什么是对冲基金经理? 教育和 2023 年工资

什么是对冲基金经理

顾名思义,对冲基金经理是监督对冲基金的人。 对冲基金是从多个投资者那里收集资金以投资于特定证券的基金。 对冲基金比许多其他投资风险更大,因为它只对有经验的投资者开放,而且比许多其他资产受到的监管更少。 这种风险也适用于经理。 在这篇文章中,我们将探讨成为顶级对冲基金经理所需的教育以及随之而来的薪水。

了解对冲基金

对冲基金是一种投资工具,其中汇集了许多投资者的资金。 在这方面,它们可与交易所交易基金甚至传统共同基金相媲美。 集合资金的投资和管理方式将对冲基金与其他类型的基金区分开来。

对冲基金专注于主动管理,这意味着基金经理直接做出所有买卖决策。 这与被动投资形成对比,在被动投资中,基金可能会跟随特定股票指数的表现。 例如,很多指数基金跟随标准普尔 500 指数。

什么是对冲基金经理?

对冲基金经理是管理投资并负责运营对冲基金的企业或个人。 鉴于管理对冲基金可能使人变得非常富有,因此它可能是一个诱人的职业选择。 对冲基金经理要取得成功,就需要考虑拥有竞争优势、明确的投资策略、足够的资本、营销和销售计划以及风险管理计划。

了解对冲基金经理

大多数时候,投资组合的负责人拥有对冲基金管理公司。 这意味着他们可以获得对冲基金赚取的大部分利润。 投资者将资金投入对冲基金以支付管理费,这些费用包括运营成本和通常作为利润支付给所有者的绩效费用。 对冲基金经理的个人财富和金钱通常与基金本身直接相关,这一事实使对冲基金经理有别于其他类型的基金管理。

对冲基金投资者必须满足特定的收入和净资产要求。 与许多其他类型的投资相比,由于其激进的投资策略和缺乏监管,对冲基金可被视为高风险投资。

工作职责说明

对冲基金由对冲基金经理管理和监督。 如前所述,对冲基金是一种投资实体,通常以有限责任公司或有限合伙企业的形式设立。 具有高度风险和利润的投资构成了对冲基金。 它属于监管最少的投资类别。

与共同基金或指数基金相比,对冲基金更具排他性。 他们坚持投资人和对冲基金负责人一致同意的投资计划。 对冲基金经理(或经理)将密切关注它以确保基金实现其目标。

由于其严格的标准,对冲基金通常只接受最富有和最有资格的人的投资。 这些是一些先决条件:

  • 您必须符合投资者资格
  • 拥有至少 1 万美元的个人净资产。
  • 赚取超过 200,000 美元的薪水。

对冲基金几乎可以投资任何东西。 股票、债券、艺术品、公司和房地产都是资产的例子。

对冲基金经理管理其客户的对冲基金。 经理的工作是在产生可观回报的同时将风险降至最低。 由于对冲基金由高风险投资组成,经理始终密切关注资产并决定将资金投入何处。 他们将大部分时间用于评估投资模型、调整模型并实施客户的需求,以确保投资组合产生出色的结果。

对冲基金经理的薪水

美国劳工统计局拥有财务经理薪酬的最新统计数据,对冲基金经理属于此类,尽管很难找到有关对冲基金经理薪酬的确切信息。

根据美国劳工统计局的数据,财务经理的年薪通常为 129,890 美元,即每小时 62.45 美元。 该行业预计在未来 15 年内将增长 10%,高于平均增长率。

尽管被归类为财务经理,但对冲基金经理的薪水明显高于普通经理。 一些收入最高的基金经理每年的收入高达 4 亿美元。

对冲基金经理与之合作的对冲基金直接影响他或她的收入。 因此,该基金的表现会更好,从而获利更多。 顶级对冲基金经理通过收取绩效费和管理费来收回成本。 虽然确切的百分比可能不同,但管理费通常为基金收益的 2%,而绩效费用为基金收益的 20%。

根据 Zippia 收集的数据,为对冲基金头寸提供机会的前三个州是马萨诸塞州、罗德岛州和康涅狄格州。

如何成为对冲基金经理

您必须先获得相关领域的学士学位才能学习如何管理对冲基金。 雇主仍然希望雇用通过注册会计师考试或拥有硕士学位的人。

对冲基金经理的职位需求量很大。 要获得这样的职位,您可能必须从初级分析师开始,然后逐步晋升,直到达到您想要的职位。 通过兼职工作找到自己的出路可能是最好的途径,除非一个人与公司的所有者或高级管理人员有个人关系。

成为对冲基金经理的要求是什么?

  • 获得学位: 学士学位是成为对冲基金经理的入门教育教育先决条件。 研究领域可以是经济、商业、金融或会计。 然而,一些对冲基金经理仅凭证书而没有学位。
  • 考虑证书:虽然它们是 不是必需的,资格可以使候选人在该职位的竞争中脱颖而出。 考虑这些认证,例如:
  • 特许金融分析师
  • 注册会计师
  • 对冲基金监管证书

获得证书对于在竞争激烈的城市找工作的人来说是一个很大的帮助。

  • 获得经验: 第三步开始从事财务工作。 为了获得成为真正的基金经理所需的专业知识,他们可能需要担任交易员或金融分析师等入门级职位。
  • 提交工作申请:在获得教育、任何必要的证书和一些工作经验后,候选人将准备提交对冲基金经理职位的工作申请。

在积极开始管理对冲基金的投资组合之前,此人可能需要从初级分析师开始,然后逐步晋升到组织的各个级别。

对冲基金经理教育

成为一名对冲基金经理可能会收获颇丰,但也需要大量的努力和做出正确决策的能力。 要申请成为对冲基金经理,一个人必须拥有学士学位。 由于竞争激烈,您可能需要更多的资历和经验才能获得这些工作。

我需要哪种教育?

从事财务管理工作的人员(包括管理对冲基金的人员)越来越需要硕士学位。 根据美国劳工统计局的说法,如果个人主修金融、会计、经济学或工商管理,他们将最有可能找到财务管理方面的工作。 获得特许金融分析师 (CFA) 认证不是必需的,但它可能会有所帮助。 有了这个在全国范围内得到认可的证书,您可以向潜在的雇主或客户表明您了解财务。

顶级对冲基金经理

永远高高在上的对冲基金经理是金融界的明星。 在对冲基金行业,等级森严。 即使似乎很难阻止阶级冲突和有关它的负面新闻报道,也是如此。 不是每个对冲基金经理都受到表扬,也不是每个人都值得表扬。 可悲的是,很多人都失败了。 但是那些成功通过的人通常会留下持久的印象。 我们已经准备了一份顶级对冲基金经理名单,排名不分先后。

#1。 史蒂夫科恩

前 SAC Capital 创始人史蒂夫科恩目前在康涅狄格州斯坦福德的家族办公室 Point 72 资产管理公司工作。 科恩没有受到证券交易委员会的刑事指控。 然而,几名前 SAC 员工被判犯有内幕交易罪。 据彭博社报道,他预计到 12 年将接近 2021 亿美元。

#2。 乔治索罗斯

作为对冲基金的非官方创始人,乔治索罗斯于 1969 年推出了他的第一只基金。索罗斯于 1973 年创立了他的第一只对冲基金索罗斯基金管理公司。1979 年,他还成立了慈善开放社会基金会。 他继续担任 Soros Fund Management LLC 的董事长。

#3。 詹姆斯·西蒙斯

作为 Renaissance Technologies 的创始人,James Simons 可能是该集团中最著名的数学家。 Medallion 的中央基金回报稳定,也是他最隐秘、最难找到的基金之一。 Renaissance 是一家只接受邀请的投资公司,专门与其他基金一起进行量化投资。 西蒙斯和索罗斯一样都是退休人员,但仍活跃于该行业并从其繁荣中获益。

#4。 丹尼尔勒布

Third Point Capital 的创始人丹尼尔·勒布 (Daniel Loeb) 因努力推动公司变革而被称为“激进主义者”。 他更喜欢通过任命的董事会职位来影响公司,而不是简单地持有或卖空股票。

#5。 卡尔伊坎

卡尔·伊坎 (Carl Icahn) 是世界上最具批判性的金融思想家之一。 如果勒布被称为“激进主义者”,伊坎可能会被称为“激进主义之父”。 他对自己足够坚定和自信,可以在自己的信念上投入大量资金。他还是一位著名的逆向投资者,经常购买其他人似乎都不感兴趣的企业股票。

#6。 格里芬·肯

肯尼思·格里芬 (Kenneth Griffin) 在哈佛读书时就开始了他的金融生涯,当他在宿舍里通过期权交易赚取巨额利润时,他的交易能力受到了考验。 在担任他于 1990 年成立的贸易公司 Citadel 的首席执行官期间,他不断提高自己的能力。

对冲基金经理做什么?

管理投资、选择投资和监督对冲基金活动的公司或个人被称为对冲基金经理。 鉴于管理对冲基金可能使人变得非常富有,因此它可能是一个诱人的职业选择。

对冲基金经理的薪水是多少?

在美国,对冲基金经理的平均工资为每年 135,399 美元或每小时 65.1 美元。 这些经理中收入最低的 10%,即年薪约 70,000 美元,以对冲基金经理的身份谋生,而收入最高的 10% 的年薪为 261,000 美元。 对冲基金经理的收入取决于他们在哪里工作。

对冲基金经理有钱吗?

对冲基金经理通过从他们管理的资产中获利来积累财富。 他们扣除 20% 的收益和 2% 的绩效费。 结果,他们只允许富有的人投资对冲基金。

谁是最著名的对冲基金经理?

顶级对冲基金经理名单如下:

  • 史蒂夫·科恩(Steve Cohen)。
  • 乔治·索罗斯。
  • 詹姆斯·西蒙斯。
  • 丹尼尔·勒布。
  • 卡尔·伊坎。
  • 肯·格里芬。
  • 戴维·特珀(David Tepper)。
  • 约翰·保尔森。

对冲基金经理需要学位吗?

对冲基金经理通常拥有金融、数学、经济学、金融工程、量化金融、编程、市场营销或工商管理方面的硕士学位甚至博士学位。 其他人则拥有会计或工程学等研究领域的高级学位。

对冲基金的工作难找吗?

关于如何在对冲基金工作的准确信息很难获得。 对冲基金招聘的结构不如投资银行或私募股权招聘,这是部分原因。 此外,许多对冲基金不想广泛地向申请人做广告。

对冲基金经理是薪水最高的工作吗?

顶级对冲基金经理赚取的大部分资金来自他们对自有基金的投资。 顶级对冲基金经理、大多数行业的高级管理人员以及顶级运动员和艺人赚了很多钱。 然而,典型的对冲基金经理的表现并不特别好。

对冲基金经理是一份艰苦的工作吗?

尽管你付出了很多努力,工作了很长时间,但“人们认为你是宇宙的主人”。 由于市场时间存在混乱,大多数研究都是在营业时间以外进行的。

总结

对冲基金经理是高薪基金经理,为富有的客户工作以获得最佳投资回报。 根据投资者的净资产、收入或投资目标,投资对冲基金可能不是他们的最佳选择。 但那些决定将对冲基金纳入其投资组合的人可以受益于其基金经理丰富的专业知识和经验。

参考资料

0股
发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被公开。

你也许也喜欢

WHAT IS A HEDGE FUND MANAGER? Education & 2023 Salaries

What is a hedge fund manager

As the name implies, a hedge fund manager is a person who oversees a hedge fund. A hedge fund is a fund that collects funds from several investors to invest in particular securities. A hedge fund is riskier than many other investments because it is only open to investors with experience and is regulated less than many other assets. That risk also applies to managers. In this piece, we’ll look at the education you need to be a top hedge fund manager and the salary that comes with it.

Understanding Hedge Funds

Hedge funds are a type of investment vehicle in which money from many investors is pooled together. In that regard, they are comparable to an exchange-traded fund or even a conventional mutual fund. How pooled money is invested and managed distinguishes hedge funds from other types.

A hedge fund focuses on active management, meaning the fund manager makes all purchase and sale decisions directly. This contrasts with passive investing, where a fund may follow the performance of a particular stock index. For instance, a lot of index funds follow the S&P 500.

What Is a Hedge Fund Manager?

A hedge fund manager is a business or a person who manages investments and is in charge of running a hedge fund. Given its potential to make one very wealthy, managing a hedge fund can be a tempting career choice. For hedge fund managers to be successful, they need to think about having a competitive advantage, a well-defined investment strategy, enough capital, a plan for marketing and sales, and a plan for managing risks.

Understanding a Hedge Fund Manager

Most of the time, the people in charge of the portfolio own hedge fund management companies. This means they can get a large share of the profits made by the hedge fund. Investors put funds into a hedge fund to pay management fees that cover operating costs and performance fees often paid to owners as profit. The fact that hedge fund managers’ personal wealth and money are typically related directly to the fund itself sets hedge fund managers apart from other types of fund management.

Hedge fund investors must meet specific income and net worth requirements. Due to their aggressive investment strategies and lack of regulatory oversight compared to many other types of investments, hedge funds can be regarded as high-risk investments.

Job Description

Hedge funds are managed and supervised by a hedge fund manager. As described, a hedge fund is an investment entity typically set up as an LLC or limited partnership. Investments with a high degree of risk and profit make up hedge funds. It belongs to the least regulated investment categories.

Compared to mutual funds or index funds, hedge funds are far more exclusive. They stick to an investment plan that the investors and the person in charge of the hedge fund agree on. The hedge fund manager (or managers) will keep an eye on it to ensure the fund achieves its objectives.

Hedge funds often only accept investments from the wealthiest and most qualified people because of their stringent standards. These are a few of the prerequisites:

  • You must qualify as an investor
  • Possess a personal net worth of at least $1 million.
  • Earn a salary that is greater than $200,000.

Hedge funds can invest in almost anything. Stocks, bonds, works of art, companies, and real estate are examples of assets.

A hedge fund manager manages the hedge funds of their customers. The manager’s job is to minimize risks while generating significant returns. Because hedge funds are made up of high-risk investments, the manager always keeps an eye on the assets and decides where to put the money. They devoted most of their day to assessing investment models, tweaking them, and implementing the demands of the clients to ensure that the investment portfolio produces excellent outcomes.

Salary For Hedge Fund Manager

The U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics has up-to-date statistics on the pay of financial managers, which hedge fund managers fall under, even though it is difficult to find exact information on the salary of a hedge fund manager.

According to the BLS, financial managers typically make $129,890 a year, or $62.45 an hour. This industry is expected to increase by 15% over the next 10 years, which is higher than average growth.

Despite being classified as a financial manager, the salary of a hedge fund manager is significantly higher than the average manager. Some of the highest-paid head fund managers earn up to $4 billion annually.

The hedge fund that a hedge fund manager works with directly affects his or her revenue. As a result, the fund will profit more as it performs better. The top hedge fund managers recoup their costs by charging performance and management fees. Although exact percentages can differ, management fees are typically 2% of the fund, and performance fees are 20% of the fund’s gains.

The top three states that offer chances for hedge fund positions, according to data gathered by Zippia, are Massachusetts, Rhode Island, and Connecticut.

How to Become a Hedge Fund Manager

You must first get a bachelor’s degree in a related field to learn how to manage a hedge fund. Employers still want to hire people who have passed the Certified Public Accountant Exam or have a master’s degree.

Jobs as hedge fund managers are in high demand. To get one, you might have to start as a junior analyst and move up the corporate ladder until you reach the position you want. Finding their way in with part-time work may be the best course unless one has personal connections to an owner or high management at a company.

What are the Requirements for Becoming a Hedge Fund Manager?

  • Get a degree: A bachelor’s degree is the entry-education educational prerequisite for becoming a hedge fund manager. The field of study can be economics, business, finance, or accounting. However, some hedge fund managers operate solely on certifications and without degrees.
  • Consider certificates: Although they are not required, qualifications can make a candidate stand out in the competition for this position. Consider these certifications, for example:
  • Chartered Financial Analyst
  • Certified Public Accountant
  • Certificate in Hedge Fund Regulations

Getting a certificate can be a big help for people looking for work in cities with a lot of competition.

  • Acquire experience: The third step is to start working in a financial position. To gain the expertise required to become an actual fund manager, they might need to take entry-level positions as traders or financial analysts.
  • Submit a job application: After obtaining an education, any necessary certificates, and some work experience, a candidate will be prepared to submit a job application for a position as a hedge fund manager.

Before actively beginning to manage a hedge fund’s portfolio, the person may need to start as a junior analyst and work their way up through the ranks at the organization.

Hedge Fund Manager Education

Becoming a hedge fund manager can be very rewarding, but it also takes a lot of hard work and the ability to make good decisions. To apply to be a hedge fund manager, a person must have a bachelor’s degree. Due to the high level of competition, you might need more credentials and experience to get these jobs.

Which Education do I Require?

A master’s degree is becoming increasingly required of those who work in financial management, including those who manage hedge funds. According to the BLS, individuals will have the best chances of finding employment in financial management if they major in finance, accounting, economics, or business administration. Getting the Chartered Financial Analyst (CFA) certification isn’t necessary, but it could be helpful. With this credential, recognized all over the country, you can show potential employers or customers that you understand finances.

Top Hedge Fund Managers

The hedge fund managers who are always at the top are the stars of the financial world. In the hedge fund industry, there is a clear hierarchy. This is true even when it appears difficult to stop class conflict and negative news articles about it. Not every hedge fund manager receives praise, and not everyone deserves it. Sadly, many people fail. But those who do make it through usually leave a lasting impression. In no particular order, we’ve prepared a list of the top hedge fund managers.

#1. Steve Cohen

Former SAC Capital founder Steve Cohen is currently with Point 72 Asset Management, a family office in Stamford, Connecticut. Cohen was not criminally charged by the Securities and Exchange Commission. However, several former SAC workers were found guilty of insider trading. According to Bloomberg, he’s expected to be close to $12 billion in 2021.

#2. George Soros

The unofficial founding father of hedge funds, George Soros launched his first fund in 1969. Soros founded his first hedge fund, Soros Fund Management, in 1973. In 1979, he also established the charitable Open Society Foundations. He continues to serve as Soros Fund Management LLC’s chairman.

#3. James Simons

As the founder of Renaissance Technologies, James Simons is probably the most well-known mathematician in the group. Medallion’s central fund gives steady returns and is also one of his most secretive and hard-to-find funds. Renaissance is an invitation-only investment firm specializing in quantitative investing with other funds. Simons, a retiree like Soros, remains active in the business and gains from its prosperity.

#4. Daniel Loeb

Daniel Loeb, who started Third Point Capital, is known as “the activist” for his hard work to get companies to change. He prefers influencing companies through appointed board positions rather than simply holding or shorting stocks.

#5. Carl Icahn

One of the most critical financial thinkers in the world is Carl Icahn. Icahn might be said to be the “father of activism” if Loeb is referred to as “the activist.” He is solid and sure of himself enough to bet a lot of money on what he believes in. He is also a well-known contrarian investor, frequently purchasing shares of businesses that no one else seems interested in.

#6. Griffin Ken

While a student at Harvard, Kenneth Griffin began his financial career, and his trading prowess was tested when he made excessive profits trading options in his dorm room. He kept refining his abilities while serving as CEO of Citadel, the trading company he established in 1990.

What Does a Hedge Fund Manager Do?

A company or person managing investments, choosing investments, and supervising a hedge fund’s activities is known as a hedge fund manager. Given its potential to make one very wealthy, managing a hedge fund can be a tempting career choice.

How much do hedge fund managers get paid?

In the US, the average salary for a hedge fund manager is $135,399 per year or $65.1 per hour. The bottom 10% of those managers, or around $70,000 annually, make their living as hedge fund managers, while the top 10% make $261,000 annually. How much a hedge fund manager makes depends on where they work.

Are hedge fund managers wealthy?

Hedge fund managers build wealth by profiting from the assets they manage. They deduct 20% of the earned gains and a 2% performance fee. As a result, they only permit wealthy and affluent people to invest in hedge funds.

Who is the Most Famous Hedge Fund Manager?

The top hedge fund managers are listed below:

  • Steve Cohen.
  • George Soros.
  • James Simons.
  • Daniel Loeb.
  • Carl Icahn.
  • Ken Griffin.
  • David Tepper.
  • John Paulson.

Do hedge fund managers need a degree?

A hedge fund manager typically has a master’s degree or even a doctorate in finance, mathematics, economics, financial engineering, quantitative finance, programming, marketing, or business administration. Others hold advanced degrees in a field of study like accounting or engineering.

Are hedge fund jobs hard to get?

Accurate information about how to work in a hedge fund is hard to come by. Hedge fund hiring is less structured than hiring for investment banking or private equity, which is part of the reason. Additionally, many hedge funds don’t want to advertise to applicants widely.

Is the hedge fund manager the highest-paid job?

The majority of the money made by the top hedge fund managers comes from their own investments in their own funds. The top hedge fund managers, top executives in most industries, and top athletes and entertainers make a lot of money. The typical hedge fund manager, however, does not fare particularly well.

Is a hedge fund manager a hard job?

Although you put in a lot of effort and work long hours, “people assume you’re a master of the universe.” Because of the chaos that exists during market hours, most research is conducted outside of business hours.

Conclusion

A hedge fund manager is a highly paid fund manager who works for wealthy customers to get the best possible investment returns. Depending on an investor’s net worth, income, or investment objectives, investing in hedge funds may not be the best choice for them. But those who decide to include hedge funds in their portfolios can benefit from their fund manager’s vast expertise and experience.

References

0 Shares:
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You May Also Like