发票融资:定义、类型、优点和缺点

发票融资
莫达尔库

发票融资允许公司根据客户欠他们的款项借钱。 通过这种方法,全球企业能够改善现金流、支付员工和供应商的薪水,并在运营和增长上进行再投资,而如果他们不得不等待客户全额付款的话。 但是,作为获得这些资金的费用,企业通常必须向贷方支付发票金额的一定百分比。 换句话说,发票融资解决了客户付款时间长,以及难以获得其他类型商业信用的问题。 现在的问题是,你如何处理这件事? 对于这种类型的商业融资,您有哪些选择? 发票融资的种类有哪些?

好吧,在我们讨论发票融资的基础知识时找个座位。

什么是发票融资?

发票融资是 应收帐款融资. 这是一种以资产为基础的融资方式,在这种融资方式中,公司收到预付现金以换取未付发票。 发票融资公司实际上可以为您预付高达 85% 的账单金额,剩余的 15%(减去成本)在您收到发票时到期。

发票融资比其他类型的小企业贷款更容易获得资格。 这是因为发票本身就是您要借入资金的抵押品。 多年来,它一直被视为 B2B 和服务型公司的最佳融资选择之一; 主要是因为它有助于解决延迟客户账单带来的现金流问题。

发票融资如何运作?

通常情况下,企业必须以信贷方式向批发商或零售商等大消费者销售商品或服务。 这意味着买家不会立即为这些产品付款。 包含欠款总额和账单到期日的发票将发送给采购公司。

不幸的是,这种做法锁定了本可用于发展或扩大公司活动的资金。 企业可能会选择为其发票融资,这反过来又会为支付缓慢的应收账款或履行短期融资 流动性 需要。

发票融资是贷方向其公司客户提供的短期信贷,以换取未偿票据。 一家公司通过发票保理出售其应收账款以增加其营运资金,这为公司提供了可用于支付公司费用的快速资金。

从贷方的角度来看发票融资

与发行信用额度不同,如果企业不偿还借款,信用额度可能是无担保的并且几乎没有追索权,发票融资以发票的形式为贷方提供抵押品。 贷方通过不将发票的全部金额预付给借款人来进一步降低其风险。 但是,由于客户可能永远不会支付发票,发票融资并不能消除所有风险。 这将导致涉及银行和使用银行进行发票融资的公司的耗时且昂贵的收款行动。

发票融资结构

发票融资可以采取多种形式,其中最流行的是 保理贴现. 当一家公司使用发票保理业务时,它会将未结发票出售给贷方,贷方可能会预先向公司支付发票最终价值的 70% 到 85%。 如果贷方收到发票的全额付款,它将把剩余的 15% 到 30% 的发票金额发送给公司,后者支付服务的利息和/或费用。 但是,客户需要注意这种安排,因为贷方会从他们那里收到付款,这可能会对公司产生不利影响。

另请参阅: 发票保理:所有你需要的,解释! (+贷款选项)

另一方面,公司也可以利用类似于发票保理的发票折扣。 然而,与后者不同的是,该企业从客户那里收取款项,而不是从贷方那里收取费用,而客户完全一无所知。 贷方将使用发票折扣将业务预付至发票金额的 95%。 当客户支付发票时,公司偿还贷方,减去费用或利息。

另请参阅: 发票贴现:解释!! (+ 快速工具和所需的一切)

发票融资的成本是多少?

发票融资的预计年百分比率 (APR) 可能在 10% 到 60% 之间。 为了让您更清楚地了解发票融资的成本可能有多大,请考虑以下情况:

假设您有一张 100,000 美元的发票,付款期限为 30 天。

您发现一家贷方准备预付总额的 85%(85,000 美元),同时保留剩余的 15,000 美元作为储备金。

公司将对客户支付发票的每周征收 1% 的保理费率和 3% 的手续费。 由于在这种情况下客户需要两周时间来支付发票,因此您必须支付 2% 的保理费(2,000 美元)和 3% 的手续费(3,000 美元)。

因此,您只能从融资业务保留的 10,000 美元储备金中获得 15,000 美元(5,000 美元 - 15,000 美元的费用)。 总体而言,发票融资将花费您原始发票金额的 5,000 美元或 70% 的年利率。

这似乎是一笔高昂的费用,但归根结底,这取决于您公司的财务状况,以及这笔金额是否值得您尽早获得现金。

发票融资类型

发票保理和应收账款信用额度是两种主要类型。

保理发票

尽管发票保理和发票融资经常互换使用,但这两种融资类型之间存在一些区别。

您偿还所借资金的预付款,以及融资发票的费用。 另一方面,当您使用发票保理时,您实际上以折扣价将发票出售给发票保理公司。

在大多数情况下,这也需要发票保理公司从您的客户那里收钱。

应收账款信用额度

应收账款信用额度是一种发票融资,您可以使用未结发票为信用额度融资。 在这种情况下,信用额度由您的发票担保。 此外,您在线收到的金额通常高达发票金额的 85%。

与传统的发票融资或发票保理不同,应收账款信用额度可以让您全额预付账单价值,让您可以根据需要提取资金——就像任何其他业务信用额度一样。

您根据应收账款信用额度的余额支付利率。 当客户支付发票时,金额会从您当前的余额中扣除。 此外,一些贷方可能会在您每次使用信用卡时向您收取提款费。

在大多数情况下,应收账款信用额度(与保理相反)类似于常规发票融资,因为您保留发票的所有权并负责收取客户付款。

发票融资服务

它类似于保理,但不是出售应收账款。 发票财务通过使用应收账款作为抵押品来获得贷款,但您仍负责收款。 如果您的客户拖欠付款,您将对预付的金额负责。 月费通常为发票金额的 2-4%。

发票融资的利弊

当然,发票融资并不适合所有企业,就像任何其他类型的融资一样。 首先,由于此类商业融资的性质,它最适合 B2B 和基于服务的业务。 它也是零售、制造、医疗保健、房地产和咨询行业的常见融资选择。

如果您尝试评估发票融资是否对您的小型企业有意义,您可以参考以下优点和缺点:

优点

#1。 快速获得营运资金:

由于发票融资由您的应收账款担保,因此通常可以快速获得资金,尤其是在与在线提供服务的替代贷方合作时。 您可能能够在短短一天之内拿到钱。

#2。 减少未清发票引起的现金流问题:

如果您缺乏资金来支付即将发生的费用,例如税金或工资单,发票融资可以让您腾出现金流来支付这些费用。

#3。 比其他类型的商业融资更容易获得资格: 

尽管发票融资的条件因贷方而异,但您会发现,由于融资是由您的发票担保的,因此它们的先决条件将更加灵活。 贷方将查看您的客户及其付款历史,而不仅仅是您的信用评分和财务状况。

#4。 发票作为抵押品:

如前所述,您的发票作为该融资的抵押品。 这不仅使他们更容易获得资格,而且使您更有可能不需要将房地产或库存等其他资产作为抵押品。

#5。 如果您的客户按时付款,则成本低:

虽然发票融资比其他类型的商业贷款更昂贵,但如果您的客户按时付款,如果不是提前付款,情况就不同了。 当您获得标准贷款时,您将支付整个期间的利息,但通过发票融资,您只需支付开具发票的费用。

缺点

#1。 费用可能高于其他类型的融资:

发票融资在某些方面可能是合理的,但您最终支付的费用有时高于其他类型的贷款收取的费用。 此外,根据贷方的不同,您可能需要满足每月最低限额或支付额外费用。

#2。 成本很难预先估算:

尽管发票融资计算器可以在一定程度上帮助您预测成本,但提前准确确定发票融资成本是一项挑战。 这种融资的总成本会有所不同,因为您支付的最终成本取决于您的客户支付多长时间。

#3。 如果客户延迟付款或根本不付款,则代价高昂且有风险:

归根结底,如果您的客户延迟付款,这种融资形式的成本将非常高。 一些贷方对客户未能支付的每周收取大量滞纳金或提高利率。 另一方面,如果您的消费者根本不付款,您通常有责任全额偿还贷方,这可能会影响您的现金流。

#4。 对于大多数 B2C 企业来说,这不是一个可行的选择:

最后,如前所述,应收账款融资是高度具体的。 为了申请发票融资,您必须有未结账单。 因此,如果您经营一家 B2C 或基于订阅的公司,这笔资金不太可能成为您的选择。

发票融资常见问题

发票融资是个好主意吗?

当然,发票融资对于小型和大型企业来说是一个好主意。 但是,也有例外。 对于 B2B 和基于服务的企业来说,这完全是个坏主意。

发票融资和保理有什么区别?

发票保理和发票融资之间的主要区别在于谁收取公司的未结发票。 消费者在使用发票融资时保留对收款的完全控制权。 发票保理是指公司购买未付发票并接管收款流程。

保理发票的费用是多少?

公司将对客户支付发票的每周征收 1% 的保理费率和 3% 的手续费。 由于在这种情况下客户需要两周时间来支付发票,因此您必须支付 2% 的保理费(2,000 美元)和 3% 的手续费(3,000 美元)。

  1. 消费者融资:最佳融资公司和项目
  2. 股权融资:类型、来源、优势和劣势
  3. 浸入式融资:什么是浸入式融资? (+免费工具)
  4. 拥有融资中的债务人:如何运作,DIP 第 11 章
  5. 应付账款流程:如何有效管理流程
0股
发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被公开。

你也许也喜欢

Invoice Financing: Definition, Types, Pros & Cons

Invoice Financing
Modalku

Invoice finance allows companies to borrow money against sums owed to them by customers. With this method, businesses around the globe are able to improve cash flow, pay staff and suppliers, and reinvest in operations and growth sooner than they could if they had to wait for their customers to pay their accounts in full. But then, as a fee for obtaining these funds, businesses often have to pay a percentage of the invoice amount to the lender. In other words, invoice financing solves the issue with customers who take a long time to pay, as well as difficulty acquiring other types of business credit. Now the question is, how do you go about this? What are your options when it comes to this type of business financing? What are the types of Invoice financing?

Well, grab a seat as we go through the fundamentals of invoice financing.

What Is Invoice Financing?

Invoice finance is an alternative term for Accounts Receivable Financing. It is a type of asset-based financing in which a company receives a cash advance in exchange for unpaid invoices. Invoice financing firms can literally advance you up to 85% of the amount of your bills, with the remaining 15% (minus costs) due when your invoices come in.

Invoice financing is easier to qualify for than other types of small business loans. This is because the invoices themselves act as collateral for the funds you want to borrow. Over the years, it has been pegged as one of the best funding options for B2B and service-based firms; largely because it helps to solve cash flow issues that come with tardy client bills.

How does Invoice Financing Work?

Oftentimes, businesses have to sell goods or services on credit to large consumers, such as wholesalers or retailers. This means that the buyer is not expected to pay for these products right away. An invoice with the total amount owing and the bill’s due date is sent to the purchasing firm.

Unfortunately, this practice locks up funds that could otherwise be used to develop or expand a company’s activities. Businesses may choose to finance their invoices which will, in turn, finance slow-paying accounts receivables or fulfill short-term liquidity needs.

Invoice finance is a short-term credit provided by a lender to its company customers in exchange for outstanding bills. A company sells its accounts receivable to increase its working capital through invoice factoring, which provides the company with quick funds that may be utilized to pay for corporate expenses.

Invoice Financing From the Lender’s Perspective

Unlike issuing a line of credit, which may be unsecured and provide little recourse if the business does not repay what it borrows, invoice financing provides lenders with collateral in the form of invoices. The lender further reduces its risk by not advancing the whole amount of the invoice to the borrower. However, because the customer may never pay the invoice, invoice financing does not eliminate all risks. This would result in a time-consuming and costly collection action involving both the bank and the company that used the bank for invoice financing.

Structure of Invoice Financing

Invoice financing can take a variety of forms, the most prevalent of which being factoring and discounting. When a firm uses invoice factoring, it sells its outstanding invoices to a lender, who may pay the company 70 percent to 85 percent of the invoices’ final value upfront. If the lender receives full payment for the invoices, it will send the remaining 15% to 30% of the invoice amounts to the firm, with the latter paying interest and/or fees for the service. Customers, however, need to be aware of this arrangement because the lender receives payments from them, which may reflect adversely on the firm.

Read Also: Invoice Factoring: All You Need, Explained!! (+ Loan Options)

On the flip side, a firm could also utilize invoice discounting, which is similar to invoice factoring. However, unlike the latter, the business collects payments from customers rather than the lender with the customers totally in the dark. The lender will advance the business up to 95% of the invoice amount using invoice discounting. The firm repays the lender, less a fee or interest when customers pay their invoices.

Read Also: Invoice Discounting: Explained!! (+ Quick tools & amp; all you need)

What Is the Cost of Invoice Financing?

The projected annual percentage rate (APR) for invoice finance might range from 10% to 60%. To give you a clearer idea of how costly invoice financing might be, consider the following scenario:

Let’s imagine you have a $100,000 invoice with a 30-day payment deadline.

You discover a lender ready to advance you 85 percent of the total—$85,000—while keeping the remaining $15,000 in reserve.

The corporation will impose a 1% factor rate plus a 3% processing fee for each week the customer takes to pay the invoice. Because the customer takes two weeks to pay the invoice in this situation, you’ll have to pay 2% in factoring fees ($2,000) plus a 3% processing fee ($3,000).

Consequently, you’ll only get $10,000 ($15,000 – $5,000 in fees) out of the $15,000 held in reserve by the financing business. Overall, invoice financing would have cost you $5,000 of the original invoice amount or a 70 percent annual percentage rate.

That may appear to be a high fee to pay, but in the end, it comes down to your company’s financials and whether that amount is worth having early access to your cash.

Invoice Financing Types

Invoice factoring and accounts receivable lines of credit are the two major types.

Factoring invoices

Although invoice factoring and invoice finance are frequently used interchangeably, there are several distinctions between the two types of financing.

You repay the advance of funds you borrowed, plus fees when it comes to financing invoices. On the other hand, you actually sell your invoices to the invoice factoring company at a discount when you use invoice factoring.

In most circumstances, this also necessitates the invoice factoring company collecting money from your clients.

Line of Credit for Accounts Receivables

An accounts receivable line of credit is a type of invoice financing in which you finance a credit line using your outstanding invoices. The line of credit is secured by your invoices in this situation. Plus the amount you receive on the line is often up to 85 percent of the invoice value.

An accounts receivable line of credit, unlike traditional invoice financing or invoice factoring, which gives you a full advance on the value of your bills, allows you to draw funds as needed—just like any other business line of credit.

You pay an interest rate based on your balance on an accounts receivable line of credit. And when a client pays their invoice, the amount goes off your current balance. Furthermore, some lenders may charge you a draw fee each time you use your credit card.

In most circumstances, an accounts receivable line of credit (as opposed to factoring) is similar to regular invoice financing in that you retain ownership of your invoices and are responsible for collecting customer payments.

Invoice Financing Services

It’s similar to factoring, but it’s not a sale of your receivables. Invoice finance works by utilizing your accounts receivables as collateral to acquire a loan, but you’re still in charge of collecting payments. You will be liable for the amount you were advanced if your customers’ payments fall behind. The monthly fees are typically 2-4 percent of your invoice amount.

The Benefits and Drawbacks of Invoice Financing

Of course, invoice finance isn’t perfect for every business, just like any other sort of funding. First and foremost, because of the nature of this type of business financing, it is best suited for B2B and service-based businesses. It is also a frequent funding option for those in retail, manufacturing, healthcare, real estate, and consulting.

If you’re attempting to evaluate if invoice financing makes sense for your small business, you can reference the advantages and cons below:

Pros

#1. Quick access to working capital:

Because invoice financing is secured by your accounts receivable, it is often funded quickly, especially when working with alternative lenders who provide their services online. You may be able to get money in as short as a day.

#2. Reduces cash flow issues induced by outstanding invoices:

If you’re short on funds to cover upcoming expenses such as taxes or payroll, invoice financing allows you to free up cash flow to cover those costs.

#3. Easier to qualify for than other types of business financing: 

Although the conditions for invoice financing vary depending on the lender, you’ll find that because the financing is secured by your invoices, they will be considerably more flexible with prerequisites. Lenders will look at your clients and their payment history, rather than just your credit score and financials.

#4. Invoices serve as collateral:

As previously said, your invoices act as collateral with this financing. This not only makes it easier to qualify for them but also makes it more likely that you won’t need to put up other assets like real estate or inventory as collateral.

#5. Low cost if your customers pay on time:

While invoice financing is more expensive than other types of business loans, it’s a different ball game if your customers pay on time, if not early. When you take out a standard loan, you’ll pay interest for the full period, but with invoice financing, you’ll only pay fees as long as the invoice is open.

Cons

#1. Fees may be higher than other types of financing:

Invoice finance can be reasonable in some ways, but the fees you end up paying are sometimes higher than those charged by other types of loans. Furthermore, depending on the lender, you may be required to satisfy monthly minimums or pay additional fees.

#2. Cost is difficult to estimate upfront:

Although an invoice finance calculator can help you predict costs to some extent, determining exactly how much invoice financing costs ahead of time is challenging. The total cost of this financing will vary because the final costs you pay are dependent on how long it takes your customer to pay.

#3. If clients pay late or don’t pay at all, it can be costly and risky:

When it comes down to it, if your customers are late with their payments, this form of financing will be extremely costly. Some lenders levy significant late fees or raise interest rates for each week a customer fails to pay. If your consumer doesn’t pay at all, on the other hand, you’ll normally be liable for repaying the lender in full, which could be problematic for your cash flow.

#4. For most B2C enterprises, this isn’t a viable option:

Finally, as previously said, accounts receivable financing is highly specific. In order to apply for invoice financing, you must have outstanding bills. As a result, if you run a B2C or subscription-based firm, this funding is unlikely to be a choice for you.

Invoice Financing FAQs

Is invoice financing a good idea?

Invoice Financing is, of course, a good idea for small and large business corporations. However, there are exceptions. For B2B and service-based businesses, this is totally a bad idea.

What is the difference between invoice finance and factoring?

The primary difference between invoice factoring and invoice financing is who collects on the outstanding invoices of the company. The consumer retains complete control over collections while using invoice financing. Invoice factoring is when a company buys unpaid invoices and takes over the collection process.

How much does factoring invoices cost?

The corporation will impose a 1% factor rate plus a 3% processing fee for each week the customer takes to pay the invoice. Because the customer takes two weeks to pay the invoice in this situation, you’ll have to pay 2% in factoring fees ($2,000) plus a 3% processing fee ($3,000).

  1. CONSUMER FINANCING: Best Financing Companies & Programs
  2. EQUITY FINANCING: Types, Sources, Advantages & Disadvantages
  3. Dip Financing: What is Dip Financing? (+ Free tools)
  4. Debtor In Possession Financing: How It Works, DIP chapter 11
  5. ACCOUNTS PAYABLE PROCESS: How to Manage the Process Effectively
0 Shares:
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You May Also Like