2023 年北卡罗来纳飓风季

北卡罗来纳飓风季节
图片来源:维基百科

您是否正在考虑参观北卡罗来纳州海岸? 因此,您很好奇 2023 年大西洋飓风季何时开始和结束。 大西洋飓风季节一般从 1 月 30 日持续到 15 月 30 日,而东太平洋飓风形成时间为 2023 月 1 日到 30 月 XNUMX 日。但是,XNUMX 年北卡罗来纳州飓风季节到底什么时候开始? 北卡罗来纳州的飓风季节从 XNUMX 月正式开始,到 XNUMX 月结束,高峰期为 XNUMX 月、XNUMX 月和 XNUMX 月。 一般来说,在飓风风险方面,北卡罗来纳州是美国第四大危险州。 Tar Heel State 居民在 XNUMX 月、XNUMX 月和 XNUMX 月期间应特别警惕,这是大西洋飓风季节(正式开始于 XNUMX 月 XNUMX 日并于 XNUMX 月 XNUMX 日结束)的飓风高峰期。

北卡罗来纳州的飓风季节是几月份?

北卡罗来纳州从 1 月 30 日到 14 月 2018 日经历飓风季节。虽然 4 月到 10 月是旺季,但飓风可以而且确实会在一年中的任何时间登陆。 例如,飓风佛罗伦萨于 4 年 XNUMX 月 XNUMX 日登陆北卡罗来纳州,等级为 XNUMX 级风暴,并在全州造成广泛破坏。 XNUMX 月 XNUMX 日,飓风迈克尔作为 XNUMX 级风暴登陆北卡罗来纳州。

北卡罗来纳州的飓风高峰季节是什么时候?

八月到十月是北卡罗来纳州最容易遭受飓风袭击的时期。 自 1851 年以来,北卡罗来纳州遭受了登陆美国的 58 次飓风中的 301 次。 这些飓风的强度从 1 级到 5 级不等。

例如,2018 年 22 月,飓风佛罗伦萨是袭击北卡罗来纳州的最新一场大飓风,在整个柏油足跟州造成估计 XNUMX 亿美元的损失。 最近的历史表明,XNUMX 月和 XNUMX 月是该州风暴活动的高峰期。

这是 NOAA 对 2023 年飓风季节的预测。

  • 我们预计会有 14 到 21 场风暴被命名。
  • 其中六到十个可能会发展成风暴(风速为 74 英里/小时或更高)
  • 大约 3-6 场大飓风(3 级、4 级或 5 级)(风速为 111 英里/小时或更高)

萨菲尔-辛普森飓风风级。

在飓风季节,美国沿海地区的许多人离开家园到更远的内陆寻求庇护。 但是,如果人们担心飓风登陆,他们可能会冒不必要的风险。 如果飓风正在威胁您所在的地区,了解如何阅读萨菲尔-辛普森飓风风力等级至关重要,这样您才能做好相应准备。

为了量化飓风的破坏潜力,采用了 Saffir-Simpson 风力等级。 1 级风暴的风力最小,而 5 级风暴的风力最大。 1 级飓风的最大持续风速为每小时 74 到 95 英里,如上表所示。

此外,最大持续风速为每小时 5 英里或更高的 157 级风暴造成广泛破坏的风险很高。 房屋和其他建筑物对他们来说并不安全。 因此,您应该立即离开 5 级风暴的路径。

如何为北卡罗来纳州的飓风季节做好准备

您可以做很多事情来为飓风做好准备。 规划好疏散路线、补给储备和可靠的游戏计划都是必不可少的。

一般来说,作为飓风多发地区的居民,您应该时刻做好准备。 制定飓风来临时的计划,并在必要时离开是做好准备的重要部分。 确保所有家庭成员都知道并可以使用该计划。

确保手头有足够的用品。 食物、饮料、电池和电灯等必需品都属于这一类。 此外,如果您住在飓风多发地区,投资发电机可能是明智的预防措施。 

最后一件事:计划一条逃生路线。 如果飓风来临时,请做好快速撤离的准备。

盘点风暴过后的损失和恢复工作

暴风雨过后,是时候盘点损失并着手修复了。 一般来说,如果您发现自己有需要,总能获得支持。 如果您正在寻找有关北卡罗来纳州灾难援助计划的详细信息,您可以查阅该州公共安全部提供的灾难恢复中心列表。

为飓风季节做好准备至关重要。 因此,如果飓风来临时,您应该做好准备并知道该怎么做。 每年的这个时候,请注意避免伤害。

北卡罗来纳州多久遭受一次飓风袭击?

根据北卡罗来纳州气候办公室对 1883 年至 1996 年间沿岸飓风活动的统计分析,热带气旋平均每四年登陆一次。 据估计,该州受到北大西洋所有热带气旋的 17.5% 的影响。

北卡罗来纳州每年都会遭遇飓风吗?

自 1851 年以来,北卡罗来纳州自然资源部一直密切关注热带风暴,其记录揭示了每年飓风登陆该州的可能性。

从 169 年到 1851 年的 2020 年间,共有 84 个热带气旋登陆北卡罗来纳州,年平均 2 个。

飓风登陆北卡罗来纳州的平均频率约为每 3.25 年一次,共有 84 场热带风暴,其中 52 场是飓风。

仅仅因为飓风平均每三年登陆北卡罗来纳州一次,并不意味着它会在 2022 年登陆。

北卡罗来纳州是否受到飓风袭击?

由于其漫长的海岸线,北卡罗来纳州基本上是最容易遭受飓风袭击的州之一。 在过去的 20 年里,飓风影响了该州的每个地方,从海岸和海洋到高地。

北卡罗来纳州的哪个地区不受飓风影响?

夏洛特

尽管夏洛特处于飓风多发状态,但其内陆位置使其能够避开最严重的风暴。 地震、火灾和龙卷风等其他危险的自然灾害不太可能袭击该地区。

北卡罗来纳州的哪个部分遭受的飓风最多?

调查结果显示,北卡罗来纳州外滩附近的哈特拉斯角是该国最严重的地区。 自 108 年以来,已有 1871 次飓风或热带风暴袭击这座城市。因此,这座沿海城市预计每 1.33 年就会遭受一次风暴袭击。

飓风最安全的州是什么?

新罕布什尔

与佛蒙特州和缅因州接壤的新罕布什尔州发生地震和龙卷风的风险也较低。 由于新罕布什尔州位于北部,大多数飓风在袭击新罕布什尔州之前会大大减弱。

北卡罗来纳州哪个月份的飓风最多?

在 58 月到 301 月期间,北卡罗来纳州最容易遭受飓风袭击。 自 1851 年以来袭击美国的 1 次飓风中,北卡罗来纳州遭受了 5 次袭击。这些飓风的强度从 XNUMX 级风暴到 XNUMX 级飓风不等。

2018 年 22 月,飓风佛罗伦萨是袭击北卡罗来纳州的最新一场大飓风,估计在焦油跟州造成 XNUMX 亿美元的损失。 最近的历史表明,XNUMX 月和 XNUMX 月是该州风暴活动的高峰期。

如何为北卡罗来纳飓风季节做准备

由于风暴袭击该州的频率很高,北卡罗来纳州需要提前为飓风季节做好准备。 以下是您可以在暴风雨之前、期间和之后采取的一些预防措施,以保护您的房屋和亲人。

风暴前

  • 投资洪水保险
  • 在暴风雨袭来之前检查您的房屋保险单是否有足够的风力保险。
  • 制定工具包和应急计划
  • 认清你的逃生路线
  • 保护您的财产。
  • 观察每小时的天气预报
  • 给你的汽车加满油

暴风雨期间

  • 跟上天气预报
  • 关闭风暴之门
  • 如果当局指示这样做,请关闭电源、水和煤气。
  • 如果政府人员告诉您离开住所,请立即离开。
  • 抵消丙烷罐
  • 在没有窗户的房间、浴室或走廊避难。
  • 如果您不能离开家,请待在室内并远离窗户和门。

风暴过后

  • 要找到您所在地区最近的避难所,请将 SHELTER + 您的邮政编码发送至 43362 (4FEMA)。
  • 避免电线松弛或倒塌。
  • 跟上区域警报
  • 避免使用被洪水淹没或被冲毁的道路。
  • 拍摄损坏情况。
  • 如果可以,对您的房屋进行临时、紧急维修并保留发票。
  • 向您的保险公司提交索赔。

哪些州从未经历过飓风?

在地图上,大西洋中部海岸上方有一个巨大的空白区域,显示了自 1851 年以来飓风在美国登陆的地点。特拉华州、马里兰州和弗吉尼亚州从未受到直接袭击。

美国飓风袭击最频繁的地方是哪里?

自 1851 年建立萨菲尔/辛普森飓风等级以来,佛罗里达州经历的飓风比其他任何州都多,这大概不足为奇。 由于位于大西洋或墨西哥湾之间,它通常容易受到来自大西洋或墨西哥湾的风暴的影响。

事实上,自 41 年以来,在袭击美国的 292 次飓风中,佛罗里达州受到了超过 1851% 的影响。得克萨斯州是经历风暴频率第二高的州,考虑到墨西哥湾是因产生一些非常强大的飓风而臭名昭著。

然而,北卡罗来纳州是飓风最频繁的州,不与墨西哥湾接壤,自 55 年以来已遭受 1851 次飓风袭击,成为美国第三大飓风频发州。

美国受飓风袭击最多的 10 个州是哪些?

从 10 年到 1851 年的飓风季节,有记录的前 2018 个飓风州如下:

1. 佛罗里达州:120 次飓风(37 次飓风从 3 级到 5 级)

2. 得克萨斯州 64 次飓风(19 次为 3 级至 5 级飓风)

3. 北卡罗来纳州:55 次飓风(7 次为 3 级至 5 级飓风)

4. 路易斯安那州:54 次飓风(17 次为 3 级至 5 级飓风)

5. 南卡罗来纳州:30 次飓风(5 次为 3 级至 5 级)

6. 阿拉巴马州有 24 次飓风(5 次是 3 级到 5 级)

7. 佐治亚州 22 次飓风(3 次为 3 级至 5 级)

8. 密西西比 19 次飓风(8 次为 3 级至 5 级)

9. 纽约:15 次飓风(3 次飓风从 3 级到 5 级)

10. 马萨诸塞州 12 次飓风(1 次是 3 级飓风)

得知佛罗里达遭受飓风袭击的次数几乎是得克萨斯州的两倍,您可能会感到惊讶,也可能不会感到惊讶,后者是经历第二多的州。 鉴于卡特里娜飓风是有史以来最具灾难性的自然灾害之一,您可能还会对路易斯安那州排名第四感到震惊。

另一方面,美国的太平洋沿岸从未直接遭受飓风袭击,尽管太平洋飓风季节通常会在墨西哥附近刮起风暴,然后再返回大海前往夏威夷。

总结

飓风似乎每年都会接二连三地袭击美国。 然而,前两个赛季的那三场灾难性飓风可能只能归咎于这个想法。

过去两个飓风季节见证了飓风迈克尔、哈维和艾尔玛的出现,它们是袭击美国的十大最具破坏性的风暴之一。 然而,这种规模的飓风并不总是常见的。

因此,北卡罗来纳州需要提前为飓风季节做好准备,因为风暴袭击该州的频率很高。 作为北卡罗来纳州的居民,您可以做很多事情来为飓风做好准备。 规划好疏散路线、补给储备和可靠的游戏计划都是必不可少的。

北卡罗来纳飓风季节常见问题解答

北卡罗来纳州哪里会发生飓风?

一般来说,飓风在过去二十年袭击了北卡罗来纳州的每个地区。 然而,北卡罗来纳州的海岸特别容易受到飓风和洪水的影响。

北卡罗来纳州是否有遭受飓风的风险?

谈到飓风,北卡罗来纳州是最脆弱的州之一。 该州伸入大西洋的突出海岸线就像捕手的手套,在风暴沿着海岸前进时将其吸入。

参考

0股
发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被公开。

你也许也喜欢

NORTH CAROLINA HURRICANE SEASON 2023

NORTH CAROLINA HURRICANE SEASON
Image Source: Wikipedia

Are you thinking of visiting the North Carolina coast? As such, you’re curious about when the 2023 Atlantic hurricane season will begin and end. The Atlantic hurricane season generally runs from June 1 to November 30, while hurricanes form in the Eastern Pacific from May 15 to November 30. But, when exactly does the 2023 North Carolina hurricane season begin? North Carolina hurricane season officially begins in June and ends in November, with the peak months being August, September, and October. Generally, in hurricanes risk, North Carolina ranks as the fourth most dangerous state in the United States. Tar Heel State residents should be especially vigilant during the months of August, September, and October, which are peak hurricane months in the Atlantic hurricane season (which officially begins on June 1 and ends on November 30).

What Months is Hurricane Season in NC?

North Carolina experiences hurricane season from June 1 through November 30. Although September through November is peak season, hurricanes can and do make landfall at any time of year. For instance, Hurricane Florence made landfall in North Carolina on September 14, 2018, as a Category 4 storm and caused extensive damage across the state. While, on October 10 as a Category 4 storm, Hurricane Michael made landfall in North Carolina.

When is the Peak Hurricane Season in North Carolina?

The months of August through October, this is when North Carolina is most vulnerable to hurricanes. Since 1851, North Carolina has been hit by 58 of the 301 hurricanes that have made landfall in the United States. These hurricanes have ranged in intensity from Category 1 to Category 5.

In September of 2018 for instance, Hurricane Florence was the latest big hurricane to hit North Carolina, causing an estimated $22 billion in damages across the Tar Heel State. Recent history shows that September and October are peak months for storm activity in the state.

Here is NOAA’s prediction for the 2023 hurricane season.

  • We can expect between 14 and 21 storms to be named.
  • Six to ten of them might develop into storms (wind speeds of 74 mph or higher)
  • A range of roughly 3–6 major hurricanes (Category 3, 4, or 5) (wind speeds of 111 mph or higher)

Saffir-Simpson Hurricane Wind Scale.

During hurricane season, many people in coastal areas of the United States leave their homes and seek shelter further inland. However, people may take unwarranted chances if they are worried about a hurricane making landfall. If a hurricane is threatening your area, it is crucial that you know how to read the Saffir-Simpson Hurricane Wind Scale so that you can prepare accordingly.

In order to quantify the destructive potential of hurricanes, the Saffir-Simpson Wind Scale is employed. Category 1 storms have the least powerful winds, while Category 5 storms have the most. Maximum sustained winds for a Category 1 hurricane range from 74 to 95 miles per hour, as shown in the preceding table.

In addition, there is a high risk of widespread devastation from a Category 5 storm, which has maximum sustained winds of 157 miles per hour or more. Homes and other structures are not safe from them. Hence, you should leave the path of a Category 5 storm immediately.

How to Get Ready for Hurricane Season in North Carolina

You can do a lot to get ready for a hurricane. Having an evacuation route planned out, a supply cache, and a solid game plan are all essential.

Generally, as a resident of a hurricane-prone region, you should always be prepared. Having a plan for when a hurricane is approaching, and if necessary, leaving is an important part of being prepared. Ensure that all family members are aware of and can access the plan.

Be sure to have enough supplies on hand. Such necessities as food, drink, batteries, and lights fall under this category. In addition, if you live in a hurricane-prone area, investing in a generator could be a wise precaution. 

One last thing: plan an escape route. Be ready to make a quick exit if a hurricane is approaching.

Taking Stock of Damages and Restoration Efforts After the Storm

After the storm has passed, it’s time to take stock of the damage and get to work fixing it. Generally, there is always support available to you if you find yourself in need. If you are looking for details on North Carolina’s disaster aid programs, you can consult the list of Disaster Recovery Centers provided by the state’s Department of Public Safety.

Being ready for hurricane season is crucial. Hence, if a hurricane is approaching, you should be prepared and know what to do. During this time of year, please take care to avoid harm.

How often is North Carolina hit by hurricanes?

According to the North Carolina State Climatology Office’s statistical analysis of hurricane activity along the coast between 1883 and 1996, a tropical cyclone makes landfall once every four years, on average.  The state has been impacted by an estimated 17.5 percent of all tropical cyclones in the North Atlantic.

Does North Carolina Get Hurricanes Every Year?

Since 1851, the North Carolina Department of Natural Resources has been keeping tabs on tropical storms, and its records reveal the annual likelihood of a hurricane making landfall in the state.

Over the 169-year period from 1851 to 2020, a total of 84 tropical cyclones made landfall in North Carolina or an annual average of 2.

The average frequency of a hurricane making landfall in North Carolina is around once every 3.25 years, with 84 tropical storms, 52 of which were hurricanes.

Just because a hurricane makes landfall in North Carolina on average once every three years doesn’t mean it will in 2022.

Is North Carolina Hit by Hurricanes?

Because of its long coastline, North Carolina is basically one of the states most at risk of being hit by a hurricane. In the previous 20 years, hurricanes have impacted every part of the state, from the coast and the sea to the highlands.

What Part of North Carolina is Safe from Hurricanes?

Charlotte

Though Charlotte is in a hurricane-prone state, its inland location allows it to avoid the worst of the storms. Other dangerous natural disasters, such as earthquakes, fires, and tornadoes, are not likely to strike the region.

What Part of NC Gets the Most Hurricanes?

The findings show that Cape Hatteras, near North Carolina’s Outer Banks, is the worst area in the country. There have been 108 hurricanes or tropical storms that hit the city since 1871. As a result, the coastal city can expect to be pounded by a storm once every 1.33 years.

What is the Safest State from Hurricanes?

New Hampshire

New Hampshire, which borders both Vermont and Maine, also has a low risk of earthquakes and tornadoes. Most hurricanes weaken considerably before hitting New Hampshire because of its northern location.

What month does North Carolina have the most hurricanes?

During the months of August through October, North Carolina is most vulnerable to hurricanes. North Carolina has been hit by 58 of the 301 hurricanes that have hit the United States since 1851. These hurricanes have ranged in intensity from a Category 1 storm to a Category 5 hurricane.

In September of 2018, Hurricane Florence was the latest big hurricane to hit North Carolina, causing an estimated $22 billion in damages across the Tar Heel State. Recent history shows that September and October are peak months for storm activity in the state.

How to Prepare for North Carolina Hurricane Season

North Carolinians need to get ready for hurricane season in advance because of the frequency with which storms strike the state. Here are some precautions you may take before, during, and after the storm to protect your house and loved ones.

Before the Storm

  • Invest in flood insurance
  • Check that your house insurance policy has adequate wind coverage before the storm hits.
  • Make a kit and contingency plan
  • Recognize your escape routes
  • Protect your property.
  • Observe hourly weather reports
  • Fill up your cars with gas

During the Storm

  • Keep up with the weather reports
  • Close the storm doors
  • If instructed to do so by authorities, turn off the power, water, and gas.
  • If you are told to leave your residence by government agents, do so immediately.
  • OFFSET the propane tanks
  • Take refuge in a room, bathroom, or hallway without windows.
  • Stay inside and keep away from windows and doors if you can’t leave your house.

Following the Storm

  • To locate the closest shelter in your region, text SHELTER + your ZIP code to 43362 (4FEMA).
  • Avoid slack or downed electrical lines.
  • Keep up with regional alerts
  • Avoid using flooded or washed-out roadways.
  • Photograph the damage.
  • If you can, make interim, urgent repairs to your house and keep the invoices.
  • Submit a claim to your insurance provider.

Which States Have Never Experienced Hurricanes?

There is a huge blank space above the Mid-Atlantic coast on a map showing where hurricanes have made landfall in the United States since 1851. Delaware, Maryland, and Virginia have never been directly hit.

Where in the United States Do Hurricanes Strike Most Frequently?

Since the Saffir/Simpson scale was established in 1851, Florida has experienced more hurricanes than any other state, which presumably comes as no surprise. It is generally vulnerable to storms that originate from either the Atlantic Ocean or the Gulf of Mexico due to its placement between both.

In fact, Florida has been impacted by more than 41% of the 292 hurricanes that have struck the United States since 1851. Texas is the state that experiences storms the second most frequently, which may not surprise many people given that the Gulf of Mexico is notorious for producing some very powerful hurricanes.

However, North Carolina is the most hurricane-prone state that does not border the Gulf of Mexico and has been hit by 55 hurricanes since 1851, making it the third most hurricane-prone state in the United States.

What are the Top 10 States that Hurricanes Hit the Most in the United States?

The top 10 hurricane states on record, from hurricane seasons in 1851 through 2018, are as follows:

1. Florida: 120 hurricanes (37 were Category 3 through Category 5)

2. Texas 64 hurricanes (19 were Category 3 through Category 5)

3. North Carolina: 55 hurricanes (7 were Category 3 through Category 5)

4. Louisiana: 54 hurricanes (17 were Category 3 through Category 5)

5. South Carolina: 30 hurricanes (5 were Category 3 through Category 5)

6. Alabama had 24 hurricanes (5 were Category 3 through Category 5)

7. Georgia 22 hurricanes (3 were Category 3 through Category 5)

8. Mississippi 19 hurricanes (8 were Category 3 through Category 5)

9. New York: 15 hurricanes (3 were Category 3 through Category 5)

10. Massachusetts 12 hurricanes (1 was a Category 3)

You might or might not be surprised to learn that Florida has had nearly twice as many hurricane strikes than Texas, the state that has experienced the second-most. Given that Hurricane Katrina was one of the most catastrophic natural disasters ever, you might also be shocked to see that Louisiana came in at number four.

On the other hand, the Pacific Coast of the United States has never been directly hit by a hurricane, despite the fact that there is a Pacific hurricane season that normally takes storms near Mexico before turning back to sea toward Hawaii.

Conclusion

Hurricanes appear to strike the United States in quick succession every year. However, those three catastrophic hurricanes in the previous two seasons may only be to blame for that idea.

The last two hurricane seasons saw the occurrence of Hurricanes Michael, Harvey, and Irma, which are among the ten most destructive storms to strike the United States. However, hurricanes of this magnitude haven’t always been common.

As such, North Carolinians need to get ready for hurricane season in advance because of the frequency with which storms strike the state. You can do a lot as an inhabitant of North Carolina to get ready for a hurricane. Having an evacuation route planned out, a supply cache, and a solid game plan are all essential.

North Carolina Hurricane Season FAQs

Where in North Carolina do hurricanes occur?

Generally, hurricanes have hit every region of North Carolina over the past two decades. However, North Carolina’s coast is particularly vulnerable to hurricanes and floods.

Is North Carolina at risk for hurricanes?

When it comes to hurricanes, North Carolina is one of the most vulnerable states. The state’s protruding shoreline into the Atlantic acts like a catcher’s glove, sucking in storms as they make their way up the coast.

Reference

0 Shares:
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You May Also Like