应税收入:定义、示例和计算

应纳税所得额
图片来源:Independent.ie

您可以通过多种方式获得收入:金钱、服务或某种财产。 您的收入金额,例如您的社会保障收入或就业工资,决定了您将支付的税款构成您的应税收入。 既然你的收入不仅仅用金钱来衡量,那么,你如何计算你的应税收入呢? 本指南中的公式将帮助您计算您自己或您的企业的应税收入。 

应税收入的定义

应税收入是确定个人或企业所欠税款所需的收入金额。 应税收入也称为调整后总收入或扣除或免税较少的调整后收入。

工资和薪水并不是应税收入的唯一来源。 奖金、小费、非劳动收入和投资收入都是非劳动收入的例子。 政府福利、配偶赡养费、取消的债务、残疾付款、罢工福利以及彩票和赌博奖金都是非劳动收入的例子。 投资收入可能包括投资利息、股息支付以及当年升值和出售的资产的收益。

应税收入还包括雇主提供的附加福利、虚拟货币收入以及以物易物获得的服务或物品。

子女抚养费、人寿保险单的收入、继承的钱、工人赔偿金、事故赔偿金、福利金、奖学金或助学金,以及存入收入者退休账户的一定数额的收入都是非应税收入的例子。

应税收入示例

珍妮正在报税。 她作为公司会计师的工资是应纳税的,但她的股票期权在行使前不纳税。 她唯一的叔叔最近去世了,给珍妮留下了一大笔钱和他铁路公司的股份。 珍妮不需要将遗产报告为应税收入,因为已经支付了遗产税。 珍妮的雇主、她叔叔的铁路公司和她都为她的 401(k) 退休计划供款。 珍妮也不会将这笔钱作为应税收入申报。

应税收入公式

应纳税所得额公式用于计算所得税项下的应纳税所得额总额。 对于个人来说,应税收入的计算公式很简单,计算方法是从所赚取的总收入中扣除所得税豁免和扣除额,而企业则通过从总收入和其他收入中扣除所有费用和扣除额来计算。

通俗地说,它是指个人或组织所赚取的可能导致纳税义务的收入金额。 个人应纳税所得额的计算方法从表面上看很简单,它是通过从总收入中扣除所有免税费用和所有符合条件的扣除额来计算的。

对于个人,我们计算应纳税所得额如下:

应税收入的公式 = 总收入 - 总免税 - 总扣除

对于一家公司,我们通过扣除销售成本和运营费用来计算应税收入。 以及为公司的总销售额支付的债务利息。 为了获得最终收入,需要对税收减免或抵免进行调整。

是这样写的,

应税收入的公式 = 总销售额 - 销售成本 - 营业费用 - 利息费用 - 税收减免/抵免

如何计算应纳税所得额的细目 

对于个人:

#1。 首先确定个人的总收入。 总收入涵盖所有收入来源,例如工资/薪金、物业租金收入、资产销售的资本收益、其他商业利益的收入等。

#2。 确定个人的豁免总数。 各种免税类型包括慈善机构、人道主义援助、教学资源等。 根据报告国家/地区的不同,列表可能会有所不同。

#3。 然后,将与个人收入相关的扣除额相加。 税收减免可能包括学校贷款利息、房屋贷款利息、医疗费用等。 此列表可能会因报告国家/地区而异。

#4。 通过从个人总收入中减去总免税和总扣除来计算应税收入公式,如下图所示。

总豁免 - 总扣除 = 应税收入。

对于 A 公司:

  • 销售部门必须确认总销售额。
  • 然后会计部门确定销售产品的成本。
  • 然后使用来自会计部门的数据计算运营费用。
  • 然后根据收取的利率和公司的未偿债务计算支付的利息。

利息支出=利率*债务

  • 确定公司的所有税收减免和抵免。

最后,应税收入等式是通过从公司的总销售额中扣除所售物品的成本、运营费用和债务利息来计算的,如下图所示。

应纳税所得额 = 总销售额 - 销售成本 - 营业费用 - 利息费用 - 税收减免/抵免

社会保障收入是否应纳税?

对于大多数美国人来说,社会保障收入是应税的。 也就是说,绝大多数领取社会保障福利的人要缴纳高达 50% 甚至 85% 的所得税,因为他们从社会保障和其他来源获得的总收入超过了极低的税收限制。

为了减少您为社会保障福利缴纳的税款,您可以采用以下三种策略之一:将一些退休收入存入 Roth IRA,在退休前取消应税收入,或购买年金。

您的社会保障收入中应纳税的百分比是多少?

自 1983 年以来,社会保障福利的税收超过了某些收入限制。 由于自那时以来这些限制没有发生通货膨胀变化,大多数获得社会保障福利并拥有其他收入来源的人为这些福利缴纳了一些税。

任何纳税人,无论收入如何,都不会对所有的社会保障福利征税。 最高水平提供全部收益的 85%。 以下是美国国税局 (IRS) 计算应纳税额的方式:

计算从社会保障和所有其他来源的调整后总收入 (AGI) 开始。 这可能包括工资、自雇收入、利息、股息、符合条件的退休基金所需的最低分配 (RMD) 以及其他应税收入。

然后加上免税利息。 (不征税,但包含在计算中。)

如果您的总收入超过最低应税门槛,您的社会保障福利中至少有一半将被视为应税收入。 要计算您的净收入,您必须首先采用标准扣除额或逐项列出您的扣除额。 您欠的金额取决于您的号码在联邦所得税表中的位置。

调整后的总收​​入 + 非应税利息 + 一半的社会保障福利 = 综合收入

降低社会保障金税的关键是减少退休时的应税收入,而不是减少总收入。

个人所得税税率

如果您以个人身份提交联邦纳税申报表,并且您从所有来源获得的总总收入如下,您的福利将被征税:

25,000 美元至 34,000 美元之间:您可能需要为您的福利支付高达 50% 的所得税。

超过 34,000 美元:您可能需要对高达 85% 的福利征税。

如果您收到社会保障金,国税局会发布一份工作表,可用于计算您所欠的总所得税。 如果您的个人总收入达到 25,000 美元或一对夫妇达到 32,000 美元,您会发现您的应税收入增加了高达您从社会保障中获得的金额的 50%。 此外,如果您的个人总收入达到 34,000 美元或一对夫妇的总收入达到 44,000 美元,则纳税百分比将跃升至您的社会保障福利的 85%。

假设您是个人纳税人,领取典型的社会保障金额:大约 18,000 美元。 此外,您还有 20,000 美元的“其他”收入。 当您将两者相加时,您将获得近 38,000 美元的总收入。 但是,您的总收入仅为 29,000 美元。 (其他收入加上一半的社会保障福利)。 那是在 25,000-34,000 美元的范围内,对您的福利征收 50% 的税。 因此,您的应税金额是该收入与 $25 门槛之间差额的一半:($28,000 – 25,000 = $3,000;$3,000/2 = $1,500)。 对于不同收入类型的纳税人,计算可能会变得更加困难。

已婚夫妇的税收

如果您和您的配偶有以下总收入并提交联合申报表,您的福利将被征税:

32,000 美元至 44,000 美元之间:您可能需要为您的福利支付高达 50% 的所得税。

超过 44,000 美元:您可能需要对高达 85% 的福利征税。

假设您是一对半退休夫妇共同申报,社会保障福利总额为 26,000 美元。 您还获得了 30,000 美元的“其他”收入。 当您将两者相加时,您将获得 56,000 美元的总收入。 您的社会保障总收入为 43,000 美元。 (其他收入加上一半的社会保障福利)。 总收入在 32,000 美元到 44,000 美元之间,这意味着收入与门槛之间的差额的一半按 50% 计算以确定您的应税金额:(43,000-32,000 美元 = 11,000 美元;11,000 美元/2 = 5,500 美元)。

应税收入类别

个人和企业在扣除允许的扣除额后对其全部收入征税。 有四大类收入需要征税:

#1。 就业收入

就业收入通常定义为雇主支付的个人工资或补偿。 它还可以包括您的雇主在您的工作中提供的任何假期、礼物或额外津贴。 一般来说,可以从工作收入中扣除的费用很少,但销售人员也有一些例外。

#2。 业务利润

法律区分就业和商业收入。 个人、合伙企业或公司可以赚取商业收入,其中包括从专业、贸易或您预期获利的任何其他业务中赚取的任何收入。 一些租金收入也被视为公司收入。 例如,如果房东提供不寻常的服务,如洗衣或打扫房间,或者业主经营的办公室有负责监督出租物业的工人。 这种形式的收入通常允许扣除业务费用。

#3。 财产收益

该法律还要求纳税人对财产收入纳税,其中包括投资和贷款的利息,以及投资物业的租金。 如果费用与获得收入直接相关,通常只能从这种形式的收入中扣除。 用于购买房产的贷款利息是从房产收入中定期扣除的。 还有财产收入法禁止您将财产收入转移给配偶或孩子,以减少您必须缴纳的税款。

#4。 资本收益

根据立法,资本收益的征税方式不同。 一般而言,如果您以高于购买的价格出售资本财产(例如股票),则差额称为资本收益。 如果您以低于购买价格的价格出售某物,则差额被视为资本损失。 如果您获得资本收益,则只有一半被征税。

什么不是应税收入?

根据 CRA 的规定,有些付款是您不必将其作为收入的一部分披露且无需纳税的。 这些是一些例子:

  • GST/HST 积分
  • 加拿大儿童税法和相关省和地区计划的好处
  • 子女抚养费
  • 彩票利润
  • 大多数礼物和遗产
  • 人死后从人寿保险单中支付的大部分钱
  • 从免税储蓄账户 (TFSA) 收到的大部分资金
  • 因人身伤害而获得的大部分赔偿
  • 根据《印度法》第 87 条免税的金额
  • 加拿大或盟国为退伍军人因服役而致残或死亡而支付的金额。
  • 工会赚取的大部分罢工工资

结论,

您已经看到,并非您的所有收入都应纳税。 您的应税收入包括您的就业和财产收入,以及您的业务收入。 使用本文提供的指南,您将能够有效地计算您的应税收入。

应税收入常见问题解答

什么是应税收入示例?

您从工作中获得的工资、薪水和任何奖金都是应税收入的例子。

什么是个人的个人收入?

个人收入是一个国家的公民收到的总金额。

什么是3种所得税?

所得税的三种类型包括财富税、资本利得税和公司税。

  1. 应税经纪账户:了解应税经纪账户及其运作方式
  2. 社会保障税限额:2022 年的社会保障税限额是多少?
  3. 应税利息:含义和应税利息如何征税
  4. 如何计算净工资:简单指南
  5. 净工资:如何计算您的净工资
  6. 低收入住房:2022 年的经济适用房选择

參考資料

0股
发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被公开。

你也许也喜欢

TAXABLE INCOME: Definition, Examples & Calculations

Taxable income
Image source: Independent.ie

You can receive income in many ways: money, services, or some sort of property. The amount of your income, such as your social security income or employment wage, that determines what you’ll pay as tax makes up your taxable income. Seeing that your income is not only measured in terms of money, how, then, can you calculate your taxable income? The formula in this guide will help you calculate the taxable income for yourself or your business. 

Definition Of Taxable Income

Taxable income is the amount of income needed to determine the taxes owed by an individual or business. Taxable income is also known as adjusted gross income or adjusted income with fewer deductions or exemptions.

Wages and salaries are not the only sources of taxable income. Bonuses, tips, unearned income, and investment income are all examples of unearned income. Government benefits, spousal support payments, canceled debts, disability payments, strike benefits, and lottery and gambling winnings are examples of unearned income. Investment income may include interest on investments, dividend payments, and earnings from assets that appreciated and were sold during the year.

Taxable income also includes employer-provided fringe benefits, revenue from virtual currency, and services or items gained in barter.

Child support, earnings from life insurance policies, inherited money, worker’s compensation payments, compensation for accidents, welfare benefits, scholarships or grants for school, and income deposited into the earner’s retirement account up to a certain amount are all examples of nontaxable income.

Example of Taxable Income

Jenny is working on her taxes. Her wages as a corporate accountant are taxable, but her stock options are not taxable until they are exercised. Her only uncle recently died, leaving Jenny a large sum of money and a stake in his railroad company. Jenny is not required to report the inheritance as taxable income because estate taxes have already been paid. Jenny’s employer, her uncle’s railroad, and she both contribute to her 401(k) retirement plan. Jenny will also not claim this money as taxable income.

The Taxable Income Formula

The taxable income formula is used to calculate the total income taxable under the income tax. For individuals, the taxable income formula is simple and is calculated by deducting the income tax exemptions and deductions from the total income earned, while businesses calculate it by deducting all expenses and deductions from the total revenue and other income earned.

In layman’s terms, it refers to the amount of income earned by an individual or organization that may result in a tax liability. The method for taxable income for an individual is quite straightforward on the surface, and it is calculated by deducting all tax-exempt expenses and all eligible deductions from gross total income.

For an individual, we calculate the taxable income as follows:

The formula for Taxable Income = Gross Total Income – Total Exemptions – Total Deductions

For a corporation, we calculate the taxable income by deducting the cost of goods sold and operational expenses. and debt interest paid on the company’s gross sales. To get at the final income, an adjustment for a tax deduction or credit is made.

It is written thus,

The formula for Taxable Income = Gross Sales – Cost of Goods Sold – Operating Expense – Interest Expense – Tax Deduction/ Credit

A Breakdown On How To Calculate The Taxable Income 

For An Individual:

#1. Determine the individual’s gross total income first. Gross total income covers all sources of income such as wages/salaries, property rental income, capital gains from asset sales, income from other business interests, and so on.

#2. Determine the individual’s total number of exemptions. Various types of tax exemption include charities, humanitarian help, instructional resources, and so on. Depending on the reporting country, the list may differ.

#3. Then, sum the deductions related to the individual’s income. Tax deductions may include school loan interest, house loan interest, medical expenses, and so on. This list may potentially differ based on the country of reporting.

#4. Calculate the taxable income formula by subtracting total exemptions and total deductions from the individual’s gross total income, as illustrated below.

Total exemptions – total deductions = taxable earnings.

For A Corporation:

  • The sales department must confirm gross sales.
  • The accounting department then determines the cost of products sold.
  • The operating expense is then computed using data from the accounts department.
  • The interest paid is then computed based on the interest rate charged and the company’s outstanding debt.

Interest expenditure = interest rate * debt

  • Determine all of the company’s tax deductions and credits.

Finally, the taxable income equation is calculated by deducting the cost of items sold, operational expenses, and interest paid on debts from the company’s gross sales, as illustrated below.

Taxable earnings = gross sales – cost of goods sold – operating expenses – interest expense – tax deduction/credit

Is Social Security Income Taxable?

For most Americans, the social security income is taxable. That is, the vast majority of those who receive Social Security benefits pay income tax on up to 50% or even 85% of their payments because their combined income from Social Security and other sources exceeds the extremely low tax limits.

To reduce the amount of tax you pay on Social Security benefits, you can adopt one of three strategies: deposit some retirement income in Roth IRAs, remove taxable income before retiring, or purchase an annuity.

What Percentage of Your Social Security Income Is Taxable?

Since 1983, Social Security benefits have been taxed above certain income limitations. Because there have been no inflation changes to those restrictions since then, most people who get Social Security benefits and have other sources of income pay some tax on the benefits.

No taxpayer, regardless of income, gets all of their Social Security benefits taxed. The highest level provides 85% of the entire benefit. Here’s how the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) calculates how much is taxable:

The calculation begins with your adjusted gross income (AGI) from Social Security and all other sources. That may include wages, self-employed earnings, interest, dividends, required minimum distributions (RMDs) from eligible retirement funds, and other taxable income.

Then tax-free interest is added. (It is not taxed, but it is included in the calculation.)

If your total income exceeds the minimum taxable threshold, at least half of your Social Security benefits will be deemed taxable income. To calculate your net income, you must first take the standard deduction or itemize your deductions. The amount you owe is determined by where your number falls in the federal income tax tables.

Adjusted Gross Income + Nontaxable Interest + Half of Your Social Security Benefits = Combined Income

The key to lowering taxes on your Social Security payment is to reduce your taxable income when you retire, not your overall income.

Individual Income Tax Rates

If you file a federal tax return as an individual and your total gross income from all sources is as follows, your benefits will be taxed:

Between $25,000 and $34,000: You may be required to pay income tax on up to 50% of your benefits.

More than $34,000: You may be taxed on up to 85% of your benefits.

If you receive Social Security payments, the IRS publishes a worksheet that can be used to compute your total income taxes owed. If your gross income reaches $25,000 for an individual or $32,000 for a couple, you will find that your taxable income has increased by up to 50% of the amount you received from Social Security. Furthermore, if your combined income reaches $34,000 for a person or $44,000 for a couple, the taxed percentage jumps to 85% of your Social Security benefit.

Assume you were an individual taxpayer who received the typical amount of Social Security: approximately $18,000. In addition, you had $20,000 in “other” income. When you add the two, you obtain a gross revenue of almost $38,000. However, your combined income is barely $29,000. (other income plus half of your Social Security benefits). That is in the $25,000-$34,000 area for a 50% tax on your benefits. So, your taxable amount is half of the difference between that income and the $25k threshold: ($28,000 – 25,000 = $3,000; $3,000/2 = $1,500). For taxpayers with different types of income, the calculation might get more difficult.

Taxes on Married Couples

If you and your spouse have the following total income and file a joint return, your benefits will be taxable:

Between $32,000 and $44,000: You may be required to pay income tax on up to 50% of your benefits.

More than $44,000: You may be taxed on up to 85% of your benefits.

Assume you are a semi-retired couple filing jointly with a total Social Security benefit of $26,000. You also made $30,000 in “other” income. When you add the two, you obtain a gross income of $56,000. Your total Social Security income is $43,000. (other income plus half of your Social Security benefits). This combined income is between $32,000 and $44,000, which means that half the difference between the income and the threshold is calculated at 50% to determine your taxable amount: ($43,000-32,000 = $11,000; $11,000/2 = $5,500).

Categories of Taxable Income

Individuals and businesses are taxed on their whole income after deducting permitted deductions. There are four broad categories of income that are taxed:

#1. Earnings from employment

Employment income is typically defined as a person’s pay or compensation paid by their employer. It can also include any vacations, gifts, or additional perks provided by your employer as part of your work. There are minimal expenses that can be deducted from job income in general, yet there are several exceptions for salespeople.

#2. Profits from business

The law distinguishes between employment and business revenue. An individual, a partnership, or a corporation can earn business income, which includes any money earned from a profession, trade, or any other business where you anticipate making a profit. Some rental revenue is also considered company income. For instance, if the landlord provides unusual services such as laundry or housecleaning, or if the owner operates an office with workers that oversee rental properties. This form of revenue typically allows for business expenses to be deducted.

#3. Property earnings

The law also mandates taxpayers to pay tax on property income, which includes interest from investments and loans, as well as rent from investment properties. Expenses can often only be deducted from this form of revenue if they are directly related to obtaining the income. Interest on a loan used to purchase the property is a regular deduction from property income. There are also property income laws that prohibit you from moving property income to a spouse or kid solely to reduce the amount of tax you must pay.

#4. Gains in capital

Capital gains are taxed differently under the legislation. In general, if you sell capital property, such as stocks, for more than you purchased for it, the difference is termed a capital gain. If you sell something for less than you purchased it, the difference is considered a capital loss. If you make a capital gain, only half of it is taxed.

What Is Not Taxable Income?

According to the CRA, there are some payments that you do not have to disclose as part of your income and are not taxable. These are some examples:

  • Credits for GST/HST
  • Benefits from the Canada Child Tax Act and related provincial and territorial programs
  • Child support payments
  • Lottery profits
  • The majority of gifts and inheritances
  • The majority of the money paid from a life insurance policy after someone dies
  • The majority of funds received from a tax-free savings account (TFSA)
  • The majority of compensation obtained for personal injuries
  • Amounts exempt from taxation under Section 87 of the Indian Act
  • Amounts paid by Canada or an allied nation for a veteran’s disability or death as a result of service.
  • The majority of strike pay earned by a union

In Conclusion,

You have seen that not all of your income is taxable. Your taxable income includes your employment and property earnings, as well as the revenue from your business. With the guide provided in this article, you will be able to efficiently calculate your taxable income.

Taxable Income FAQs

What is a taxable income example?

The wages, salaries, and any bonuses you earn from your job are all examples of taxable income.

What is personal income of an individual?

Personal income is the total amount of money received by a country’s citizens.

What are 3 types of income tax?

Three types of income tax include wealth tax, capital gains tax, and corporate tax.

  1. TAXABLE BROKERAGE ACCOUNT: Understanding Taxable Brokerage Account And How It Works
  2. SOCIAL SECURITY TAX LIMIT: What is the Social Security tax limit for 2022?
  3. TAXABLE INTEREST: Meaning & How Taxable Interest Is Taxed
  4. How To Calculate The Net Pay: Simple Guide
  5. NET PAY: How to Calculate Your Net Pay
  6. LOW-INCOME HOUSING: Affordable Housing Options In 2022

References

0 Shares:
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You May Also Like