什么是税务欺诈? 常见类型和报告

什么是税务欺诈

税务欺诈。 这不仅仅是判断失误。 有几种类型的税务欺诈,都会受到处罚,如果没有足够的帮助和监督,一个小问题很容易失控。 国税局非常重视提交欺诈性纳税申报表或其他文件。 如果其检查发现重要信息,民事案件可能会转交给刑事税务调查员。 可能会导致逮捕和与税务相关的刑事指控。

因此,不要对税务欺诈指控掉以轻心,这一点很重要,也许这会帮助您更好地把握它。

什么是税务欺诈?

税务欺诈不仅仅是一个错误; 这是故意逃税。 税务欺诈指控的基石是被告故意或有目的的行为以避免纳税。 未能提交所得税申报表或准备虚假申报表就是两个例子。

虽然对单个错误的处罚可能看起来很严重,但对税务欺诈定罪的处罚要严重得多。 不报税可能导致最高一年的监禁和 100,000 美元的罚款,而试图逃税可能导致最高五年的监禁和 250,000 美元的罚款。

美国国税局如何确定税务欺诈?

根据美国国税局的规定,税务欺诈被定义为“故意和大量提交与申请和/或申报表有关的虚假陈述或伪造文件”。 为得出这一结论,调查人员将寻找任何欺诈迹象,包括但不限于:

  • 收入漏报
  • 使用虚构的社会安全号码
  • 文件伪造
  • 故意漏缴税款

如果缺少这些常见指标,美国国税局通常会认为由于疏忽而发生了意外错误。 虽然这通常不会导致税务欺诈的刑事指控,但您的税务错误可能会导致与准确性相关的罚款,相当于少缴税款的 20%。

如果受到这种处罚,任何人都可能会措手不及,这就是为什么在将所有税务信息提交给美国国税局之前仔细检查其至关重要的原因。 同样重要的是要记住,您有权聘请律师,尤其是当您认为自己被错误地指控犯有税务欺诈罪时。

了解税务欺诈

税务欺诈被定义为故意歪曲或遗漏纳税申报表中的数据。 美国的纳税人有法律义务自愿提交纳税申报表并缴纳正确数额的所得税、就业税、销售税和消费税。
通过歪曲或隐瞒信息而未能做到这一点是非法的,相当于税务欺诈。 美国国税局刑事调查 (CI) 部门负责调查税务欺诈。 当纳税人被证明有:

  • 他故意没有提交所得税申报表。
  • 他歪曲了他的事务的真实情况,以欺诈性地要求减税或抵免。
  • 他故意忽略支付他的税款债务。
  • 我准备并提交了一份虚假的退货单。
  • 故意遗漏报告收到的所有款项

进行税务欺诈的公司可能:

  • 故意不提交工资税申报表
  • 故意忽略报告支付给员工的部分或全部现金。
  • 雇用不向美国国税局报告资金的外部薪资机构。
  • 未能从员工薪水中扣除联邦所得税或 FICA(联邦保险供款)
  • 未能报告和支付任何预扣的工资税。

税务欺诈与疏忽或避税

例如,为不存在的受抚养人申请免税以尽量减少纳税义务显然是欺诈,而将长期资本利得率应用于短期收入可能需要进一步调查以确定是否是疏忽。 尽管归因于疏忽的错误是无意的,但美国国税局仍可能对疏忽的纳税人处以 20% 的少缴税款。 包括莱昂内尔·梅西在内的世界各地的名人都曾犯过税务欺诈罪。

鉴于美国税收制度是税收规则和法律的复杂汇编,许多税务编制者很容易犯愚蠢的错误。

税务欺诈不同于避税,后者是合法利用税收漏洞来减少纳税义务。 尽管逃税不直接违反法律,但税务机关对此不以为然,因为它可能会破坏税法的一般精神。

税务欺诈的类型

#1。 故意不缴纳所得税

据美国国税局称,大约六分之一的纳税人在某种程度上未能遵守税收规定。 如果联邦机构的估计是正确的,涉税逮捕人数应该比目前多得多。
美国国税局区分所得税欺诈和疏忽,这就是为什么您认识的人中并非每六人都面临刑事起诉。

税务欺诈是故意逃避纳税或欺骗国税局。 当个人或公司故意从事以下行为之一时,就会发生税务欺诈:

  • 故意不缴纳欠税
  • 故意不提交联邦所得税申报表
  • 未能报告所有收入
  • 提出虚假或欺诈性索赔

人们会犯错误。

不用说,税法又长又复杂,有时几乎无法理解——即使是受雇解释它们的会计师也是如此。 在这方面,美国国税局承认确实会发生错误,并且当 B 实际应用时,人们可能会假设 A 关于代码。

如果没有欺诈或其他犯罪行为的证据,美国国税局通常会假定您在申报表上犯了一个诚实的错误。 然而,这与该机构愿意宽恕的程度有关,因为即使是偶然的错误也可能导致纳税人受到 20% 的罚款。

在某些情况下,美国国税局认为意外错误构成故意欺骗。 在某些情况下,纳税人可能面临严厉的处罚,包括入狱。 许多人会寻求经验丰富的税法律师的帮助,以帮助他们处理与美国国税局的冲突。 在某些情况下,谈判可以在不需要刑事指控的情况下解决问题; 在其他情况下,需要积极的出庭代表。

#2。 提交无聊的纳税申报表

使美国伟大的众多因素之一就是表达我们想法的权利,即使这些意见与官方政府政策相抵触。 例如,人们可以争辩说联邦所得税违宪并且违反了宪法的许多修正案。

人们可以自由争论,但不能拒绝缴纳所得税。 据美国国税局称,由于一些认为所得税是非法、不道德和违宪的人口齿伶俐且具有说服力,一些人屈服于诱惑并以“不合理和荒谬的断言”提交申报表,以避免缴纳他们欠的税款。
当您提交申报表时,麻烦就开始了。

无论您访问的书或网站上的论点听起来多么公平,美国国税局几乎肯定以前听过,将其告上法庭并获胜。 事实上,对于那些以“无理论据”浪费法庭时间的人,处罚力度越来越大。

你可以争辩说只有联邦政府雇员才需要缴纳所得税,提交申报表是自愿的,或者美联储票据不是收入——反税论点一直在继续——但底线是你必须提交准确的所得税申报表。

其他类型的税务欺诈

IRS 的刑事调查 (CI) 部门负责调查税务欺诈、涉税洗钱以及合法企业通过各种欺诈手段赚取的非法收入。 CI 追究的罪行包括:

#1。 员工和工资税逃税:

工资税问题相当普遍。 美国国税局采取各种策略,包括少报劳动力人数、征收工资税(联邦失业税、社会保障税和预扣税)但不向国税局缴纳税款,以及私下向员工支付现金。

大多数人都知道提交虚假的所得税申报表可能会导致税务诉讼。 个人和报税员实施退税欺诈,在某些情况下, 身份盗窃 获得不劳而获的退税。 这也是虚假扣除、豁免和业务成本的领域。

#2。 滥用税收计划:

未能提交 FBAR 和 FATCA 等监管报告的美国纳税人可能面临美国国税局的刑事税务调查。 随着保密国家的发展,富人可能会寻求离岸避税天堂提供的更大的匿名性。 滥用税收计划与试图合法使用离岸税收资源的不知情者采用的税收替代方案之间的界限经常是模糊的。

如果您进行税务欺诈或逃税,美国国税局可能会介入。 但请记住,美国国税局目前资金不足且人手不足。 意图是任何税收违法行为的关键部分。 与拖欠纳税人的民事协议相比,与试图将同一纳税人定罪相比,花费的时间和金钱更少。

报税人欺诈

美国国税局经常指控报税员犯罪。 税务欺诈对被告及其客户来说都是严重的违法行为,尤其是如果客户知道或应该知道有人以他们的名义提交了虚假的纳税申报表。 以下是美国国税局最近的两项起诉:

一位来自北卡罗来纳州夏洛特的女士承认“协助和协助准备虚假纳税申报表”。 这名妇女承认了最普遍的税务准备欺诈类型,包括夸大费用、伪造虚假扣除额和声称不存在的学分。 由于她的行为,美国国税局损失的税款估计为 500,000 美元,她将面临最高三年的监禁、缓刑、赔偿和罚款。

一名罗德岛男子在 2011 年至 2015 年期间也因倾向于提交虚假纳税申报表而遭受类似后果。被告与北卡罗来纳州的税务准备人员一样,试图通过发明欺诈性扣除和虚增费用来增加客户的退款支票。 他还夸大了慈善捐款,伪造房屋抵押贷款和能源改善扣除额。

在更大的范围内,美国国税局关闭了佛罗里达州南部的一对税务准备者,他们现在面临禁令,并因其在欺骗美国国税局及其客户中的作用而永久失去他们的职业生涯。 报税公司使用上述相同类型的策略来增加客户纳税申报表的扣除额和费用,以最大限度地提高客户将收到的退款金额。 当退款到达时,税务人员在受害者不知情的情况下将多余的部分收入囊中。

为税务欺诈受害者采取的步骤

如果您或您认识的人成为与税务相关的身份盗窃的受害者,您可以采取以下预防措施:

  • 立即联系国税局。 如果您收到通知,请立即响应。 您也可以拨打美国国税局电话 800-908-4490 确保您的税务账户和社会安全号码的安全。
  • 填写并返回国税局身份盗窃宣誓书。 IRS 文件 14039,身份盗窃宣誓书,是 IRS 网站上提供的可填写表格,如果您尝试电子报税但由于重复报税而被拒绝,则应填写该表格。 填写、打印、附在您的纸质纳税申报表上,然后全部邮寄给美国国税局。
  • 继续纳税。 即使您怀疑与税务相关的身份盗窃,请继续缴纳常规税款并提交纸质纳税申报表。
  • 请联系联邦贸易委员会。 完成与 IRS 的所有工作后,请联系 FTC 并通过 identitytheft.gov 提交投诉。
  • 在您的信用档案中放置欺诈警告。 要在您的信用报告中设置欺诈警报,请联系三大信用报告公司之一(Equifax、Experian 或 TransUnion)。

不幸的是,即使您采取了所有这些预防措施,诈骗犯仍然可以窃取和使用您的身份——并且每年都会出现新的税务诈骗。

个人应了解的税务欺诈知识

税务欺诈是一个主要问题,不仅因为不缴纳应得的税款在道德上是错误的,而且因为它是非法的。 如果您试图欺骗美国国税局或其他税务机关,您可能会面临严厉的处罚或可能入狱。

请记住,支付少于您合法欠款的金额与做出合法、明智的减税决定不同,例如增加对免税账户的退休金供款。
到了报税的时候,您可能需要咨询税务专业人士或使用税务软件来帮助您获得尽可能多的合法税收减免和税收抵免。 但是,避免与鼓励您进行欺诈(例如少报您的收入)的人一起工作。

税务欺诈有多严重?

税务欺诈是一种严重的犯罪行为,可能导致罚款和监禁。 个人将面临最高 100,000 美元的罚款和 XNUMX 年监禁的税务欺诈。

不交税可以坐牢吗?

对于没有缴纳税款的人来说,没有所谓的“债务人监狱”。 如果美国国税局怀疑您存在欺诈或逃税行为,可能会对您处以民事欺诈处罚。 这些罚款按应纳税额的 75% 计算。

参考资料

0股
发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被公开。

你也许也喜欢

WHAT IS TAX FRAUD? Common Types and Reporting

What is Tax Fraud

Tax fraud. It’s more than just a lapse in judgment. There are several types of tax fraud, all with penalties, and it’s easy for a minor issue to spin out of hand without adequate assistance and supervision. The Internal Revenue Service takes filing a fraudulent tax return or other documents very seriously. If its examination reveals significant information, civil cases may be referred to criminal tax investigators. Arrests and tax-related criminal charges may result.

So it’s critical not to take a tax fraud charge lightly, and perhaps this will help you better grasp it.

What Is Tax Fraud?

Tax fraud is more than a mistake; it is a deliberate attempt to avoid paying taxes. The cornerstone of a tax fraud claim is that the accused acted willfully or purposefully in order to avoid paying taxes. Failure to file an income tax return or preparing a fake return are two examples.

Although the penalty for a single error may appear serious, the penalties for tax fraud convictions are far worse. Failure to file can result in up to a year in prison and a $100,000 punishment while attempting to evade taxes can result in up to five years in prison and a $250,000 fine.

How Does the IRS Determine Tax Fraud?

According to the IRS, tax fraud is defined as “the deliberate and significant submission of false statements or fake documents in connection with an application and/or return.” To reach this conclusion, investigators will seek any signs of fraud, including but not limited to:

  • Income underreporting
  • Using a fictitious Social Security number
  • Document falsification
  • Willfully omitting to pay taxes

If these frequent indicators are missing, the IRS usually thinks that an unintended error happened as a result of negligence. Though this usually does not result in criminal charges for tax fraud, errors with your taxes can result in an accuracy-related penalty equal to 20% of the underpayment.

Anyone could be caught off guard if they are given this penalty, which is why it’s critical to double-check all tax information before submitting it to the IRS. It’s also crucial to remember that you have the right to an attorney, especially if you believe you’ve been charged with tax fraud in error.

Understandiing Tax Fraud

Tax fraud is defined as the intentional misrepresentation or omission of data on a tax return. Taxpayers in the United States have a legal obligation to submit a tax return voluntarily and to pay the correct amount of income, employment, sales, and excise taxes.
Failure to do so by misrepresenting or withholding information is illegal and amounts to tax fraud. The Internal Revenue Service Criminal Investigation (CI) unit investigates tax fraud. Tax fraud is said to be evident when the taxpayer is shown to have:

  • He purposefully did not file his income tax return.
  • He misrepresented the true situation of his affairs in order to fraudulently claim tax deductions or credits.
  • He purposefully neglected to pay his tax debt.
  • I prepared and submitted a bogus return.
  • Knowingly omitted to report all money received

A company that commits tax fraud may:

  • Willfully failing to file payroll tax returns
  • Deliberately neglect to report some or all cash payments made to employees.
  • Employ an outside payroll agency that does not report funds to the IRS.
  • Failing to deduct federal income tax or FICA (Federal Insurance Contributions) from employee paychecks
  • Failure to report and pay any payroll taxes withheld.

Tax Fraud vs. Negligence or Avoidance

Claiming an exemption for a nonexistent dependent to minimize tax liabilities, for example, is clearly fraud, whereas applying the long-term capital gain rate to a short-term earning may be investigated further to establish whether it is negligence. Although errors attributed to negligence are unintentional, the IRS may nonetheless punish a negligent taxpayer with 20% of the underpayment. Tax fraud has been committed by celebrities all across the world, including Lionel Messi.

Given that the United States tax system is a complex compilation of tax rules and laws, many tax preparers are prone to make foolish mistakes.

Tax fraud is not the same as tax avoidance, which is the legitimate use of tax loopholes to decrease one’s tax liabilities. Although tax evasion is not a direct violation of the law, tax authorities frown on it since it may undermine the general spirit of tax law.

Types of Tax Fraud

#1. Willful Failure To Pay Income Taxes

According to the Internal Revenue Service, approximately one out of every six taxpayers fails to comply with the tax rules in some way. If the federal agency’s estimate is correct, the number of tax-related arrests should be substantially larger than it is presently.
The IRS distinguishes between income tax fraud and negligence, which is why not every sixth person you know is facing criminal prosecution.

Tax fraud is the deliberate attempt to avoid paying taxes or to defraud the IRS. Tax fraud occurs when a person or company willfully engages in one of the following:

  • Intentionally fails to pay owing taxes
  • Failure to file a federal income tax return on purpose
  • Failure to report all earnings
  • False or fraudulent claims are made

People make errors.

It goes without saying that the tax codes are long and complicated, and at times practically impossible to understand—even for accountants who are hired to interpret them. In this regard, the IRS accepts that mistakes do occur and that people may assume A about the code when B actually applies.

The IRS will usually presume you made an honest error on your returns if there is no proof of fraud or other criminal behavior. However, it is about the extent of the agency’s readiness to forgive, as even accidental errors can result in a 20% penalty to the taxpayer.

There are certainly instances where the IRS believes an unintended error constitutes a willful attempt to deceive. In some cases, the taxpayer may face severe penalties, including prison time. Many people will seek the assistance of skilled tax law attorneys to help them handle conflicts with the IRS. Negotiations in certain circumstances can result in a resolution of the issue without the need for criminal charges; in others, aggressive representation in court is required.

#2. Filing a frivolous tax return

One of the many things that make the United States great is the right to voice our thoughts, even when those opinions contradict official government policy. People can, for example, argue that the federal income tax is unconstitutional and breaches many amendments to the Constitution.

People are free to argue, but they are not allowed to refuse to pay their income taxes. Because some of those who believe that the income tax is illegitimate, immoral, and unconstitutional is articulate and persuasive, some people succumb to temptation and file returns with “unreasonable and absurd assertions” to avoid paying the taxes they owe, according to the IRS.
Trouble can start when you file that return.

No matter how fair the argument sounded in the book or website you visited, the IRS has almost certainly heard it before, taken it to court, and won. In fact, the sanctions for those who waste the court’s time with “frivolous arguments” are becoming stiffer.

You can argue that only federal government employees are subject to the income tax, that filing a return is voluntary, or that Federal Reserve notes are not income—the anti-tax arguments go on and on—but the bottom line is that you must file an accurate income tax return.

Other Types of Tax Fraud

The IRS’s Criminal Investigation (CI) unit investigates tax fraud, tax-related money laundering, and illicit revenues earned by legitimate businesses through a variety of fraudulent means. Among the offenses pursued by CI are:

#1. Employee and payroll tax evasion:

Payroll tax problems are rather common. The IRS pursues a variety of tactics, including underreporting workforce numbers, collecting payroll taxes (federal unemployment, social security, and withholding taxes) and failing to pay them over to the IRS, and paying employees in cash under the table.

Most people are aware that submitting a fake income tax return might result in tax litigation. Individuals and tax preparers commit refund fraud and, in certain cases, identity theft to get an unearned tax refund. This is also the domain of phony deductions, exemptions, and business costs.

#2. Abusive tax schemes:

US taxpayers who fail to file regulatory reports such as FBAR and FATCA may face a criminal tax inquiry by the IRS. With the growth of secrecy countries, wealthy individuals may seek the greater anonymity provided by offshore tax havens. The boundary between an abusive tax plan and a tax alternative employed by an unknowing person attempting to make lawful use of offshore tax resources is frequently blurred.

The IRS may become involved if you commit tax fraud or evasion. But keep in mind that the IRS is currently underfunded and understaffed. The intention is a key part of any tax offense. Working out a civil arrangement with a delinquent taxpayer takes less time and money than attempting to convict that same taxpayer of a criminal infraction.

Tax Preparer Fraud

The IRS often charges tax preparers with crimes. Tax fraud is a serious offense for both the accused and their clients, especially if the client knew or should have known that a fake tax return was filed on their behalf. Here are two recent IRS prosecutions:

A lady from Charlotte, North Carolina, admitted to “aiding and assisting in the preparation of a fake tax return.” The woman admitted to the most prevalent types of tax preparation fraud, including inflating expenses, fabricating false deductions, and claiming nonexistent school credits. The amount of tax lost to the IRS as a result of her actions is estimated to be $500,000, and she faces up to three years in prison, probation, restitution, and penalties.

A Rhode Island man likewise suffered similar consequences for his propensity of filing fake tax returns between 2011 and 2015. The accused, like the North Carolina tax preparer, attempted to increase his client’s refund checks by inventing fraudulent deductions and inflating expenses. He also inflated charitable contributions and forged house mortgages and energy-improvement deductions.

On a bigger scale, the IRS shut down a pair of Southern Florida tax preparers, who now face injunctions and the permanent loss of their careers for their role in defrauding the IRS and their clients. A tax preparation business used the same types of strategies outlined above to inflate deductions and expenses on their client’s tax returns in order to maximize the amount of the refund their client would receive. When the refund arrived, the tax preparers pocketed the excess without the victims’ knowledge.

Steps to take for victims of tax fraud

If you or someone you know becomes a victim of tax-related identity theft, here are some precautions you can take:

  • Contact the IRS right away. Respond immediately if you receive a notice. You can also call the IRS at 800-908-4490 to get your tax account and social security number secure.
  • Fill out and return an IRS Identity Theft Affidavit. IRS Document 14039, Identity Theft Affidavit, is a fillable form available on the IRS website that should be completed if you attempt to e-file your taxes and they are rejected due to duplicate filing. Fill it out, print it, attach it to your paper tax return, and mail it all to the IRS.
  • Continue to pay your taxes. Even if you suspect tax-related identity theft, continue to pay your regular taxes and file your tax return on paper.
  • Please contact the FTC. Once you’ve done everything you can to begin working with the IRS, contact the FTC and file a complaint through identitytheft.gov.
  • Put a fraud warning on your credit file. To place a fraud alert on your credit report, contact one of the three major credit reporting firms (Equifax, Experian, or TransUnion).

Unfortunately, even after you’ve taken all of these precautions, fraudsters can still steal and use your identity – and new tax scams emerge every year.

What Individuals Should Know About Tax Fraud

Tax fraud is a major problem, not just because it is morally wrong to not pay your fair share of taxes, but also because it is unlawful. If you try to defraud the IRS or other tax authorities, you could face severe penalties or possible prison time.

Remember that paying less than what you legally owe is not the same as making legal, smart tax-reduction decisions, such as increasing retirement contributions to tax-deductible accounts.
When it comes time to file your taxes, you may want to consult with a tax professional or use tax software to help you obtain as many lawful tax deductions and tax credits as possible. However, avoid working with someone who encourages you to commit fraud, such as underreporting your income.

How Serious is Tax Fraud?

Tax fraud is a serious offense that can result in fines and prison sentences. Individuals face a maximum punishment of $100,000 and a five-year prison sentence for tax fraud.

Can You Go to Jail for Not Paying Taxes?

There is no such thing as a “debtor’s prison” for persons who have not paid their taxes. If the IRS suspects you of fraud or evasion, it may levy civil fraud penalties against you. These fines are calculated at 75% of the tax payable.

References

0 Shares:
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You May Also Like