现金比率:公式、计算和示例

现金比率

现金比率是评估公司流动性的三种常用方法之一。 公司的短期资产与短期负债的比率是使用每种表格计算的。 了解如何通过公式计算和使用现金比率。 此外,您还将了解它与其他方法的不同之处,例如流动比率和速动比率。

什么是现金比率?

现金比率,也称为现金资产比率,是衡量公司用现金和现金等价物偿还短期债务的能力的流动性指标。 因为只有现金和现金等价物——公司最具流动性的资产——是计算的一部分。 与流动比率和速动比率等其他流动性指标相比,它是一个更严格、更保守的指标。

现金比率类似于衡量公司在最坏情况下的价值。 最坏的情况,例如公司即将倒闭。 它告知债权人和分析师可以轻松转换为现金的流动资产的价值。 此外,它还告知他们这些现金和近现金资产可以覆盖的流动负债的百分比。 此外,它是确定 流动性包装.

关键精华

  • 现金比率是一种流动性 指示符 这表明公司有能力仅使用现金和现金等价物来履行短期承诺。
  • 现金比率的计算方法是将公司的总现金和近现金证券资产乘以总流动负债。
  • 由于它只考虑公司最具流动性的资本,因此比其他流动性比率更为保守。

现金比率:概述

由于它只考虑现金或现金等价物持有量——将应收账款等其他资产排除在外——与其他流动性比率相比,它对公司在短期内为其债务和承诺提供资金的能力更为谨慎。

现金比率公式

您可以使用以下公式计算现金比率:

现金比率公式

现金包括 法定货币 (硬币和货币)以及活期存款(支票、支票账户、银行汇票等)。 现金等价物是一种可以轻松转换为现金的资产。 它们很容易转换,风险很小。 储蓄账户、国库券和 货币市场 仪器就是一些例子。

流动负债是您必须在一年内支付的义务。 短期债务应付账款和应计负债就是一些例子。

如何计算现金比率

A公司的资产负债表是这样的:

  • 现金10,000元
  • 20,000 美元现金等价物
  • 应收账款 5,000 美元
  • 30,000 美元的库存
  • 50,000 美元用于财产和设备
  • 应付账款 12,000 美元
  • 10,000 美元的短期债务
  • 20,000 美元的长期债务

您可以计算A公司的现金比率如下:

现金比率示例

根据上图,A公司有足够的现金。 因此,现金等价物可以覆盖其流动负债的 136%。 A 公司的流动性水平很高,可以很容易地为其债务融资。

现金比率公式与流动比率和速动比率等其他流动性度量一样,使用流动负债作为分母。 任何在一年或更短时间内到期的债务,例如短期债务、应计负债和应付账款,都是流动负债。

关键区别在于分子。 分子将等式的资产部分限制为仅流动性最强的资产,例如手头现金、活期存款和现金等价物,其中包括货币市场账户、储蓄账户和国库券。

和其他一样 流动性测量、应收账款、存货、预付资产和某些投资不属于其中。 这背后的原因是这些物品可能需要时间和精力才能在市场上找到买家。 此外,出售这些物业中的每一个的收益可能无法确定。

现金比率说明什么?

他们广泛使用现金比率来评估一家公司的流动性。 如果要求公司立即清偿所有当前义务,则该措施表明公司有能力在不出售或清算其他财产的情况下这样做。

现金比率由大于或小于一的数字表示。 如果该比率等于 XNUMX,则公司的流动负债总额与其现金和现金等价物的总额相同,以偿还这些债务。

少于一个

在您计算出一家公司的现金比率后,如果它小于 XNUMX,则表明它的流动负债多于现金和现金等价物。 这表明手头没有足够的现金来偿还短期债务。 如果该公司存在扭曲其资产负债表的因素,例如与制造商的信贷期限比正常时间长、库存管理良好以及向消费者提供的信贷很少,这可能不是坏消息。

超过一个

当一家公司的流动性比率超过一时,这意味着它拥有比流动负债更多的现金和现金等价物。 在这种情况下,该组织有可能在手头仍有现金的情况下还清所有短期债务。

尽管这似乎是负责任的,但较高的现金比率并不总是代表公司的强大成功。 如果它大大高于行业平均水平,则尤其如此。 高现金比率可能意味着企业在使用现金方面效率低下,或者没有最大化低成本贷款的潜在价值。 这意味着,资金不是投资于生产性企业,而是存在于银行账户中。 这也可能表明企业担心潜在的盈利能力,并正在建立防御性资本缓冲。

现金比率的限制

他们很少在财务报表中或投资者在公司的基础研究中使用现金比率。

公司拥有过多的现金和接近现金的资产来为流动负债提供资金是不现实的。 公司资产负债表上的大量现金通常被视为资产使用薄弱,因为这些资本可以返还给股东或用于其他地方以获得更高的回报。 尽管这个比率提供了一个引人入胜的流动性视角,但它的效用却微乎其微。

与行业和竞争对手的平均水平相比,或者在查看同一家公司随时间的变化时,现金比率变得更加有用。 现金比率低于 XNUMX 有时可能表明公司陷入财务困境。 另一方面,低现金比率可能表明公司需要维持低现金储备的特定战略——例如,因为资金被用于扩张。

由于某些行业的流动负债较高,现金储备较低,因此各行业的现金比率可能并不表示存在问题。

现金比率、速动比率和流动比率之间的差异

以下是现金比率公式与速动比率和流动比率的比较:

  • 现金比率=(现金+有价证券)/流动负债
  • 速动比率=(现金+有价证券+应收账款)/流动负债
  • 流动比率=(现金+有价证券+应收账款+存货)/流动负债

速动比率

除了现金或可在一两天内转换为现金的资产外,速动比率允许应收账款符合短期资产的条件。 将应收账款添加为短期资产的重要性因所涉业务的具体情况而异。

一家成熟的企业可能能够定期在短时间内(例如 10 天)从财务稳定的长期客户那里收取应收账款。 由于应收账款有被及时收回的历史,因此将它们添加到等式的短期资产方面几乎没有风险,即使它们不属于公司所有。 可以合理地假设它们很快就会出现。

另请参阅: 权益乘数:计算、公式和示例

流动比率

流动比率公式除速动比率公式外,还包括存货。

其意义取决于总体经济的走向、公司业务的整体健康状况以及公司经营的具体业务。 库存由尚未出售的房产组成。

如果库存反映了产品从供应商到客户的持续流动——例如,餐厅的食品库存——那么额外的风险可能是最小的。

如果库存中的产品属于波动性行业(例如时尚),则将可能快速、缓慢、折扣或根本不销售的商品视为资产可能是不明智的。

现金比率有多有效?

通常,许多分析师不采用这种方法。 它不仅承担了不寻常的风险水平,而且还为现金和短期证券赋予了价值,这些证券高估了它们在经营良好的企业中的有用性。

除非并且直到您用现金做某事,否则它几乎没有产生公平回报的潜力。 在某些经济条件下,短期有价证券无法跟上通货膨胀造成的实际价值损失。

拥有大量现金并严重依赖短期证券的企业不太可能获得高利润。

公司理想的现金比率是多少?

理想的现金比率因行业和公司的具体情况而异,但 1 或更高的比率通常被认为是健康的。

现金比率如何因行业而异?

现金比率因行业而异,取决于竞争程度、供应商的付款条件和企业的营运资金要求等因素。

公司的现金比率如何随时间变化?

公司的现金比率会随着时间的推移而变化,具体取决于收入增长、资本支出和营运资本管理等因素。

公司的历史平均现金比率是多少?

公司的历史平均现金比率因行业而异,但通常在 0.5 到 1 之间。

公司如何提高现金比率?

公司可以通过增加现金和现金等价物、减少流动负债或两者兼而有之来提高现金比率。

现金比率的限制是什么?

现金比率是了解公司短期流动性的有用工具,但它有几个局限性,包括它没有考虑公司资产的质量或风险,或其债务的条款和条件。

总结

现金比率是评估公司流动性(即偿还短期债务的能力)的三种常用工具之一。 它是三者中最保守的形式。 您可以通过将现金和其他有价资产的价值相加,然后将其除以负债总额来确定这一点。

简单比率和流动比率是另外两种方式。 一般来说,这些指标比现金比率更常用。

现金比率常见问题

现金比率如何计算?

现金比率是一种流动性指标,显示公司仅使用现金和现金等价物来支付其短期债务的能力。 现金比率是通过将公司的现金和接近现金证券的总储备相加并将该总和除以其总流动负债得出的。

为什么现金比率有用?

最常见的是,现金比率被用作衡量公司流动性的指标。 该衡量标准表明,如果公司需要立即支付其流动负债,则该公司愿意这样做而无需出售或清算其他资产。

为什么现金比率会下降?

该比率的下降可归因于 短期债务增加,流动资产减少,或两者兼而有之。 不管是什么原因,这个比率的下降意味着产生现金的能力下降。

现金比率是否包括库存

流动比率包括什么? 流动比率衡量公司用其流动或短期资产(现金、存货和应收账款)支付流动或短期负债(债务和应付账款)的能力。 …流动资产的例子包括现金和现金等价物。

  1. 保留率:如何通过示例计算它
  2. 短期资金来源:任何企业的最佳选择(+详细指南)
  3. 金融稳定:最佳实践和你应该知道的每一个细节
  4. 财务报告:所有你需要知道的例子(+快速简单的工具)
  5. 非营利组织如何赚钱? 2021 年最佳实践(更新)
  6. 试算表:什么是试算表以及它是如何工作的?
  7. 住房比率:如何轻松计算住房比率(+免费工具)
  8. 公司简介:编写公司简介的 10 个简单步骤

0股
发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被公开。 必填 *

你也许也喜欢

Cash Ratio: Formula, Calculations & Examples

Cash Ratio

The cash ratio is one of three common ways to assess a company’s liquidity. The ratio of a company’s short-term assets to its short-term liabilities is calculated using each form. Learn how to calculate and use the cash ratio with the formula. Also, you’ll learn how it differs from other approaches, like the current ratio and quick ratio.

What is a Cash Ratio?

The cash ratio, also known as the cash asset ratio, is a liquidity metric that measures a company’s ability to pay off short-term debt with cash and cash equivalents. Since only cash and cash equivalents – a company’s most liquid assets – are part of the calculation. It is a stricter, more conservative indicator than other liquidity measures like the current ratio and quick ratio.

The cash ratio is similar to a measure of a company’s worth in a worst-case situation. Worst cases such as when the company is about to go out of business. It informs creditors and analysts of the value of current assets that can be converted into cash easily. Also, it informs them of the percentage of current liabilities that these cash and near-cash assets can cover. Furthermore, it is one of three ways of determining the liquidity of a company.

Key Takeaways

  • The cash ratio is a liquidity indicator that demonstrates a company’s ability to meet short-term commitments solely with cash and cash equivalents.
  • The cash ratio is calculation is by multiplying a company’s total cash and near-cash securities assets by its total current liabilities.
  • Since it only considers a company’s most liquid capital, it is more conservative than other liquidity ratios.

The Cash Ratio: An Overview

Since it only considers cash or cash-equivalent holdings—leaving other assets like accounts receivable out of the equation—it is a more cautious look at a company’s ability to fund its debts and commitments than other liquidity ratios over a short period of time.

Cash Ratio Formula

You can calculate the cash ratio using the following formula:

Cash Ratio Formula

Cash includes legal tender (coins and currency) as well as demand deposits (checks, checking accounts, bank drafts, etc.). Cash equivalents are assets that one can easily convert into cash. They are easily convertible and carry little risk. Savings accounts, T-bills, and money market instruments are some examples.

Current liabilities are obligations that you must pay within a year. Short-term debt accounts payable, and accrued liabilities are some examples.

How to Calculate Cash Ratio

Company A’s balance sheet goes thus:

  • $10,000 in cash
  • $20,000 in cash equivalents
  • $5,000 in accounts receivable
  • $30,000 in inventory
  • $50,000 for property and equipment
  • $12,000 in accounts payable
  • $10,000 in short-term debt
  • $20,000 in long-term debt

You can calculate Company A’s cash ratio as follows:

Cash Ratio Example

According to the above figure, Company A has enough cash. So, cash equivalents can cover 136 percent of its current liabilities. Company A has a high level of liquidity and can easily fund its debt.

The cash ratio formula, like other liquidity measurements such as the current ratio and the quick ratio, uses current liabilities as the denominator. Any obligation due in one year or less, such as short-term debt, accrued liabilities, and accounts payable, is a current liability.

The key distinction is in the numerator. The numerator limits the asset portion of the equation to only the most liquid assets, such as cash on hand, demand deposits, and cash equivalents, which include money market accounts, savings accounts, and T-Bills.

As with other liquidity measurements, accounts receivable, inventory, prepaid assets, and certain investments are not part of it. The reasoning behind this is that these items may take time and effort to find a buyer in the market. Furthermore, the proceeds from the selling of each of these properties may be indeterminable.

What Does the Cash Ratio Indicate?

They widely use the cash ratio is to assess a company’s liquidity. If a company is required to settle all current obligations immediately, this measure demonstrates the company’s ability to do so without selling or liquidating other properties.

A cash ratio is represented by a number greater or less than one. If the ratio is equal to one, the corporation has the same sum of current liabilities as it does cash and cash equivalents to pay off those debts.

Less than one

After you calculate a company’s cash ratio, and it’s less than one, it indicates that it has more current liabilities than cash and cash equivalents. It indicates that there is insufficient cash on hand to pay off short-term debt. This might not be bad news if the company has factors that distort its balance sheets, such as longer-than-normal credit terms with manufacturers, well-managed inventory, and very little credit extended to consumers.

More than one

When a company’s liquidity ratio exceeds one, it means it has more cash and cash equivalents than current liabilities. In this case, the organization has the potential to pay off all short-term debt while still having cash on hand.

Although this appears to be responsible, a higher cash ratio does not always represent a company’s strong success. This is particularly if it is substantially higher than the industry average. High cash ratios can mean that a business is inefficient in its use of cash or is not maximizing the potential value of low-cost loans. This implies, instead of investing in productive ventures, money is sitting in a bank account. It may also indicate that a business is concerned about potential profitability and is building up a defensive capital buffer.

The Cash Ratio’s Limitations

They rarely use cash ratio in financial statements or by investors in a company’s fundamental research.

It is unrealistic for a corporation to have excessive amounts of cash and near-cash assets on hand to fund current liabilities. Significant quantities of cash on a company’s balance sheet are often regarded as weak asset use, as this capital could be returned to shareholders or used elsewhere to achieve higher returns. Although this ratio provides a fascinating liquidity perspective, its utility is minimal.

When compared to industry and competitor averages, or when looking at changes in the same company over time, the cash ratio becomes more useful. A cash ratio of less than one can sometimes indicate that a company is in financial trouble. A low cash ratio, on the other hand, maybe an indicator of a company’s specific strategy that calls for maintaining low cash reserves—for example, because funds are being used for expansion.

Because certain industries have higher current liabilities and lower cash reserves, cash ratios across industries may not be an indication of trouble.

Differences Between the Cash, Quick, and Current Ratios

Here’s how the cash ratio formula compares to the quick and current ratios:

  • Cash ratio = (Cash + Marketable Securities) / Current Liabilities
  • Quick ratio = (Cash + Marketable Securities + Receivables) / Current Liabilities
  • Current ratio = (Cash + Marketable Securities + Receivables + Inventory)/ Current Liabilities

The Quick Ratio

The quick ratio allows receivables to qualify as short-term assets in addition to assets that are either cash or can be converted into cash in a day or two. The importance of adding receivables as short-term assets varies depending on the specific circumstances of the business involved.

A well-established business may be able to collect receivables from financially stable long-term clients in a short period of time—say, 10 days—on a regular basis. Because receivables have a history of being collected promptly, there is little risk in adding them to the short-term assets side of the equation, even though they are not in the company’s possession. It is reasonable to assume that they will be soon.

Read Also: Equity Multiplier: Calculations, Formula and Examples

The Current Ratio

The current ratio formula, in addition to the quick ratio formula, includes inventory.

The significance of this is determined by the direction of the general economy, the overall health of the company’s business, and the specific business in which the company operates. Inventory is made up of properties that have yet to be sold.

If the inventory reflects a consistent flow of products from suppliers to customers—say, a restaurant’s food inventory—then the additional risk may be minimal.

If the inventory consists of products in a volatile sector, such as fashion, it may be unwise to count as assets goods that may be sold quickly, slowly, at a discount, or never sold at all.

How Effective Is the Cash Ratio?

Many analysts, in general, do not employ this method. It not only assumes a level of risk that is unusual, but it also assigns a value to cash and short-term securities that overestimate their usefulness in a well-run business.

Unless and until you do something with cash, it has little potential for generating a fair return. In certain economic conditions, short-term marketable securities fail to keep pace with the real value loss caused by inflation.

A business with an excessive amount of cash and a heavy reliance on short-term securities is unlikely to be highly profitable.

Summary

The cash ratio is one of three commonly used tools for assessing a company’s liquidity—its ability to repay short-term debt. It is the most conservative form of the three. You determine this by adding the value of cash and other marketable assets and then dividing it by the total amount of liabilities.

The simple ratio and the current ratio are the other two ways. In general, these metrics are used more often than the cash ratio.

Cash Ratio FAQs

How is cash ratio calculated?

The cash ratio is a liquidity measure that shows a company’s ability to cover its short-term obligations using only cash and cash equivalents. The cash ratio is derived by adding a company’s total reserves of cash and near-cash securities and dividing that sum by its total current liabilities.

Why is the cash ratio useful?

Most commonly, the cash ratio is used as a measure of the liquidity of a firm. This measure indicates the willingness of the company to do so without having to sell or liquidate other assets if the company is required to pay its current liabilities immediately.

Why does Cash ratio decrease?

A  decline in this ratio can be attributable to an increase in short-term debt, a decrease in current assets, or a combination of both. Regardless of the reasons, a decline in this ratio means a reduced ability to generate cash.

Does cash ratio include inventory

What’s Included in the Current Ratio? The current ratio measures a company’s ability to pay current, or short-term, liabilities (debt and payables) with its current, or short-term, assets (cash, inventory, and receivables). … Examples of current assets include cash and cash equivalents.

  1. RETENTION RATIO: How to Calculate it with Examples
  2. SHORT TERM SOURCES OF FINANCE: BEST OPTIONS FOR ANY BUSINESS (+DETAILED GUIDE)
  3. Financial Stability: Best Practices & Every detail you should know
  4. FINANCIAL REPORTING: All you need to know with Examples (+ quick easy tools)
  5. How Do Nonprofits Make Money? Best 2021 Practices (Updated)
  6. TRIAL BALANCE: What is Trial Balance & How Does it Work?
  7. HOUSING RATIO: How to Calculate Housing Ratio with Ease (+ Free Tools)
  8. Company Profile: 10 Simple Steps to Write Company Profile

0 Shares:
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You May Also Like