另类投资:投资选择初学者指南

另类投资

另类投资经常成为寻求分散波动风险并可能产生股票和债券之外的额外回报的投资者的选择。 对于合适的投资者来说,另类投资可能是多样化投资组合的一个令人信服的选择。 让我们看看另类投资和基金的不同类型和例子。

什么是另类投资?

要了解另类资产如何,您必须首先了解两个相关的概念,称为“资产类别”和“资产分配。

资产类别是具有一组特定特征的资产类型。 投资者应考虑将一些“核心”资产类别添加到他们的投资组合中。 这些是另类投资的一些例子:

  • 现金及现金等价物
  • 股票
  • 债券

在最广泛的意义上,另类投资或另类资产是不属于这三个类别之一的任何类型的资产。 因此,资产配置是指您如何在不同类型的资产之间分配投资。

另类投资现实世界的例子

您在现实世界中可能遇到的另类投资示例包括:

  • 房地产,包括直接拥有的财产、房地产有限合伙企业、房地产开发公司,以及 房地产投资信托(REIT)
  • Master 有限合伙可以拥有和经营从石油管道到主题公园的一切。
  • 税收留置权证明
  • 私人控股公司的股票或会员单位
  • 商品包括黄金、白银、铂和钯等贵金属,以及原油、天然气、乙醇、玉米、大豆、小麦、可可、咖啡和糖。
  • 农田
  • Timberland
  • 矿产权
  • 版权、专利和商标是知识产权的例子。
  • 私人抵押贷款
  • 设备租赁
  • 结构化定居点
  • 艺术品和收藏品
  • 私人产权
  • 红酒
  • 钱币
  • 风险投资
  • 点对点贷款
  • 对冲基金
  • 年金

另类投资的类型

以下是一些常见的另类投资类型的示例:

  • 私人产权。
  • 风险投资。
  • 私人债务。
  • 对冲基金。
  • 房地产。
  • 商品。

#1。 私人产权

私募股权投资于非上市公司。 根据布莱克的说法,投资者在等待私募股权基金在首次公开募股、战略买家或合并中出售其所持股份时,可能会在长达 XNUMX 年的时间里无法动用资金。

透明度是一个问题,因为买家经常承诺在盲池中进行投资,并且在经理找到投资之前不会知道公司是什么。

#2。 风险投资

风险投资是私募股权的一个子集。 它投资于具有快速增长潜力或正在寻求在新的或创新领域快速扩张的早期公司。 由于这些公司中的许多公司还没有收入或利润,因此失败的风险很高,但如果公司成功,也会有很高的回报。

私募股权和风险投资可能需要投资者的资本要求。

投资者可能会向基金注资 200,000 美元,但基金经理会在两年内以 50,000 美元的增量获得资金。 如果投资者在经理要求时没有指定用途的资金,他们可能会面临严厉的处罚。

您必须准备好将其纳入您的财务计划,就好像您已经投资了全部金额一样。

#3。 私人债务

根据 迈克尔哈里斯作为家族办公室主任和 Verdence Capital Advisors 的合伙人,一些公司向私人贷方寻求资金,就像一些公司向私人股本寻求资金一样。 私人债务,也称为私人信贷,为投资者提供了获得比公开市场更高的收益率的机会。

有各种类型的私人债务,包括夹层债务和高级债务,它们在违约情况下的支付结构较高,风险较小。 不良信贷被认为风险更大,因为它投资于陷入困境的公司的债务。

#4。 对冲基金

许多基于对冲基金的策略试图提供某种回报,同时在传统资产下跌时起到缓冲作用。 根据哈里斯的说法,有 16 种常见类型的对冲基金策略。 多空股票是一种常见的策略。 经理们将投资一家有潜力增值的公司,但他们也可能卖空或做空该公司,如果其价值下跌,他们也会获利。 绝对回报策略,也称为“全天候策略”,被对冲基金用来产生回报,而不管传统市场在做什么。

根据哈里斯的说法,第三种常见策略是市场中立。 市场中性基金除了在投资组合中拥有 50/50 的多空敞口外,还试图降低由部门敞口、市值范围、投资风格、货币或国家等因素造成的系统性风险。

#5. 房地产

根据提供另类资产 ETF 的交易所交易基金提供商 IndexIQ 的董事总经理兼首席投资官 Sal Bruno 的说法,当人们购买办公楼或住宅公寓等投资物业时,房地产是另类投资。 不想成为房东的投资者可以通过经纪人购买私人房地产投资信托或房地产投资信托基金。 公开交易的房地产投资信托基金在证券交易所交易。

尽管公共房地产投资信托具有一些房地产特征,但它们通常被认为是非常以股权为导向的。 这是因为它们在交易所交易。

Timberland 和农田是另外两个私人房地产投资。

#6。 商品

大宗商品主要是自然资源投资,例如原油、玉米和咖啡。 因为它们是实物资产,它们经常被认为是一种通胀对冲工具。

因此,根据布鲁诺的说法,期货市场上的商品交易和合约在全年的特定时间到期。

为了维持头寸,投资者必须在合约到期之前卖出合约并购买新合约。 有时新合同比旧合同贵,这会对绩效产生影响。

一些商品市场,例如黄金或石油,也可以通过 ETF 获得。

另类投资法规。

市场上的每个人都遵循同样的规则:不撒谎、不欺骗、不盗窃,所以他们在这方面有完整的规定。

然而,另类投资者与股票、债券和共同基金等传统公开市场有很大不同。 公开交易的投资受 1940 年投资法管辖,该法管辖投资基金。 该法案的两个部分定义了合格的投资者和合格的购买者 在私募豁免的背景下s。 根据布莱克的说法,如果基金经理承诺只将其基金出售给经认可的和 合格采购商,这是对该法案的私募豁免,并且该规则不适用于该基金。

这种豁免允许另类投资基金经理使用最大水平的杠杆或极度缺乏流动性,例如,他们不需要报告每日净资产值、定期持股报告或招股说明书。 并不总是完全披露,但这是这些投资的一部分。 这些经理善于隐瞒自己的行为。

投资者收到的不是招股说明书,而是私募谅解备忘录,其中规定了费用、流动性和投资类型。 “如果你告诉你的投资者你是一只商品基金,美国证券交易委员会希望你成为一只商品基金。” 当涉及到房地产时,他们不想要它。 他们必须遵守这些协议的条款。

投资者可能会收到月度或季度数据,但经常会延迟。 截至 XNUMX 月初,对冲基金的回报是截至 XNUMX 月的当前回报,而私募股权回报是截至 XNUMX 月的当前回报。

另类投资:它们的优点和缺点

另类投资与其他类型的投资一样,具有优点和缺点:

优势:

#1。 多样化。

哈里斯认为,必须仔细考虑包括另类投资、投资组合多样化和收益提高的两个主要原因。 他说,另类投资与传统市场的相关性应该较低,但这并不意味着负相关,这是一种常见的误解。

低相关性意味着在一对一的规模上,这些基金正试图尽可能接近零。 这意味着他们偶尔会使用传统资产。 而且时不时地,它们会朝相反的方向移动。 不能保证这些另类投资在市场下跌时总是表现良好。

#2。 接触独一无二的投资。

另类投资使人们能够进入他们原本无法进入的市场,例如土地或成为初创基金的早期投资者,这可以为耐心的投资者带来丰厚的回报。

缺点

#1。 长期锁定

哈里斯表示,虽然私募股权等另类投资可以提高回报,但它可能意味着将您的投资资金锁定 10 年,这就是为什么投资者必须仔细考虑他们在流动性公开市场上可能获得多少回报溢价。

#2。 这很复杂。

这些是极其复杂的投资,需要进行细致的研究。 像哈里斯这样的专业投资者将花费大量时间研究策略和采访经理。 “最高四分之一的经理……和最低四分之一的经理之间存在巨大差异。” “在某些情况下,在某一年可能是 15 到 20 个百分点,”他说。

总结

从历史上看,大多数另类投资有 2% 的年度预付费用,当基金分配资金时,基金经理会获得 20% 的收益。

根据 McLean 的说法,大多数人通过金融机构或财务顾问获得替代资产,但新兴的数字平台开始提供直接获取的方法。 他认为,对于首次购买者来说,与了解资产类别、回报和障碍的专业人士合作仍然更好。

提供另类资产敞口的共同基金和 ETF 等流动性替代品正在获得吸引力。 因此,这些受监管的证券对公众开放,并提供每日流动性、招股说明书和所有权清单。 由于对受监管证券施加的限制,例如对杠杆和多元化的限制,它与直接替代资产所有权不同。 这些可能是在该领域起步的好方法,但费用比率可能高于传统市场工具,而且不那么多样化。

另类投资常见问题解答

4种投资选择是什么?

四种主要的投资选择类型是股票、债券、共同基金和房地产。

什么是最安全的投资?

存款证 (CD)、货币市场账户、市政债券和国库通胀保值证券 (TIPS) 是最安全的另类投资类型。

0股
发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被公开。

你也许也喜欢

Alternative Investments: Beginners Guide to the Investment Options

alternative investments

Alternative investments frequently appear as options for investors looking for ways to diversify their volatility exposure and potentially generate additional returns beyond stocks and bonds. Alternative investments can be a compelling choice for a diverse portfolio for the right investor. Let’s see the different types and examples of alternative investments and fund.

What are Alternative Investments?

To understand how alternative assets, you must first understand two related concepts known as “asset classes” and “asset allocation.

An asset class is a type of asset that has a specific set of characteristics. There are a few “core” asset classes that investors should consider adding to their portfolios. These are some examples of alternative investments:

  • Cash and cash equivalents
  • Stocks
  • Bonds

In the broadest sense, an alternative investment, or alternative asset, is any type of asset that does not fall into one of these three categories. So, asset allocation refers to how you divide your investments among different types of assets.

Alternative Investments Real World Examples

Alternative investments examples that you might come across in the real world include:

  • Real estate, including directly owned property, real estate limited partnerships, real estate development corporations, and real estate investment trusts (REITs)
  • Master limited partnerships can own and operate everything from oil pipelines to theme parks.
  • Tax lien certificates
  • Stock or membership units in a privately held company
  • Commodities include precious metals such as gold, silver, platinum, and palladium, as well as crude oil, natural gas, ethanol, corn, soybeans, wheat, cocoa, coffee, and sugar.
  • Farmland
  • Timberland
  • Mineral rights
  • Copyrights, patents, and trademarks are examples of intellectual property.
  • Private Mortgages
  • leasing of equipment
  • Structured settlements
  • Art and collectibles
  • Private equity
  • Wine
  • Numismatic coins
  • Venture capital
  • Peer-to-peer lending
  • Hedge funds
  • Annuities

Types of Alternative Investments

Here are some examples of common alternative investments types:

  • Private equity.
  • Venture capital.
  • Private debt.
  • Hedge funds.
  • Real estate.
  • Commodities.

#1. Private Equity

Private equity invests in non-publicly traded companies. According to Black, investors’ money may be unavailable for up to ten years while they wait for the private equity fund to sell its holdings in an initial public offering, to a strategic buyer, or in a merger.

Transparency is an issue because buyers frequently commit to investing in a blind pool and won’t know what the company is until the manager finds the investment.

#2. Venture Capital

Venture capital is a subset of private equity. It invests in early-stage companies that have the potential for rapid growth or are looking to expand rapidly in a new or innovative space. Because many of these companies do not yet have revenues or profits, there is a high risk of failure, but there is also a high reward if a firm succeeds.

Private equity and venture capital may necessitate capital calls from investors.

An investor may contribute $200,000 to a fund, but the managers take money in $50,000 increments over a two-year period. If investors do not have the earmarked funds when the manager requires them, they may face severe penalties.

You have to be prepared to have that built into your financial plan as if you’ve already invested the entire amount.

#3. Private Debt

According to Michael Harris, director of a family office and partner with Verdence Capital Advisors, some companies look to private lenders for funding in the same way that some look to private equity. Private debt, also known as private credit, provides investors with the opportunity to earn higher yields than those available in public markets.

There are various types of private debt, including mezzanine and senior debt, which are higher on the payout structure in case of default and are less risky. Distressed credit is considered riskier because it invests in the debt of distressed companies.

#4. Hedge Funds

Many strategies based on hedge funds attempt to provide some sort of return while also acting as a buffer when traditional assets fall. According to Harris, there are 16 common types of hedge-fund strategies. Long-short equity is a common strategy. Managers will invest in a company that has the potential to grow in value, but they may also sell short or bet against the company and profit if its value falls. Absolute return strategies, also known as “all-weather strategies,” are used by hedge funds to generate returns regardless of what traditional markets are doing.

According to Harris, a third common strategy is to be market neutral. Market neutral funds attempt to reduce systematic risk created by factors such as exposures to sectors, market-cap ranges, investment styles, currencies, or countries, in addition to having a 50/50 long-short exposure in the portfolio.

#5. Real Estate

According to Sal Bruno, managing director and chief investment officer for IndexIQ, an exchange-traded fund provider that offers alternative asset ETFs, real estate are alternative investments when people purchase investment property such as office buildings or residential apartments. Investors who do not want to be landlords can use a broker to purchase private real estate investment trusts or REITs. REITs that are publicly traded are traded on stock exchanges.

Although public real estate investment trusts have some real estate characteristics, they are often considered to be very equity-oriented. This is because they are traded on exchanges.

Timberland and farmland are two other private real estate investments.

#6. Commodities

Commodities are mostly natural resource investments, such as crude oil, corn, and coffee. Because they are real assets, they are frequently thought of as an inflation hedge.

So, commodity trades in the futures market, and contracts mature at specific times throughout the year, according to Bruno.

To maintain the position, investors must sell the contract before it matures and purchases a new one. Sometimes the new contract is more expensive than the old contract, which can have an impact on performance.

Some commodity markets, such as gold or oil, are also available through ETFs.

Alternative Investments Regulations.

Everyone in the market follows the same rules: don’t lie, don’t cheat, and don’t steal, so they have complete regulations in that regard.

However, alternative investors differ significantly from traditional public markets such as stocks, bonds, and mutual funds. Publicly traded investments are governed by the 1940 Investment Act, which governs investment funds. Two sections of that act define accredited investors and qualified purchasers in the context of private-placement exemptions. According to Black, if a fund manager promises to only sell their fund to accredited and qualified purchasers, that is a private-placement exemption from the act, and the rules do not apply to that fund.

This exemption allows alternative investments fund managers to use a maximum level of leverage or be extremely illiquid, and they are not required to report a daily net asset value, regular holdings reports, or a prospectus, for example. There isn’t always full disclosure, but that’s part of the point of these investments. These managers are skilled at concealing their actions.

Instead of a prospectus, investors receive a private-placement memorandum of understanding, which specifies the fees, liquidity, and type of investment. “If you tell your investors you’re a commodity fund, the SEC wants you to be a commodity fund.” They don’t want it when it comes to real estate. They must abide by the terms of those agreements.

Investors may receive monthly or quarterly data, but it is frequently delayed. As of early January, hedge-fund returns were current as of November, and private-equity returns were current as of June.

Alternative Investments: Their Benefits and Drawbacks

Alternative investments, like other types of investment, have advantages and disadvantages:

Advantage:

#1. Diversification.

According to Harris, the two main reasons for including alternative investments, portfolio diversification and return enhancement, must be carefully considered. Alternative investments should have a low correlation to traditional markets, but this does not imply a negative correlation, which is a common misunderstanding, he says.

Lowly correlated means that on a scale of one to one, those funds are attempting to get as close to zero as possible. It means that they will occasionally use traditional assets. And every now and then, they will move in the opposite direction. It is not guaranteed that those alternative investments will always perform well when markets fall.

#2. Exposure to one-of-a-kind investments.

Alternative investments enable people to gain access to markets they would not otherwise be able to access, such as land or being an early investor in a startup fund, which can pay off handsomely for patient investors.

Disadvantages

#1. Long lock-up

While alternative investments such as private equity can boost returns, it can mean locking up your investment money for 10 years, which is why investors must carefully consider how much of a return premium they may receive over the liquid public markets, according to Harris.

#2. It is complicated.

These are extremely complex investments that necessitate meticulous research. Professional investors like Harris will spend a significant amount of time researching strategies and interviewing managers. “There is a huge difference between top-quartile managers… and bottom quartile managers.” “In some cases, it can be 15 to 20 percentage points in a given year,” he says.

Conclusion

Historically, most alternative investments have a 2% annual upfront fee, with managers taking 20% of the gains when the fund distributes the money.

According to McLean, most people gain access to alternative assets through a financial institution or a financial advisor, but emerging digital platforms are beginning to offer methods to acquire directly. He believes that for first-time purchasers, it is still better to work with a professional who understands the asset class, its rewards, and obstacles.

Liquid alts, such as mutual funds and ETFs that provide exposure to alternative assets, are gaining appeal. So, these regulated securities are open to the public and provide daily liquidity, a prospectus, and a list of ownership. Because of the constraints imposed on regulated securities, such as limits on leverage and diversification, it is not the same as direct alternative asset ownership. These can be a good way to get started in the space, but the expense ratios can be higher than in traditional market vehicles and not as diverse.

Alternative Investments FAQ’s

What are the 4 investment alternatives?

The 4 main types of investments alternative are Stocks, bonds, mutual funds, and real estate.

What are the safest investments?

Certificates of deposit (CDs), money market accounts, municipal bonds, and Treasury Inflation-Protected Securities (TIPS) are among the safest types of alternative investments.

0 Shares:
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You May Also Like