除了订阅之外,Netflix 是如何赚钱的? – 详细指南

Netflix如何赚钱
Netflix如何赚钱

订阅视频点播 (SVOD) 商业模式已成为提供电视流媒体服务的公司的普遍商业模式。 Disney+、Apple TV+、Amazon Prime Video、Hulu、YouTube TV、Peacock(Comcast 的子公司)等公司都使用这种模式获得了相当大的市场份额。 但正是 Netflix 使其成为首批测试该模型的公司之一而闻名。 Netflix 成立于 1997 年,最初是一个 DVD 租赁平台,通过电子邮件将 DVD 发送到不同的家庭。 但向流媒体平台的过渡始于 2017 年,几乎是 10 年后。

尽管来自其他玩家的激烈竞争,尽管 2022 年将进行另一次重大转型,Netflix 仍然是行业领导者。 但问题是,除了订阅之外,Netflix 还如何赚钱以保持竞争力,在 29.6 年实现 2021 亿美元的收入?

因此,如果您正在考虑以类似的模式开展业务,或者只是一名对知识感兴趣的研究人员,请保持原样,因为我将分享 Netflix 如何从其所有服务中赚钱的详细信息。

什么是Netflix?

Netflix 是一家以订阅为基础的流行媒体流媒体内容提供商。 它允许订户观看电视节目、电影、纪录片以及更多点播和各种基于 Internet 的设备。 该公司还提供 DVD 租赁计划,提供 DVD 节目和电影。 这是它开始的原始模型。 尽管超过 95% 的消费者现在更喜欢在线访问最流行的 Netflix 内容,该公司仍然提供其原创的 DVD 邮寄服务,至少在美国是这样。Netflix 服务中还有一系列手机游戏。

Netflix 订阅服务有 3 种不同的计划。 该计划决定了订户可以使用的设备数量以及他们可以观看的内容的质量(标清、高清、超高清)。 订阅通常是每月一次。

但除了订阅之外,Netflix 还可以通过其他方式赚钱。 让我们详细探讨一下。

Netflix如何赚钱

Netflix 流媒体订阅模式包含三个简单的计划:

  • 基础: 使用最便宜的基本套餐,一次只能购买一台设备。 下载方面,也可以只在一台智能设备上下载。 但是,此计划允许无限观看电影、电视节目和手机游戏。 每月只需​​ 9.99 美元即可保留您的订阅。 这个计划非常适合一个人独居。
  • 标准: 标准计划非常适合打算结婚的夫妇或新婚夫妇,因为它允许订户同时在 2 台设备上观看。 与基本计划一样,您也可以无限观看电影、电视节目和手机游戏。 与基本计划相比,它的另一个优势是可以观看高清视频。 此项费用为 15.49 美元。
  • 保险费: 我将此称为“家庭套餐”,因为它同时允许多达 4 个屏幕。 除了标准计划的所有其他功能外,它还允许高清和超高清。 它有点贵,但值得每月支付 19.99 美元。
Netflix 如何赚钱 - 订阅计划
Netflix 如何赚钱 – 订阅计划

顺便说一下,这 3 个计划是 Netflix 大部分收入的来源。

然而,正如我们将在下文中看到的,Netflix 还有其他赚钱的方式。

除了订阅之外,Netflix 是如何赚钱的?

以下是 Netflix 除了订阅之外的其他赚钱方式:

Netflix 如何通过原创赚钱?

Netflix Originals 是您只能在 Netflix 上观看的独家内容,无法在任何其他流媒体平台上找到。 Originals 于 2013 年首次推出,以规避许可成本,并将其作为制作 Netflix 独家内容的营销策略的一部分。 这个原创系列涉及巨大的制作成本。 但这是 Netflix 相对于其他竞争对手的优势之一。

但是,Netflix Originals 有以下四种类型:

  • Netflix 原创节目: 这些是由制作人员内部制作和委托制作的节目。 Netflix 拥有这些节目 100% 的权利。
  • Netflix 拥有国际版权: 这些节目或内容并非受 Netflix 委托。 但是,他们独家拥有这些节目的国际流媒体播放权。
  • 联合制作: 这是指 Netflix 与特定国家/地区的网络合作制作并独家发行到母国以外的其他地区。
  • 继续取消的节目: 这些节目最初是由其他制作公司或网络制作、发行和营销的。 但总的来说,无论出于何种原因,这笔交易都被取消了,Netflix 独家处理了这笔交易。

无论如何,如果您只能在自己国家/地区的 Netflix 上观看它,那么它就是 Netflix 原创作品。 这意味着美国的原件不一定是英国的原件。

原创内容也遵循与许可内容相同的收入模式(订阅)。

Netflix 如何从浏览量中赚钱?

关于 Netflix 是否从浏览量中获利的问题一直存在。 好吧,今天,我们将一劳永逸地结束这个争论。 事实上,Netflix 是通过浏览量赚钱的,但这是间接的。 首先,您必须知道它不适用于与 YouTube 相同的模型,因为 Netflix 上没有广告。

那么它是如何工作的?

它使用观看次数来确定资助哪些内容。 因此,观看次数是通过热门新节目吸引新订阅者的指标。 它还可以帮助他们衡量平台上活跃订阅者的数量。

Netflix 上的个人节目如何赚钱?

物理表演被货币化。 当人们播放他们的电视节目时,他们会从节目间隙的广告中赚到很多钱。 但是在 Netflix 上没有广告的情况下,你会想想象这些人是如何从他们的节目中赚钱的。

好吧,它仍然与订户支付的订阅费挂钩。 拥有这些节目的人正在与 Netflix 合作。 在大多数情况下,他们甚至将这些节目制作成 Netflix 独有的节目。 尽管 Netflix 没有公开宣布向节目所有者提供版税,但我们知道订户支付的部分款项会支付给节目所有者。 Netflix 以版税的形式支付给他们。

电影制片人如何在 Netflix 上赚钱?

这个更直接。

除了从播放电影的频道或首映的剧院/电影院赚取巨额利润外,与 Netflix 合作进行在线流媒体播放的电影制片人也从 Netflix 赚取了更多。

从可获得的信息来看,Netflix 支付了大约 150 亿至 250 亿美元作为大片的许可费。 而当它是一部多季成名的电影时,它可以高达 300 到 500 亿美元。

Netflix 是一家盈利的公司吗?

尽管它仍在增长并探索更多机会,但 Netflix 多年来一直是一项非常有利可图的业务。 例如,截至 30 年 2022 月 12.469 日止年度,Netflix 的毛利润为 $0.76B。 与 12.365 年的 $2021B 相比,同比增长 XNUMX%

但值得注意的是,至少在今天,Netflix 的大部分收入仍来自流媒体订阅。 例如,2021 年,该公司的总收入为 29.7 亿美元。 其中,29.51 亿美元(超过 99%)来自流媒体,而 182 亿美元(不到 1%)来自 DVD 租赁。

而且从地区来看,大部分收入来自美国,加拿大仍然占 Netflix 总收入的 44% 以上。

Netflix 的未来是什么?

Netflix 正在大力投资原创内容的制作。 尽管仍然能够与许可内容竞争,但它已将大量投资作为其主要资产的原创内容。 它不是无缘无故这样做的。 统计数据显示,自 2019 年以来,制作内容占许可内容的百分比一直在稳步增长。这预示着 Netflix 的未来。 因此,未来 Netflix 可能会从一家科技公司转变为一家制作大部分内容的媒体公司。

然而,有迹象表明,Netflix 可能正在进军广告业务,以此作为另一种赚钱方式。 这是 Netflix 多年来一直抵制的诱惑,在没有展示广告的情况下设法将其订户增加到 200 亿多。 但该公司可能已经意识到,在激烈的竞争中,走到这一步可能无法走得更远。

当然,将用户群增加到 1 亿一直是我们的目标。 但要实现这一点可能需要稍微调整一下。 2022 年,该公司开始这样做,自成立以来首次推出了广告支持层。

这或许也代表了未来。 我看到他们现在正在做的是试运行,如果证明有效,可能会成为一个重要的收入来源,他们将成为一个带有广告补偿的免费计划。 这是 Spotify 使用的类似模型。

总结

Netflix 基于订阅的模式的长期成功和可持续性在很大程度上取决于两个因素:

  1. 能够拥有尽可能多的在其他平台上找不到的内容
  2. 能够将价格保持在尽可能低的水平。

为实现这一目标,还需要做更多工作来制作更多原创内容。 这意味着 Netflix 可能很快成为一家完整的媒体公司。 如果制作的内容成为 Netflix 的主要内容,那么 Facebook、YouTube 或 Spotify 的广告收入模式将成为可能。 但就目前而言,订阅仍然是 Netflix 赚钱的主要方式。

参考资料

0股
发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被公开。

你也许也喜欢

How Does Netflix Make Money Other Than Subscriptions? – Detailed Guide

How Does Netflix Make Money
How Does Netflix Make Money

The Subscription Video on Demand (SVOD) business model has become a prevalent business model for companies offering TV streaming services. The likes of Disney+, Apple TV+, Amazon Prime Video, Hulu,  YouTube TV, Peacock (a subsidiary of Comcast) have all gained considerable market share using this model. But it was Netflix that made it famous as one of the first companies to test the model. Netflix started in 1997 as a DVD rental platform sending DVDs to different homes by email. But the transition to a streaming platform started in 2017, almost 10 years after.

Despite the intense competition from other players and despite working on yet another major transition in 2022, Netflix remains the industry leader. But the question is, apart from subscriptions, how else does Netflix make money to remain competitive, making $29.6 billion in revenue in 2021?

So if you are considering starting a business with a similar model or are just a researcher interested in the knowledge, stay put as I share details of how Netflix makes money from all of its services.

What is Netflix?

Netflix is a popular media streaming content provider on a subscription basis. It allows subscribers to watch TV shows, movies, documentaries, and more on-demand and a wide range of Internet-based devices. The company also provides DVD rental plans where it supplies shows and movies on DVDs. This is the original model it started with. And even though over 95% of consumers now prefer to access the most popular Netflix content online, the company still offers its original DVD-by-mail service, at least in the U.S. Also among Netflix services is a range of mobile games.

There are 3 different plans for Netflix subscription services. And the plan determines the number of devices a subscriber can view content with and the quality (SD, HD, Ultra HD) they can view. And the subscription is usually monthly.

But beyond subscriptions, there are other ways through which Netflix makes money. Let’s explore them in detail.

How Does Netflix Make Money

There are three simple plans in the Netflix streaming subscription model:

  • Basic: With the basic package, which is the cheapest package, one is limited to just one device at a time. In terms of downloads, you can also download on just one smart device. However, this plan allows unlimited movies, TV shows, and mobile games. And it costs just $9.99 to retain your subscription each month. This plan is perfectly okay for an individual living alone.
  • Standard: The standard plan is ideal for intending couples or newlyweds as it allows the subscriber to watch on 2 devices simultaneously. Like the basic plan, you also have unlimited movies, TV shows, and mobile games. Another advantage this has over the basic plan is that HD viewing is available. The charge for this is $15.49.
  • Premium: I refer to this as ‘the family package’ because it simultaneously allows as many as 4 screens. It also allows HD and Ultra HD in addition to all the other features of the standard plan. It is a bit pricey but worth the charge of $19.99 per month.
How Does Netflix Make Money - the Subscription Plans
How Does Netflix Make Money – the Subscription Plans

Incidentally, these 3 plans are where most of Netflix’s revenue comes from.

However, as we shall see below, there are still other ways Netflix makes money.

How Does Netflix Make Money other than Subscriptions?

The following are the other ways Netflix makes money other than subscriptions:

How Does Netflix Make Money on Originals?

Netflix Originals are exclusive contents you can only watch on Netflix and are not to be found on any other streaming platform. Originals were first introduced in 2013 to evade licensing costs and as a part of their marketing strategy to produce Netflix-exclusive content. This original series involves huge production costs. But it is one of the advantages Netflix has over other competitors.

However, there are four types of Netflix Originals as follows:

  • Netflix Original Programmes: These are programs produced and commissioned in-house by the production crews. Netflix owns 100% of the rights to these programs.
  • Netflix owns international rights: These shows or contents are not commissioned by Netflix. However, they exclusively own international streaming rights to the shows.
  • Co-Production: This refers to when Netflix partners with a network in a particular country to produce and exclusively distribute to other regions outside the parent country.
  • Continuation of a canceled show: These are programs that have originally been produced, distributed, and marketed by other production companies or networks. But along the line, the deal is canceled for whatever reason, and Netflix takes it up exclusively.

In any case, it is a Netflix original if you can only watch it on Netflix in your own country. This implies that the original in the US may not necessarily be the original in the UK.

Originals also follow the same revenue model (subscription) as licensed content.

How Does Netflix Make Money from Views?

There have been lingering questions about whether Netflix makes money from views. Well, today, we will put that argument to rest once and for all. The truth is that Netflix makes money from views, but it is indirectly. First, you have to know that it doesn’t work with the same model as YouTube since there are no ads on Netflix.

So how does it work?

It uses the number of views to determine what content to fund. So views are a proxy for attracting new subscribers with a popular new show. It also helps them gauge the number of active subscribers on the platform.

How Do Individual Shows on Netflix Make Money?

Physical shows are monetized. And when people air their television shows, they make lots of money from ads that show in between the show. But with no ads on Netflix, you would want to imagine how those individuals make money from their shows.

Well, it is still tied to the subscription fees paid by subscribers. The people that own those shows are partnering with Netflix. And in most cases, they even make the shows exclusive to Netflix. Although Netflix doesn’t publicly announce the royalty offer to owners of the shows, we know that a part of the money paid by subscribers goes to the owners of the shows. Netflix pays them that in the form of royalties.

How Do Movie Producers Make Money on Netflix?

This one is even more straightforward.

Apart from the enormous profits they make from the channels the movies are aired on or theaters/cinemas where it premiers, movie producers that partner with Netflix for online streaming also make so much more from Netflix.

From the information available, Netflix pays about $150 million to $250 million as a license fee for blockbuster movies. And when it is a famous movie with multiple seasons, it can go as high as 300 to 500 million dollars.

Is Netflix a Profitable Company?

Although it is still growing and exploring more opportunities, Netflix has been a very profitable business for years. For example, for the year ending September 30, 2022 Netflix’s gross profit was $12.469B. And that is a 0.76% increase year-over-year when it made $12.365B in 2021

But it is important to note that the bulk of revenue in Netflix still comes from the streaming subscription, at least today. For example, in 2021, the company made a total revenue of $29.7 billion. Of that amount, $29.51 billion (over 99%) is from streaming, while $182 million (less than 1%) is from DVD rentals.

And in terms of region, most of the revenue comes from the US, and Canada still accounts for over 44% of all Netflix revenues.

What is The Future of Netflix?

Netflix is investing massively in the production of original content. Despite still being able to compete favorably with licensed content, it has invested heavily in original content as its main asset. And it is not doing that for no reason. Statistics show that the percentage of produced content to licensed content has been growing steadily since 2019. And this is an indication of what could be the future of Netflix. So the future might see Netflix transition from a tech company to a media company where most of the content will be produced.

However, there are indications that Netflix might be entering the ad business as another way of making money. This is a temptation Netflix has resisted for many years, managing to grow its subscribers to over 200 million without showing ads. But the company probably has realized that amid intense competition, what brought it this far may not be able to take it further.

Of course, growing the subscriber base to 1 billion has always been the goal. But to achieve that may require pivoting a little. And in 2022, the company started doing that by launching an ad-supported tier for the first time since its inception.

This might also represent the future. I see what they are doing now as a test run which, if it proves to work, may become a significant revenue source where they will be a free plan with ads to compensate. This is a similar model Spotify is using.

Conclusion

The long-term success and sustainability of Netflix’s subscription-based model will depend to a large extent on two factors:

  1. Ability to have as many contents that are not found on other platforms as possible
  2. Ability to keep the price as low as possible.

And to achieve this, more will have to be done to produce more original content.  This means that Netflix may soon become a complete media company. And if produced content becomes the majority on Netflix, then the Facebook, YouTube, or Spotify advertising revenue model will become a possibility. But for today, the subscription remains the primary way Netflix makes money.

References

0 Shares:
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You May Also Like