投资银行家:投资银行家是做什么的?

投资银行家
图片来源:企业金融研究所

投资银行家主要与大公司和政府机构而不是个人合作,并且通常具有独特的薪水。 他们在幕后工作,使他们的角色对公众不那么明显。 投资银行家实际上对他们买卖股票的所有金融交易负责,例如证券发行、并购和首次公开募股。 但是,如果您真的对投资银行家的工作感到好奇,那么了解股票市场的基本原理及其运作方式将使您跟上步伐。

什么是投资银行家?

投资银行家是对金融服务行业有广泛了解的专业人士,他还具有很强的分析能力以及通过说服力的沟通技巧来说服他人的能力。 投资银行家为各种客户提供企业融资服务,包括初创公司、成熟组织,在某些情况下还包括政府。 他们是企业、组织或其他公司实体的财务增长和发展的关键参与者,无论他们是为投资银行还是另一个组织的投资银行部门工作。 有许多不同类型的投资银行家,从刚开始职业生涯的人到处于行业巅峰的人。

投资银行家做什么的?

投资银行家的高薪、广泛的人脉以及在公司成功案例中的突出作用,使其成为备受追捧的职业。 然而,对于那些喜欢更轻松的工作与生活平衡的人来说,投资银行家的日常工作可能要求高、节奏快、压力大。 如果您想以灵活的时间安排每周工作 40 小时,那么投资银行业务可能不适合您。

投资银行家的角色

投资银行家通常在股市中扮演重要角色。 他们协助公司和政府开展各种金融活动。 投资银行家还为组织买卖股票。 以下是他们进行的主要交易类型的快速浏览。

#1。 安排融资

在建造工厂时,大公司不太可能手头有必要的资金。 可能会决定为该项目筹集资金。 新工厂增加的产量将支付债券的利息。 同样,政府可能需要为机场、高速公路或任何其他主要市政项目的建设提供资金。 使用债券,它可以现在开始工作,并通过未来的税收来偿还债券。

无论哪种情况,都可以在投资银行家的帮助下进行融资。 投资银行家将计划债券销售,正确定价,填写美国证券交易委员会 (SEC) 要求的文书工作,然后帮助将债券出售给买家。

#2。 代理功能

投资银行家是代表股市投资者买卖股票的财务顾问。 投资银行家扮演着代理人的多重角色。 在投资之前,他们以法律和法律的形式进行市场研究 市场分析. 当一家公司想通过股票市场筹集资金时,它会去投资银行进行两次分析。 这些分析有助于公司确定其计划是否是一个好的计划。 之后,投资银行家决定公司是否应该通过发行债务或股权来筹集资金。

#3。 股权融资

出售债券或股票是公司为其增长和扩张融资的最具成本效益的方式。 投资银行家在组织出售股票或 股权融资。 假设一家新企业决定投入大量资金来为增长筹集资金。 它将首先聘请投资银行家为潜在投资者创建招股说明书,解释发行条款以及所涉及的风险。

之后,发行必须向投资者推销,向媒体解释,并获得批准 美国证券交易委员会 (SEC) 以便继续 (SEC)。

定价非常重要。 如果股票定价过高并且没有人愿意购买,那么 IPO 可能会失败。 然而,如果股票定价过低,投资银行家就会错失客户的潜在利润。 在整个过程中,投资银行家处于领先地位。

 #4。 承销和销售

承保需要代表承保人承担风险 股市 证券卖方。 当公司发行股票时,它想知道即使他们不出售部分股票,它仍然会为公司筹集资金。 投资银行家承担资本风险,可以以折扣价购买公司所有股票。 然后,银行家将定价并将证券出售给散户投资者。 如果出售股票未能达到目标资本要求,投资银行家可以向商业银行借款或买入或亏本出售股票。 

或者,他们可以邀请其他投资银行参与 承保流程 以承销团的形式分担损失风险。 在某些情况下,投资银行家可能只是充当中间人和推销交易而不承担承销风险。 在这种情况下,投资银行家可能会卖出部分股票,并根据卖出的股票数量获得佣金。 投资银行家通过向客户高价出售股票来获利。 承销差价是买入价和加价之间的差额。

#5。 安排私募

并非每家公司都希望上市。 投资银行家还协助那些更愿意通过私募而非在股票或债券市场上公开募股来筹集资金的客户。 在这些情况下,投资银行家应该具有使销售发生的人脉和声誉。

例如,一家公司可能会将其全部债券发售出售给单个机构投资者,例如保险公司或退休基金。 由于无需向 SEC 注册配售,这可能是一种更快、更简单的筹资方式。 较低级别的监管适用于私募,因为政府认为机构投资者更老练。 

#6。 并购

在大多数情况下,收购或与另一家公司合并是一个漫长的规划和谈判过程。 投资银行家经常在此过程中发挥咨询作用,尤其是在确定交易的公平价格时。 桌子两边的投资银行家评估并购中的一系列报价和还价。

投资银行家的平均工资是多少?

对于同龄人来说,投资银行家的薪水是业内最高的。 作为一名新员工,您可以期望在校外获得超过 100,000 美元的收入,这可能远远超过您大多数同学的收入。 投资银行家的时薪是另一回事。

投资银行家每小时的报酬几乎没有。 由于许多分析师和同事每周投入超过 100 小时,他们平均每小时可以赚取 24 到 35 美元。 这还不错,但不如每年 100,000 美元那么吸引人。

投资银行家薪资表

选项基本工资奖金总计
分析师85k-100k 美元50k-10k 美元125k-200k 美元
经理100k-120k 美元80k-130k 美元180k-250k 美元
副总裁120k-150k 美元100k-120k 美元220k-400k 美元
董事总经理300 万美元至 1 万美元200 万美元至 10 万美元500 万美元至 10 万美元
资料来源:行业资料。

投资银行家的薪酬标准是多少?

投资银行家通过两种方式获得报酬:薪水和奖金。 奖金是银行家所有职位总收入的重要组成部分,尤其是在较高级别,奖金可能是基本投资银行家工资的几倍。

为什么银行家赚这么多?

拥护者声称,银行向他们支付如此多的费用是因为他们从事的重要交易会导致巨额费用。 为了换取如此重要的工作,他们必须聪明、勤奋、技术高超——因此报酬丰厚。 局外人可能会争辩说,这份工作压力很大,像军人一样等级森严,工作时间长,因此需要高薪。 工人的收入低于最低工资的情况并不少见,因为他们的工作时间很长。

如何获得投资银行家的工作

如果您有正规教育和早期工作的金融背景,那么投资银行业务更容易获得,就像大多数其他金融专业一样。 然而,投资银行家通常具有财务咨询、财务管理、交易或一般商业咨询方面的经验。 大多数投资银行更喜欢在工商管理、金融、商业、经济学或具有统计学意义的领域拥有学士或硕士学位的候选人。 具有不同教育和专业背景的人并非无法进入投资银行业务,但它确实需要发展量化专业知识以及说服他人的能力。

总结

成为投资银行家所需的时间因机构和角色职责而异。 根据美国劳工统计局的数据,投资银行家等财务管理专业人士通常具有学士学位并在类似领域拥有至少五年的经验。

投资银行家常见问题解答

投资银行家的薪水最高吗?

投资银行家通常是金融业收入最高的员工, 即使在年轻员工中也有很高的工资率。 典型的投资银行家的起薪超过了大多数其他金融职位,但在这一领域工作并非没有挑战。

谁被认为是投资银行家?

投资银行家是主要为公司、政府或其他实体筹集资金的人。 在并购等复杂交易中,投资银行充当相关方之间的中间人。

投行需要什么学历?

要成为投资银行家,您通常需要商业、金融、经济学、会计或相关领域的学士或副学士学位。 你应该擅长数学和市场分析, 您可能还想参加您感兴趣的领域的一些课程。

  1. 抵押银行家薪水:它是什么和薪水细节
  2. 什么是私人银行? 资格和最低要求
  3. 财务工作:2022 年最佳财务工作 {更新}
  4. 执行摘要:如何编写商业计划和银行贷款的执行摘要
  5. 抵押贷款承保:MU 流程的步骤
0股
发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被公开。

你也许也喜欢

INVESTMENT BANKERS: What Do Investment Bankers Do?

Investment Bankers
Image Source: Corporate finance Institute

Investment bankers primarily work with large corporations and government agencies rather than individuals and typically have a unique salary. They work behind the scenes, making their roles less visible to the general public. Investment bankers are virtually responsible for all financial transactions in which they buy and sell stocks, such as security offerings, mergers and acquisitions, and initial public offerings. However, if you’re really curious about what investment bankers do, understanding the rudiments of the stock market and how it works will keep you abreast.

What Are Investment Bankers?

An investment banker is a professional with extensive knowledge of the financial services industry who also possesses strong analytical abilities as well as the ability to persuade others through their persuasive communication skills. Investment bankers provide corporate finance services to a diverse range of clients, including startups, established organizations, and, in some cases, governments. They are key players in the financial growth and development of a business, organization, or other corporate entity, whether they work for an investment bank or the investment banking division of another organization. There are many different types of investment bankers, from those who are just beginning their careers to those who are at the top of their game.

What Does an Investment Banker Do?

An investment banker’s high salary, extensive network, and prominent role in company success stories make this a highly sought-after profession. However, the daily work of an investment banker can be demanding, fast-paced, and stressful for those who prefer a more relaxed work-life balance. If you want to work a typical 40-hour week with flexible scheduling, investment banking may not be the right path for you.

The Roles of Investment Bankers

Investment bankers generally play a major role in the stock market. They assist companies and governments with a variety of financial activities. Investment bankers also buy and sell stocks for organizations. Here is a quick look at the main kinds of deals they make.

#1. Arranging Financing

When it comes to building a factory, a large corporation is unlikely to have the necessary funds on hand. It may be decided to raise funds for the project. The new factory’s increased output will pay for the bond’s interest. In the same way, a government may need to finance the construction of an airport, a highway, or any other major municipal project. Using a bond, it can begin the work now and repay the bond through future tax revenues.

In either case, the financing could be set up with the help of an investment banker. The investment banker would plan the bond sale, price it right, fill out the paperwork required by the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC), and then help sell the bonds to buyers.

#2. Agent Functions

Investment bankers are financial advisors who buy and sell stocks on behalf of stock market investors. Investment bankers play multiple roles as agents. Before investing, they conduct market research in the form of legal and market analysis. When a company wants to raise money through the stock market, it goes to an investment bank to get two analyses. These analyses help the company decide if its plan is a good one. After that, investment bankers determine whether or not the company should raise capital through the issuance of debt or equity.

#3. Equity Financing

Selling bonds or stock is the most cost-effective way for companies to finance their growth and expansion. Investment bankers also play a role when it comes to organizing the sale of stocks or equity financing. Let’s say a new business decides to ton in order to raise money for growth. It would first hire an investment banker to create a prospectus for potential investors that explains the terms of the offering as well as the risks involved.

After that, the offering must be marketed to investors, explained to the media, and approved by the Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) in order to proceed (SEC).

Pricing is very important. The IPO may be a public flop if the stocks are overpriced and no one wants to buy them. However, if the stocks are priced too low, the investment banker misses out on potential profits for the customer. Throughout the entire process, the investment banker takes the lead.

 #4. Underwriting and Sales

Underwriting entails taking a risk on behalf of a stock market seller of securities. When the company issues stock, it wants to know that even if they don’t sell some of the shares, it will still raise money for the company. Investment bankers take on capital risk and can buy all of the company’s stocks at a discount. A banker will then price and sell the securities to retail investors. If the sale of stocks fails to meet the target capital requirement, investment bankers may borrow or buy from commercial banks or sell the shares at a loss. 

Alternatively, they may invite other investment banks to participate in the underwriting process in the form of an underwriting syndicate to share the risk of loss. In some cases, the investment banker may simply act as a go-between and market the transaction without taking on underwriting risk. In this case, the investment bankers may sell some of the stocks and receive a commission based on the number of stocks sold. Investment bankers profit by selling stocks at a premium to their clients. The underwriting spread is the difference between the purchase price and the markup price.

#5. Arranging Private Placements

Not every company wishes to go public. Investment bankers also assist clients who prefer to raise capital through private placements rather than public offerings on the stock or bond markets. In these situations, the investment banker should have the contacts and reputation to make the sale happen.

For example, a company may sell the entirety of its bond offering to a single institutional investor, such as an insurance company or a retirement fund. Because there is no need to register the placement with the SEC, this can be a faster and easier way to raise funds. A lower level of regulation applies to private placements since institutional investors are considered more sophisticated by the government. 

#6. Mergers and Acquisitions

In most cases, acquiring or merging with another company is a lengthy process of planning and negotiation. Investment bankers frequently play an advisory role in this process, particularly when it comes to determining a fair price for the transaction. Investment bankers on both sides of the table evaluate a series of offers and counter-offers in mergers and acquisitions.

What Is the Average Salary for Investment Bankers?

Investment bankers’ salaries are among the highest in the industry for someone their age. As a new hire, you can expect to earn more than $100,000 right out of school, which will likely far exceed the earnings of the majority of your classmates. The hourly salary of investment bankers is a different story.

Investment bankers don’t get paid nearly as much per hour. Since many analysts and associates put in more than 100 hours per week, they can expect to make between $24 and $35 an hour on average. That’s not bad, but it’s not as appealing as $100,000 per year.

Investment Bankers Salary Table

TitleBase SalaryBonusTotal
Analyst$85k-100k$50k-10k$125k-200k
Associate$100k-120k$80k-130k$180k-250k
Vice President$120k-150k$100k-120k$220k-400k
Managing Director$300k-1M$200k-10M$500k-10M
Source: Industry Sources.

What Is the Pay Scale for an Investment Banker?

Investment bankers get paid in two ways: salary and bonus. The bonus is a significant portion of a banker’s total income in all positions, but particularly at the higher levels, where a bonus can be several times the base investment banker’s salary.

Why Do Bankers Make So Much?

Advocates assert that the banks pay them so much because they work on important transactions that result in significant fees. In exchange for such important work, they must be intelligent, hardworking, and highly skilled – and thus well-paid. An outsider might argue that the job is extremely stressful, with a military-like hierarchy and long hours, and thus warrants a high salary. It’s not uncommon for workers to earn less than the minimum wage because their hours are so long.

How to Get a Job as an Investment Banker

Investment banking is more accessible if you have a background in finance from your formal education and early employment, as is the case with most other financial professions. However, prior experience in financial advising, financial management, trading, or general business consulting is typical for investment bankers. Most investment banks prefer candidates who have a bachelor’s or master’s degree in business administration, finance, commerce, economics, or a statistically significant field. Investment banking is not inaccessible to those with different educational and professional backgrounds, but it does necessitate the development of quantitative expertise as well as the ability to persuade others.

Conclusion

The time it takes to become an investment banker varies depending on the institution and role responsibilities. According to the US Bureau of Labor Statistics, financial management professionals, such as investment bankers, typically enter the field with a bachelor’s undergraduate degree and at least five years of experience in a similar field.

Investment Bankers FAQs

Are investment bankers the highest paid?

Investment bankers are typically the highest-paid employees in the finance industry, with high pay rates even among younger employees. The typical investment banker’s starting salary exceeds that of most other finance positions, but working in this field is not without its challenges.

Who is considered an investment banker?

An investment banker is someone who works primarily to raise capital for corporations, governments, or other entities. In complex transactions like mergers and acquisitions, investment banks serve as a middleman between the relevant parties.

What degree do you need for investment banking?

To become an investment banker, you typically need a bachelor’s or associate degree in business, finance, economics, accounting, or a related field. You should be good at mathematics and market analysis, and you might also want to take some classes in your area of interest.

  1. Mortgage Banker Salary: What it is and Salary Details
  2. What is Private Banking? Eligibility and Minimum Requirements
  3. FINANCE JOBS: Best Of Finance Job 2022 {Updated}
  4. Executive Summary: How To Write An Executive Summary For Business Plan & Bank Loans
  5. MORTGAGE UNDERWRITING: Steps to the MU Process
0 Shares:
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You May Also Like