TEXAS REAL ESTATE LICENSE: How to get Real Estate License in Simple Steps

Texas real estate license
Table of Contents Hide
  1. Prerequisites for Obtaining a Texas Real Estate License
  2. Complete the Pre-Licensing Education Requirements
  3. How Long Does It Take to Get Your Texas Real Estate License?
  4. TREC-Mandated Course Timing
  5. Prior Experience or Alternate Education
  6. How Long does it take to get a Real Estate License in Texas?
  7. What Kind of Information will I gain to help me obtain a Texas Real Estate License?
  8. How do I go about Submitting my Texas Real Estate Agent Application?
  9. How can I get my Fingerprints taken for a Background Check?
  10. What is the Procedure for taking the Texas Real Estate License Exam?
  11. What are the Post-license Requirements for Texas Real Estate Agents?
  12. Requirements for Real Sales Agent Education In Texas
    1. #1. Pass the Final Exam for the Pre-License Course
    2. #2. Request a License
    3. #3. Take and Pass the State Licensing Exam
    4. How Many Questions Will There Be on the Exam?
    5. What is the Minimum Passing score for the Texas Real Estate Exam?
  13. The Cost of Obtaining a Texas Real Estate License
    1. Pre-licensing classes
    2. Cost for Testing, Applications, and Processing the Texas Real Estate License
  14. The Total Cost of your Real Estate License
  15. Who is Responsible for the Cost of your Real Estate License?
  16. How much is the Salary of a Texas Real Estate License Agent?
  17. What are the Top Ten Highest Paying Cities in Texas for Real Estate License Agent Jobs?
  18. What are the Top 5 Highest-Paying Real Estate License Agent Jobs in Texas?
  19. Texas Real Estate Commission
    1. Texas Real Estate Commission Issues Licenses
    2. Texas Real Estate Commission Renews Licenses
    3. TREC is in charge of enforcing laws and regulations.
  20. Who is the Texas Real Estate Commission
  21. Texas Real Estate Licence FAQ’s
  22. How long does it take to become a real estate agent in Texas?
  23. How hard is the Texas real estate exam?
  24. What is the hardest state to get a real estate license?
  25. How many times can you take Texas real estate exam?
    1. Related Articles

Do you want to be a Texas real estate agent? Texas is a great place to start a real estate career. The Texas real estate market is booming, licensing is very simple, and this vocation provides a great deal of independence and flexibility. Let’s see the complete requirements and cost of getting the real estate license in Texas.

Prerequisites for Obtaining a Texas Real Estate License

  • To begin, you must be at least 18 years old.
  • You must be a citizen of the United States or a lawfully admitted alien.
  • Clear a Background Check

Meet TREC’s requirements for honesty, trustworthiness, and integrity by having your fingerprints taken and passing a background check. Before applying for a license, applicants might get a Fitness Determination. Please consult the TREC WEBSITE for more information on these requirements.

Complete the Pre-Licensing Education Requirements

Following that, you must complete 180 hours of pre-licensing courses from a TREC-approved education provider. This 180-hour total comprises the six (6) 30-hour courses listed below.

  • Principles of Real Estate I 121 (30 credit hours)
  • Principles of Real Estate II 122 (30 credit hours)
  • Finance of Real Estate 451 (30 credit hours)
  • Contract Law 1251 (30 credit hours)
  • Agency Law 1151 (30 credit hours)
  • Contract Forms Promulgated 351 (30 credit hours)

How Long Does It Take to Get Your Texas Real Estate License?

The complete procedure, from taking and finishing the qualifying education to earning your license, takes between 4 and 6 months. Some students may complete the course in less time than others. This will be determined by your schedule, how much time you have available to finish your classes, and when you will be able to take the exam.

TREC-Mandated Course Timing

TREC regulations state that you cannot finish more than 12 hours of Pre-License courses every day. Starting and finishing more than one qualifying course in the same three days is not permitted under Commission guidelines. Furthermore, TREC will only allow a student to take one course at a time – in other words, the 180-hour course should take no less than 18 days to finish – and each 30-hour course should take at least 3 days to complete. You will be timed as you progress through the VanEd Texas Licensing coursework, and we will alert you if you need to spend extra time in the course. Questions? Please contact us at 1-361-208-0620 or texas@vaned.com.

Prior Experience or Alternate Education

All applicants must finish the above-mentioned training through a Texas Real Estate Commission (TREC) certified education provider. Alternative, substitute, or comparable coursework is not permitted for use in obtaining a Texas real estate license.

In general, the Texas Real Estate Commission (TREC) will not recognize a license from another state or prior experience in real estate brokerage or any comparable business in the fulfillment of the education/experience requirements for a license.

How Long does it take to get a Real Estate License in Texas?

On average, getting a Texas real estate license takes between four (4) and five (5) months, depending on how quickly you complete the 180 hours of pre-licensing courses and pass your licensing examination, how long it takes you to complete the fingerprinting and application process, find a sponsoring broker, and application processing times.

What Kind of Information will I gain to help me obtain a Texas Real Estate License?

The Texas Real Estate Commission has approved all Real Estate Express courses. After completing the course, you will be eligible to take the Texas Real Estate License Exam.

Students have six (6) months PER COURSE to complete each course, according to Real Estate Express rules. When you access your course, your six-month completion period begins.

All of the following courses are necessary for pre-licensing education:

  • Real Estate Principles I (30 hours)
  • Real Estate Principles II (30 hours)
  • The Agency Law (30 hours)
  • Contracts Law (30 hours)
  • Contract Forms Promulgated (30 hours)
  • Finance for Real Estate (30 hours)

Each course finishes with a course final exam that must be proctored by a Texas Real Estate Commission-approved proctor. For our students, course tuition includes proctoring through our online proctoring partner.

How do I go about Submitting my Texas Real Estate Agent Application?

To become a Sales Agent, use TREC’s online site to submit your application and fee. You have one year from the date your application is submitted to complete all license requirements. Following completion of the requirements, you will be awarded an inactive license. When all of your application requirements have been satisfied, TREC will issue you an eligibility letter with an ID number that you will need to register to take the licensing examination.

To work after passing the exam, you must be sponsored by an active Texas-registered broker. You can submit a sponsorship request through the web portal. You will not be able to make a sponsorship request until you have received an inactive license. Your active license will be issued if the broker accepts your request. Find out more about locating a sponsoring broker.

How can I get my Fingerprints taken for a Background Check?

You must have your fingerprints on file with the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) in order for a background check to be done. Fingerprints already on file with other agencies will be rejected. You can arrange a fingerprint appointment through MorphoTrust once you have received your exam eligibility letter from TREC. When scheduling your appointment, you will need the TREC ID number from your eligibility letter. As part of the fingerprinting procedure, you will be photographed in accordance with DPS requirements. You must pay the vendor a fingerprinting charge in a way that is acceptable to the vendor. Learn more about the fingerprinting procedure by clicking here.

What is the Procedure for taking the Texas Real Estate License Exam?

After your application has been accepted for processing and your educational requirements have been met, you will be advised of your eligibility to take the examination. TREC has engaged with a national testing provider to administer license exams. The notification of exam eligibility will include information for contacting the exam administrator and getting a copy of the Candidate Handbook. The Candidate Handbook offers information regarding the examination, study materials, and instructions for making an exam reservation.

Pearson Vue is required to take the sales agent examination. Candidates who have obtained eligibility may make a reservation by visiting www.pearsonvue.com or phoning Pearson VUE at (800) 997-1248. Candidates must finish all pre-licensing studies and file a real estate sales agent application with the Texas Real Estate Commission before taking an examination (TREC). If you have applied and meet TREC’s standards, you have one year from the date of your application to pass your examination. To pass the examination, you must answer 56 questions correctly on the National section of the exam and 21 questions correctly on the State component of the exam.

Your license exam must be proctored by the state.

What are the Post-license Requirements for Texas Real Estate Agents?

If you are renewing for the first time, whether active or inactive, you must complete 90 first-time renewal education hours, as well as 4 hours of TREC’s Legal Update I and 4 hours of TREC’s Legal Update II, for a total of 278 hours of education prior to the end of your first license term. The following courses are included in the 90-hour education:

  • Texas Real Estate Promotion (30 hours)
  • Texas Real Estate Agency (30 hours)
  • The Texas Real Estate Property Administration (30 hours)

Before renewing your license, you must submit qualifying course completion documents to TREC at least 10 days in advance. If you have previously received credit for a substantially equivalent qualifying course within the last two years, you will not be granted qualifying credit. You may not postpone SAE requirements. If you have been a supervisor for six months or more, you must take a 6-hour Broker Responsibility course to renew your license.

Requirements for Real Sales Agent Education In Texas

#1. Pass the Final Exam for the Pre-License Course

After completing each of the six courses in the 180-Hour Licensure Package, you must pass a course final exam to help prepare you for the licensing exam.

#2. Request a License

Using TREC’S ONLINE LICENSING SERVICE, you can apply for a real estate license with the Texas Real Estate Commission (TREC).

#3. Take and Pass the State Licensing Exam

Once TREC has approved your application, you must schedule your exam and get a CANDIDATE HANDBOOK. PEARSON VUE administers the Texas Real Estate Exam.

How Many Questions Will There Be on the Exam?

National Portion: 85 questions with a time limit of 150 minutes

State Portion: 40 questions with a 90-minute time limit

What is the Minimum Passing score for the Texas Real Estate Exam?

You must obtain a score of 70% or above in order to pass your exam. This implies you must correctly answer 56 of the 80 questions.

Renewal of a Texas real estate license for the First Time: Complete the Required SAE Courses

To retain and renew your Texas real estate license for the first time, you must complete the mandatory SAE post-licensing education.

The Cost of Obtaining a Texas Real Estate License

Unfortunately, there is no one cost to consider when obtaining your real estate license in Texas. Instead, many of the steps of the procedure require you to purchase items (such as education courses) or pay fees. Let’s have a look at each stage in obtaining the Texas Real Estate License and how much it will cost you.

Pre-licensing classes

As part of the Texas real estate agent application process, you must complete 180 hours of TREC-approved pre-license coursework. That implies you’ll need to budget for the cost of real estate school.

Fortunately, you may complete these education hours online, making them both handier and less expensive. In fact, the Texas real estate pre-license education you require can cost as little as $149.

Cost for Testing, Applications, and Processing the Texas Real Estate License

A $205 application fee is required when submitting your sales agent application to the TREC.

You’ll also need to take — and pass — the Texas real estate license exam, which has a $54 testing cost.

There is one more step in the application procedure. You’ll also need to be fingerprinted, which will cost you around $40.

Read Also: Bespoke Tranche Opportunities 2022: Definition and all you need to Know

The Total Cost of your Real Estate License

Let’s take a look at all of those Texas real estate license costs together:

  • Fitness evaluation (optional, to evaluate whether anything in your past may preclude you from being accepted by the TREC): $50
  • Fingerprinting costs $38.25.
  • $149 for pre-licensing instruction
  • Initial sales agent application fee in Texas is $205.
  • The cost of the Texas real estate exam is $43.
  • Total: $446.25 (or $496.25 if you include the fitness determination).
  • Other expenses associated with becoming a Texas real estate agent

While the above should cover the cost of obtaining a Texas real estate license, there are additional real estate license fees you’ll need to pay on a regular basis.

For example, you’ll need to renew your license every two years. This includes completing continuing education (which typically costs around $55) and paying the TREC’s $110 renewal fee.

Who is Responsible for the Cost of your Real Estate License?

In most circumstances, you will be responsible for all of these expenses. However, as part of the application procedure, you will need to find a broker to sponsor you. In some situations, your brokerage may be willing to assist you with these costs.

How much is the Salary of a Texas Real Estate License Agent?

The average annual salary for a Real Estate License Agent in Texas is $64,608 as of November 9, 2022. In case you need a quick salary calculator, that works out to about $31.06 per hour. This equates to $1,242 each week or $5,384 per month.

While ZipRecruiter has salary ranging from $114,299 to $16,835, the bulk of Real Estate Agent License salaries in Texas now ranges from $53,162 (25th percentile) to $88,604 (75th percentile), with top earners (90th percentile) earning $96,578 each year.

The average salary range for a Real Estate License Agent ranges substantially (up to $35,442), implying that there may be several prospects for promotion and greater pay dependent on skill level, location, and years of experience.

According to recent ZipRecruiter job posting activity, the Licensed Real Estate Agent job market in Texas is not very active, as few organizations are presently hiring.

Texas ranks 49th out of 50 states in terms of Real Estate License Agent salary.

ZipRecruiter regularly analyzes its database of millions of active jobs published locally throughout America to generate the most accurate annual salary range for Real Estate License Agent positions.

What are the Top Ten Highest Paying Cities in Texas for Real Estate License Agent Jobs?

We’ve identified ten cities where the average salary for a Real Estate License Agent position is higher than the state average. Midland sits at the top of the list, with The Woodlands and Houston close behind in second and third place. Houston outperforms the Texas average by 29.4 percent, while Midland follows suit with an additional $21,449 (33.2 percent) above the $64,608.

Midland has a very busy Licensed Real Estate Agent employment market, with multiple organizations now looking for this type of position.

With these ten cities paying more than the state average salary, the chances for economic success as a Real Estate License Agent appear to be extremely profitable.

Finally, the average pay for these top ten cities differs very little, at 11 percent between Midland and San Angelo, reinforcing the limited possibilities for wage advancement. When comparing location and compensation for a Licensed Real Estate Agent profession, the possibility of a cheaper cost of living may be the most important consideration to consider.

CityAnnual SalaryMonthly PayWeekly PayHourly Wage
Midland$86,056$7,171$1,655$41.37
The Woodlands$84,658$7,055$1,628$40.70
Houston$83,617$6,968$1,608$40.20
Abilene$79,194$6,599$1,523$38.07
Killeen$78,412$6,534$1,508$37.70
Wichita Falls$78,284$6,524$1,505$37.64
Odessa$77,613$6,468$1,493$37.31
Grand Prairie$77,372$6,448$1,488$37.20
Garland$77,052$6,421$1,482$37.04
San Angelo$76,511$6,376$1,471$36.78

What are the Top 5 Highest-Paying Real Estate License Agent Jobs in Texas?

We discovered at least 5 jobs similar to Licensed Real Estate agents that pay more per year than the average Real Estate License Agent salary in Texas. Real estate apprentice, real estate partner, and real estate team leader are just a few examples of these roles.
Importantly, all of these positions pay between $21,692 (33.6%) and $79,168 (122.5%) more than the average Real Estate License Agent salary of $64,608. If you are qualified, being hired for one of these relevant Licensed Real Estate Agent positions may allow you to earn more money than the usual Licensed Real Estate Agent employment.

Job TitleAnnual SalaryMonthly PayWeekly PayHourly Wage
Real Estate Apprentice$143,776$11,981$2,765$69.12
Real Estate Partner$129,429$10,786$2,489$62.23
Real Estate Team Leader$87,778$7,315$1,688$42.20
Locum Tenens Real Estate Agent$86,750$7,229$1,668$41.71
Real Estates$86,299$7,192$1,660$41.49

Texas Real Estate Commission

If you live in Texas, you’ve most likely heard of the Texas Real Estate Commission. Many people are unaware of what the institution does or is in charge of. So, what precisely is it?

Texas Real Estate Commission Issues Licenses

The Texas Real Estate Commission, abbreviated TREC, is the state’s governing organization for real estate agents. TREC qualifies individuals and allows them to operate in the business. Once a potential real estate agent has satisfied the qualifications, they can take the exam and, if successful, obtain their license.

Each exam has its own set of standards that must be met. The Texas Real Estate Commission has also established guidelines. All applicants must be trustworthy, honest, and have integrity.

People can apply to the Texas Real Estate Commission either online or by mail. TREC also has a number of fees, which include:

  • A background check costs $27.00.
  • Fingerprinting charge of $37.00
  • A Certificate of Sponsorship costs $20.60.
  • Processing cost of $20.00 (waived if you apply online)

Applicants can apply to the Texas Real Estate Commission either online or by mail. Applicants are permitted to take the exam once costs have been paid, fingerprints have been taken, and the background check has been completed.

If a person fails the exam three times in a row, TREC demands further schooling before retaking the exam.

Even if someone passes, they are not yet qualified to work as a real estate agent in Texas. A license is given, but it is dormant unless it is sponsored by a registered Texas real estate broker.

The following certificates are available from the Texas Real Estate Commission:

  • Individual Real Estate Agent
  • Real Estate Broker for a Business Entity
  • Inspector
  • Provider Of Education Or Instructor
  • Agent For Easement Or Right-Of-Way

Texas Real Estate Commission Renews Licenses

Certain conditions apply when renewing a real estate license. An agent’s permit must be renewed every two years. The process cannot begin until an agent receives a notice of renewal, which is usually mailed 90 days before the license expires.

Continuing education courses, in addition to additional costs, are necessary to keep a license in good standing. Agents can renew their licenses for up to 6 months after the expiration date. After 6 months, agents have two years to apply for reinstatement. After two years, a candidate must restart, reapplying and retake the exam.

TREC is in charge of enforcing laws and regulations.

One of the Texas Real Estate Commission’s responsibilities is to protect consumers. The Standards and Enforcement Services Department ensure that no unethical activities or laws are violated.

Team members carry out the requirements and examine applications to ensure that every candidate fulfills TREC’s moral character and integrity criteria. They also enforce and punish agents who break the following laws:

  • The Real Estate License Act is a law that governs the licensing of real estate
  • Timeshare Act of Texas
  • The Texas Occupations Code, Chapter 1102
  • Commission Regulations
  • Act Concerning Residential Service Companies

The Texas Appraiser Licensing and Certification Board, or TALCB, assists the Texas Real Estate Commission. TALCB was founded in 1991 to assist TREC. Both organizations fail to recognize the following:

  • Warranties for your home
  • Timeshares
  • Brokerage of Real Estate
  • Inspections
  • Real Estate Appraisals
  • Services for Right of Way

Texas residents can register complaints with TREC, which investigates each allegation. If the charges leveled against a violator are shown to be genuine, disciplinary action may be taken. The Texas Real Estate Commission has the authority to revoke or suspend a license, impose a penalty payment, issue a written reprimand, or take other necessary action.

Who is the Texas Real Estate Commission

The Texas Real Estate Commission is comprised of nine board members selected by the Governor. Every constituent is elected for a six-year term. Six of the seats are held by licensed real estate brokers, with the remaining three held by members of the general public. The Governor also appoints one of the individuals as the Chair of the Commission.

Texas Real Estate Licence FAQ’s

How long does it take to become a real estate agent in Texas?

Complete 180 hours of approved Pre-Licensing education.

These 180 hours are made up of six 30-hour courses: Principles of Real Estate I, Principles of Real Estate II, Law of Agency, Law of Contracts, Promulgated Contract Forms, and Real Estate Finance.

How hard is the Texas real estate exam?

Given that only 57.09 percent of agents pass the licensure exam on their first attempt, it’s safe to say it’s not a simple test. Aceable Real Estate School, on the other hand, has one of the highest pass rates in Texas.

What is the hardest state to get a real estate license?

Colorado and Texas are the most difficult states to obtain a real estate license in. Before being awarded a real estate license, each state requires some schooling and an exam that you must pass.

How many times can you take Texas real estate exam?

TREC enables up to three attempts to pass the national and state law sections of the exam. If you fail one section of the exam, you simply have to retake the one you failed.

0 Shares:
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You May Also Like