保险失效:它如何影响汽车保险的承保范围和保费

保险失效
银行利率网

为您的汽车保险保持持续的承保范围将帮助您保持较低的保费。 但是,您可能会发现自己的汽车保险已过期。 在可行的情况下尽快纠正这种汽车保险覆盖范围的失误,可以让您在发生事故时高枕无忧并获得财务保障。 汽车保险承保范围的失效经常是无意的。 如果您发现自己的汽车保险失效宽限期已过,您可以采取一些措施来重新获得保险。

什么是汽车保险失效?

汽车保险失效的定义是您拥有注册汽车但没有汽车保险的任何时期。

一次失误可能只有一天——任何没有汽车保险的时期都可以算作一次失误。 但是,一些保险公司可能不会因短时间少于两周的时间而对您进行处罚。 失效可能有多种原因:您的保险已过期,您的保单因未付款而被取消,您不再开车,您已被部署,等等。

#1。 如果您的保单因未付款或您未能续保而到期,

常见的情况是您未能按月付款或在保单到期后忘记更新保单,导致您的公司终止保单。 当您的保险到期时,您的汽车保险公司可能会通知 DMV 您没有保险。

根据您所在的州,没有保险可能会使您受到罚款和其他处罚。 您等待续保的时间越长,您的保费就越高。

#2。 如果你在军队服役或留学或出国,

如果您驻扎在海外,您不太可能经常使用汽车。 对于那些在国外生活或学习很长时间的人来说也是如此。 军人可以通过 USAA、Geico 和 Esurance 等几家公司暂停他们的汽车保险。

暂停保险不被视为失效,并且可以保护您免受费率上涨的影响。 如果您要出国学习或工作,您必须从您所在州的 DMV 获得一份宣誓书,表明您不会使用该车辆。

为什么保险公司会取消我的保险?

保险公司可能会取消您的承保范围有几个原因。 酒驾后,您的保险公司可能会认为您风险太大而无法投保并拒绝更新您的保单。 如果您的信用不佳或您因交通罚款过多而被吊销驾照,您的保险公司可能会取消您的保险。

如果您出现以下情况,您的保险公司也可能会取消您的保单:

  • 停止支付您的保险费。
  • 在你的申请中,你撒了谎
  • 提交索赔后向理算员提交虚假索赔或撒谎
  • 被诊断出患有使驾驶变得危险的疾病。

什么是汽车保险失效宽限期?

如果您在支付保险费方面遇到困难,宽限期可以帮助您避免保险失效。 许多州要求汽车保险提供商为未付款项提供宽限期,在此期间您的保单不会被取消,并且您的费率也不会因承保范围的失效而增加。

如果您未能支付保险费,您的公司必须提前通知您,他们打算因未付款而取消您的保险。 此汽车保险失效宽限期可能短至您上次付款后的几天或长至 30 天,具体取决于您的业务和居住地。

如果您无法按时支付汽车保险费,请与您的保险公司联系,以防止不得不依赖宽限期(并支付可能的滞纳金)。 您和您的汽车保险提供商可能会制定付款计划,以避免宽限期和可能的保险失效。

承保失效如何影响汽车保险成本

如果您的保险范围存在差距,您的汽车保险公司可能会将您视为风险较高的司机,并因此向您收取额外费用。 根据我们对 Quadrant Information Services 数据的研究,汽车保险失效的投保人每年平均支付 1,861 美元购买全险,比全国平均每年 200 美元高出约 1,674 美元。

那些有保险缺口的人为他们的保险支付大约 11% 的额外费用。 您的保险公司也有可能在失效后拒绝更新您的保险。 在这种情况下,您必须找到新的承运人的新政策。 因为您的保险公司被迫向您所在州的 DMV 报告您的过失,所以任何新的保险公司都会意识到这一点,因此可能会向您收取更高的保费。

哪些州对覆盖范围内的失误有处罚?

如果您拥有已注册的车辆,美国几乎每个州都需要汽车保险。 一些州比其他州更好地监管这一点,甚至要求公司在注册汽车的保险到期时通知州 DMV。 当 DMV 发现您的失误时,您可能会失去您的执照和/或注册,以及面临民事罚款和 SR-22 申请,以及其他后果。

请记住,这些罚款仅适用于您让保险失效的情况。 如果你被发现在没有适当保险的情况下驾驶,你肯定会面临更严厉的处罚。

以下是每个州的预期:

州/领地处罚
阿拉巴马200 美元的执照恢复罚款,然后是 400 美元的第二次
阿拉斯加州第一次失效 100 美元的执照恢复罚款
亚利桑那50 美元的执照恢复罚款
阿肯色州100 美元的执照恢复罚款
加利福尼亚州14 美元的注册恢复罚款
科罗拉多州40 美元的执照恢复罚款
康涅狄格200 美元的执照恢复罚款
特拉华每辆车 100 美元的逾期罚款,5 天后每天 30 美元
哥伦比亚特区逾期罚款 150 美元,7 天后每天 30 美元
佛罗里达第一次注册和执照恢复罚款 150 美元,第二次罚款 250 美元,第三次罚款 500 美元
格鲁吉亚逾期超过 25 天罚款 10 美元,60 天后罚款 30 美元
夏威夷20 美元的执照恢复罚款
爱达荷州85 美元的执照恢复罚款
伊利诺伊100美元的恢复罚款
印地安那第一次违规罚款 150 美元,第二次违规罚款 225 美元,第三次违规罚款 300 美元
爱荷华州NA
堪萨斯州第一次违规罚款 100 美元,一年内第二次违规罚款 300 美元
肯塔基40 美元的注册恢复罚款
路易斯安那州125 天 30 美元的逾期罚款,225 至 31 天 90 美元,525 天以上 90 美元,最高 850 美元
缅因州50 美元的执照恢复罚款,20 至 30 美元的额外罚款,35 美元的注册罚款
马里兰州前 150 天罚款 30 美元,7 天后每天 30 美元,注册罚款最高 25 美元
马萨诸塞500美元的恢复罚款
密歇根州50 美元的注册罚款
明尼苏达30 美元的执照和注册恢复罚款
密西西比州30 美元的执照恢复罚款
密苏里州20 美元的执照恢复费
蒙大拿第一次保险失效不收费
内布拉斯加500美元的恢复罚款
内华达逾期 250 天以下罚款 30 美元,逾期 250 至 31 天罚款 90 美元,逾期 500 至 91 天罚款 180 美元,逾期 1,000 天罚款 181 美元
新罕布什尔NA
新泽西州100美元的恢复罚款
新墨西哥注册恢复罚款$ 30
纽约8 天以下的民事罚款每天 30 美元,接下来的 10 天每天 30 美元,之后 12 天每天 30 美元
北卡罗来纳第一次违规罚款 50 美元,第二次违规罚款 100 美元,第三次违规罚款 150 美元
北达科他州NA
俄亥俄州罚款 60 美元,第一次违规罚款 100 美元,第二次违规罚款 300 美元,第三次违规罚款 600 美元
俄克拉何马州行政罚款 125 美元,恢复罚款 275 美元
俄勒冈75 美元的执照和注册恢复罚款
宾夕法尼亚88 美元的修复罚款
罗德岛50美元的恢复罚款
南卡罗来纳每天 5 美元的逾期罚款,最高 200 美元
南达科他州50 至 200 美元的许可证恢复罚款,取决于时间流逝
田纳西50 美元的行政罚款,65 美元的执照和注册恢复罚款
德州100美元的恢复罚款
犹他州100美元的恢复罚款
佛蒙特71 美元的执照恢复罚款
弗吉尼亚州145 美元的注册恢复罚款
华盛顿75美元的恢复罚款
西弗吉尼亚100 美元的注册恢复罚款
威斯康星60 美元的执照恢复罚款
怀俄明50美元的恢复罚款

尽管某些司法管辖区的处罚比其他司法管辖区要重,但底线是您永远不应该让您的汽车保险失效。 至少,您的汽车保险费可能会上涨,您可能会面临严重的法律后果。

保险公司如何查明您的保险是否失效

当您获得汽车保险报价时,经常会询问您是否有保险。 如果您让您的保险失效,请说实话——汽车保险提供商不会只接受您的话。

汽车保险公司与州 DMV 合作,以准确记录谁拥有汽车保险以及何时拥有汽车保险。 因此,虽然您可以通过隐瞒您有保险失效的事实来获得较低的报价,但您的保险公司最终会发现。

最好的情况是,如果您说真话,您的保险公司只会将您的保费提高到本来的水平。 但是,您的保险公司可能会选择取消您的保险,让您处于与以前相同的情况 - 但有两次失误而不是一次失误。

保险公司如何确定您的保险是否不再有效

关于失误,首先要了解的是,立即处理它可以让您高枕无忧并帮助您实现目标。 不要马上惊慌失措。 您的汽车保险公司可能会提供一个短暂的宽限期,在此期间您的保险失效保费不会增加。

当您发现您的保单已过期时,请采取以下措施以重回正轨:

  • 与您的保险公司联系。 明智的做法是咨询您的保险公司,看看是否有过失或您是否刚刚逾期付款。 您可以通过电话支付错过的付款来避免失误。
  • 许多保险公司提供宽限期。 此宽限期通常是您的保费不会因承保失效而增加的时间段。 您应该检查您的保险,看看您是否有资格获得此选项。
  • 创建新策略。 如果您无法恢复您的保单,您应该尽快开始寻找新的保险单。
  • 尽可能避免开车。 您可能应该避免开车并寻找替代的交通方式,直到您在一段时间内成功获得新的保险。 除了必须自掏腰包支付事故的风险外,在没有足够保险的情况下驾驶可能会导致驾照被吊销并需要获得 SR-22。

如何防止汽车保险失效

准时付款、在获得保险或提出索赔时说真话以及保持干净的驾驶记录是避免汽车保险失效的最佳策略。 为避免覆盖空白,您还应该:

  • 联系您的保险公司: 如果您收到取消通知,您应该立即联系您的保险公司。 通过这种方式,您将能够了解贵公司的宽限期、避免终止的各种策略,并可能在为时已晚之前恢复您的承保范围。
  • 了解您的保单何时到期: 请注意您的保单的期限日期,这样您就不会忘记在需要新保单时更新您的保险范围(如果它没有自动更新)。
  • 在旧保单到期的同一天开始新保单: 更换汽车保险单时,请确保您的新保单在旧保单到期的同一天开始生效。 即使是保险之间的一天也可能导致保险失效。
  • 请求估算: 如果您无法支付汽车保险费,您可以向不同的公司索取报价。 一家保险公司的高费率并不总是意味着另一家保险公司的高费率。
  • 检查您的承保范围和免赔额: 如果您在付款方面遇到困难,您可以重新考虑您的承保范围。 如果您支付的保险费超出您的需要,或者您的免赔额较低,您可以通过修改保单来降低总费率。

即使是一点点失误也会影响我的保费吗?

这取决于您的保险公司和失效的原因是否会提高您的保险价格。 如果您尽快解决问题,您将获得最佳结果,因此您的保险公司可以看到您正在善意地尝试解决问题。

保险失效常见问题解答

保险失效会影响信用吗?

简单回答是不。 虽然汽车保险和信用之间没有直接关系,但迟交或根本不支付保险费可能会导致催收报告。 收债报告确实出现在您的信用报告中,并且可以被潜在的贷方阅读(通常为 7-10 年)。

取消的保险在记录中保留多长时间?

五年左右
当您取消汽车保险时,它通常会在您的保险记录中保留大约五年,尽管可能会更长。

无保险驾驶违法吗?

禁止在没有至少第三方保险的情况下在道路或公共场所驾驶汽车。 即使车辆已投保,如果您没有为驾驶提供适当的保险,您也可能被视为无保险驾驶并受到处罚。

參考資料

0股
发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被公开。

你也许也喜欢

INSURANCE LAPSE: How It Affects Car Insurance Coverages & Premiums

Insurance lapse
Bankrate.com

Maintaining continuous coverage for your car insurance will help you keep your premiums low. You may, however, find yourself in a situation where your car insurance has expired. Rectifying this lapse in car insurance coverage as soon as feasible can provide you with peace of mind and financial security in the case of an accident. Car insurance coverage lapse is frequently unintended. If you find yourself in a scenario where your car insurance lapse grace period has expired, there are actions you can do to regain coverage.

What is a Car Insurance Lapse?

A lapse in car insurance is defined as any period when you have a registered car but no car insurance.

A lapse might be as small as one day — any period you go without car insurance qualifies as a lapse. Some insurers, however, may not penalize you for a brief lapse of fewer than two weeks. There could be various causes for a lapse: your insurance expired, your policy was canceled due to a missed payment, you no longer drive, you were deployed, and so on.

#1. If your policy expires due to nonpayment or if you fail to renew it,

A common scenario is that you failed to make a monthly payment or forgot to renew your policy after it expired, causing your company to terminate it. When your coverage expires, your car insurance company may notify the DMV that you are uninsured.

Depending on your state, being uninsured may subject you to fines and other penalties. The longer you wait to renew your coverage, the higher your premiums are going to be.

#2. If you are serving in the military or studying or moving abroad,

You are unlikely to use your car much if you are stationed overseas. The same is true for those who live or study abroad for an extended period of time. Military members can suspend their car insurance through a few firms, including USAA, Geico, and Esurance.

Suspended insurance is not considered a lapse and may protect you from rate increases. If you are going abroad to study or work, you must obtain an affidavit from your state’s DMV indicating that you will not be utilizing the vehicle.

Why Would an Insurance Company Cancel My Coverage?

There are several reasons why an insurance company may cancel your coverage. After a DUI, your insurance carrier may deem you too risky to insure and refuse to renew your policy. If you have bad credit or if you incur too many traffic fines and your license is suspended, your insurer may cancel your insurance.

Your insurance company may also cancel your policy if you:

  • Stop paying your insurance premiums.
  • On your application, you lied
  • Submit a fake claim or lie to an adjuster after a claim has been filed
  • Were diagnosed with a disease that makes driving dangerous.

What Is Car Insurance Lapse Grace Period?

If you’re having difficulties keeping up with your insurance payments, a grace period may help you avoid a lapse in coverage. Many states require car insurance providers to provide a grace period for missing payments, during which your policy will not be canceled and your rates will not increase owing to a lapse in coverage.

If you fail to make an insurance payment, your firm must notify you in advance that they intend to cancel your coverage owing to nonpayment. This car insurance lapse grace period could be as little as a few days or as long as 30 days after your last payment, depending on your business and where you live.

If you’re having trouble paying your car insurance payments on time, talk to your insurance company to prevent having to rely on a grace period (and paying a possible late fee). It’s possible that you and your car insurance provider might work out a payment plan to avoid a grace period and a possible lapse in coverage.

How a Coverage Lapse Influences Car Insurance Costs

If you have a gap in your insurance coverage, your car insurance company may view you as a higher-risk driver and charge you extra as a result. According to our research of Quadrant Information Services data, policyholders with a lapse in car insurance coverage pay an average of $1,861 per year for full coverage insurance, about $200 more than the national average of $1,674 per year.

Those who have gaps in their insurance pay approximately 11% extra for their coverage. It’s also possible that your insurer will refuse to renew your coverage after a lapse. You would have to find a new policy with a new carrier in this situation. Because your insurance is compelled to report your lapse to the DMV in your state, any new insurer will be aware of it and may charge you higher premiums as a result.

Which States Have Penalties for Lapses in Coverage?

Car insurance is required in practically every state in the United States if you own a registered vehicle. Some states regulate this better than others, even going so far as to require firms to notify state DMVs whenever a registered car’s insurance expires. When the DMV becomes aware of your lapse, you risk losing your license and/or registration, as well as facing civil fines and SR-22 filings, among other consequences.

Remember that these fines only apply if you let your insurance lapse. If you are discovered driving without proper insurance, you will most certainly face much harsher penalties.

Here’s what to expect in each state:

StatePenalties
Alabama$200 license reinstatement penalty, then $400 second time
Alaska$100 license reinstatement penalty for the first lapse
Arizona$50 license reinstatement penalty
Arkansas$100 license reinstatement penalty
California$14 registration reinstatement penalty
Colorado$40 license reinstatement penalty
Connecticut$200 license reinstatement penalty
Delaware$100 lapse penalty per vehicle, $5 per day after 30 days
District of Columbia$150 lapse penalty, $7 per day after 30 days
Florida$150 registration and license reinstatement penalty for the first lapse, $250 for the second, $500 for third
Georgia$25 penalty for lapse longer than 10 days, then $60 after 30 days
Hawaii$20 license reinstatement penalty
Idaho$85 license reinstatement penalty
Illinois$100 reinstatement penalty
Indiana$150 reinstatement penalty first offense, $225 for a second offense, $300 for a third offense
IowaNA
Kansas$100 reinstatement penalty for a first offense, $300 for a second offense within one year
Kentucky$40 registration reinstatement penalty
Louisiana$125 lapse penalty for 30 days, $225 for 31 to 90 days, $525 over 90 days, up to $850 max
Maine$50 license reinstatement penalty, $20 to $30 additional penalty, $35 registration penalty
Maryland$150 penalty first 30 days, $7 per day after 30 days, registration penalty up to $25
Massachusetts$500 reinstatement penalty
Michigan$50 registration penalty
Minnesota$30 license and registration reinstatement penalty
Mississippi$30 license reinstatement penalty
Missouri$20 license reinstatement fee
MontanaNo charge for the first lapse of insurance
NebraskaReinstatement penalty of $500
Nevada$250 penalty for lapse under 30 days, $250 for the lapse between 31 to 90 days, $500 for the lapse between 91 to 180 days, and $1,000 for lapses more than 181 days
New HampshireNA
New JerseyRestoration penalty of $100
New MexicoRegistration reinstatement penalty of $30
New York$8 per day civil penalty for lapses under 30 days, $10 per day for the next 30 days, and $12 per day for 30 days after
North Carolina$50 civil penalty for the first lapse, $100 for the second lapse, $150 for the third lapse
North DakotaNA
Ohio$60 penalty, $100 reinstatement penalty for a first offense, $300 for a second offense, $600 for a third offense
Oklahoma$125 administrative penalty, $275 reinstatement penalty
Oregon$75 license and registration reinstatement penalty
Pennsylvania$88 restoration penalty
Rhode Island$50 reinstatement penalty
South Carolina$5 per day lapse penalty, up to $200
South Dakota$50 to $200 license reinstatement penalty, depending on time lapses
Tennessee$50 administrative penalty, $65 license and registration restoration penalty
Texas$100 reinstatement penalty
Utah$100 reinstatement penalty
Vermont$71 license reinstatement penalty
Virginia$145 registration reinstatement penalty
Washington$75 reinstatement penalty
West Virginia$100 registration reinstatement penalty
Wisconsin$60 license reinstatement penalty
Wyoming$50 reinstatement penalty

Although some jurisdictions have greater penalties than others, the bottom line is that you should never let your auto insurance lapse. At the very least, your car insurance premiums are likely to rise, and you may face serious legal consequences.

How Insurers Find Out if Your Insurance Has Lapses

When you get a car insurance quote, you’re frequently asked if you have coverage. If you’ve let your insurance lapse, tell the truth – car insurance providers won’t just accept your word for it.

Car insurers collaborate with state DMVs to keep accurate records of who has car insurance and when they have it. So, while you may be able to receive a lower quotation by concealing the fact that you had an insurance lapse, your insurer will eventually find out.

The best-case scenario is that your insurer will just raise your premiums to what they would have been if you had spoken the truth. However, your insurer may choose to cancel your coverage, leaving you in the same scenario as before – but with two lapses instead of one.

How Insurers Find Out if Your Insurance Is No Longer Active

The first thing to understand about having a lapse is that dealing with it right away can provide you peace of mind and help you achieve your goals. Don’t freak out right away. Your car insurance carrier may offer a brief grace period during which your premiums for lapsed coverage will not be increased.

When you find your policy has expired, take the following actions to get back on track:

  • Contact your insurance company. It’s wise to check with your insurer to see if there has been a lapse or if you are just over late on your payments. You might be able to avoid a lapse by paying your missed payment over the phone.
  • Many insurance companies provide a grace period. This grace period is typically a period of time during which your premiums will not increase owing to a lapse in coverage. You should check with your insurance to see if you qualify for this option.
  • Create a new policy. If you are unable to reinstate your policy, you should begin looking for a new insurance policy as soon as possible.
  • Avoid driving whenever possible. You should probably avoid driving and look for alternate modes of transportation until you have successfully gotten new insurance coverage during a lapse period. In addition to the risk of having to pay for an accident out of pocket, driving without sufficient insurance may result in a suspended license and the need to acquire an SR-22.

How to Prevent a Car Insurance Lapse

Making on-time payments, telling the truth when acquiring coverage or filing a claim, and maintaining a clean driving record are the best strategies to avoid a lapse in car insurance. To avoid coverage gaps, you should also:

  • Contact your insurance company: If you receive a cancellation notice, you should immediately contact your insurance provider. This way, you’ll be able to learn about your company’s grace period, various strategies to avoid termination, and potentially reinstate your coverage before it’s too late.
  • Know when your policy will expire: Pay attention to your policy’s term dates so you don’t forget to renew your insurance coverage (if it doesn’t automatically renew) when it’s time for a new policy.
  • Start a new policy on the same day your old policy expires: When switching car insurance policies, make sure your new policy begins on the same day your old policy expires. Even a single day between insurance can result in a coverage lapse.
  • Request estimates: If you are unable to pay your car insurance premiums, you could request quotes from different firms. A high rate at one insurance provider does not always imply a high rate at another.
  • Examine your coverage and deductibles: If you’re having difficulties paying payments, you could possibly reconsider your coverage. You could reduce your total rates by modifying your policy if you’re paying for more insurance than you need or if your deductible is low.

Will Even a Little Lapse Affect My Premiums?

It depends on your insurer and the reason for the lapse whether a short lapse raises your insurance prices. You’ll obtain the best results if you solve the problems as soon as possible, so your insurer can see that you’re making a good-faith attempt to fix the problem.

Insurance Lapse FAQs

Does insurance lapse affect credit?

The simple answer is no. Although there is no direct relationship between car insurance and credit, paying your insurance premium late or not at all may result in debt collection reports. Debt collection reports do appear on your credit report and can be read by prospective lenders (typically for 7-10 years).

How long does Cancelled insurance stay on record?

Around five years
When you cancel your car insurance coverage, it normally remains on your insurance record for roughly five years, although it can be longer.

Is driving without insurance illegal?

Driving a car on a road or in a public location without at least third-party insurance is banned. Even if the vehicle is insured, if you are not properly insured to drive it, you may be considered to be driving without insurance and subject to penalties.

References

0 Shares:
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You May Also Like