散户投资者:如何成为其中一员

散户投资者
财经月刊

关于投资有很多东西要学:规则、税收和波动性。 那些用自己的钱和个人经纪账户工作的人被归类为散户投资者。
这是您需要了解的有关散户投资者的所有信息,包括如何成为散户投资者以及他们如何驾驭股市。 我们还将研究散户与机构投资者的主要区别。 继续阅读……

谁是散户投资者?

散户投资者,有时也称为个人投资者,是指买卖证券或基金的非专业投资者,其中包括资产组合,例如 共同基金交易所交易基金(ETF).

散户投资者通过经纪公司(无论是传统的还是在线的)或通过各种投资账户进行交易。 散户投资者为自己的个人账户购买股票,其交易金额通常比机构投资者低得多。 机构投资者是专业投资组合和基金经理(例如共同基金或养老基金的负责人)进行大规模投资的统称。

散户投资者如何运作

散户投资者通常在股票和债券市场买卖交易,其投资远低于主要机构投资者。 另一方面,较富裕的散户投资者现在可以投资另类投资类别,例如私募股权和对冲基金。 由于购买力有限,大多数散户投资者可能不得不为其交易支付更高的费用或佣金,而许多经纪人已经取消了互联网交易的费用。

美国证券交易委员会 (SEC) 有责任保护散户投资者并确保市场以公平有序的方式运作。 美国证券交易委员会通过对散户投资者进行教育和执行法规来帮助他们,以确保他们在市场上保持自信和舒适的交易。

散户投资者对市场情绪有很大影响,这表明金融市场的整体情绪。 共同基金流动、IPO首日表现以及美国个人投资者协会的调查数据,该协会询问散户投资者的市场预期,这些都是投资者情绪的预测指标。 TD Ameritrade 和 E*TRADE 等股票经纪人也监测市场情绪。

零售投资市场

美国的散户投资市场庞大而多样; 据 SEC 称,“到 29 年,美国家庭直接或间接通过共同基金、退休账户和其他资产拥有 58 万亿美元的股票——超过美国股票市场的 2020%”。

“退休或经纪账户由 43 万美国家庭持有。 56 万户美国家庭(占所有家庭的 44%)拥有至少一只美国 mutt “截至 2018 年,“al fund”

而且,虽然在 2008 年金融危机之后,美国人转向储蓄账户和被动投资,但自那以后拥有股票的家庭数量有所增加。 根据美联储的消费金融调查,53年约有2019%的家庭持有股票,70%的中高收入家庭持有股票。

与机构交易者不同,散户交易者更倾向于投资小公司的股票,因为他们可以拥有较低的价格点,从而使他们能够以足够数量的股票购买多样化的资产组合。

现在散户投资者可以获得比以往更多的金融信息、投资教育和交易工具。 经纪费用已经降低,移动交易允许投资者通过手机或其他移动设备积极管理他们的投资组合。 许多零售基金和经纪人提供较低的最低投资金额或几百美元的存款,而一些 ETF 和机器人顾问则不提供。 尽管如此,无论投资变得多么民主化,这仍然是关于做你的研究。

如何成为散户投资者

成为散户投资者没有正式的培训途径; 相反,您可以采取一系列措施来保护您的投资组合,并希望最大化您的利润。 要开始投资,请考虑以下建议:

#1。 把钱放在一边

有些人首先命名一个罐子并尽可能存放备用硬币。 其他人开设一个在线储蓄账户并每月向其转账一次。 无论您选择哪种方式,最好留出一些资金来开始。

#2。 市场调查

书籍、博客、金融播客或视频,甚至培训课程都可以教你很多关于投资的知识。 在投资之前,花时间阅读或听取专家和金融专家的建议。 当您决定如何投资您的资金时,您将更好地了解您的可能性。

#3。 确定你想把钱放在哪里。

在研究金融市场后,为您希望投资的方式和地点制定计划。 对于每只基金,您都应该检查您的投资回报率、您希望将现金存入账户的时间长度以及提取或转移资金的任何财务费用。

以下是散户投资者最受欢迎的一些选择:

  • 投资共同基金
  • 股票
  • Cryptocurrency
  • 债券
  • 个人退休账户 (IRA) (IRA)
  • 房地产投资信托(REIT)

#4。 从小处着手。

从少量投资开始管理风险。 随着您的投资专业知识和信心的提高,您可以用您的资金承担更大的风险。 根据您为此目的保存的内容确定可接受的起点。

#5。 定期评估结果

即使您打算将资金存入基金并且长时间不提取,您仍应跟踪您的投资价值。 一些投资者每天都在监控股票价格,因为他们计划出售所持股票的涨跌。 准备退休基金的投资者可以监控他们的投资表现,尤其是在他们接近退休年龄时。

#6。 进行战略调整

进行初始投资后,请考虑如何调整资金。 出售资金或清算股票的情绪化决定可能会导致更糟糕的投资组合结果。 一些投资者考虑将股息再投资以购买更多股票,从而增加他们的投资。

机构投资者与散户投资者的主要区别

机构投资者与散户投资者的显着区别,从他们的投资决策的影响到美国证券交易委员会如何监管他们。 以下是每个区别的细分。

交易模式

机构投资者的交易频率远高于散户投资者(想想卖出 XNUMX 股,而一笔交易卖出 XNUMX 股)。 机构投资者不仅拥有更大的购买力来购买最理想的证券,而且他们的交易量也可能对价格和市场动态产生重大影响。

虽然散户投资者可能容易受到不规则或情绪化交易的影响,但机构投资者的市场活动是由数十年的经验和数据分析驱动的。

资源可用性

同样,机构投资者的市场力量源于其从所投资的公司和个人那里获得的现金。 通过交易数百万美元而不是数百或数千美元,机构投资者在交易中支付的费用更少,并且可以以较低的最低投资要求投资风险更高的基金。

虽然您可能不认为信息是一种资源,但它适用于机构投资者。 对于机构投资者来说,拥有每隔几纳秒刷新一次的信息,以便在市场上有效并有利可图地采取行动,这一点至关重要。

尽管散户投资者现在比以往任何时候都更容易获得投资信息,但机构投资者继续占据上风。 这是因为他们聘请了熟练的团队来研究和分析大量数据。 本研究有助于优化和澄清投资决策。

美国证券交易委员会保护

新的 证券交易委员会 由于机构投资者通常根据全面的投资数据做出决策,因此对机构投资者的交易行为限制较少。 回旋余地使机构投资者能够投资于风险更高但可能更有利可图的资产。

对于散户投资者来说,情况恰恰相反。 由于 SEC 实施限制以保护个人交易能力和财务影响力低于投资公司,因此情况就是如此。 例如,最佳利益监管要求协助散户投资者的经纪人优先考虑个人的最佳利益。

散户投资者与机构投资者

机构投资者散户投资者
经济能力汇集了众多寻求专业知识的公司和个人的巨额资金。仅限于私人可以使用的资本。
市场影响力通过购买或出售价值数百万美元的资产来影响市场的潜力很大。 无论股价如何,都可以自由地进行大规模多元化或对单个公司或行业进行大量投资无论投资选择如何,都对市场没有影响。 通常会购买成本较低的股票,并倾向于多元化。
经验与知识由拥有丰富独家知识和经验的专业人士组成。 第一时间接收最新信息,定期与市场专家交流。可以通过众多来源和专业人士获取信息,但缺乏及时、完整的机构投资者获取信息的渠道。
美国证券交易委员会监督由于知识和熟练程度的限制较少; 可以进行风险更高、更独特的投资,以获得更好的回报。更多限制以降低风险并容纳知识和能力较少的投资者。
散户与机构投资者

散户投资者对市场有什么影响?

个人股票和整个市场可能会受到散户投资者的显着影响。

尽管它们在导致 2020 年春季经济衰退的史无前例的反弹和牛市中发挥了一点作用。尽管如此,散户投资者对在大流行期间进行自我交易变得更加感兴趣。 他们涌向在线经纪人、交易应用程序和自动投资服务。

根据一些专家的说法,与过去十年相比,今天的个人对市场的影响更大。 例如,最近几个月,散户投资者推高了所谓的“表情包”的价格,以阻止对冲基金做空该股票。 此类活动加剧了市场波动。

这种热情能否持续还有待观察。 然而,一些人认为,目前的流行预示着一种持久的结构性转变,散户投资者将在未来的市场走势中继续发挥重要作用。

成为散户投资者的利弊

作为散户投资者可以提供许多优势,但也有一些缺点需要考虑。 以下是散户投资者与机构投资者的一些优缺点。

优点

#1。 小额投资:

作为散户投资者,您可以拥有一个小的股票市场。 您可以购买最少一股公司的股票,一些经纪人甚至可能允许您购买零碎股,从而使您可以投资那些股价对您来说太贵的公司。 一些平台还允许散户投资者交易另类投资,例如比特币或首次公开募股 (IPO)。

其他类别的投资者可能有交易股权要求。 例如,美国证券交易委员会要求使用杠杆账户的日间交易者在每个交易日的账户中至少保留 25,000 美元。

#2。 流动性:

股票和债券的流动性相对较高,这意味着您可以快速出售它们以换取现金。 机构投资者可能更难出售其资产,尤其是当他们受到一系列要求他们采取特定行动的法规或协议的限制时。

#3。 最少的文书工作:

作为散户投资者,如果您欠资本利得税或股息税,您唯一需要处理与投资相关的文书工作的时间是在纳税时间。 如果您以有利可图的方式出售投资,您只需要缴纳资本利得税。 如果您持有投资不到一年,您将按边际税率对短期资本收益征税。 所有其他投资均需缴纳长期资本利得税,根据您的税率,税率从 0% 到 15% 到 20% 不等。

缺点

#1。 费用:

当您进行交易时,您的经纪人可能会向您收取费用。 此费用因您购买的证券类型而异。 但是,许多经纪公司和在线经纪人不再收取交易股票和其他产品的佣金。 虽然专业交易员可以从他们的税款中扣除费用,但散户投资者却被他们困住了。

#2。 缺乏专家指导:

专业交易者可能拥有广泛的知识和信息访问权限,使他们能够选择最适合他们兴趣的投资。 单独行动的散户投资者可能没有这种支持。 考虑咨询金融专业人士,他们可以帮助您开发多元化的长期投资组合。

总结

散户投资者是使用投资为未来储蓄的人。 虽然作为散户投资者与机构投资者相比存在某些缺点,但也有许多优点,并且随着时间的推移,这是建立财务安全的好方法。 如果您通过机构投资者进行投资,他或她有能力为您提供高回报。 另一方面,您的专业人士的决定可能比普通投资者的决定更具风险性或动态性。 如果您是散户投资者并希望确保您按计划实现您的财务目标,请咨询财务顾问。

散户投资者常见问题解答

为什么这么多散户亏损?

由于散户投资者缺乏“知识”,他们将不断亏损,而金融专家则受过高等教育。

散户投资者会改变市场吗?

单个散户投资者不太可能影响市场。

0股
发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被公开。

你也许也喜欢

Retail Investors: How To Become One

Retail investors
Finance Monthly

There is a lot to learn about investing: rules, taxes, and volatility. And those who work with their own money and a personal brokerage account are classified as retail investors.
Here’s everything you need to know about a retail investor, including how to become one and how they navigate the stock market. We’ll also look at the key differences of retail vs institutional investors. Read on…

Who are Retail Investors?

A retail investor, sometimes known as an individual investor, is a non-professional investor that buys and sells securities or funds that include a portfolio of assets, such as mutual funds and exchange traded funds (ETFs).

Retail investors place their transactions through brokerage firms, whether traditional or online, or through various sorts of investment accounts. Retail investors buy stocks for their own personal accounts and frequently trade in much lower amounts than institutional investors. An institutional investor is a catch-all word for larger-scale investments made by professional portfolio and fund managers, such as those in charge of a mutual fund or a pension fund.

How Retail Investors Work

Retail investors typically buy and sell trades in the equity and bond markets and invest far less than major institutional investors. Wealthier retail investors, on the other hand, can now access alternative investment classes such as private equity and hedge funds. Most retail investors may have to pay greater fees or commissions for their trades due to their limited purchasing power, while many brokers have removed fees for internet trades.

The Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) of the United States is in responsibility of protecting retail investors and ensuring that markets operate in a fair and orderly way. The SEC assists retail investors by educating them and enforcing regulations to ensure that they remain confident and comfortable trading in the markets.

Retail investors have a large influence on market sentiment, which indicates the overall mood in the financial markets. Mutual fund flows, IPO first-day performance, and survey data from the American Association of Individual Investors, which asks retail investors about their market expectations, are all predictors of investor sentiment. Stockbrokers such as TD Ameritrade and E*TRADE monitor sentiment as well.

Retail Investing Market

The retail investment market in the United States is large and diverse; according to the SEC, “American households own $29 trillion in equities—more than 58 percent of the U.S. equity market—either directly or indirectly through mutual funds, retirement accounts, and other assets” in 2020.

“A retirement or brokerage account is held by 43 million US households. At least one U.S. mutt is owned by 56 million U.S. homes (44 percent of all households) “As of 2018, “al fund”

And, while in the aftermath of the 2008 financial crisis, Americans shifted to savings accounts and passive investment, the number of households owning stocks has increased since then. According to the Federal Reserve’s consumer finance survey, approximately 53% of families owned equities in 2019, with 70% of upper-middle-income families owning stocks.

Unlike institutional traders, retail traders are more inclined to invest in stocks of smaller companies since they can have lower price points, allowing them to buy a diverse portfolio of assets in a sufficient number of shares.

More financial information, investing education, and trading instruments are now available to retail investors than ever before. Brokerage fees have been reduced, and mobile trading allows investors to actively manage their portfolios from their cellphones or other mobile devices. Many retail funds and brokers offer low minimum investment amounts or deposits of a few hundred dollars, while some ETFs and robo-advisors do not. Nonetheless, no matter how democratized investing becomes, it is still all about doing your research.

How to Become a Retail Investors

There is no formal training path to becoming a retail investor; rather, there are a set of measures you may take to secure your portfolio and, hopefully, maximize your profits. To begin investing your money, consider the following suggestions:

#1. Put money aside

Some folks begin by naming a jar and depositing spare coins whenever possible. Others open an online savings account and transfer money to it once a month. Whatever way you select, it’s a good idea to have some money set aside to get started.

#2. Market research

Books, blogs, financial podcasts or videos, and even training courses can teach you a lot about investing your money. Invest your time in reading or listening to the counsel of experts and financial specialists before investing your money. When you decide how to invest your funds, you’ll have a better understanding of your possibilities.

#3. Determine where you want to put your money.

Make a plan for how and where you wish to invest after researching the financial market. For every fund, you should examine the rate of return on your investment, the length of time you wish to keep your cash in the account, and any financial fees for withdrawing or shifting funds.

Here are some of the most popular choices for retail investors:

  • Investing in mutual funds
  • Stocks
  • Cryptocurrency
  • Bonds
  • Individual Retirement Account (IRA) (IRA)
  • Real Estate Investment Trust (REIT)

#4. Begin small.

Manage risks by starting with a small number of investments. You can take bigger risks with your funds as your investing expertise and confidence improve. Determine an acceptable starting point based on what you’ve saved for this purpose.

#5. Conduct regular evaluations of results

Even if you intend to deposit money into a fund and not extract it for a long time, you should still keep track on the value of your investments. Some investors monitor stock prices every day as they increase and decrease in the event that they plan to sell their holdings. Investors preparing retirement funds can monitor the performance of their investments, especially as they approach retirement age.

#6. Make strategic adjustments

After you’ve made your initial investments, think about how you’ll adjust your funds. Emotional decisions to sell money or liquidate a stock may result in worse portfolio results. Some investors think about reinvesting dividends to buy more shares, allowing their investment to increase.

Institutional vs Retail Investors Key Differences

Significant distinctions of institutional vs retail investors, ranges from the influence of their investment decisions to how the SEC regulates them. Here’s a breakdown of each distinction.

Patterns of Trading

Institutional investors trade far more frequently than retail investors (think five shares sold versus five thousand shares moving in one transaction). Not only do institutional investors have greater purchasing power to acquire the most desirable securities, but the sheer volume of their transactions can have a significant impact on prices and market dynamics.

While retail investors may be vulnerable to irregular or emotional trading, institutional investors’ market activity is driven by decades of experience and data analysis.

Resource Availability

Again, an institutional investor’s market power stems from the cash it receives from the companies and individuals in which it invests. By trading millions of dollars rather than hundreds or thousands, institutional investors pay less to trade and can invest in riskier funds with lower minimum investment requirements.

While you might not consider information to be a resource, it is for institutional investors. It is critical for institutional investors to have information that refreshes every few nanoseconds in order to act efficiently and profitably in the market.

Although retail investors now have greater access to investment information than ever before, institutional investors continue to hold the upper hand. This is due to the fact that they hire skilled teams to research and analyze mountains of data. This study aids in the optimization and clarification of investment decisions.

SEC Protection

The SEC imposes fewer limitations on institutional investors’ trading conduct since they often make decisions based on comprehensive investment data. The wiggle room enables institutional investors to invest in riskier, but potentially more profitable, assets.

For retail investors, the opposite is true. Because the SEC enforces restrictions that protect individuals trading with less competence and financial clout than investment corporations, this is the case. For example, Regulation Best Interest requires brokers who assist retail investors to prioritize the individual’s best interests over their own.

Retail Investors vs Institutional Investors

Institutional InvestorRetail Investor
FinancesCombines vast sums from numerous companies and individuals seeking a professional’s expertise.Limited to the capital the private individual has access to.
Market InfluenceHigh potential to affect markets through the purchase or sale of millions of dollars’ worth of assets. Free to diversify on a large scale or invest heavily in a single company or industry regardless of share priceSlim to no effect on markets regardless of investment choices. Usually will purchase shares with lower costs and tends to diversify.
Experience & KnowledgeComprised of professionals with an abundance of exclusive knowledge and experience. Receives updated information first and communicates with market experts regularly.Can obtain information through numerous sources and professionals but lacks timely and complete access to information institutional investors have.
SEC OversightFewer restrictions due to knowledge and proficiency; can make riskier, more exclusive investments for possibly better returns.More restrictions to reduce risk and accommodate investors with less knowledge and ability.
Retail vs Institutional Investors

What Influence Do Retail Investors Have on Markets?

Individual equities and the market as a whole can be significantly influenced by retail investors.

While they played a little impact in the unprecedented rally and bull market that led up to the recession in the spring of 2020. Despite this, retail investors became more interested in trading themselves during the pandemic. They flock to online brokers, trading applications, and automated investing services.

According to some experts, individuals today have a stronger impact on the market than they did in the previous decade. In recent months, for example, retail investors have drove up the price of so-called “meme stocks” in an attempt to deter hedge funds from shorting the stock. Such campaigns have heightened market volatility.

It remains to be seen whether this enthusiasm will last. However, some argue that the current popularity signals a lasting structural shift in which retail investors will continue to play a significant role in market movements in the future.

The Benefits and Drawbacks of Being a Retail Investor

Being a retail investor can provide many advantages, but there are some disadvantages to consider. Here are some advantages and disadvantages of being a retail investor vs an institutional investor.

Benefits

#1. Tiny investments:

As a retail investor, you can own a small market of stock. You can purchase as few as one share of stock in a firm, and some brokers may even allow you to purchase fractional shares, allowing you to invest in companies whose share price would otherwise be too expensive for you. Some platforms also allow retail investors to trade in alternative investments such as bitcoin or initial public offerings (IPOs).

Other categories of investors may have trade equity requirements. For example, the SEC mandates day traders who use leverage accounts to keep a minimum of $25,000 in their accounts on each trading day.

#2. Liquidity:

Stocks and bonds are relatively liquid, which means you can sell them for cash rapidly. Institutional investors may have a more difficult time selling their assets, particularly if they are constrained by a set of regulations or agreements that require them to take a specific action.

#3. Minimal paperwork:

As a retail investor, the only time you’ll have to deal with investment-related paperwork is at tax time if you owe capital gains or dividend taxes. You only owe capital gains taxes if you profitably sell an investment. If you held the investment for less than a year, you will be taxed on short-term capital gains at your marginal tax rate. All other investments are subject to long-term capital gains taxes, which range from 0% to 15% to 20% depending on your tax rate.

Drawbacks

#1. Fees:

When you make a trade, your broker may charge you a fee. This charge varies based on the type of security you purchase. However, many brokerage firms and online brokers no longer charge commissions for trading stocks and other products. While professional traders can deduct fees from their taxes, retail investors are stuck with them.

#2. A lack of expert guidance:

Professional traders may have extensive knowledge and access to information that allows them to select investments that best suit their interests. A retail investor that is going it alone may not have that support. Consider consulting with a financial professional who can assist you in developing a well-diversified long-term portfolio.

Conclusion

A retail investor is someone who uses investing to save for the future. While there are certain drawbacks to being a retail investor vs an institutional investor, there are also numerous advantages, and it is a good method to establish financial security over time. If you invest through an institutional investor, he or she is well-equipped to supply you with high returns. Your professional’s decisions, on the other hand, maybe more risky or dynamic than the average investor’s. Speak with a financial advisor if you are a retail investor and want to ensure you are on track to meet your financial objectives.

Retail Investors FAQs

Why do so many retail investors lose money?

Because retail investors lack ‘knowledge,’ they will constantly lose money, whereas financial specialists are highly educated.

Do retail investors move markets?

A single retail investor is unlikely to ever affect the market.

0 Shares:
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You May Also Like