什么是补充人寿保险? 所有你必须知道的

什么是补充保险

根据 LIMRA 和 Life Happens 这两个行业资助实体的 2021 年保险晴雨表研究,三分之二的美国人依靠工作补充人寿保险(也称为团体人寿保险)或其他家庭成员的人寿保险。 然而,超过一半 (48%) 的工人声称他们不理解或仅部分掌握公司提供的人寿保险福利。
如果您不熟悉补充人寿保险,请不要担心。 我们将在以下部分解释什么是员工补充人寿保险,谁可能从中受益,以及如何购买。

什么是补充人寿保险?

补充人寿保险是指您在主要人寿保险范围之外拥有的任何人寿保险单。 最常见的是,这是您的雇主提供的人寿保险,以及许多雇主提供的免费或低成本团体保单,作为其福利计划的一部分。

您的雇主可能会提供补充政策,但这不是必需的。 取决于您的雇主的政策为您和您的家人提供了多少,这可能值得考虑。

它有时是为满足特定需求而定制的。 例如,有些人会购买补充保单来支付丧葬费用,以避免给幸存者留下经济负担。 像这样的保单可能从 5,000 美元到 25,000 美元或更多。

如果您通过工作获得补充保单,最好坐下来阅读您的保单文档并查看结构。 在您用尽现有政策的优势之前,可能不会启动补充政策。 其他限制也可能适用。

补充人寿保险如何运作

除了在工作中提供的基本保险外,您的雇主可能会为您提供自行购买额外保险的选项。 如果您是工会或其他会员组织的成员,您可能拥有团体保险福利,并且如果您愿意,可以选择增加这些福利。

与大多数个人保单相反,这种补充保险可能不需要体检。 如果您通过工作购买它,您可以使用简单的工资扣除来支付它。

通过工作购买补充人寿保险

如果您的工作场所提供员工补充人寿保险,您可以在常规保单之外购买。

大多数基本人寿保险单都是免费的,涵盖您年薪的一到两倍。 保费由您的雇主支付。

保险产品具有较高的承保限额,但您通常负责支付保费。

这些政策通常仅适用于全职员工或每周工作一定小时数的员工。 为了有资格获得补充保险,大多数公司需要您拥有有效的基本人寿保险单。

通过工作补充人寿保险的类型

您工作提供的大多数补充人寿保险是团体定期人寿保险,保险范围取决于您是否继续工作。 您可以将团体人寿保险转换为个人保单,并在您离开时随身携带,具体取决于保单的“便携性”。

雇主提供的四种主要补充人寿保险如下:

  1. 补充员工人寿保险是对您现有保单的补充。
  2. 补充配偶人寿保险保护您配偶的生活。 此类政策通常涵盖国内合作伙伴。
  3. 儿童补充人寿保险涵盖符合条件的家属。
  4. 补充意外死亡和伤残保险补充您的主要保单。 如果您在事故中死亡或重伤,AD&D 保险将赔付。

在您有资格获得补充配偶或儿童人寿保险之前,您的雇主可能会要求您为自己购买补充保单。

我可以在工作中获得多少保险?

补充员工人寿保险政策提供比基本计划更多的保障,最高可达公司设定的预定限额。 最高限额通常在 250,000 美元到 500,000 美元之间变化,但可以超过几百万美元。 在某些情况下,经理或高级管理人员可能比普通员工更容易获得资金。

配偶或子女的限额通常较低。 孩子的最高限额可能从 10,000 美元到 40,000 美元不等,而配偶的最高限额可能从 45,000 美元到 500,000 美元不等。

与许多私人定期或终身人寿保险政策不同,通过您的雇主提供的补充人寿保险可能允许您在特定时间间隔增加或减少保险金额,例如开放的注册窗口。

如果您通过工作获得保单,您的身故保险金可能会在您达到特定年龄时自动减少,例如 70 或 75 岁。如果发生这种情况,您只需支付一部分保费以匹配减少的身故保险金。

保险范围有保证吗?

无论您的年龄或病史如何,您通常都有资格通过工作获得基本人寿保险计划。 但是,公司只保证接受员工补充人寿保险的承保范围达到一定的限额,例如 100,000 美元或 1 万美元。

要购买超过该金额,您可能需要进行体检或证明您没有投保危险。 您的公司可能仅在开放注册期间提供保证保险。

保险公司可以为我购买补充人寿保险吗?

许多私人保险公司出售可与工作中的团体人寿保险单结合使用的补充人寿保险单。 选项包括:

  • 为伴侣或受抚养人提供定期或永久人寿保险
  • 丧葬保险以支付最终费用
  • 意外死亡和肢解 (AD&D) 保险

从私人保险公司购买补充人寿保险的利弊

私人补充人寿保险的流动性是其优势之一。 只要您遵守保单并按时支付保费,您的承保范围就会得到保证。 它不能仅仅因为您改变工作而被撤回,并且您不需要等待每年的投保期来购买保单。

您可能会获得更大的限额,并根据保险公司的不同从更广泛的定期或永久保单中进行选择。 但是,由于风险并未分散在所有员工身上,您可能会受到比雇主计划下更多的审查。 您的年龄和健康状况,或被保险人的健康状况,可能会对资格和费率产生重大影响。

您应该购买多少数量的补充人寿保险?

每个人对人寿保险的要求都是独一无二的。 检查您的收入和长期目标是确定您可能需要多少补充人寿保险的明智方法。 应考虑以下因素:

  • 您的伴侣和孩子: 您有(或打算有)孩子或受抚养人吗? 如果你死了,你的伴侣将如何兼顾育儿和工作? 你需要多少现金缓冲来调整你的损失? 一些保险公司建议提供 10 到 15 倍的年度税前工资。
  • 高等教育费用:根据大学理事会的数据,四年制大学的典型学杂费在 10,700 美元到 30,800 美元之间。 如果您打算将来为某人的高等教育付费,您也应该为此做预算。
  • 抵押贷款、汽车贷款和信用卡债务
  • 丧葬费用 根据美国殡仪馆协会的数据,平均可以达到 8,500 美元。

在线保险计算器是确定您需要多少人寿保险的另一个有用工具。

补充人寿保险的费用是多少?

通过您的雇主购买的补充人寿保险可能比在公开市场上购买的保单更贵,但这取决于您的工作地点。

这部分与保险公司计算团体寿险价格的方法有关。 保险公司会查看汇总数据,例如员工人数和平均年龄。 由于此信息对于每个组织都是独一无二的,因此保费可能会有很大差异。 例如,X 公司一名 40 岁的员工可能能够以每年 500,000 美元的价格购买 600 美元的保险单,但在 Y 公司以相同的价格只能购买 250,000 美元的保险。

费用还受您的年龄影响。 通过工作获得的保单费率通常不会被锁定,这意味着保费可能会随着年龄的增长而上涨。 例如,为 A 公司 500,000 岁以下的员工购买 30 美元的补充人寿保险,每年的费用为 168 美元,而对于 70 岁以上的员工,同样的保单每年可花费高达 6,000 美元。

当您在公开市场上购买定期人寿保险时,您的费率通常会在保单的整个生命周期内锁定,无论您在此过程中遇到任何健康问题。 因此,如果您比较年轻,您最好通过私人保险公司购买人寿保险,并利用较低的固定利率保单。

公开市场上补充商品的成本取决于您的年龄、病史、保险公司和计划类型等标准。 定期人寿保险通常比全额(或永久)人寿保险便宜。

购买补充人寿保险前的重要注意事项

根据人力资源管理协会 2018 年的一份报告,美国 XNUMX% 的雇主为其员工提供补充人寿保险。 但是,有机会购买它并不总是意味着您应该购买。

#1。 哪里买(这个:

通过您的雇主购买补充人寿保险有利有弊。 您可能更喜欢通过工作注册并从薪水中支付保费的便利。 如果您有潜在的健康问题,明智的做法是利用工作提供的补充保险。 另一方面,如果您年轻且健康,您也许可以利用您的精力自行协商成本较低的政策。

#2。 替代方案:

除了定期替代方案外,一些雇主还提供补充性终身人寿保险计划。 但是,您的年龄和健康状况可能会使您无法获得资格。 如果您想要更全面的保险,请考虑将您的人寿保险计划进行分级——购买多种不同期限的定期人寿保单——而不是购买单一的补充产品。 如果您想要某些功能而不是更大的承保范围,您可以通过人寿保险附加险来补充您当前的保单,例如加速身故赔偿金,如果您身患绝症,您可以提取部分保单收益。

#3。 现有覆盖范围:

在选择补充保险之前,请查看您当前的政策。 无需额外费用,您的基本保单可能已经涵盖 AD&D、配偶或受抚养人人寿保险。

#4。 可移植性:

虽然通过工作获得的基本人寿保险通常很便宜,但如果您离职,您可能会失去保险。 拥有自己的保单或可以随身携带的保单,可确保无论您的工作将您带到哪里,您都能得到保障。

补充人寿保险值得吗?

补充人寿保单应作为个人保险的补充,而不是代替个人保险。 您可以通过团体计划获得额外的保险,可能会以折扣价购买,而不必担心如果您离开团体会失去所有保险。

因此,您可能出于不同的原因想要使用多种类型的规则。 考虑使用个人保险来支付必要的费用(例如您的抵押贷款或您孩子的教育费用)和“有钱人”的补充保险(例如您孙子孙女的未来遗产)。 人寿保险计算器可以帮助您确定目标并取得正确的平衡。

总结

您家庭的财务计划应包括人寿保险。 在自行寻找保单时,请比较几家不同保险公司的费率和条款。

补充人寿保险常见问题

补充人寿保险的费用是多少?

补充人寿保险的费用根据索赔支付的程度以及您是否通过您的雇主或其他保险公司获得折扣政策而有很大差异。 其他考虑因素包括您的健康状况、年龄以及保险是定期保险还是终身保险。

雇主补充人寿保险值得吗?

可以,但您应该在通过雇主的计划购买之前检查您的选择。 您可能在其他地方有其他选择,并且可以通过研究独立保险公司提供的服务来选择适合您特定需求的保单。 财务顾问或保险专家可以帮助您权衡利弊。

参考资料

0股
发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被公开。

你也许也喜欢

What is Supplemental Life Insurance? All You Need To Know

What is supplemental insurance

According to the 2021 Insurance Barometer Study by LIMRA and Life Happens, both industry-funded entities, two-thirds of Americans rely on their supplemental life insurance from work (also known as group life insurance) or another family member’s life insurance. However, over half (48%) of workers claim they don’t comprehend or grasp only partially the life insurance benefit provided by their companies.
Don’t be concerned if you’re new to supplemental life insurance. We will explain what an employee supplemental life insurance is, who might benefit from it, and how to buy it in the sections below.

What is Supplemental Life Insurance?

Supplemental life insurance refers to any life insurance policy that you have in addition to your primary life insurance coverage. Most frequently, this is life insurance provided by your employer in addition to the free or low-cost group policy provided by many employers as part of their benefits package.

A supplemental policy may be provided by your employer, but it is not required. And it can be worth thinking about depending on how much your employer’s policy provides for you and your family.

It is occasionally tailored to meet a specific need. Some people, for example, would buy a supplemental policy to cover funeral and burial expenses in order to avoid leaving a financial burden on their survivors. A policy like this might range from $5,000 to $25,000 or more.

If you acquire your supplemental policy through work, it’s a good idea to sit down with your policy documentation and look through the structure. A supplemental policy may not kick in until you’ve exhausted the advantages of your existing policies. Other restrictions may apply as well.

How Supplemental Life Insurance Works

In addition to the basic insurance coverage provided at work, your employer may offer you the option to acquire additional coverage at your own own. If you are a member of a union or another membership organization, you may have group insurance benefits and the option to increase them if you so desire.

As opposed to most individual policies, this supplemental insurance may not need a medical checkup. If you purchase it through your work, you may be able to pay for it using simple payroll deductions.

Buying Supplemental Life Insurance Through Your Work

If your workplace provides employee supplemental life insurance, you can buy it in addition to the regular policy.

Most basic life insurance policies are free and cover one or two times your annual wage. The premiums are paid for by your employer.

The insurance products feature higher coverage limits, but you are usually responsible for paying the premiums.

These policies are typically available exclusively to full-time employees or those who work a certain number of hours each week. To be eligible for supplemental coverage, most companies need you to have a valid basic life insurance policy.

Types of Supplemental Life Insurance Through Work

Most supplemental life insurance policies provided by your work are group term life insurance, and coverage is contingent on your continued employment. You may be able to convert your group life insurance to a personal policy and take it with you when you leave, depending on the policy’s “portability.”

The four primary types of supplemental life insurance provided by employers are as follows:

  1. Supplemental employee life insurance supplements your existing policy.
  2. Supplemental spouse life insurance protects your spouse’s life. A domestic partner is often covered under this sort of policy.
  3. Supplemental life insurance for children covers qualifying dependents.
  4. Supplemental accidental death and dismemberment insurance supplements your primary policy. If you die or are critically injured in an accident, AD&D insurance will pay out.

Before you can be eligible for supplemental spouse or child life insurance, your employer may require you to buy a supplemental policy for yourself.

How Much Coverage Can I Obtain at Work?

Supplemental employee life insurance policies provide additional coverage than basic plans, up to a predetermined limit set by the firm. Maximums normally vary between $250,000 and $500,000, but can exceed several million dollars. Managers or high-level executives may have greater access to funds than rank-and-file employees in some instances.

Limits are often lower for a spouse or child. A child’s maximum may range from $10,000 to $40,000, while a spouse’s maximum may range from $45,000 to $500,000.

Unlike many private term or whole life insurance policies, supplemental life insurance via your employer may allow you to raise or decrease coverage amounts at specific intervals, such as an open enrollment window.

If you have a policy through your work, your death benefit may automatically decrease when you reach a certain age, such as 70 or 75. If this happens, you only pay a portion of the premiums to match the decreased death benefit.

Is Insurance Coverage Guaranteed?

Regardless of your age or medical history, you are usually eligible for basic life insurance plans via your work. However, firms guarantee acceptance only up to a certain coverage limit, such as $100,000 or $1 million, for employee supplemental life insurance.

To buy more than that amount, you may be required to conduct a medical exam or demonstrate that you are not a danger to insure. Your firm may only provide guaranteed coverage during open enrollment periods.

Can an Insurance Company Buy Me Supplemental Life Insurance?

Many private insurers sell supplemental life insurance policies that can be used in conjunction with a group life insurance policy at work. Among the options are:

  • Life insurance, either term or permanent, for a partner or dependent
  • Burial insurance to cover final expenses
  • Coverage for accidental death and dismemberment (AD&D)

The Benefits and Drawbacks of Buying Supplemental Life Insurance from a Private Insurer

The mobility of private supplemental life insurance is one of its benefits. Your coverage is assured as long as you keep the policy and pay your premiums on time. It cannot be withdrawn just because you change employment, and you are not required to wait for an annual enrollment period to buy a policy.

You may be able to receive bigger limits and choose from a wider range of term or permanent policies depending on the insurer. However, because the risk is not dispersed across all employees, you may be scrutinized more than you would under an employer’s plan. Your age and health, or the health of the covered, may have a significant impact on eligibility and rates.

What Amount of Supplemental Life Insurance Should You Buy?

Everyone’s requirements for life insurance are unique. Examining your income and long-term goals is a smart method to determine how much supplemental life insurance you may require. The following factors should be considered:

  • Your partner and children: Do you have (or do you intend to have) children or dependents? If you die, how would your partner combine child care and work? How much cash cushion will you need to adjust to your loss? Some insurance companies propose coverage of 10 to 15 times your annual pretax pay.
  • Higher education expenses: According to The College Board, the typical year of tuition and fees at a four-year university can range from $10,700 to $30,800. If you intend to pay for someone’s higher education in the future, you should budget for this as well.
  • Mortgage, auto loan, and credit card debts
  • Funeral and burial expenditures can reach $8,500 on average, according to the National Funeral Directors Association.

An online insurance calculator is another useful tool for determining how much life insurance you require.

What is the Cost of Supplemental Life Insurance?

Supplemental life insurance through your employer may be more expensive than policies purchased on the open market, but this is dependent on where you work.

This is related, in part, to the method by which insurers calculate group life prices. Insurance firms look at aggregate data, such as the number of employees and their average age. Because this information is unique to each organization, premiums might vary greatly. For example, a 40-year-old employee at Company X may be able to buy a $500,000 insurance policy for $600 per year, but only $250,000 of coverage at Company Y for the same price.

The cost is also affected by your age. Rates for the policies via work are not generally locked in, which means premiums might rise with age. A $500,000 supplemental life insurance policy for an employee under the age of 30 at Company A, for example, costs $168 per year, whereas the same policy for an employee over the age of 70 can cost up to $6,000 per year.

When you buy term life insurance on the open market, your rates are often locked in for the lifetime of the policy, regardless of any health concerns you encounter along the way. As a result, if you’re younger, you could be better off purchasing life insurance via a private insurer and taking advantage of lower, fixed-rate policies.

The cost of supplemental goods on the open market is determined by criteria like as your age, medical history, insurer, and plan type. Term life insurance is generally less expensive than full (or permanent) life insurance.

Important Considerations Before Buying Supplemental Life Insurance

According to a 2018 report by the Society for Human Resource Management, eighty percent of employers in America provide supplemental life insurance to its employees. However, having the opportunity to buy it does not always imply that you should.

#1. Where to buy:

There are advantages and disadvantages to buying supplemental life insurance through your employer. You may prefer the convenience of signing up through work and paying premiums out of your paycheck. If you have an underlying health problem, it may be wise to take advantage of work-provided supplemental coverage. On the other hand, if you’re young and healthy, you might be able to use your energy to negotiate a lower-cost policy on your own.

#2. Alternatives:

Some employers provide supplemental whole life insurance plans in addition to the regular term alternatives. However, your age and health may preclude you from being eligible. If you want more comprehensive coverage, consider laddering your life insurance plans — acquiring numerous term life policies of varying terms — rather than purchasing a single supplemental product. If you desire certain features rather than greater coverage, you may be able to supplement your current policy with life insurance riders, such as accelerated death benefits, which allow you to withdraw a portion of your policy’s proceeds if you become terminally ill.

#3. Existing coverage:

Before selecting supplemental coverage, review your current policy. At no additional expense, your basic policy may already cover AD&D, spouse or dependent life insurance.

#4. Portability:

Although basic life insurance through work is often cheap, you may lose your coverage if you leave your job. Having your own policy, or one that can be taken with you, ensures that you are covered no matter where your job takes you.

Is Supplemental Life Insurance Worth It?

Supplemental life policy should be used in addition to, not in instead of, individual coverage. You can obtain additional insurance through a group plan, possibly at a discount, without fear of losing all coverage if you leave the group.

As a result, you may want to utilize multiple types of rules for different reasons. Consider utilizing individual insurance to cover necessary expenses (such as your mortgage or your children’s education money) and supplemental coverage for “nice-to-haves” (like a future inheritance for your grandkids). A life insurance calculator can assist you in determining your objectives and striking the correct balance.

Conclusion

Your family’s financial plan should include life insurance. When looking for a policy on your own, compare rates and terms from several different insurance companies.

Supplemental Life Insurance FAQs

What does supplemental life insurance cost?

The cost of supplemental life insurance varies substantially based on the extent of the claims payout and whether you obtain a discounted policy via your employer or another insurance firm. Other considerations include your health, age, and whether the insurance is a term or whole life.

Is employer supplemental life insurance worth it?

It can be, but you should examine your options before purchasing it via your employer’s plan. You may have additional options elsewhere and can select a policy that is tailored to your specific needs by researching what is available from independent insurance companies. A financial advisor or insurance specialist can assist you in weighing the benefits and drawbacks.

References

0 Shares:
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You May Also Like