财务代表:角色、职责和薪水

财务代表
图片来源:投资

银行和保险企业使用金融服务和销售人员向客户推销各种金融产品和服务。 他们安排与客户的会面,根据他们的财务目标推荐合适的金融商品或服务,并确保客户对他们的购买感到满意。 所有这些都是通过财务代表或顾问实现的。

财务代表

财务代表,通常被称为财务顾问,就财务事宜与客户进行协商。 您在这项工作中的主要职责是根据客户的目标、目的和要求为财务决策提供建议和计划。 您还推荐金融商品和服务,并提供有关主题的指导,例如 房地产 计划、大学储蓄账户、税收、抵押贷款、投资、退休和保险。 分析经常账户、解释摘要、制定策略和实施商定的计划来管理客户投资组合都是您的职责的一部分。 财务代表还提供账户报告并回答经济问题。

财务代表职位描述

我们正在寻找具有经验和注重细节的金融服务专业人士,他们可以说服客户购买我们的金融产品和服务。 以专业的方式回应客户的询问,提供可靠的财务建议,在可能的情况下交叉销售我们的产品和服务,并根据需要参加各种培训计划,这些都是金融服务代表的义务。 您还应该能够跟进客户,以确保他们对所购买的商品或服务感到满意。

您必须能够与客户建立融洽的关系并始终达到或超过 销售 目标是成为金融服务代表。 最后,优秀的金融服务代表应该精通金融法规,并具备出色的沟通、分析和客户服务能力。

财务代表薪金

财务顾问 加拿大 他们的工资范围很广,起薪低至 30,000 美元,最高可达 100,000 美元以上。

如果满足某些绩效目标,大多数财务顾问也会获得奖金作为补偿。 如果他们将客户的资金投资于特定的管理基金,一些顾问会以佣金的形式获得报酬。 与许多其他金融行业一样,相关经验就是回报。 这意味着 经理 在该领域工作了很长时间的人更有可能处于薪酬等级的较高端。

获得 CFA 执照或 MBA 等证书可以帮助一个人更快地提升职业阶梯。 许多金融公司对应届毕业生也有最低 GPA 要求,这意味着需要优异的成绩。

财务代表的角色

财务顾问是您财务规划的合作伙伴。 假设您希望在 20 年后退休或在 XNUMX 年后将您的孩子送到私立大学。 为了实现您的目标,您可能需要拥有必要许可证的称职专业人员的帮助; 这就是财务顾问的用武之地。

您和您的顾问将讨论各种主题,包括您应该存多少钱、您应该拥有的账户类型、 保险 您应该拥有(例如长期护理、定期寿险、残疾等)以及遗产和税务规划。

除了担任财务顾问外,他还是一名教师。 顾问的部分工作是解释什么是实现您的长期目标。 在教育过程中,金融科目可能会很深入。 预算和储蓄是你们关系早期可能出现的两个主题。 随着您的专业知识的增长,顾问将帮助您了解复杂的投资、保险和税务问题。

了解您的财务状况是财务咨询过程的第一步。 除非您知道自己现在在哪里,否则您无法充分计划未来。 通常,您会填写一份冗长的书面询问。 您的回答有助于顾问了解您的状况并确保您不会忽略任何重要信息。

#1。 财务健康问卷

财务顾问将与您一起收集有关您的资产、负债、收入和支出的信息。 您还将列出未来的养老金和收入来源,预测退休需求,并在表格上概述任何长期财务责任。 简而言之,您将列出所有现有和未来的投资、养老金、礼物和收入流。

问卷的投资部分深入探讨了风险承受能力和风险能力等更多个人问题。 当需要决定您的投资资产分配时,了解您的风险有助于顾问。 此时,您还将告诉顾问您的投资选择。

其他金融 颠覆性技术 保险问题和您的税务状况等问题可能会在初始评估期间进行检查。 您的顾问以及您的规划团队的其他成员,例如会计师和律师,应该被告知您目前的遗产计划。 一旦您和您的顾问对您当前的财务状况和未来估计有了很好的了解,您就可以开始制定战略以实现您的生活和财务目标。

#1。 创建财务计划

财务顾问将所有这些初步信息组合成一个完整的财务计划,作为您未来财务的路线图。 它从您最初问卷中最重要的调查结果摘要开始,然后介绍您目前的财务状况,包括您的净资产、资产、债务以及流动资金或营运资金。 财务计划还总结了您和您的顾问讨论的目标。

这份冗长的文件的分析部分将提供有关各个领域的更多细节。 包括您的风险承受能力、遗产规划细节、家庭状况、长期护理风险以及其他相关的当前和未来财务困难。

该计划将根据您估计的净资产和退休时的未来收入模拟最佳和最坏情况的退休情景,包括您的钱活过的可怕可能性。 在这种情况下可以采取措施来避免这种后果。 它将着眼于退休时从您的投资组合中提取的实际提款率。 如果你们是长期关系。 该计划还将考虑幸存伴侣的生存和财务可能性等因素。

在与顾问一起审查策略并进行任何必要的更改后,您就可以开始了。

#3。 顾问计划行动步骤

财务顾问不仅仅是协助投资。 他们的工作是在您财务生活的各个方面为您提供帮助。 您也可以在不让他们管理您的投资组合或提出任何投资建议的情况下与财务顾问互动。

另一方面,投资指导是许多消费者咨询财务顾问的主要动机。 如果您走这条路,将会发生以下情况。

顾问将根据您的风险承受能力和能力制定资产配置策略。 资产分配只不过是一个公式,用于确定您的总金融投资组合中有多少将被分配到各种资产类别中。 对风险更加谨慎的个人将更集中于政府债券、存款证 (CD) 和货币市场投资,而那些更规避风险的人将更集中于股票、公司债券,甚至可能是投资房地产。 您的资产分配将根据您的年龄和退休前的时间而改变。 买卖金融资产时。 每个财务顾问公司都应根据法律及其公司投资政策进行投资。

#4。 财务顾问和投资

作为客户,了解计划者的建议和原因至关重要。 你不应该盲目地听从顾问的建议; 毕竟这是你的钱,你应该知道它是怎么花的。 跟踪您支付给您的顾问和您购买的任何资金的费用。

向您的顾问询问他们为什么推荐某些资产,以及他们是否因向您出售某些投资而获得补偿。 留意潜在的利益冲突。

选择金融商品以满足客户的风险状况,这在组织中很常见。 考虑一个 50 岁的人,他已经收集了足够的退休净资产并且主要关心资本保全。 他们可能将 45% 的资金投资于股票(可能包括个股、共同基金和/或交易所交易基金 (ETF)),将 55% 的资金投资于债券等固定收益资产。 一位 40 岁的投资者,净资产较低,愿意承担更多风险以扩大其金融投资组合,可以选择 70% 股票资产、25% 固定收益资产和 5% 另类投资的资产配置.

您量身定制的投资组合将满足您的需求,同时考虑到公司的投资理念。 它应该取决于您需要资金的速度、您的投资期限以及您当前和未来的目标。

#5。 定期财务监控

一旦你的投资策略到位。 您的顾问将定期向您发送报表,以使您了解您的投资组合的最新情况。 与顾问的定期会议将讨论您的目标和进展。 以及解决您可能遇到的任何其他问题。 通过电话或视频聊天进行远程会议可能会帮助您建立更多这样的联系。

除了定期的、持续的会议。 每当您预计生活中可能会影响您的财务状况的重大变化时,您都应该咨询您的财务顾问。 例如结婚或离婚、组建家庭、买卖房屋、换工作或升职。

您可能需要顾问的迹象

在任何年龄或人生阶段,任何人都可以与财务顾问一起工作。 你不需要很多钱; 你所需要的只是一个了解你情况的好顾问。

寻求专家财务建议的决定是个人决定。 但每当您对自己的财务状况感到不知所措、困惑、担心或害怕时,最好寻求帮助。 如果您负担不起,财务规划协会可以通过无偿志愿者支持为您提供帮助。

如果您在财务上有保障但想仔细检查您是否在正确的轨道上,那么寻求财务顾问的建议也是合适的。 顾问可能会就您的策略更改提出建议,以帮助您更有效地实现目标。

最后,如果您没有时间或意愿来处理您的财务问题。 聘请财务顾问是一个绝妙的主意。

这些是您可能需要专业顾问协助的一些最常见原因。 这里有一些更具体的。

#1。 您没有任何储蓄被投资或您不知道如何投资

因为我们生活在一个通货膨胀的世界里,任何以现金或低息账户存放的钱都会年复一年地贬值。 除非你有异常高的收入,否则投资是让你的钱增长的唯一选择,而且大多数人永远不会有足够的钱退休。

#2。 你有投资,但你一直在亏损

即使是最优秀的投资者也会在市场下跌或做出错误判断时亏损。 但是,投资应该会显着提高您的净资产。 如果不是这样,寻求财务顾问的服务可以帮助你找出你做错了什么,并在为时已晚之前改变它。

#3。 您没有当前的遗产计划

财务顾问还可以协助您制定遗产计划,以确保您的资产在您去世时按照您的意愿进行分配。 如果您没有充分投保(或不确定您需要什么保险),财务顾问也可以为您提供帮助。 确实不像保险 售货员,收费的财务顾问可能能够提供更公正的评估。

是否值得聘请财务顾问?

如果您发现自己很难做出有关财务的决定,或者如果您不确定如何开始您的经济之旅,那么与财务顾问合作可能值得您投入时间和精力。 另一方面,如果您已经在实现财务目标的道路上进展顺利,那么与财务顾问合作可能对您没有多大用处。

为什么我退出财务顾问?

倦怠、缺乏成就感和吸引新客户的困难是最常导致财务顾问离职的三个主要因素。 超过 XNUMX% 的财务顾问在三年后不再营业这一事实表明财务顾问的保留率很差。 成功的财务顾问最重要的技能之一是成功完成交易的能力。

怎样才能成为一名优秀的财务代表?

要成为一名成功的财务顾问,必须具备三个关键理念。 这些想法是: 拥有出色的服务和绩效记录; 有卓越的服务记录; 等等。 保持专业声誉,以留住现有客户并获得新客户。 通过培训和教育获得金融和市场环境方面的知识和经验,从而提高商业头脑。

什么是金融入门级职位?

入门级金融行业的工作是那些你可以在相关领域几乎没有经验的情况下探索前景的工作。 大多数被视为入门级的职位要求候选人至少拥有学士学位。 税务助理、审计师、会计师和分析师都是金融行业常见入门级职业的例子。

成为财务代表需要什么?

领先的保险公司,尤其是人寿保险公司,越来越多地使用“财务代表”一词作为职称。 该头衔主要表示保险销售代理人,同时也是投资经纪人和/或财务规划师。 但是,具体情况因公司而异。

这个职位和相关职位也可以在保险业以外的金融服务公司找到,例如富达投资、共同基金和折扣证券经纪公司,仅举一个例子。

#1。 执照和证书

允许金融代表出售的证券和投资产品的种类取决于他或她持有的金融业监管局 (FINRA) 的许可证。

FINRA 系列 6 和系列 7 一般证券代表许可证通常由大多数公司颁发。 Series 6 许可证允许您销售捆绑投资产品,如可变年金和共同基金以及保险单。

系列 7 许可证与证券经纪公司财务顾问的基本要求相同,是销售范围相当广泛的投资产品,包括个股和债券。

值得注意的是,在同一家公司中,一些财务代表具有系列 6 资格,而另一些则具有系列 7 资格。 因此,尽管名称相同,但这些生产商可能会向其消费者提供广泛的金融产品和服务。 以及他们的知识和技能程度差异很大。

同时,提供财务规划服务的人最好拥有注册财务规划师 (CFP) 证书。 但潜在客户不应该假设这一点。

#2。 标题的流行度

Northwestern Mutual、John Hancock、Allstate 和 Guardian Life 是在其销售人员中使用财务代表称号的顶级公司。

#3。 赔偿

薪酬方案因公司而异,可能包括工资、激励薪酬(奖金)和佣金的组合。 财务代理人可能需要承担各种费用。 包括办公空间、设备、营销和销售材料,反映了金融服务业务的增长趋势。 这是财务顾问薪酬的一个公认趋势。 另一方面,公司可能会承担此类费用和/或保证最低工资方案。 为新员工在行业的最初几年提供帮助,以帮助他们建立自己的地位。

分类困难使得很难找到可信的平均工资信息。 例如,联邦劳工统计局不跟踪财务代表。 财务顾问和保险销售代理,以及“证券、商品和金融服务销售代理”是最接近的职业类别。 截至 2017 年 63,780 月,后者的工资中位数为 90 美元,33,060% 的工人收入在 208,200 美元至 187,200 美元之间。 这比 2014 年的 XNUMX 美元有所增加。

#4。 工作现场调查结果

“金融服务代表”的典型收入约为 50,000 美元,根据 网站 “Indeed.com”和“Glassdoor.com”。 Glassdoor 的统计数据基于少量用户自我报告的数据集,因此不能被认为是全面的或权威的。

同样,Indeed 的数据仅针对其系统中的当前职位,而且非常不完整。 这两个网站的平均工资报价可能是不可预测的,其起伏取决于当前列表和用户反馈。

可以预见,领先的保险公司会在其网站的招聘部分突出其顶级财务代表(例如,前 10%、前 1,000 或前 100 名)的薪酬,而对那些在他们服务的最初几年。

内向的人可以成为一名优秀的财务顾问吗?

答案是毫不含糊且毫不含糊的是。 内向的人通常在安静的环境中比在嘈杂的人群中更自在。 为了向客户提供出色的投资建议,财务顾问必须首先了解影响金融市场的模式。 他们花在寻找客户和会见客户上的时间与进行研究的时间一样多。

百万富翁使用财务顾问吗?

如果您拥有数百万美元的个人财富和至少一艘游艇,那么您可能是与财富顾问合作的最佳人选。 当富人需要帮助管理他们的财富时,他们经常咨询被称为财富顾问的金融专业人士。 财富顾问是专门提供财务建议的金融专业人士。

财务顾问应该穿什么?

吉姆布林克利 (Jim Brinkley) 是备受推崇的区域美盛 (Regional Legg Mason) 的前任总裁,他向他的继任者提出了这样的建议:“永远穿西装。” 他的推理思路如下:每个职业都需要制服。 财务顾问的标准着装是夹克和领带组合。 我们的客户和我们的职业值得最大的尊重,我们应该始终努力在外表、行为和表现上尽可能专业。

财务顾问和销售代表有什么区别?

他们为谁工作是该行业专业财务顾问和销售人员之间的主要区别。 财务顾问是为客户工作的人。 销售人员为其他人工作。 如果财务顾问的大部分收入来自佣金,则财务顾问被视为销售人员,佣金是客户每次进行涉及其投资的交易时必须支付的费用。

总结

随着技术的进步,越来越多的公司开始转向“机器人顾问”。 机器人顾问是使用复杂算法来读取用户数据并根据客户的个人财务目标设计投资组合的计算机程序。

这些系统使收集和解释数据的过程自动化,使他们能够在很短的时间内完成财务顾问的工作。 如果技术进步和算法变得更加精确,机器人顾问可能会对财务顾问构成严峻挑战。

尽管如此,人们还是对机器人顾问的可靠性感到担忧。 许多人仍然希望知道他们的资金是由可以与之交谈和交流的人而不是计算机来管理的。 在一个财务顾问和投资经理很少超过市场平均水平的世界里,它正变得不再那么令人担忧。

常见问题

财务代表是个好工作吗?

根据美国新闻的职业排名,财务顾问职业是最好的商业工作和薪酬最高的工作之一。 DA Davidson & Co. 的财富管理总裁 Michael Purpura 说,它“从销售和产品驱动的职业发展为以提供有意义的财务建议为中心的职业”。

金融学位需要很多数学吗?

虽然所有商业专业都需要最少的数学学习,但金融恰好是最量化的领域之一。 要学习分析和评估投资业绩以及储蓄目标的财务规划等基本技能,您必须具备扎实的数学基础。

百万富翁有哪些工作?

百万富翁的前五名职业包括工程师、会计师、教师、管理人员和律师。

  1. 财务顾问:您需要的一切(+ 顶级技能)
  2. 财务顾问:描述、工作、公司、职业,(+成为顾问的简单指南)
  3. 内部销售:概述、职位描述、薪水(+ 快速工具)
  4. 专业金融:认证和资格(更新!)
0股
发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被公开。

你也许也喜欢

FINANCIAL REPRESENTATIVE: Roles, Responsibilities & Salaries

financial representative
image credit: investopidia

Banks and insurance businesses use financial services, salespeople, to market a variety of financial products and services to customers. They schedule meetings with clients, recommend appropriate financial goods or services depending on their financial objectives, and ensure that clients are happy with their purchases. All of that is achieved through a financial representative or advisor.

Financial reprsentative

A financial representative, often known as a financial advisor, consults with clients on financial matters. Your main responsibilities in this job are to advise and plan financial decisions based on your customer’s objectives, goals, and requirements. You also recommend financial goods and services and provide guidance on topics such as estate planning, college savings accounts, taxes, mortgages, investments, retirements, and insurance. Analyzing current accounts, interpreting summaries, formulating strategies, and implementing the agreed-upon plan to manage client portfolios are all part of your responsibilities. A financial representative also delivers account reports and responds to economic questions.

Financial Representative Job Description

We’re seeking for financial services professional with experience and attention to detail who can persuade clients to buy our financial goods and services. Responding to client enquiries in a professional manner, delivering solid financial advice, cross-selling our products and services where possible, and attending various training programs as required are all obligations of the financial services representative. You should also be able to follow up with customers to make sure they are happy with the items or services they have purchased.

You must be able to create rapport with clients and consistently meet or exceed sales targets to be successful as a financial services representative. Finally, a top-performing financial services representative should be well in financial regulations and possess outstanding communication, analytical, and customer service abilities.

Financial Representative Salaries

Financial advisors in Canada are paid a wide variety of wages, with starting rates as low as $30,000 and up to over $100,000.

The majority of financial advisors are also compensate with bonuses if certain performance goals are satisfy. If they invest their clients’ money in particular managed funds, some advisors get paid on a commission basis. Relevant experience is the reward, as it is in many other finance professions. This means that managers who have been in the field for a long time are more likely to be on the higher end of the pay scale.

Obtaining credentials such as the CFA charter or an MBA can help a person advance up the career ladder more quickly. Many financial firms also have a minimum GPA requirement for new graduates, which means that exceptional grades are require.

Roles of a Financial Representative

A financial advisor is a partner in your financial planning. Assume you wish to retire in 20 years or send your child to a private university in ten. To achieve your objectives, you may want the assistance of a competent professional with the necessary licenses; this is where a financial advisor comes in.

You and your advisor will discuss a variety of subjects, including how much money you should save, the types of accounts you should have, the types of insurance you should have (such as long-term care, term life, disability, and so on), and estate and tax planning.

In addition to being a financial advisor, he is also a teacher. Part of the advisor’s job is to explain what’s in achieving your long-term objectives. Financial subjects may be in-depth during the educational process. Budgeting and saving are two subjects that may come up early in your relationship. As your expertise grows, the adviser will help you understand the complex investment, insurance, and tax issues.

Understanding your financial health is the first step in the financial advisory process. You can’t adequately plan for the future unless you know where you are right now. Usually, you’ll fill out a lengthy written inquiry. Your responses assist the advisor in comprehending your condition and ensuring that you do not overlook any crucial information.

#1. The Financial Health Questionnaire

A financial advisor will work with you to gather information about your assets, liabilities, income, and expenses. You’ll also list future pensions and income sources, predict retirement needs, and outline any long-term financial responsibilities on the form. In a nutshell, you’ll make a list of all existing and future investments, pensions, gifts, and income streams.

The investment section of the questionnaire delves into more personal issues like risk tolerance and risk capability. When it comes time to decide on your investment asset allocation, knowing your risk helps the advisor. You’ll also tell the advisor about your investment choices at this point.

Other financial management problems, such as insurance issues and your tax situation, may be examined during the initial evaluation. Your advisor, as well as other members of your planning team, such as accountants and lawyers, should be informed of your present estate plan. Once you and your advisor have a good understanding of your current financial situation and future estimates, you can start working on a strategy to achieve your life and financial objectives.

#1. Creating The Financial Plan

All of this preliminary information is combine by the financial advisor into a complete financial plan that will act as a road map for your financial future. It starts with a summary of the most important findings from your initial questionnaire and then goes through your present financial condition, including your net worth, assets, obligations, and liquid or working capital. The financial plan also summarizes the objectives that you and your advisor discussed.

This lengthy document’s analysis part will provide more specifics on a variety of areas. Including your risk tolerance, estate-planning details, family status, long-term care risk, and other relevant current and future financial difficulties.

The plan will construct simulations of both best- and worst-case retirement scenarios based on your estimated net worth and future income at retirement, including the terrifying possibility of outliving your money. Steps can be taken in this scenario to avoid that consequence. It will look at realistic withdrawal rates from your portfolio holdings in retirement. If you’re in a long-term relationship. The plan will also take into account factors like survivorship and financial possibilities for the surviving partner.

You’re ready to go after reviewing the strategy with the advisor and making any required changes.

#3. Advisors Plan Action Steps

A financial advisor does more than just assist with investments. It is their job to assist you in all aspects of your financial life. You could also engage with a financial advisor without having them manage your portfolio or make any investment recommendations.

Investment guidance, on the other hand, is a primary incentive for many consumers to consult with a financial advisor. Here’s what to expect if you go this path.

The advisor will develop an asset allocation strategy that is to your risk tolerance and capability. The asset allocation is nothing more than a formula for determining how much of your total financial portfolio will be split among various asset classes. Individuals who are more risk cautious will have a higher concentration of government bonds, certificates of deposit (CDs), and money market investments, whereas those who are more risk-averse will have a higher concentration of equities, corporate bonds, and possibly even investment real estate. Your asset allocation will be changed based on your age and the amount of time you have until you retire. When buying and selling financial assets. Each financial advising firm is expected to invest in line with the law and its company investment policy.

#4. Financial Advisors and Investments

As a customer, it’s critical that you understand what your planner suggests and why. You shouldn’t blindly follow an advisor’s advice; it’s your money, after all, and you should know how it’s being spent. Keep track of the costs you’re paying, both to your advisor and to any funds you’ve purchased.

Inquire with your advisor about why they recommend certain assets and whether they are compensated for selling you certain investments. Keep an eye out for potential conflicts of interest.

Financial goods are chosen to meet the client’s risk profile, which is a commonality among organizations. Consider a 50-year-old individual who has collected sufficient net worth for retirement and is primarily concerned with capital preservation. They might invest 45 per cent in equities (which could include individual stocks, mutual funds, and/or exchange-traded funds (ETFs)) and 55 per cent in fixed-income assets like bonds. A 40-year-old investor with a lower net worth and a willingness to take on more risk in order to grow their financial portfolio can choose an asset allocation of 70% stock assets, 25% fixed-income assets, and 5% alternative investments.

Your tailored portfolio will meet your needs while taking into account the firm’s investment philosophy. It should be determined by how quickly you require funds, your investing horizon, and your current and future objectives.

#5. Regular Financial Monitoring

Once your investment strategy is in place. Your advisor will send you periodic statements to keep you up to date on your portfolio. Regular meetings with the adviser will be to discuss your goals and progress. As well as to address any additional questions you may have. Meeting remotely through phone or video chat might help you create more of those connections.

In addition to regular, ongoing meetings. You should consult with your financial advisor whenever you anticipate a significant change in your life that could affect your financial situation. Such as getting married or divorced, starting a family, buying or selling a home, changing jobs, or getting a job promotion.

Signs You May Need an Advisor

At any age or stage of life, anyone can work with a financial advisor. You don’t need a lot of money; all you need is a good advisor who understands your circumstance.

The decision to seek expert financial advice is a personal one. But every time you’re feeling overwhelmed, confused, worried out, or scared about your financial status, it’s a good idea to get help. If you can’t afford it, the Financial Planning Association may be able to assist you with pro bono volunteer support.

It’s also appropriate to seek the advice of a financial counsellor if you’re financially secure but want to double-check that you’re on the right route. An advisor might make suggestions for changes to your strategy that will help you attain your objectives more efficiently.

Finally, if you don’t have the time or inclination to handle your finances. Hiring a financial advisor is an excellent idea.

These are some of the most common reasons you might require the assistance of a professional advisor. Here are a few that are more specific.

#1. None of Your Savings Is Invested or You Don’t Know How to Invest

Because we live in an inflationary world, any money kept in cash or in a low-interest account loses value year after year. Unless you have an unusually high income, investing is the only option to make your money grow, and most individuals will never have enough money to retire.

#2. You Have Investments, but You’re Consistently Losing Money

Even the finest investors lose money when the market is down or when they make a bad judgment. However, investing should significantly enhance your net worth. If it isn’t, enlisting the services of a financial advisor can help you figure out what you’re doing wrong and change it before it’s too late.

#3. You Don’t Have a Current Estate Plan

A financial advisor can also assist you in creating an estate plan to ensure that your assets are according to your intentions when you pass away. A financial advisor can also assist you if you are not adequate (or are unsure what insurance you require). Indeed, unlike an insurance salesperson, a fee-only financial counsellor may be able to provide a more unbiased assessment.

What Does It Take to Be a Financial Representative?

Leading insurance companies, particularly life insurance companies, are increasingly using the term “financial representative” as a job title. The title primarily signifies an insurance sales agent who also operates as an investment broker and/or a financial planner. However, the specifics vary slightly from firm to firm.

This and related job titles can also be found in financial services firms outside of the insurance industry, such as Fidelity Investments, a mutual fund and discount securities brokerage firm, to name just one example.

#1. Licenses and Certifications

The sorts of securities and investment products that a financial representative is permitted to sell are determined by the licenses that he or she holds from the Financial Industry Regulatory Authority (FINRA).

The FINRA Series 6 and Series 7 General Securities Representative licenses are normally by most firms. A Series 6 license allows you to sell bundled investment products like variable annuities and mutual funds in addition to insurance policies.

A Series 7 license, the same basic requirement for a financial advisor in a securities brokerage firm, is to sell a considerably broader range of investment products, including individual stocks and bonds.

It’s worth noting that some financial representatives are Series-6 qualified while others are Series-7 qualified within the same firm. As a result, despite having the same title, these producers might offer a wide range of financial products and services to their consumers. As well as differ greatly in their degrees of knowledge and skill.

Meanwhile, people who provide financial planning services should ideally have a Certified Financial Planner (CFP) credential. But a potential client should not assume this.

#2. Prevalence of the Title

Northwestern Mutual, John Hancock, Allstate, and Guardian Life are among the top corporations that employ the financial representative designation among their sales personnel.

#3. Compensation

Compensation packages differ per company and may include a combination of salary, incentive compensation (bonus), and commissions. Financial agents may be liable for a variety of expenses. Including office space, equipment, marketing, and sales materials, reflecting an increasing tendency in the financial services business. This is a well-established trend in the compensation of financial advisors. Firms, on the other hand, may cover such costs and/or guarantee a minimum wage package. For new hires in their first few years in the industry to assist them in establishing themselves.

Classification difficulties make it difficult to find credible average salary information. The federal Bureau of Labor Statistics, for example, does not keep track of financial representatives. Financial advisers and insurance sales agents, as well as “Securities, Commodities, and Financial Services Sales Agents,” are the most closely occupational categories. As of May 2017, the median salary for the latter was $63,780, with 90% of workers earning between $33,060 and $208,200. This was an increase from $187,200 in 2014.

#4. Job Site Findings

The typical income for a “Financial Services Representative” is roughly $50,000, according to the websites “Indeed.com” and “Glassdoor.com.” Glassdoor’s stats are based on a small number of self-reported data sets from its users, and so cannot be considered comprehensive or authoritative.

Similarly, Indeed’s data are solely on current job posts in its system and are so incomplete. Both sites’ average wage quotes can be unpredictable, with ups and downs based on current listings and user feedback.

Leading insurance companies, predictably, highlight the pay of their top financial representatives (for example, the top 10%, top 1,000, or top 100) on the recruiting sections of their websites while remaining silent on average overall compensation or average earnings for those in their first few years of service.

Conclusion

As technology advances, more and more companies are turning to “Robo-advisors.” Robo-advisors are computer programs that employ complex algorithms to read user data and design investment portfolios to the client’s individual financial goals.

These systems automate the process of gathering and interpreting data. Allowing them to fulfil a financial advisor’s job in a fraction of the time. If technology advances and algorithms grow more precise, Robo-advisors could pose a serious challenge to financial advisors.

Nonetheless, there is much worry about the reliability of Robo-advisors. Many people still like to know that their money is managed by a human person with whom they can speak and communicate rather than a computer. It is becoming less of a concern in a world where financial counsellors and investment managers rarely surpass market averages.

FAQ

Is a financial representative a good job?

The financial advisor career is among the best business jobs and best-paying jobs, according to U.S. News’ career rankings. It’s evolved “from a sales and product-driven profession to one centered on providing meaningful financial advice,” says Michael Purpura, president of Wealth Management at D.A. Davidson & Co.

Does finance degree require lot math?

While minimal math studies are required for all business majors, finance happens to be one of the most quantitative fields. To learn essential skills such as analyzing and assessing investment performance and financial planning for savings goals, you must acquire a solid foundation in mathematics.

What jobs do millionaires have?

The top five careers for millionaires include engineer, accountant, teacher, management and attorney.

  1. Financial Consultant: Everything you need (+ top skills)
  2. FINANCIAL ADVISOR: Description, Jobs, Companies, Career, (+ Easy guide to becoming an Advisor)
  3. Inside Sales: Overview, Job Description, Salary (+ Quick Tools)
  4. PROFESSIONAL FINANCE: Certifications and Qualifications (Updated!)
0 Shares:
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You May Also Like