HOW MUCH IS A BUSINESS LICENSE: What You Need To Know and Free Tips

How Much is a Business License
Photo Courtesy of: Ginee

You may require a license, permit, or certification of some form in order to operate a business. Moreover, before venturing into a business, you need to inquire, “How much is a business license?” And depending on the type of work you conduct, you might even require more than one of these documents. If that is the case, you are most certainly not alone, since many firms are required to submit applications to local, state, and federal agencies for licenses and/or permits.

The majority of small enterprises are exempt from federal licensing and permit requirements. Nonetheless, some activities may call for a federal license or permit since they may be subject to regulation by one or more federal agencies.

How Much Is a Business License?

A business license is the official registration of your organization that enables you to conduct business in your sector and region. Federal, state, and local laws mandate that small enterprises obtain the necessary business licenses before offering their products or services. County governments benefit from business licenses because they enable them to collect money and control the businesses operating there. A business license, however, has additional benefits for your tiny company.

Even though many states don’t explicitly call for a “business license” in order to run a business, they do have a number of other municipal and state-level criteria. You might be thinking “How much is a business license”? as you get ready to take on the responsibilities of a business owner. The simple answer, however, is that it varies depending on a few different things, including the state, city, and industry.

Depending on what you do and where you do business, a business license could cost anything from $25 to several hundred dollars. While some states just require a generic statewide business license, others may also have additional municipal or county-based business license requirements. Your business must pay a one-time registration cost, a yearly renewal charge, and any applicable sales taxes before it may operate legally. The cost of a business license can be anywhere from $15 to $300. Sales tax is only necessary for specified kinds of enterprises and structures and varies by state, and more specifically, by city and county. Most states also require an annual filing fee or yearly reporting in addition to a business permit.

Business License Cost for Some States

Alaska = $25-$50

Arkansas= $50

Connecticut = $5-$5000

Delaware = $75

How To Get a Business License

Often given by a county or a state, a business license is a permit to operate a business in a specific location that aids in the tracking of revenue and taxes, specialist business permits and licenses, and employment activities. The purpose of business licenses is to ensure ethical business practices within each local jurisdiction while regulating and monitoring the local economy.

Check your local business regulations to be sure you have everything you need before you make your first sale. The majority of companies, both for-profit and not-for-profit, require a business license to operate, including sole proprietors.

Getting a Business License Step-By-Step Guide

#1. Apply for an EIN ( Identify the business permits you need)

To simplify the procedure, you should first apply for your EIN. Also, this establishes a commercial entity that is distinct from your personal identity. Start by learning about the federal, state, and local licenses that are necessary for your firm. In the areas where you intend to operate, get in touch with the necessary agencies.

This can be a time-consuming process since many government offices do not have helpful websites or phone services, but it is crucial to avoid the repercussions. Keep in mind that before applying for additional company licenses, you should first establish an LLC and receive an EIN from the IRS.

#2. Acquire a Federal Business License

Start by learning about the federal, state, and local licenses that are necessary for your firm. In the areas where you intend to operate, get in touch with the necessary agencies.

Fill out an application for a business license, usually through the Secretary of State’s office, online, in person, by mail, or by fax, if those options are available to you. Your business name, EIN, business address, and type of business are important to have on hand.

#3. Check-out for Other License

Examine any additional licenses and permits for your firm that you may need to get before you begin operations, as well as any ongoing needs. This may be a state or local license.

Select a legal form for your company, such as a sole proprietorship, LLC, limited liability company, S corporation, C corporation, or non-profit.

#5. Get a Business License

Many business permits can be submitted online. You might get a response from the licensing agency right away after applying, or you might have to wait. Even if you correctly filled out the application, many organizations can take weeks or even months to accept it.

#6. Follow the Rules for License Renewal

You will be authorized legally to run a specific kind of business for a set amount of time once your application is accepted and you are given your business license. To avoid unintentionally letting your license expire, take notice of any renewal requirements since many business licenses need to be renewed.

How Much Is a Business License in California?

If you don’t require a federal business license, there are no requirements. If you do, fees differ by sector and are paid to the federal agency giving the license. State licensing and permit costs might be as little as nothing and as high as $4,000. State and company occurrence expenditures differ. California doesn’t require all businesses to have a license at the state level, but certain counties and cities do. Major sectors are state regulated and require a license from a corresponding board or division. Check the CalGold permit assistance tool to find specific license requirements and fees. 

Although it is not necessary to obtain a business license at the state level in California, the majority of enterprises will need to do so at the local level. You can use the website of the California Department of Tax and Fee Administration to submit applications for licenses and permits for businesses. Nevertheless, you’ll need a California Secretary of State entity number before you can apply. To conduct business in the State of California, you must acquire a seller’s permit. In addition, you will need a permit in the majority of California’s municipalities and towns.

A basic business permit in California typically costs between $50 and $100 for small firms. Charges based on predicted revenue may apply to larger organizations.

How Much Is a Business License in Georgia?

You are not required to hold a general business license in Georgia. But, you must apply for a free Georgia sales and use tax number, which is required. You may learn more about the kinds of businesses that could need specific licenses by visiting the website of the Georgia Department of Revenue. You may need to obtain a basic business license at the city level as well as extra licenses for different types of businesses in some cities and counties, including the City of Atlanta. Sales & Use Tax, Withholding Tax, Alcohol and Tobacco Licenses, Motor Fuel Distributor Tax, International Fuel Tax, Composite Tax, and other pertinent business procedures are all included in the process of registering a new firm. During the registration procedure, initial registration costs for some account types must be paid.

You must submit a Georgia Annual Registration and pay a $50 filing fee in this state. You can print a form from the state’s web portal or submit your registration online. You’ll have to fork over an extra $10 if you submit the paper form. Georgia levies a $100 “investigation fee” that is not refundable. Some companies are subject to additional license fees. For instance, wineries, distilleries, and breweries must pay an extra $1,000. A further fee of $50 to $1,000 may also be charged to distributors and retailers.

How Much Is a Business License in Florida?

The Department of Business & Professional Regulation and the Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services are the two primary organizations in Florida that provide business licenses. Go over the list of services in Florida that need a business license first. Depending on the sort of firm, Florida entrepreneurs should expect to pay anything from $87.50 to slightly over $1,000 for beginning costs. Florida does require a seller’s permit or a sales-and-use tax permit, albeit it does not have the same procedures and standards for company licensing as many other states.

You are not required to have a general business license by the State of Florida, but you will need to apply for a license for some particular businesses at the state level. Although there is no cost, Florida does require businesses to register with the state. For some sorts of enterprises, some cities and counties may also demand licenses or permits. The Division of Corporate website for the State of Florida provides resources for companies and business entrepreneurs.

Although Florida does not require a statewide license for businesses to operate, many cities and counties do have their own licensing requirements. Business owners are frequently required by local governments to obtain a general business license. The price of a general business license, often known as a “business tax receipt,” varies based on the city or county, the type of operation, and the location’s zoning regulations. You can collect taxes on goods and services and send them to the Florida Department of Revenue if you have a seller’s permit. The application procedure is straightforward because you can either download and mail the necessary paperwork, or you may submit them online.

How Much Does It Cost to Get a Business License in CA?

Cities in California are responsible for issuing business permits, therefore costs differ from one city to the next. Business permits often cost $50 to $100.

How Much Does a Business License Cost in PA?

When you register your business with the Department of Revenue, there are no fees. A sales tax license won’t cost you anything either in the state of Pennsylvania

How Much Does a Business License Cost in Georgia?

Visit the Georgia Tax Center website, fill out the registration form, and submit it to obtain a business license in Georgia. Sales & Use Tax, Withholding Tax, Alcohol and Tobacco Licenses, Motor Fuel Distributor Tax, International Fuel Tax, Composite Tax, and other pertinent business procedures are all included in the process of registering a new firm. During the registration procedure, initial registration costs for some account types must be paid.

How Do I Get a Business Permit?

You have three choices when applying for a business license: Figure out how you want to get it done.

  • File independently.
  • To get assistance with preparing your license applications, speak with a third-party filing agency.
  • Contact a qualified lawyer who can assist you in submitting your company license application.

Do I Need a Business License to Sell Online?

Whether a business conducts its operations online or through a physical location, it must have a business license. Companies must submit an application for a business license because it gives the government a tool to monitor businesses operating in the area and monitor tax income.


Long-term success depends on registering your firm and obtaining the required licenses and permissions. After completing those time-consuming tasks, you may return to the exciting aspects of starting and expanding your firm.

  1. How to Get a Business License: Step-by-step Procedures


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like