建筑贷款:要求及其运作方式

建设贷款
Houseplans.co

买家经常发现特定的住宅满足了他们的大部分需求,而其他住宅满足的却很少。 这迫使您妥协并将您的一些“必备品”降级为“不错的”,这不会破坏交易。
不想放弃一英寸的目标和需求? 如果您的理想家不可用(或什至不存在),您可以随时创建一个。 这使您可以设计完美的房屋,而不必担心购买以前居住过的房产的弊端。但是,要为该项目融资,您需要了解建筑贷款。 让我们来了解一下建筑贷款的运作方式、不同的类型、利率及其要求。

什么是建筑贷款?

建筑贷款是一种短期贷款,仅涵盖定制房屋建筑的支出。 这不是抵押贷款,被归类为特殊融资。 房屋建成后,准居住者必须申请抵押贷款以支付费用。

但是,可以使用各种房屋建设贷款,从地面建设到整个物业的全面翻新。 无论您是从零开始获得土地贷款还是完全翻新房屋,都可能有适合您的贷款。

建筑贷款如何运作?

建筑贷款通常由定制建造自己房屋的建筑商或购房者获得。 它们是短期贷款,通常只持续一年。 房屋完工后,借款人可以将建筑贷款再融资为永久抵押贷款,也可以获得新贷款以偿还建筑贷款(也称为“期末贷款”)。 虽然项目仍在进行中,但借款人可能只需要支付建筑贷款的利息。 一些建筑贷款可能要求在项目结束前全额支付余额。

如果借款人通过建筑贷款建造房屋,贷款人可以直接将资金支付给承包商而不是借款人。 随着项目进入新的开发阶段,可以分期付款。 建筑贷款可用于资助修复和修复项目以及新住宅的建设。

建筑贷款的范围是什么?

每个项目都是独一无二的,但一般来说,建设贷款涵盖以下费用:

  • 土地。
  • 计划、许可证和费用
  • 材料和劳动力
  • 结算费用。
  • 应急准备金(以防项目成本超过估计)。
  • 利息准备金(如果您不想在建设时支付利息)。

不同类型的建筑贷款

#1。 建设永久贷款

你借钱来支付建造房屋的费用,使用建设到永久贷款,一旦房子完工并且你搬进来,贷款就会转换为永久抵押贷款。

从施工到永久的方法的优点是您必须支付一组结算成本,从而降低您的总体费用。

当贷款从建筑转变为永久时,它就变成了定期抵押贷款,贷款期限为 15 至 30 年。 然后,您支付的款项包括利息和本金。 届时,您可以在固定利率和可调利率抵押贷款之间进行选择。 其他选择包括 FHA 建设到永久贷款,其批准条件不那么严格,并且可以使一些借款人受益,或者如果您是合格的退伍军人,则可以提供 VA 建筑贷款。

#2。 仅建设贷款

仅建设贷款提供完成房屋建设所需的资金。 尽管如此,借款人还是有责任在到期时(通常是一年或更短时间)全额偿还贷款,或者通过抵押寻求永久融资。

这些建设贷款根据项目完成的百分比支付资金,借款人只负责支付所提取资金的利息。

如果您需要永久抵押贷款,从长远来看,仅建设贷款可能会更贵,因为您必须完成两个不同的贷款程序并支付两套费用。 结算费用可能会花费数千美元,因此避免另一组是有利的。

另一个需要考虑的因素是您的财务状况可能会在施工期间恶化。 如果您失去工作或遭受另一次挫折,您将来可能无法获得抵押贷款的资格——因此可能无法搬入新家。

#3。 装修贷款

如果您想升级现有房屋而不是建造房屋,您可以研究房屋装修贷款替代方案。 根据您在项目上花费的资金,这些可以采取各种形式。

“如果房主想要在改造上花费不到 20,000 美元,他们可以考虑通过个人贷款或使用信用卡为项目融资,”卡明斯基说。 “如果房主已经在他们的房产中建立了资产,那么房屋资产贷款或信用额度可能适合从 25,000 美元左右开始进行改善。”

在当前的低抵押贷款利率环境下,现金再融资是另一种现实的选择,在这种情况下,房主以比现有贷款更大的金额获得新的抵押贷款,并一次性获得差额。

在大多数情况下,贷方不要求房主披露现金的使用方式。 预算、策略和付款都由房主管理。 其他类型的融资要求贷方评估建筑商,检查预算并监督抽签时间表。

#4。 业主建造商的建筑贷款

Owner-builder 贷款是建筑对永久或仅建筑贷款,其中借款人也充当房屋建筑商。

由于建造房屋的复杂性和遵守建筑规则所需的技能,大多数贷方不会允许借款人充当他们的建造者。 只有当借款人是通过贸易获得许可的建筑商时,才会启用它的贷方通常会这样做。

#5。 结束贷款

根据卡明斯基的说法,最终贷款只是房产建成后房主的抵押贷款。 建设贷款在整个建设阶段使用,并在项目完成后偿还。 然后借款人将不得不偿还他们的平均抵押贷款,通常称为最终贷款。

常见的建筑贷款要求

建筑贷款对贷方来说风险更大,因此获得授权更难是可以理解的。 这是贷方的看法。

#1。 您的信用评分:

就像典型的抵押贷款一样,贷方会考虑您的信用评分。 大多数传统和美国农业部建筑贷款要求信用评分为 620。VA 建筑贷款没有最低要求。 但是,贷方通常希望信用评分至少为 620。FHA 建筑贷款需要至少 580 的信用评分。

#2。 首付

虽然您会假设建筑贷款的首付较高,但它们与标准抵押贷款相同。 FHA 建筑贷款需要 HUD 批准的项目首付 3.5%,非 HUD 批准的项目首付 10%。 弗吉尼亚州建筑贷款不需要首付,美国农业部建筑贷款要求最低首付 10%,而传统建筑贷款通常要求首付 5% 或更多。

#3。 施工方案及规格:

贷方还想知道您打算创建的具体内容。 他们将要求房屋和规格的蓝图,并且必须验证计划是否满足您所在位置的所有必需的建筑规范。 房屋估价师需要研究这些规格以确定它们的价值,这将决定您的贷款金额。

#4。 建筑承包商和贷方审查:

除非您是经过认证的总承包商,否则您需要聘请一位来建造您的房屋。 贷款人还将审查参与建设的承包商。 因此,选择一个有经验的人是至关重要的。 您的承包商是该过程的重要组成部分。 贷方会想知道项目的预算和现金流量预测。 贷方通常必须评估和批准您与承包商之间的建筑合同。

我如何获得建筑贷款?

以下是获得建筑贷款的基本流程:

  • 检查您是否有资格参加任何特殊计划。 如果您有兴趣,请查看 FHA 或 VA 建筑贷款的要求和流程。
  • 获得预先批准。 在您投入大量工作之前,请预先获得批准,这样您就可以确切地知道您的预算是多少。
  • 找到你的土地和建筑商。 检查您的建筑商是否满足您预先批准的贷方制定的任何建筑贷款要求。 特别注意执照和保险。
  • 完成文书工作。 与建筑商一起完成计划并将所有文件提交给贷方。 作为下一阶段的一部分,贷方可能会下令进行评估和检查。
  • 完成贷款。 当您在虚线上签名时,抵押关闭程序就完成了。 一旦一切都签署并获得资金,您的建筑商就可以开始工作了。

建筑贷款利率

并非每个贷方都提供建筑贷款。 首先与当地银行和信用合作社交谈。 建筑贷款利率通常高于常规抵押贷款利率,因为这些贷款对贷方而言更为复杂和危险。

鉴于完成建设所需的时间,您可能会担心在结构进行期间利率会发生变化。 一些贷方确实提供长期利率锁定。 您必须为安全付费,一些贷方希望预先支付不可退还的押金。 例如,您可能需要花费 360 点来获得 0.5 天的锁定,但需要 XNUMX 点的押金。 利率锁定还可能包括一个浮动条款,如果利率充分下降,您可以获得较低的利率。

建筑贷款贷方问题

#1。 我可以将我的土地净值用于我的首付吗?

如果您持有土地至少一年,您可能有资格为首付要求贡献任何股本增加。 为了确定土地的价值,需要进行评估。

#2。 第一次抽奖如何进行?

建筑材料,例如用于地基的混凝土和用于框架的木材,有时在施工的早期阶段是最昂贵的。 然而,贷方不愿进行大笔支出,除非它们是专门为特定目的而分配的。

这阻止了不诚实的承包商在没有明确指定他们满足特定项目需求的情况下索取巨额资金。 确保建筑商有足够的资金开始工作,并且您和您的承包商清楚地了解如何支付所有建筑费用。

#3。 建设期利率是多少?

一些建筑贷款人将在施工期间采用可变利率指数(例如最优惠利率)。 其他人仅按您同意的最终贷款利率收取利息,然后在房屋完工时将剩余部分转换为总本金和利息。

在某些情况下,建筑付款可以包含在您贷款的建筑成本中——请咨询您的建筑贷款官员以确认这一点。

#4。 哪些公司提供建筑贷款?

并非所有贷方都提供各种建筑贷款,非银行贷方可能根本不提供任何建筑贷款。

#5。 您的建筑贷款的费用是多少?

您将需要更多信息,而不仅仅是贷款费用。 产权公司通常会管理付款,并且在建造房屋时将需要进一步的检查和登记费用。

每次抽奖都需要检查和记录费用,这些费用很快就会增加数千美元,因此请确保您了解所涉及的内容。

#6。 平局:它们是如何工作的?

为避免流程延误,请确保您的承包商或建筑商了解他们在施工阶段的付款方式。 如果分包商在收到预付款之前断然拒绝做任何工作,要么拿出现金来满足承包商的预付款要求,要么找到另一个分包商。

总结

如果您在仔细阅读所选市场中的列表时没有出现您理想的房产,那么梦想不必结束。 想象一个家中位置、风格和实用性的完美结合是购房过程中最令人愉快的方面之一。 它不必只是一个幻想。 您可以通过经济援助选项设计、建造和布置您的梦想之家。

无论是建筑贷款、装修贷款、HELOC 或任何其他可能性,为您未来的房子找到合适的借款方式都不会很复杂。 调查您的所有替代方案,确定适合您情况的最佳贷款形式,并货比三家以获得最优惠的价格。

0股
发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被公开。

你也许也喜欢

CONSTRUCTION LOAN: Requirements and How They Work

Construction Loan
Houseplans.co

Buyers frequently discover that specific residences fulfill most of their demands, while others meet a few and none. This forces you to compromise and downgrade some of your “must-haves” to “nice-to-haves,” which are not deal-breakers.
Don’t want to give up one inch on your goals and needs? If your ideal home isn’t available (or doesn’t even exist), you can always create one. This allows you to design the perfect home without having to worry about the drawbacks of purchasing a property that has previously been lived in. However, to finance this project, you’ll need to understand construction loans. Let’s how a construction loan work, the different types, interest rates, and their requirements.

What Is a Construction Loan?

A construction loan is a short-term loan that only covers the expenditures of bespoke home building. This is not a mortgage and is classified as special financing. Once the house is constructed, the prospective occupant must apply for a mortgage to pay for it.

However, various home construction loans are available, ranging from ground-up construction to a complete refurbishment of the entire property. Whether you’re beginning from zero with a land loan or entirely refurbishing a home, there’s probably a loan for you.

How Does a Construction Loan Work?

Construction loans are typically obtained by builders or homebuyers who custom-build their own homes. They are short-term loans, typically lasting only one year. When the house is finished, the borrower can either refinance the construction loan into a permanent mortgage or receive a new loan to pay off the construction loan (also known as an “end loan”). While the project is still in progress, the borrower may only be obliged to make interest payments on a construction loan. Some construction loans may require the balance to be paid in full by the end of the project.

If a borrower takes out a construction loan to build a house, the lender may pay the funds directly to the contractor rather than the borrower. Payments may be made in installments as the project progresses through new phases of development. Construction loans can be used to fund rehabilitation and restoration projects and the construction of new residences.

What is the Scope of a Construction Loan?

Every project is unique, but in general, a construction loan covers the following expenses:

  • Land.
  • Plans, licenses, and fees
  • Materials and labor
  • Closing expenses.
  • Reserves for contingencies (in case the project costs more than estimated).
  • Interest reserves (if you do not want to pay interest while building).

Different Types of Construction Loans

#1. Construction-to-permanent loan

You borrow money to pay for the cost of building your home with a construction-to-permanent loan, and once the house is finished and you move in, the loan is converted to a permanent mortgage.

The advantage of the construction-to-permanent approach is that you have to pay one set of closing costs, lowering your overall fees.

When the loan transitions from construction to permanent, it becomes a regular mortgage with a loan term of 15 to 30 years. Then you make payments that include both interest and principal. At that point, you can choose between a fixed-rate and an adjustable-rate mortgage. Other alternatives include an FHA construction-to-permanent loan, which has less severe approval conditions and can benefit some borrowers, or a VA construction loan if you are a qualified veteran.

#2. Construction-only loan

A construction-only loan provides the finances needed to complete the home’s construction. Still, the borrower is responsible for either repaying the loan in full at maturity (usually one year or less) or seeking permanent financing through a mortgage.

These construction loans disburse funds based on the percentage of the project finished, and the borrower is only responsible for interest payments on the money drawn.

Construction-only loans can be more expensive in the long run if you require a permanent mortgage because you must complete two distinct loan procedures and pay two sets of fees. Closing expenses can cost thousands of dollars, so avoiding another set is advantageous.

Another factor to consider is that your financial status may deteriorate during construction. If you lose your job or suffer another setback, you may be unable to qualify for a mortgage in the future – and so may be unable to move into your new home.

#3. Loan for renovations

You can examine home renovation loan alternatives if you wish to upgrade an existing home rather than build one. Depending on how much money you’re spending on the project, these can take a variety of shapes.

“If a homeowner wants to spend less than $20,000 on a remodeling, they could consider taking out a personal loan or utilizing a credit card to finance the project,” Kaminski says. “If the homeowner has built up equity in their property, a home equity loan or line of credit may be appropriate for improvements starting at $25,000 or so.”

A cash-out refinance is another realistic alternative in the current low mortgage rate environment, in which a homeowner takes out a new mortgage for a more significant amount than their existing loan and receives the difference in a lump sum.

In most cases, the lender does not require the homeowner to disclose how the cash will be used. The budget, strategy, and payments are all managed by the homeowner. Other types of financing require the lender to appraise the builder, check the budget, and supervise the draw timetable.

#4. Construction loan for the owner-builder

Owner-builder loans are either construction-to-permanent or construction-only loans in which the borrower also functions as the home builder.

Because of the complexity of building a home and the skill required to comply with building rules, most lenders will not allow the borrower to act as their builder. Lenders that would enable it often does so only if the borrower is a licensed builder by trade.

#5. End Loan

According to Kaminski, an end loan is just the homeowner’s mortgage once the property is built. A construction loan is utilized throughout the construction phase and repaid once the project is completed. The borrower will then have to pay off their average mortgage, often known as the final loan.

Common Construction Loan Requirements

Construction loans are riskier for lenders, so getting authorized for one is understandably more difficult. Here’s what lenders look at.

#1. Your credit score:

Just like with a typical mortgage, lenders consider your credit score. Most conventional and USDA construction loans require a credit score of 620. There is no required minimum for VA construction loans. However, lenders often want a credit score of at least 620. A minimum credit score of 580 was needed for FHA construction loans.

#2. Down Payment

While you would assume a larger down payment on a construction loan, they are equal to standard mortgages. FHA construction loans need a 3.5 percent down payment for HUD-approved projects and a 10% down payment for non-HUD-approved projects. VA construction loans do not require a down payment, USDA construction loans require a minimum down payment of 10%, and conventional construction loans typically require a down payment of 5% or more.

#3. Construction plan and specifications:

Lenders will also want to know the specifics of what you intend to create. They will demand a blueprint of the house and specifications, and the plans must be validated as fulfilling all of the required building codes in your location. A home appraiser will need to study those specifications to determine their value, which will determine your loan amount.

#4. Construction contractor and lender review:

Unless you’re a certified general contractor, you’ll need to hire one to build your home. Lenders will also scrutinize the contractor participating in the construction. Thus it is vital to select an experienced one. Your contractor is an essential element of the process. The lender will want to know the project’s budget and cash flow projections. Lenders must typically evaluate and approve the construction contract between you and your contractor.

How Do I Obtain a Construction Loan?

The following are the essential processes for obtaining a construction loan:

  • Check to see if you are eligible for any special programs. If you’re interested, check out the requirements and processes for an FHA or a VA construction loan.
  • Obtain preapproval. Before you put in a lot of work, be preapproved, so you know exactly what your budget will be.
  • Locate your land and a builder. Check that your builder meets any construction loan requirements established by your preapproved lender. Take special note of licenses and insurance.
  • Finish the paperwork. Complete the plans with the builder and submit all documentation to the lender. The lender will likely order an appraisal and inspection as part of the next phase.
  • Complete the loan. The mortgage closing procedure is completed when you sign on the dotted line. Your builder can begin work once everything is signed and the funds are granted.

Construction Loan Interest Rates

Construction loans are not available from every lender. Speak with local banks and credit unions first. Construction loan interest rates are typically higher than regular mortgage rates because these loans are substantially more complex and hazardous for the lender.

Given the time it takes to complete construction, you may be concerned about interest rates shifting while the structure is underway. Some lenders do provide long-term rate locks. You must pay for the safety, and some lenders want a non-refundable deposit upfront. For example, you may spend one point for a 360-day lock, with a 0.5-point deposit required. The rate lock may also include a float-down clause, which allows you to obtain a lower interest rate if interest rates fall sufficiently.

Construction Loan Lender Questions

#1. Can I Apply My Land Equity to My Downpayment?

If you’ve held the land for at least a year, you may be eligible to contribute any rise in equity toward the down payment requirement. To determine the worth of the land, an appraisal will be required.

#2. How Does the First Draw Work?

Building materials, such as concrete for the foundation and lumber for framing, are sometimes the most expensive in the early stages of construction. However, lenders prefer not to make significant disbursements unless they are specifically allocated for a particular purpose.

This discourages dishonest contractors from requesting enormous sums of money without clearly designating them for particular project needs. Ascertain that sufficient funds are available for the builder to begin work and that you and your contractor clearly understand how all construction costs will be paid.

#3. What Is the Interest Rate During the Construction Period?

Some construction lenders will employ a variable-rate index (such as the prime rate) during construction. Others charge interest-only on the rate you’ve agreed to for your final loan, then convert the remainder to a total principal and interest payment when the house is completed.

In some situations, construction payments can be incorporated into the construction cost of your loan – check with your construction loan officer to confirm this.

#4. What Companies Provide Construction Loans?

Not all lenders offer every sort of construction loan, and nonbank lenders may not offer any construction loans at all.

#5. What Are the Fees for Your Construction Loans?

You’ll need more information than just the loan fees. The title company will often manage the disbursements, and further inspection and registering fees will be required while the house is built.

Each draw necessitates inspection and recording fees, which can quickly add up to thousands of dollars, so make sure you understand what’s involved.

#6. Draws: How Do They Work?

To avoid delays in the process, be sure your contractor or builder understands how they will be paid during the construction phase. If a subcontractor flatly refuses to do any work until they receive an upfront payment, either come up with the cash to satisfy the contractor’s request for the upfront payment or locate another subcontractor.

Conclusion

If your ideal property does not appear available while perusing the listings in your selected market, the dream does not have to end. Imagining the perfect combination of location, style, and utility in a home is one of the most enjoyable aspects of the home-buying process. It doesn’t have to be just a fantasy. You may design, build, and furnish your dream house with financial assistance options.

Finding the proper means to borrow money for your future house, whether it’s a construction loan, a renovation loan, a HELOC, or any other number of possibilities, doesn’t have to be complicated. Investigate all of your alternatives, determine the best form of loan for your circumstances, and shop around for the most excellent pricing.

0 Shares:
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You May Also Like