金融纪录片:新手和专业人士的 10 佳清单(更新)

最佳金融纪录片
图片来源:优酷

交易迅速发生。 壮观的汽车。 几叠现金。 有钱的经纪人。 不值得信任的高管。 这些项目之间有什么相同点和不同点? 他们经常出现在一些最大的金融大片/纪录片中。 好莱坞有着使娱乐业和在其中工作的人耸人听闻的传统。 如果您仍有疑问,请观看“华尔街”和“华尔街之狼”等电影。

但是,虽然这些电影很有趣,但它们并不总是描绘在金融行业工作的感觉。 相反,他们试图以扭曲的方式描绘金融部门。 然而,有一些大屏幕电影试图描绘金融专业人士及其客户的生活。 我们在这里采取了一种更实用的方法,纪录片制作人和作者已经探索过这种方法。 对于寻求提高技能的现有金融专业人士或希望进入该行业的有抱负的金融专业人士来说,金融纪录片是获得经验和专业知识的完美方式。 以下是您现在可以观看的十部最重要的纪录片的列表。

“内部工作”(2010 年)

关于 2008 年住房和银行业金融危机的最精良和最有见地的金融纪录片之一是“Inside Job”。 这部电影在 2010 年被提名为奥斯卡最佳纪录片奖。

此外,影片分为五个部分,带领观众了解导致美国全球金融危机的政策改革和银行业务。 它首先描述了经济是如何崩溃的,泡沫是如何在 2001 年至 2007 年之间爆发的,经济衰退是如何在 2008 年发生的,谁应该为危机负责,以及如何处理后果。

对于金融从业者来说,这是最重要的纪录片之一。 了解世界上最大的金融危机之一的经历使我们能够从以前的错误中吸取教训,以便预测类似的事情是否会再次发生并避免它。

“交易员”(1987)

《交易员》是一部纪录片,讲述了交易员保罗·都铎·琼斯的高潮和低谷。 对冲基金交易员琼斯使用直觉和艾略特波浪图正确预测了 1987 年的经济危机。

琼斯是个聪明人,但他仍然是个迷信的傻瓜。 这表明投资金融行业的许多人对机会的依赖几乎与专业知识和分析一样多。 做出正确的投资决策通常需要勇气和分析。

此外,这部纪录片还探讨了琼斯捐钱支持纽约市高中生毕业的故事。 这强调了为社会做出贡献而不是屈服于贪婪的重要性。

“25 万英镑”(1996 年)

通过观看“25 万英镑”,了解英国交易员尼克·里森 (Nick Leeson) 的真实故事,他的职业生涯始于摩根士丹利 (Morgan Stanley) 的职员,最终以流氓交易员的身份触犯法律,他打倒了一家老英国银行霸菱。 这家银行存放着上流社会的财富,包括女王本人。 真实的故事是如此令人信服,以至于它被改编成由伊万·麦格雷戈主演的电影,名为《流氓商人》。

得益于 25 年代初对 Leeson 的采访,“1990 万英镑”帮助金融从业者深入了解与不道德交易员合作甚至自己进行欺诈的人的想法。 采访显示,Leeson 与交易员 Kweku Adob​​oli 的友谊,后者从瑞银手中接管了超过 2 亿美元。

“破产”(2009 年)

“Breaking the Bank”是 PBS 在 Frontline 旗下制作的系列纪录片之一。 观众将了解美国银行业危机,由于美国银行不负责任的管理,近 500 亿美元的问题资产救助计划 (TARP) 资金被分配给他们。 这些资金将现金注入美国银行系统,确保该国最大的银行都不会破产。

尽管有些人声称救助对于防止美国大型银行倒闭是必要的,但其他人则认为该计划破坏了自由企业和资本主义。 通过在这部纪录片中研究美国银行业危机的复杂性,金融从业者将更深入地了解交织的经济以及自由市场如何应对危机。

“金钱的提升”(2008 年)

想要了解有关世界金融历史的所有信息的金融专业人士应该将“金钱的崛起”添加到他们必看的纪录片列表中。 历史学家尼尔·弗格森(Niall Ferguson)带领观众穿越金融世界。 他从巴比伦古城开始,到 2008 年的全球金融危机结束。

金融从业者通过了解世界深厚的金融历史,可以更好地洞察和理解金融世界的运作方式。 “货币的提升”试图通过说明历史事件来做到这一点,例如巴比伦期货合约和弗朗西斯科皮萨罗对塞罗里科德波托斯(Cerro Rico de Potos)的开采,这是一个供应欧洲的银矿。

“制高点”(2002 年)

《制高点:为世界经济而战》让金融从业者详细了解全球经济。 这部电影描绘了全球化的诞生。 此外,这部纪录片将观众带入俄罗斯并超越铁幕,深入探讨了全球化的根源,类似于上一部电影的深厚历史。

随后,“制高点”继续讨论国际货币基金组织 (IMF) 和世界银行对 1997 年亚洲金融危机的反应。该纪录片一直持续到 XNUMX 世纪末,当时放松管制成为常态。

《生命与债务》 

《生命与债务》 是一部纪录片,展示了债务如何加剧小国的问题。 这部电影为金融专业人士提供了关于通过举债救助整个国家的利弊的思考。 这还包括审查欧盟在此过程中对希腊和葡萄牙等陷入困境的国家的救助。 《人与债务》进一步调​​查了国债和国际货币基金组织政策对普通民众和小企业的影响。

前线纪录片

这些电影,包括“Inside Job”和 Frontline 的“Breaking the Bank”,帮助揭示了 2008 年的金融危机。 自大萧条以来最糟糕的一次。 《Inside Work》表现出色,对 2008 年金融危机进行了高层次的分析,同时仍然很有趣。 但这些 PBS 纪录片更深入地研究了原因和后果。

“警报”排名第九(2009)

“警报”向金融从业者表明,预测金融危机并试图阻止它是可能的。 这部电影从不同的角度审视了 2008 年的金融危机。 它讲述了商品期货交易委员会 (CFTC) 主席布鲁克斯利·博恩 (Brooksley Born) 的故事,他推动加强控制以防止危机。

“怪诞经济学:电影”(2010 年)

尽管《怪诞经济学》不仅仅是一部关于金融业的电影,但它确实提出了一些关于人们为什么会以某种方式行事的有趣假设。 这部金融纪录片展示了如何在看似随机的数据点之间建立因果关系和相关性。 了解是什么激励人们对金融专业人士来说很重要。

  1. 财经电影:新手和专业人士的最佳选择(更新)
  2. 9 部适合企业家的商业电影

0股
发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被公开。

你也许也喜欢

Finance Documentaries: Best 10 Listing for Newbies & Pros (Updated)

Best finance documentaries
Image Credit: Youtube

Deals that happen quickly. Spectacular automobiles. Several wads of cash. Brokers who are wealthy. Executives that aren’t trustworthy. What are the similarities and differences between these items? They’re often featured in some of the biggest finance blockbuster movies/ documentaries. Hollywood has a tradition of sensationalizing the entertainment industry and the people who work in it. Watch movies like “Wall Street” and “The Wolf of Wall Street” if you’re still in doubt.

But while these movies are entertaining, they don’t always portray what it’s like to work in the financial industry. Rather, they seek to portray the financial sector in a distorted light. However, there are large-screen movies that attempt to depict how life is for financial professionals and their clients. We take a more practical approach here, one that documentary filmmakers and authors have explored. Finance documentaries are a perfect way to gain experience and expertise for existing finance professionals seeking to improve their skills or aspiring finance professionals looking to break into the industry. The following is a list of ten of the most important documentaries that you can watch right now.

“Inside Job”  (2010)

One of the most well-made and insightful finance  documentaries on the 2008 housing and banking financial crisis is “Inside Job.” The film was nominated for an Academy Award for Best Documentary Picture in 2010.

Furthermore, the film is divided into five sections and takes the audience through the policy reforms and banking practices that contributed to the global financial crisis in the United States. It starts by describing how the economy was set up to crash, how the bubble exploded between 2001 and 2007, how the recession hit in 2008, who was to blame for the crisis, and how the aftermath was handled.

For finance practitioners, this is one of the most significant documentaries. Understanding the experience of one of the world’s biggest financial crises allows us to learn from previous errors in order to predict whether anything similar will happen again and avoid it.

“Trader” (1987)

“Trader” is a documentary that follows trader Paul Tudor Jones through his highs and lows. Jones, a hedge fund trader, correctly forecast the 1987 economic crisis using intuition as well as Elliott Wave graphs.

Jones is a brilliant guy, but he’s still a superstitious knucklehead. This demonstrates that many people in the investment finance industry depend on chance almost as much as expertise and analytics. Making the right investment decision often needs both guts and analysis.

Also the documentary also explores Jones as he donates his money to support New York City high school students graduate. This emphasizes the importance of contributing to the society rather than succumbing to greed.

“25 Million Pounds”  (1996)

Learn the true story of Nick Leeson, a British trader who began his career as a Morgan Stanley clerk and ended up breaking the law as a rogue trader who brought down Barings, an old British bank, by watching “25 Million Pounds.” This bank housed the wealth of the upper crust, including the Queen herself. The true story was so convincing that it was adapted into a film starring Ewan McGregor, titled “Rogue Trader.”

“25 Million Pounds” helps financial practitioners to look into the mind of someone who worked with unethical traders and even committed fraud himself, thanks to interviews with Leeson conducted in the early 1990s. Leeson’s friendship with trader Kweku Adoboli, who took over $2 billion from UBS, according to the interviews.

“Breaking the Bank”  (2009)

“Breaking the Bank” is one of a series of documentaries created by PBS under the Frontline banner. Viewers will learn about the American banking crisis, which resulted in nearly $500 billion in Troubled Asset Relief Program (TARP) funds being allocated to American banks as a result of their irresponsible management. These funds pumped cash into the American banking system, ensuring that none of the country’s biggest banks will go bankrupt.

Although some claim that the bailout was necessary to prevent the collapse of large American banks, others argue that the scheme undermined free enterprise and capitalism. Finance practitioners will gain deeper understanding of the interwoven economy and how the free market responds to a crisis by studying the complexities of the American banking crisis in this docmentary.

“Money’s Ascension” (2008)

Finance professionals who want to learn everything there is to know about the world’s financial past should add “The Ascent of Money” to their list of must-see documentaries. Historian Niall Ferguson takes viewers on a journey through the financial world.  He begins with the ancient city of Babylon and ends with the global financial crisis of 2008.

Finance practitioners gain a better insight and understanding of how the finance world works by learning about the world’s deep financial past. “The Ascension of Money” seeks to do so by illustrating historical events such as the Babylonian futures contracts and Francisco Pizarro’s exploitation of the Cerro Rico de Potos, a silver mine that supplied Europe.

“Commanding Heights”  (2002)

“Commanding Heights: The Fight for the World Economy” gives financial practitioners a detailed understanding of the global economy. The birth of globalization is depicted in this film. Furthermore,  bringing the audience into Russia and beyond the Iron Curtain, this documentary delves further into the roots of globalization, similar to the previous film’s deep history.

Following that, “Commanding Heights” goes on to discuss the International Monetary Fund’s (IMF) and World Bank’s responses to the Asian financial crisis of 1997. The documentary continues until the end of the twentieth century, when deregulation became the norm.

“Life and Debt” 

“Life and Debt” is a documentary film that shows how indebtedness exacerbates small countries’ problems. The film provides finance professionals with food for thought about the advantages and disadvantages of bailing out whole countries by debt lending.  This also includes examining the European Union’s rescue of floundering countries such as Greece and Portugal in the process. “Life and Debt” further investigates the effect of national debt and IMF policy on ordinary people and small businesses.

Documentaries from the Front Lines

These films, including “Inside Job” and Frontline’s “Breaking the Bank,” help bring the 2008 financial crisis to light. The worst since the Great Depression.  “Inside Work” does an excellent job by delivering a high-level analysis of the 2008 financial crisis while still being entertaining. But these PBS documentaries delve further into the causes and consequences.

“The Alert” is number nine (2009)

“The Alert” demonstrates to finance practitioners that it is possible to predict a financial crisis and try to prevent it. This film examines the 2008 financial crisis, albeit from a different perspective. It takes up the story of Brooksley Born, the chairman of the Commodity Futures Trading Commission (CFTC), who pushed for tighter control to prevent the crisis.

“Freakonomics: The Movie” (2010)

Though “Freakonomics” isn’t purely a film about the financial industry, it does present a number of intriguing hypotheses about why people act in some ways. The finance documentary demonstrates how causality and correlation can be established between seemingly random data points. Understanding what motivates people is important for finance professionals.

  1. Finance Movies: All-Time Top Picks for Newbies & Pros (Updated)
  2. 9 Business Movies for Entrepreneur

0 Shares:
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You May Also Like