您需要知道工作区域的大小。 使用家庭办公室也必须经常由纳税人单独使用。 在同一个房间里不可能有一个办公空间和一个卧室。

#2。 旅行和车辆使用的扣除

与业务相关的研讨会和活动的差旅费用可以从应税收入中扣除。 酒店、汽车租赁和机票可以扣除。 如果你开车上班,你可以减少一部分你已经开车的距离。 以及任何维护或支出。 

#3。 餐费扣除

大多数企业可以扣除他们为员工购买的膳食费用的 50%。 在家用餐不符合减税条件。

#4。 健康保险费扣除

如果您是自己的老板,您可能有资格减少您的健康保险费。

#5。 租金折扣

您为商业空间支付的费用可能会从您的业务利润中扣除。 很有可能扣除您为企业使用的材料或其他设备支付的租金。

自雇税VS。 收入

收入:自雇税与收入

个人和企业(纳税人)需缴纳所得税,所得税是对其应税收入(通常称为应税收入)征收的。 在大多数情况下,所得税是通过将税率乘以应纳税所得额来计算的。 纳税人的税率可能因个人素质和收入来源而异。

随着应税收入的增加,税率也会增加。 作为一般规则,公司须缴纳公司税,该税通常按统一税率征收。 一个人的个人收入可能会受到多种方式的影响 累进税。

自雇税:自雇税与收入

在大多数情况下,自雇人士需要同时缴纳所得税和自雇税(SE)。 对于那些自己的老板来说,SE 税是社会保障税和医疗保险税的结合。 社会保障 医疗保险税可从大多数工人的工资中扣除。 它们是此类税收的一个例子。 社会保障税和医疗保险税是唯一被称为自雇税(如所得税)的税种。

让您了解您的企业是否有 净利 或损失,您必须首先确定您是否是个体经营者。 从收入中减去公司的支出就是你得出这个数字的方法。 您的净利润(即收入和成本之间的差额)显示在 1 或 1040-SR 表格的第 1040 页上。 如果你的支出超过你的收入,你就会没钱。 在 1040 或 1040-SR 表格的第一页,您通常可以从总收入中扣除您的损失。 但是,在某些情况下,您的损失可能会降到最低。

总结

自雇税是社会保障税和医疗保险税的结合,主要影响企业首席执行官。 可从大多数工人的工资中扣除的社会保障税和医疗保险税就是此类税收的一个例子。

雇主估计绝大多数有薪雇员的社会保障和医疗保险税。 另一方面,您可以通过填写附表 SE(表格 1040 或 1040-SR)来计算自己的税款(SE 税)。 

自雇税常见问题解答

如果您不提交自雇税会怎样?

未能记录自雇收入是联邦和州的违法行为。 以这种方式逃税。 未能缴纳税款的纳税人将被处以罚款、未缴税款的利息以及监禁的可能性。

为什么自雇税这么高?

因为美国国税局将企业家视为雇主和雇员。 结果,税率上升。

国税局如何知道您是否是自雇人士?

他们通过独立承包商了解 因为他们有责任通过填写附表 C(表格 1040)来跟踪其业务损益。 (独资)。 如果您的自雇净收入为 400 美元或更多,您还必须提交附表 SE(表格 1040)和自雇税。

自主创业的六大弊端是什么?

  • 收益的不确定性
  • 没有员工福利
  • 工作时间可能很长。
  • 增加压力和责任感。
  • 缺乏组织。
  • 有丢失的风险。
  • 将有更多税务文书需要处理
  1. 年收入:年总收入、净收入和总收入的定义和计算
  2. 有限合伙:概述、税收和示例
  3. 销售工程师:职位描述、技能和薪水更新! (我们)
  4. 商务手机:企业主的评论和最佳手机列表(更新)
0股
发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被公开。

你也许也喜欢

SELF EMPLOYMENT TAX: Paying Self Employment Tax 2022

SELF EMPLOYMENT TAX
image source: FreeUp

Taxes on self-employment are due if your net self-employment income is $400 or more, whether you are self-employed as a business owner, freelancer, or independent contractor. In this guide, you’ll learn more about how to calculate self-employment tax and the difference between self-employment vs income tax.

Understanding Self-Employment Tax

Self-employment tax is the combination of Social Security and Medicare taxes that largely affects people that are CEOs of their businesses. Social Security and Medicare taxes, which are deducted from the wages of the majority of workers, are an example of this type of tax.

Employers estimate Social Security and Medicare taxes for the vast majority of wage employees. On the other hand, you calculate your own taxes (SE taxes) by filling out Schedule SE (Form 1040 or 1040-SR). It’s possible to subtract from your adjusted gross income the percentage of your SE tax that would have been paid by a company. Social Security and Medicare taxes are not deductible for wage workers.

Self-Employment Tax Rate

In the United States, the self-employment tax rate is 15.3%. For social security, which involves old-age, survivors, and disability insurance, the rate is 12.4%; for Medicare, which is hospital insurance, it is 2.9 percent.

The first $142,800 of your cumulative wages, tips, and net earnings are applicable to any combination of the Social Security part of the tax. The Social Security tax, or railroad retirement (tier 1) tax, in 2021. To prepare for the year 2022, the budget was raised to $147,000. It serves as a reference year’s Schedule SE for SE tax rates.

The 2.9 percent Medicare portion of the employment tax and the Social Security tax will apply to all of your cumulative wages, tips, and net profits for the current year. There is no 12.4 percent SE tax on wages and tips applicable to either the social security tax or the Tier 1 part of the railroad retirement tax if they amount to at least $142,800 and are applicable to both. On the 2.9 percent Medicare portion of the SE tax, on the other hand, the payment must be on all of your net earnings.

Wages, bonuses, and self-employment income earned after December 31, 2012, are subject to an extra Medicare tax rate of 0.9%.

In the event that you select a tax year other than the calendar year, you must apply the tax rate and highest income limit in effect at the start of your tax year. Tax rates and the highest income limits fluctuate during the year but don’t adjust your self-employment tax rate or cap.

How to Calculate the Self-Employment Tax Rate

  • To calculate your self-employment tax. Begin the process of figuring out how much tax you owe by calculating your net income from self-employment for the calendar year.
  • For tax reasons, net income is often the difference between your self-employment gross earnings and your business expenditures.
  • There is a self-employment tax on 92.35 percent of your net self-employment income in most cases.
  • Calculate how much of your net self-employment income is liable to tax and then use the 15.3% tax rate as a guideline.
  • Even though the Social Security part of the self-employment tax only applies to the first $142,800 ($147,000 in 2022) of income in 2021, it’s important to keep this in mind.
  • Remember to check the two tax available procedures in IRS Schedule SE to calculate your net profits, but only if you suffered a loss from self-employment. 

Paying Self-Employment Tax: Who Pays For It?

  • Taxes on self-employment are due if your net self-employment income is $400 or more, whether you are the boss of your business, a freelancer, or an independent contractor worker. Several people that work for themselves get IRS 1099 forms from their customers that detail the amount of money they got from their customers over the course of the year.
  • If you worked for a Christian community and got more than $108.28, you must also pay self-employment taxes.
  • One can earn revenue in the same calendar year from a full-time job and self-employment. Nowadays, many people have to juggle a day job and a side business. If a person works in an organization that does not work on weekends and drives for a ride-sharing service on the weekends, he or she may be eligible for both jobs. Income from ride-sharing services is the same as self-employment.

How to File The Self Employment Tax Form

When you’re your own boss, you’ll have to take a few extra procedures to file your taxes.

  • To begin, fill out IRS self-employment tax Form 1040 Schedule C to disclose your business’s income.
  • For your self-employment tax, complete the IRS Form 1040 Schedule SE.
  • The next step is to prepare and submit your tax returns. If you earn money from your own business. Then you need to complete the self-employment IRS Form 1040 when you file your tax return. That’s because you’ll be able to deduct expenditures from your self-employment earnings. Which will lower your tax bill, and this form enables you to do so.
  • Getting a Social Security number or an individual taxpayer identification number, or ITIN is necessary to complete your tax return.
  • Calculated taxes are also likely to be required. Once a quarter, most self-employed people are required to pay anticipated taxes based on their annual self-employment earnings.
  • To avoid owing a large amount of taxes when you file your taxes on April 18. It’s vital to pay sufficient every month to achieve this aim. In most cases, self-employed individuals who estimate to pay $1,000 or more in taxes on their yearly returns will be necessary to submit estimated payments.
  • The IRS’ Direct Pay option is the ideal financial decision for these taxes. Moreover, there are options to use a debit or credit card or send IRS a check, or you can transfer money from your account. 

Tax Deductions for Self Employed

Tax advantages of being your own boss include the ability to deduct a number of expenses. Cuts down your net income and taxes. Therefore, it is critical that you take benefit of all available tax deductions. The following are among the most crucial:

#1. Expenses for a Home Office

The home office deduction is available to those who work from home. For this, you’ll need to know the size of your work area. Using a home office must also be frequently and solely by the taxpayer. It’s not possible to have an office space and a bedroom in the same room.

#2. Deductions for Travel and Vehicle Use

Travel expenses for business-related seminars and events can be deducted from taxable income. Hotels, auto rentals, and flight tickets can be deducted. If you drive for work, you can reduce a portion of the distance you’ve driven. As well as any maintenance or expenditures. 

#3. The Deduction for Meals

Most businesses can deduct 50 percent of the expenses for meals they purchase for their employees. Meals eaten at home are not eligible for a tax deduction.

#4. Deductions on Health Insurance Premiums

If you are your own boss, you may be eligible to reduce your health insurance premiums.

#5. Discount on Rent

The expenses you make for commercial space might be deducted from your business’s profits. Deducting the rent you pay for materials or other equipment that you use in your business is very much possible.

Self Employment Tax Vs. Income

The Income: Self Employment tax vs income

Individuals and businesses (taxpayers) are subject to income taxes, which are levied on their taxable income (commonly called taxable income). In the majority of cases, income tax is calculated by multiplying the tax rate by total taxable income. A taxpayer’s tax rate may differ based on his or her individual qualities and the source of their income.

As taxable income rises, so does the tax rate. As a general rule, corporations are subject to corporate tax, which is often collected at a flat rate. There are many ways in which a person’s individual income might be subjected to progressive taxation.

The Self-Employment Tax: Self-Employment tax vs income

In most cases, self-employed individuals are required to pay both income tax and self-employment tax (SE). For those that are their own bosses, the SE tax is a combination of the Social Security and Medicare taxes. Social Security and Medicare taxes are deductible from the wages of the majority of workers. They are an example of this type of tax. Social Security and Medicare taxes are the only taxes referred to as self-employment tax (like income tax).

For you to figure out if your business has a net income or loss, you must first find out if you are self-employed. Subtracting your company’s expenditures from its revenue is how you arrive at this number. Your net profit, which is the difference between your income and costs, appears on page 1 of your Form 1040 or 1040-SR. If your spending exceeds your income, you’ll be out of money. On the first page of Form 1040 or 1040-SR, you can normally deduct your losses from gross income. However, your loss may be minimized in some circumstances.

Conclusion

Self-employment tax is the combination of Social Security and Medicare taxes that largely affects people that are CEOs of their businesses. Social Security and Medicare taxes, which are deductible from the wages of the majority of workers, are an example of this type of tax.

Employers estimate Social Security and Medicare taxes for the vast majority of wage employees. On the other hand, you calculate your own taxes (SE taxes) by filling out Schedule SE (Form 1040 or 1040-SR). 

SELF-EMPLOYMENT TAX FAQs

What happens if you dont file self-employment taxes?

It’s a federal and state offense to fail to record self-employment income. tax evasion in this manner. Taxpayers who fail to pay their taxes are subject to a penalty fee, interest on the unpaid amount, and the possibility of imprisonment.

Why is the self-employment tax so high?

Because the Internal Revenue Service sees entrepreneurs as both employers and employees. As a result, the tax rate rises.

How does the IRS know if you are self-employed?

They get to know through Independent contractors because it is their responsibility to keep track of their business profits and losses by completing Schedule C (Form 1040). (Sole Proprietorship). If your net self-employment income is $400 or more, you must also submit Schedule SE (Form 1040), and Self-Employment Tax.

What are six disadvantages of self-employment?

  • Uncertainty in earnings
  • No employee benefits
  • Hours of work could be very long.
  • Increased strain and accountability.
  • Lack of organization.
  • There is a risk of losing.
  • There will be more tax paperwork to deal with
  1. ANNUAL INCOME: Definition and Calculations of Gross, Net & Total Annual Income
  2. Limited Partnership: Overview, Taxation, and Examples
  3. Sales Engineer: Job Description, Skills & Salary Updated! (US)
  4. BUSINESS CELL PHONES: Reviews and Best Cell Phone List for Business Owners (Updated)
0 Shares:
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You May Also Like