家族企业继任计划:创建、模板、模型和可持续性

家族企业继任计划

介绍

很多家族企业都撑不过第二代,只有少数能活到第三代。 主要原因是缺乏家族企业的继任计划。 

如果您拥有一家家族企业,您可能想知道如何为下一代接管做准备。 但是,在本文中,我们将分享有关家族企业继任计划的见解。 此外,您将学习如何制定一个在您缺席时可持续的计划。 

大多数家族企业的继承都是基于这样的假设,即下一代可以像前任一样成功地经营公司。 然而,这个想法并没有考虑到每一代人都有不同的领导技能、能力和兴趣这一事实。 

此外,还有业务环境发生变化或演变的因素,企业没有考虑到这些因素。 这就是家族企业继任计划变得重要的地方。 

什么是家族企业继任计划?

家族企业继任计划是家族企业制定战略将控制权移交给下一代家族成员的过程。 继任计划是多代家族企业具有稳固持久力的原因。 一代又一代,他们始终坚持组织的愿景和创始原则。 

因此,家族企业的负责人需要尽快开始为继任者做计划。 原因是培养一个强大而有能力的领导者可能需要数年时间。 此外,企业主花在执行继任计划上的时间越多,过渡过程就越顺利。

另请参阅: 企业级战略——定义和类型

制定家族企业继任计划

Newport Board Group 的 Michael Evans 建议 五个重要步骤 家族企业应该效仿,制定可行的继任计划。 这些步骤还包括几个小步骤,它们包括:

建立目标和目的

家族企业的领导者首先应明确确定组织的愿景、目标和目的。 这一步骤还解决了家庭继续参与领导的重要性以及引入外部专业管理的选择。 

此外,管理团队应考虑退休目标和现有家庭成员的现金流需求。 同样,他们应该考虑下一代的个人和商业目标。

建立决策过程

此步骤在书面文件中确定并建立让家庭成员参与公司决策的过程。 它还规定了解决争端的程序。

制定继任计划

在制定继任计划时,管理层应确定继任者——公司经理和企业所有者。 他们还应该定义每个家庭成员的角色,无论是活跃的还是非活跃的,以及继任者可能需要的任何额外支持。

创建企业和所有者财产计划

此阶段解决所有权转让、死亡或离婚对所有者或企业的任何税收影响。 它还审查所有者的遗产规划策略,以尽量减少税收并避免库存转移延迟。 此外,它应该创建一个公平的、反映企业价值和税收战略的买卖协议。

创建过渡计划

企业主应考虑直接购买与礼物/继承的选择,或将这两种选择结合的可能性。 在出售的情况下,此步骤还考虑退休所有者的外部融资或自筹资金。 最后,企业主应制定实施继任计划的时间表。

家族企业继任计划模板

家族企业继任计划似乎难以实施。 因此,大多数家庭主导的组织在制定计划时都会聘请律师和会计师等专业人士的帮助。 

但是,如果您想以一种简单的方式自己完成该过程,则可以使用计划模板。 网上有几个这样的模板,要么免费,要么收取少量费用。 模板使规划过程变得轻而易举,也使继任计划具有专业的外观。 

家族企业继任计划模型

继任计划模型有助于说明家族在家族企业管理和所有权方面的互动。 一个简化的模型,称为 三圈模型,由所有权圈、管理圈和家庭圈组成。 

家族企业传承规划的三圈模式

这些圆圈代表每个组件对家庭和业务管理的交互/影响。 它还说明了每个元素之间的关系。 此外,它显示了他们如何在中间相遇,表明在业务的某个阶段混合了家庭、所有权和管理。

从这个圆圈中,很容易看出这三个组成部分的相互作用如何创造挑战并提供独特的机会。 因此,家族企业将所有权转移给下一代的能力取决于家族成分的管理。

另请参阅: 商业管理理念

家族企业继任计划的可持续性

如果您经营一家家族企业,您会希望为您的公司提供最好的转型机会。 最重要的是,您需要确保企业在您退出后的几代人中蓬勃发展。 为确保继任计划的可持续性,请考虑以下提示。

提前计划

维持继任计划始于制定计划的时机。 根据经验,您应该至少提前十年制定继任计划。 计划越早,指导继任者的机会就越大,过渡过程就越顺利。

让家庭成员参与

避免家庭成员之间不和的最好方法是让他们参与计划过程。 它还可以帮助您确定哪个家庭成员想要参与业务或打算从事其他职业。 

在挑选继任者时要实事求是

虽然您可能希望将业务留给您的长子,但他/她可能不具备必要的管理技能。 因此,在挑选继任者之前,最好对哪个家庭成员有能力进行诚实的评估。 

培养你的继任者

如果不培训下一代接管业务,继任计划就无法持续。 考虑花几年时间与您的继任者一起工作,同时教授他/她所需的商业技能。

底线

无论家族企业取得多么成功,领导角色总有一天必须改变。 该事件可能是自愿的,例如退休,也可能是非自愿的,例如死亡或丧失行为能力。 但是,继任计划可确保企业持续运营而不会受到干扰,并将对各方的税收影响降至最低。 

商业领袖应该开始将他们的退出战略直接纳入他们的商业计划。 首先,长期继任计划有助于企业确定继任者执行管理任务的能力,并给他们时间学习。 最后,它有助于促进管理和所有权的有序过渡。

0股
发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被公开。

你也许也喜欢

Family Business Succession Planning: Creation, Template, Model, and Sustainability

Family Business Succession Planning

Introduction

Many family-owned businesses don’t make it past the second generation, and only a few get to the third. The primary reason is the lack of family business succession planning. 


If you own a family business, you may be wondering how to prepare the next generation to take over. However, in this article, we’ll share insights about family business succession planning. Additionally, you’ll learn how to create a plan that’ll be sustainable in your absence. 

Succession in most family-owned businesses operates around the assumption that the next generation can successfully run the company as the predecessor did. However, this idea fails to account for the fact that each new generation has different leadership skills, abilities, and interests. 

Also, there’s the factor of the business context that shifts or evolves, which businesses fail to consider. Here is where family business succession planning becomes relevant. 

What is Family Business Succession Planning?


Family business succession planning is a process where a family-owned business devises strategies to hand over the reins to a next-generation family member. A succession plan is why multi-generational family businesses have a firm staying power. From one generation to another, they keep upholding the organization’s vision and founding principles. 

Therefore, heads of family businesses need to start planning for their successor as soon as possible. The reason is that it may take years to groom a strong and capable leader. Also, the more time business owners spend executing a succession plan, the smoother the transitioning process will be.


Read Also: Corporate Level Strategy – Definition and Types

The Creation of a Family Business Succession Plan

Michael Evans of the Newport Board Group recommends five significant steps that family-owned businesses should follow, to create a viable succession plan. These steps also comprise several mini-steps, and they include:

Establish Goals and Objectives

Leaders of family businesses should first identify clearly the visions, goals, and objectives of the organization. This step also addresses the importance of continued family involvement in leadership and the option of bringing in external professional management. 


Additionally, the management team should consider retirement goals and the cash flow needs of exiting family members. Likewise, they should take into account the personal and business goals for the incoming generation.

Establish a Decision-making Process


This step identifies and establishes, in a written document, the process for involving family members in the firm’s decision making. It also lays out procedures for resolving disputes.

Establish the Succession Plan

In creating the succession plan, management should identify successors- both managers of the company and owners of the business. They should also define each family member’s role, either active or non-active, and any additional support the successors may require.

Create a Business and Owner Estate Plan

This phase addresses any tax implications to the owner or business upon transfer of ownership, death, or divorce. It also reviews the owner’s estate planning strategies to minimize taxes and avoid delays in stock transfer. Furthermore, it should create a buy or sell agreement that is fair, reflective of the business’ value, and tax strategic.

Create a Transition Plan

The business owner should consider the options of an outright purchase versus a gift/inheritance, or the possibility of combining both options. This step also considers external financing or self-financing from the retiring owners in case of a sale. Finally, the business owners should establish a timeline for implementing the succession plan.

Family Business Succession Planning Template

Family business succession planning may seem difficult to carry out. Therefore, most family-led organizations employ the help of professionals like lawyers and accountants when crafting a plan. 

However, if you’d like an easy way to go through the process yourself, you can use a planning template. There are several of these templates online, either for free or a small fee. A template makes the planning process a breeze, and also gives the succession plan a professional look. 

Family Business Succession Planning Model

A succession planning model helps illustrate the family’s interaction on management and ownership of the family business. A simplified model, called the Three Circle Model, consists of the ownership circle, the management circle, and the family circle. 


Three circle model of family business succesion planning

These circles represent the interaction/impact that each component has on the family and the management of the business. It also illustrates the relationship between each element and the other. Furthermore, it shows how they meet in the middle, indicating a mix of family, ownership, and management at some point in the business.

From the circle, it’s easy to see how the three components’ interaction can create challenges and provide unique opportunities. Therefore, the family business’s ability to transfer ownership to the next generation depends on the management of the family component.

Read Also: Concept of Management in Business

Sustainability in Family Business Succession Planning

If you run a family business, you’ll want to give your company the best chance at a transition. Most importantly, you’ll want to ensure that the business thrives for several generations after your exit. To ensure the sustainability of a succession plan, consider these tips.

Plan Early

Sustaining a succession plan begins with the timing of crafting the plan. As a rule of thumb, you should prepare a succession plan at least ten years ahead. The earlier you plan, the better your chance to mentor the successor and the smoother the transition process.

Involve Family Members

The best way to avoid discord among family members is to involve them in the planning process. It also helps you identify which family member wants to be involved in the business or intends to pursue other careers. 

Be Realistic About Picking a Successor

While it may be your desire to leave the business to your first-born, he/she may not have the necessary managerial skills. So, it’s best to do an honest assessment of which family member is capable before picking a successor. 

Train Your Successor

A succession plan can’t be sustainable without training the next generation to take over the business. Consider dedicating some years to work with your successor while teaching him/her the required business skills.

The Bottom Line

Irrespective of how successful a family-owned business becomes, leadership roles must change someday. This event may be voluntary, as in the case of retirement or involuntary, such as death or incapacitation. However, a succession plan ensures that the business will continuously operate with no disruptions and minimize tax implications for all parties. 

Business leaders should start building their exit strategy right into their business plan. Firstly, long-term succession planning helps businesses determine how well the successor can execute management tasks and gives them time to learn. Lastly, it helps to facilitate an orderly transitioning of management and ownership.

0 Shares:
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like