FCRA 合规:为什么雇主应该合规(+ 快速提示)

FCRA 合规、合规和背景调查

什么是 FCRA 合规性? 首先,“公平信用报告法”是缩写“FCRA”的替代品。 该联邦法案于 1970 年成为法律,旨在帮助客户解决其信用报告中的不准确之处。 FCRA 的范围在 1996 年进行了修改,以包括其他客户研究,例如为工作筛选目的准备的历史报告。 换言之,任何使用第三方进行背景调查的雇主都必须符合 FCRA。 很快,我们就会发现为什么遵守 FCRA 很重要。

FCRA 背景

基本上,消费者受到 FCRA 执法的保护。 使用背景报告的雇主和提供信息的消费者报告机构 (CRA)(也称为背景调查公司)均受 FCRA 监管。

当雇主出于工作目的从第三方获得背景调查时,FCRA 适用。 此外,犯罪记录、工作和教育证明、机动车辆记录、医疗保健制裁和专业执照也可能包含在这些报告中。 此外,值得注意的是,虽然“信用”一词出现在法律名称中,但它指的是所有历史记录,无论它们是否包含信用细节。

雇主和背景调查公司都有责任遵守 FCRA。

但是,雇主必须通知员工他们将进行背景调查并获得书面同意。 如果他们根据研究中的负面细节做出雇佣决定,他们还必须遵循严格的不利行动程序。

FCRA 合规概述

从 CRA 的角度来看,合规需要制定流程以确保记录在遵守州和联邦报告要求时尽可能可靠。

FCRA 也适用于其他情况,例如租户筛选背景调查。

要理解 FCRA,必须熟悉其中的一些术语。 以下是一些最相关的术语:

消费者报告

背景报告,也称为“背景调查”。 消费者报告中仅包含准确的信息,例如就业日期、犯罪记录和驾驶记录。

调查性消费者报告

与消费者调查相比,调查性消费者报告包含通过个人访谈收集的详细信息。 例如,个人面试是对工作结果的讨论。 另一种形式的个人采访是个人或技术参考搜索。

消费性电子产品

作为背景调查对象的个人被称为消费者。 这可能是求职者、现任员工、承包商、临时工,甚至是工作场所的无偿志愿者。

消费者报告机构 (CRA)

进行背景调查并准备背景报告的组织

用户

请求和使用历史报告的人是相关用户。 这通常是雇主或潜在雇主。 诸如非营利组织或学区之类的组织也可能是接收者。

有关声明

该文件通知买方他或她可能是背景调查的目标。

授权

客户签署的授权准备背景调查的文件。

不利行动

当雇主考虑根据全部或部分背景报告做出负面雇佣决定时应遵循的程序。

为什么雇主必须遵守《公平信用报告法》(FCRA)?

FCRA 合规与合规
图片来源: Pixabay (符合 FCRA 标准)

不遵守《公平信用报告法》(FCRA)可能是一项代价高昂的风险。 当收到第三方的背景报告时,FCRA 要求雇主在最初的招聘过程中做某些事情。 雇主经常因涉嫌违反《公平信用报告法》而在联邦法院受到起诉。 据报道,仅在 409 年 2016 月,就有大约 XNUMX 起 FCRA 诉讼被提起。

雇主在时间、法律费用、财务和解、品牌损害以及离开核心公司的时间方面为诉讼付出了高昂的代价。 

FCRA 合规图

FCRA 合规图表从头到尾,合规的背景调查程序对申请人或员工来说是一种积极的体验。 这表明公司认真履行其道德义务并重视员工。 它还有助于避免无意中失去有前途的潜在客户或员工。

如何根据公平信用报告法 (FCRA) 进行背景调查

每个使用背景调查公司进行就业前检查的雇主都必须遵守 FCRA。

具有讽刺意味的是,FCRA 的一些最基本条款常常成为诉讼的依据。 换句话说,它们成为了错误意图的工具。 在这种情况下,y] 以下是雇主应注意的最重要的执法问题:

有关声明

在从 CRA 获得背景报告之前,雇主必须通知受试者这是一项资格要求。 披露的内容和格式非常重要。 披露中只能使用披露语言,并且必须以单独的文本发布。 例如,它不应包含在工作申请中或隐藏在信息包中。

此外,本公开的词汇应仅包括本公开; 在没有其他材料的情况下。 “无关”一词可以指从公司福利到在职行为再到无毒品工作场所的任何事物。 因此,在披露中包括放弃责任,语言特别麻烦 - 并且是许多集体诉讼的基础。

但是,在从 CRA 获得背景报告之前,雇主必须获得受试者的书面同意。 (可以接受遵循 E-SIGN 准则的电子签​​名。)

FCRA 只需要独特的内容和格式,而不需要特定的语言。 披露和授权语言,无论是单独的文件还是一起,都必须简单明了。 读者应该知道他或她将成为背景报告的主题,并且他或她正在批准报告的准备。

不利行动

如果雇主正在考虑完全或部分基于背景研究中的细节的负面雇佣行动——不招聘、不晋升或不保留——则必须遵守多步骤的 FCRA 不利行动程序。

通知申请人他或她可能是否定决定的受害者

然后,交出一份研究副本以及一份联邦权利摘要副本。 告诉他们他们可以选择对研究提出异议。 一定要留出一段确定的时间来开始争论。

请抱紧你的马

在分配给申请人联系 CRA 并对研究提出质疑的时间内,您不应做出任何决定。

如果您在规定的时间到期后做出不利决定,您必须再次联系申请人。 这一次,您将阐明行动方案,提供完成报告的 CRA 的联系信息,声明 CRA 没有做出决定,以及告诉他们可以获得报告副本并仍然提出异议的声明它的内容。
历史筛查合规性很困难,FCRA 是“房间里的大象”。 雇主不能对此视而不见。

好消息是,FCRA 的最高风险部分是最容易遵守的。 雇主需要精心设计的筛选计划、定期审核以及知识渊博的筛选合作伙伴的帮助。

谁需要遵守 FCRA?

雇主和背景调查企业均有责任遵守 FCRA。 雇主必须表明他们将进行背景调查并获得书面授权。

我如何成为 FCRA 合规者?

FCRA 合规性的四个基本步骤

  • 第 1 步:进行披露并获得书面同意。 在要求消费者或调查报告之前,雇主必须执行以下操作:......
  • 第 2 步:向消费者报告机构提交证明。
  • 第 3 步:向申请人提供不利行动前文件。
  • 第 4 步:将不利行为告知申请人。

FCRA的主要目的是什么?

《公平信用报告法》(FCRA),15 USC 1681 et seq.,管理对消费者信用报告记录的访问,同时提高信用报告机构 (CRA) 收集的个人信息的准确性、公平性和隐私性。

什么是 FCRA 流程?

《公平信用报告法》(FCRA) 是一项联邦立法,用于管理个人信用信息的收集及其对信用报告的访问。 它于 1970 年颁布,旨在解决信用报告组织文件中包含的个人信息的公平性、准确性和隐私性。

最常见的 FCRA 违规行为是什么?

隐瞒通知、侵犯隐私、出于不当目的寻求报告、未能遵循要求的债务披露流程、提供和报告错误信息、提供和报告旧信息以及合并文件是七种最常见的 FCRA 违规行为。

  1. FCRA:公平信用报告法初学者指南
  2. 财务代理:最佳实践和 2023 年详细指南
  3. 酌情财政政策:2023 年权威指南(+详细示例)
  4. 渗透定价政策:如何获得市场准入
  5. 房屋抵押贷款披露法 (HMDA) 和 C 条例

0股
发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被公开。 必填 *

你也许也喜欢

FCRA COMPLIANCE: Why Employers Should be Compliant (+ Quick Tips)

FCRA Compliance, Compliant and Background Check

What is FCRA Compliance? Well for starters, the “Fair Credit Reporting Act” is the alternative for the abbreviation, “FCRA.” This federal act came into law in 1970 with the aim of assisting customers in resolving inaccuracies in their credit reports. The FCRA’s scope was modified in 1996 to include other customer studies, such as history reports prepared for job screening purposes. In other words, any employer who uses a third party to conduct background checks must be FCRA Compliant. Soon, we’ll find out why it is important to be FCRA Compliant.

FCRA Background

Basically, consumers are covered by FCRA enforcement. Employers that use background reports and the Consumer Reporting Agencies (CRAs) (also known as background screening companies) that provide the information are all regulated by the FCRA.

When an employer obtains a background check from a third party for job purposes, the FCRA applies. Also, criminal histories, work and education verifications, motor vehicle records, health care sanctions, and professional licenses may also be included in these reports. Furthermore, it’s worth noting that, although the word “credit” appears in the law’s name, it refers to all history records, whether or not they contain credit details.

Both the employer and the background screening firm are responsible for complying with the FCRA.

However, employers must inform employees that they will be conducting a background check and obtain written consent. If they make an employment decision based on negative details in the study, they must also follow strict adverse action procedures.

FCRA Compliance Overview

From the CRA’s perspective, compliance entails getting processes in place to ensure that records are as reliable as possible when adhering to both state and federal reporting requirements.

The FCRA also applies in other cases, such as tenant screening background checks.

To comprehend the FCRA, one must be familiar with some of its jargon. The following are some of the most relevant terms:

Consumer Report

A background report, also known as a “background check.” Only accurate information, such as dates of employment, criminal records, and driving records, is included in a Consumer Report.

Investigative Consumer Report

In contrast to a Consumer Survey, an Investigative Consumer Report contains details gathered through personal interviews. A personal interview, for example, is a discussion of job results. Another form of personal interview is a personal or technical reference search.

Consumer

The individual who is the target of the background check is referred to as the consumer. This may be a job candidate, a current employee, a contractor, a temporary worker, or even an unpaid volunteer in the workplace.

Consumer Reporting Agency (CRA)

The organization that conducts the background check and prepares the background report

User

The person who requests and uses the history report is the user in question. This is usually an employer or a potential employer. An organization, such as a non-profit or a school district, may also be the recipient.

Disclosure

The document informs the buyer that he or she might be the target of a background check.

Authorization

A document signed by the customer authorizing the preparation of a background check.

Adverse Action

The procedure to be followed when an employer is considering making a negative employment decision based on the background report in full or in part.

Why is it essential for employers to be compliant with the Fair Credit Reporting Act (FCRA)?

FCRA Compliance and Compliant
Image Credit: Pixabay (FCRA Compliant)

Failure to comply with the Fair Credit Reporting Act (FCRA) may be a costly risk. When receiving background reports from a third party, an employer is required by the FCRA to do certain things during the initial hiring process. Employers are regularly prosecuted in federal court for alleged violations of the Fair Credit Reporting Act. According to reports, around 409 FCRA lawsuits were filed, in June 2016 alone.

Employers pay a high price for litigation in terms of time, legal fees, financial settlements, brand harm, and time away from their core company. 

FCRA Compliance Graphic

FCRA Compliance Graphic from start to finish, a compliant background check procedure is a positive experience for the applicant or employee. It shows that the company is serious about its ethical obligations and values its employees. It also aids in the avoidance of an unintentional loss of a promising prospect or employee.

How to Conduct a Background Check in Compliance with the Fair Credit Reporting Act (FCRA)

Every employer that uses a background screening company to perform pre-employment checks must comply with the FCRA.

Ironically, some of the FCRA’s most basic provisions often become a basis for lawsuits. In other words, they become a tool for the wrong intentions. In that case, y]the following are the most important enforcement issues that employers should be aware of:

Disclosure

Before obtaining a background report from a CRA, the employer must notify the subject that one is an eligibility requirement. The disclosure’s content and format are extremely significant. Only disclosure language must be used in the disclosure, which must be published in a separate text. It should not, for example, be included in a job application or hidden in a packet of information.

Furthermore, the vocabulary of the disclosure should only include the disclosure; with no other material in view. The term “extraneous” can refer to anything from corporate benefits to on-the-job behavior to a drug-free workplace. So including a waiver of liability in the disclosure, language is particularly troublesome – and the foundation of much class action litigation.

However, before obtaining a background report from a CRA, the employer must obtain written consent from the subject. (Electronic signatures that follow E-SIGN guidelines are acceptable.)

The FCRA only needs unique content and format, not specific language. The disclosure and authorization language, whether in separate documents or together, must be plain and conspicuous. The reader should be aware that he or she will be the subject of a background report and that he or she is approving the report’s preparation.

Adverse Action

Employers must obey the multi-step FCRA adverse action procedure if they are considering a negative employment action – not recruiting, not promoting, or not retaining – based in whole or part on details in a background study.

Notify the applicant that he or she may be a victim of a negative decision

Then, hand over a copy of the study as well as a copy of the federal summary of rights. Inform them that they have the option to contest the study. Be sure to set aside a definite period of time to begin the dispute.

Please hold your horses

During the time allocated for the applicant to contact the CRA and challenge the study, you should not make any decisions.

If you make an adverse decision after the allotted time has expired, you must contact the applicant again. This time, you’ll clarify the course of action, provide contact information for the CRA who completed the report, a declaration that the CRA did not make the decision, and statements telling them that they can obtain a copy of the report and still contest its contents.
History screening compliance is difficult, and the FCRA is the “elephant in the room.” Employers cannot afford to turn a blind eye to it.

The good news is that the FCRA’s highest-risk components are the easiest to comply with. Employers need a well-designed screening program, regular auditing, and the assistance of a knowledgeable screening partner.

  1. FCRA: Fair Credit Reporting Act Beginner’s Guide
  2. Fiscal Agent: Best Practices & Detailed 2021 Guide
  3. Discretionary Fiscal Policy: 2021 Definitive Guide(+Detailed Examples)
  4. PENETRATION PRICING POLICY: HOW YOU CAN GAIN MARKET ENTRY

0 Shares:
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You May Also Like