期货定价:如何为期货合约定价

期货定价

期货合约的定价是金融商品的市场价格。 随着合同中支付的利息、期限和股息的修改。 本文旨在对期货及其合约的定价有一个清晰的认识。

定价期货

期货是金融衍生品,其价值主要取决于相关股票或指数的价格。 但是,定价并不那么简单。 现金和衍生品领域的标的资产之间仍然存在价格差距。 我们可以通过使用两种简单的期货合约定价模型来解释这种区别。 这些将使您能够预测股票期货或指数期货合约的价格将如何表现。 它们如下:

  • 携带成本模型
  • 期望模型

但是,请记住,这些模型只是为您了解期货市场提供了基础。 话虽如此,了解这些理论可以让您了解对股票或指数期货价格的预期。

携带成本模型

持有成本模型基于市场完全有效的假设。 这意味着现金和期货之间没有价格差异。 结果,没有机会 套利. 交易者从两个或多个市场的价格差异中获利的现象已经消失。

而且,当套利空间不大时。 投资者在交易标的资产时并不关心现货和期货市场的定价。 但是,这是因为它们的最终利润是相同的。

为简单起见,该模型还假设合同持有至到期,以便确定公平价格。

总之,期货合约 (FP) 的定价将等于现货价格 (SP) 加上持有资产直至期货合约到期日的净成本。

SP +(持有成本 - 持有回报)= FP

更重要的是?

在这种情况下,持有成本是指在期货合约到期之前保留资产的成本。 此外,这可能包括存储费、为获取和维护资产而支付的利息、融资费用等。 同时,利差收益与资产持有期间从资产中获得的任何收入有关。 比如分红、红利等等。 在计算指数期货定价时,套利收益是指现货市场持有期间指数提供的平均收益。 净携带成本是这两者的总和。

这种定价模式的底线是持有现货市场的股份可能有利也有弊。 期货合约的定价反映了这些费用或收益,以便适当地收取或奖励您。

什么是期货定价预期模型?

根据期货定价的期望模型。 资产的期货定价本质上是资产未来的现货价格。

这表明,如果整体市场情绪有利于未来资产的更高价格,则项目期货定价将是积极的。

同样,市场悲观情绪的增加将导致资产的期货价格下跌。

该模型与持有成本模型不同,认为资产的当前现货价格与其期货价格之间没有联系。 然而,唯一重要的是资产的未来现货价格是什么。

这也是为什么许多股票市场参与者希望通过未来的定价模式来预测现金部分的价格波动。

定价期货与商品现货价格

现货和期货价格都是购买合同的报价。 买卖双方对商品的约定成本。 但是,区别它们的是交易的时间和商品的交货日期。 第一个是指将立即发生的交易,而第二个是指将在以后发生的交易——通常是几个月后。

 商品现货价格

商品的现货价格是该商品当前购买、支付和交付的当前成本。 此外,商品现货合约的付款和交货都需要及时。 交易是“当场”完成的,因此称为“现货价格”。

从广义上讲,商品的现货价格显示了商品目前在市场上的交易成本。 同时,交易者和投资者跟踪商品现货价格的方式与股票价格相同。 当人们说“黄金的交易价格为每盎司 1,800 美元”之类的话时,他们通常指的是现货价格。

商品期货价格 

期货价格是针对将在以后发生的涉及商品的交易——字面意思是在未来。 因此,商品期货购买者正在为即将到来的交割确保价格。

商品的期货价格由其当前现货价格加上交割前中期的持有成本决定。 因此,运输成本是指储存商品的成本,包括利息、保险和其他附带费用。

以下公式可用于计算商品期货价格: 将存储成本添加到商品的当前价格中。 将答案除以欧拉数 (2.718281828…) 乘以无风险利率乘以到期期限。

现货价格、期货价格和基差要考虑的特殊因素

由于金融市场不断向前看并改变预期,现货和期货价格波动。

基准是可交割商品的当地现货价格与最早可用的期货合约价格之间的区别。 此外,在这种情况下,“本地”一词很重要,因为期货价格反映了任何商品的全球定价,因此可以作为本地价格的基准。 此外,从一个地方到另一个地方的基础可能大不相同,主要是由于将物品运输到其分销点的成本。

以期货合约基准为例:

假设当前原油现货价格为每桶 50 美元。

那么两个月内交割的原油期货价格为 54 美元。

基础是 4 美元,相当于 54 美元至 50 美元。

基础是投资组合经理和交易者理解的重要主题。 因为现金和期货价格之间的联系会影响用于套期保值的合约的价值。 此外,商品交易者利用基础来决定购买或出售商品的最佳时机。 交易者根据基差是加强还是恶化进行买卖。

应该提到的是,基地并不总是正确的。 通常,在最近的合约到期之前,现货价格和相对价格之间存在差距。 由于产品质量各不相同,因此基数是一个不精确的指标。

期货市场之所以存在,是因为生产商寻求提前锁定可接受价格所带来的安全性。 而期货买家则希望他们购买的市场价值在中期和交割之间的时间内增长。 

期货合约定价

 期货定价合同是两方之间在未来日期以预定数量和预定价格买卖特定资产的协议。 

资产在称为交割日的未来日期支付和交割。 此外,期货定价合约的买方意味着持有多头头寸或简单地多头。 此外,期货定价合约的卖方应持有空头头寸或简单地做空。

期货合约定价说明

期货合约的标的资产可以是商品、股票、货币、利率或债券。 同时,期货定价合约在信誉良好的证券交易所进行交易。 交易所充当双方之间的促进者和调解者。 交易所要求双方在开始时作为合同的一部分提供一个最小账户,称为保证金。

因为期货价格每天都会波动。 价格差异通过保证金每天支付。 但是,如果保证金用完,承包方必须在账户中补足保证金。 这称为市场标记。 因此,在交货当天,仅使用现货价格来解决差价。 因为已经处理了所有其他差异。

期货定价合约可用于对冲风险或推测价格变动。

 

期货和远期是如何定价的?

远期合约在日期 t 的价格变化等于合约价值减去结算日之前剩余的时间。 期货合约按市值计价。 期货合约在按市值计价之前没有价值。 如果利率是可预测的,则远期价格等于期货价格。

哪些因素影响期货价格?


影响期货价格的最重要因素之一是利率,但还有其他主要因素也对期货价格产生重大影响,包括基础价格、利息(股息)收入、存储成本、无风险利率和便利收益。

为什么远期和期货定价彼此不同?

由于利率如何影响每日结算的短期现金流量,期货价格可能与远期价格不同。 如果利率稳定或与期货价格无关,则远期和期货价格将相同。

谁决定期货定价?

套期保值者和投机者在每天影响商品价格方面发挥着重要作用,因为他们共同占商品期货买卖兴趣的很大一部分。

期货如何产生收益?

期货是从金融资产(例如已建立的股票、债券或股票指数)中提取价值的衍生合约。 因此,它们可用于接触各种金融工具,例如股票、指数、货币和商品。

期货比期权便宜吗?

期权合约的价值永远不可能恰好为零美元。 相反,期货合约有能力经历负定价,而且经常发生。 之所以如此,是因为无论市场价格如何,期货合约的持有人都有义务购买标的资产。

总结

期货合约的定价是金融商品的市场价格。 对根据合同支付的利息、期限和股息进行修改。

期货定价常见问题解答

你如何为期货定价?

商品期货价格可按如下方式计算: 在商品现货价格上加上仓储成本。 将结果值乘以欧拉数 (2.718281828…) 得到无风险利率乘以到期时间。

你能做空期货吗?

要卖空股票或期货,您必须先卖出后买入。 事实上,学习做空的最好方法是实际做空股票/期货并体验损益。

我可以在到期前卖出期货吗?

是的,期货合约可以在到期前结算。 ......这可以通过将相同的合同出售给其他方或通过在具有相同到期日和合同价格的新合同中采取相反的立场来完成。

  1. 如何发现高收益投资(简易指南)
  2. 卖出看跌期权概述和期权交易示例
  3. 定价策略:最大化利润的最佳策略
  4. 股息收益率公式:含义、详细示例和免费投资者提示
  5. 成本加定价:含义、示例、优点和缺点
0股
发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被公开。

你也许也喜欢

PRICING OF FUTURES: How to Price Future Contracts

Pricing of futures

The pricing of futures contracts is the market price of a financial commodity. With the modification for interest, duration, and dividends paid out with a contract. This article is here to have a clear understanding of the pricing of futures and their contract.

Pricing Futures

Futures are financial derivatives whose value is mostly determine by the price of the underlying equities or indices. However, the pricing is not as straightforward. There is still a price gap between the underlying asset in the cash and derivatives segments. We can explain this distinction by using two simple pricing models for futures contracts. These will enable you to forecast how the price of a stock futures or index futures contract will behave. They are as follows:

  • The Cost of Carry Model
  • The Expectancy Model

However, keep in mind that these models just provide a foundation for your understanding of futures markets. Having said that, being aware of these theories provides you a sense of what to expect from a stock or index’s futures price.

Cost of Carry Model

The Cost of carry Model is based on the assumption that markets are perfectly efficient. This implies that there are no price differences between cash and futures. As a result, no chance for arbitrage. The phenomenon in which traders profit from price differences in two or more markets – is gone.

Moreover, when there is little room for arbitrage. Investors do not care about spot and futures market pricing while trading in the underlying asset. However, this is due to the fact that their final profits are the same.

For the purpose of simplicity, the model also assumes that the contract is on hold to maturity so that a fair price can be determined.

In summary, the pricing of a futures contract (FP) will be the same as the spot price (SP) plus the net cost of carrying the asset until the futures contract’s maturity date.

SP + (Carry Cost – Carry Return) = FP

What’s More?

Carry Cost in this context refers to the cost of retaining the asset until the futures contract matures. Moreover,  This could include storage fees, interest paid to acquire and maintain the asset, financing fees, and so on. Meanwhile, carry Return pertains to any income earn from the asset while it is on hold. Such as dividends, bonuses, and so on. When computing an index’s futures pricing, the Carry Return refers to the average returns provided by the index during the cash market holding period. The net cost of carry is the sum of these two.

The bottom line of this pricing model is that holding a stake in the cash market might have advantages or disadvantages. The pricing of a futures contract reflects these expenses or benefits in order to charge or reward you appropriately.

What is the futures pricinig Expectancy Model?

According to the Expectancy Model of futures pricing. The futures pricing of an asset is essentially what the asset’s spot price is to be in the future.

This indicates that if overall market sentiment favors a higher price for an asset in the future, the item futures pricing will be positive.

Similarly, an increase in pessimistic sentiment in the market would result in a drop in the asset’s futures price.

This model, unlike the Cost of Carry model, thinks that there is no connection between the asset’s current spot price and its futures pricing. However, the only thing that matters is what the asset’s future spot price is vision to be.

This is also why many stock market players look to future pricing patterns to forecast price fluctuations in the cash segment.

Pricing futures Vs Commodity Spot Price

Both the spot and futures prices are quotes for a purchase contract. The agreement cost of the commodity by the buyer and seller. However, what distinguishes them is the time of the transaction and the commodity’s delivery date. The first refers to a transaction that will take place immediately, while the second refers to a transaction that will take place later—typically, a few months later.

 Commodity Spot Price

The spot price of a commodity is the current cost of that commodity for current purchase, payment, and delivery. Moreover, payment and delivery are both in need promptly in commodity spot contracts. The transaction is completed “on the spot,” hence the term “spot price.”

In a broader sense, a commodity’s spot price shows the cost at which the commodity is currently in trade in the market. Meanwhile, commodity spot prices are tracked by traders and investors in the same way that stock prices are. When individuals say something like “gold is trading at $1,800 an ounce,” they’re usually referring to the spot price.

Commodity Futures Price 

The futures price is for a deal involving the commodity that will take place later—literally, in the future. Therefore, a  commodity futures purchaser is securing a price for an upcoming delivery.

The futures price of a commodity is determine by its current spot price plus the cost of carry during the interim period before delivery. Hence t the cost of carry refers to the cost of storing the commodity, which includes interest, insurance, and other incidental expenses.

The following formula can be use to compute commodity futures prices: Add storage costs to the commodity’s current price. Divide the answer by Euler’s number (2.718281828…) multiplied by the risk-free interest rate multiplied by the period to maturity.

Special Factors to Consider in Spot Price, Futures Price, and Basis

Since financial markets are continuously looking ahead and altering expectations, spot and futures prices fluctuate.

The basis is the distinction between the local spot price of a deliverable commodity and the price of the earliest available futures contract. Moreover, the term “local” is important in this context because futures prices reflect worldwide pricing for any commodity and so serve as a benchmark for local prices. Moreover, the basis might differ substantially from one place to the next, owing mostly to the costs of transporting the item to its distribution point.

As an example of futures contract basis:

Assume that the current spot price of crude oil is $50 per barrel.

Then the futures price of crude oil for delivery in two months is $54.

The basis is $4, which equals $54 – $50.

The basis is an important subject for portfolio managers and traders to understand.  since the link between cash and futures prices influences the value of the contracts used for hedging. Furthermore, commodity traders utilize a basis to decide the optimal moment to buy or sell a commodity. Traders purchase and sell according to whether the basis is strengthening or deteriorating.

It should be mentioned that the base is not always correct. Usually, there are gaps between spot and relative prices until the nearest contract expires. Because product quality varies, the base is an imprecise metric.

The futures market exists because producers seek the security that comes with locking in an acceptable price in advance. while futures buyers hope that the market value of their purchase grows during the time between interim and delivery. 

Pricing of Futures Contract

 A futures pricing contract is an agreement between two parties to buy and sell a specific asset in a predetermined quantity and at a predetermined price at a future date. 

The asset is paid for and delivered on a future date known as the delivery date.  Moreover, the buyer of a futures pricing contract means to as holding a long position or simply long. Furthermore, the seller of futures pricing contracts is to have a short position or simply to be short.

Pricing of the futures contract Explanation

A futures contract’s underlying assets could be commodities, equities, currencies, interest rates, or bonds. Meanwhile, the futures pricing contract is trade on a reputable stock exchange. The exchange serves as a facilitator and mediator between the parties. The exchange requires both parties to put up a minimal account as part of the contract at the start, known as the margin.

Because futures prices are subject to fluctuate on a daily basis. Price disparities are paid on a daily basis through the margin. However, if the margin is depleted, the contractee must replenish it in the account. This is known as marking to market. As a result, on the day of delivery, just the spot price is use to resolve the difference. Because all other disparities have already been handled.

Futures pricing contracts can be used to hedge against risk or to speculate on price movements.

 Conclusion

The pricing of futures contracts is the market price of a financial commodity. With modification for interest, duration, and dividends paid out with a contract.

Pricing Of Futures FAQ’s

How do you price futures?

Commodity futures prices can be calculated as follows: Add storage costs to the spot price of the commodity. Multiply the resulting value by Euler’s number (2.718281828…) raised to the risk-free interest rate multiplied by the time to maturity.

Can you short futures?

To short stock or futures, you will have to sell first and buy later. In fact, the best way to learn shorting is by actually shorting a stock/futures and experiencing the P&L.

Can I sell futures before expiry?

Yes, the futures contract can be settled before expiry. … This can be done by either selling the same contract to some other party or by taking an opposite position in a new contract that has the same expiry and contract price.

  1. How to Spot High Yield Investments (Easy Guide)
  2. Sell Put Options Overview with Options Trading Examples
  3. Pricing Strategy: Best strategies to Maximize profit
  4. Dividend Yield Formula: Meaning, Detailed Examples & Free Investor Tips
  5. COST PLUS PRICING: Meaning, Example, Advantages & Disadvantages
0 Shares:
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You May Also Like