NIKE LOGO:伟大品牌背后的故事!!!

耐克标志

当您想到传奇的美国品牌时,毫无疑问会想到几家公司。 一些最知名的公司包括苹果、麦当劳、可口可乐和谷歌。 其实只要看看这些公司的logo就知道是什么了! 耐克是另一家开发了独特品牌标识的公司,让客户能够立即识别其产品,并已成为其鞋履、服装和运动产品值得信赖和知名的品牌。 然而,尽管耐克的标志很受欢迎,但你知道“swoosh”最初是作为 35 美元设计的吗?

这篇文章涵盖了你应该知道的关于耐克标志的所有信息,这也将在很大程度上帮助你理解品牌的重要性以及如何正确地做到这一点。

是什么让 Nike 标志(Swoosh)成为标志性的? (概括)

1971 年,波特兰州立大学平面设计专业的学生卡罗琳戴维森坐在走廊上。她说她没有足够的钱去上课。 会计学教授菲尔·奈特找她为他的公司蓝丝带体育公司做自由职业。 Blue Ribbon Sports 决定创建自己的足球鞋系列,称为 Nike. 奈特再次寻求戴维森的帮助,为新公司开发徽标。

该设计花了大约 17 个半小时完成。 当戴在鞋子上时,戴维森想以干净和传统的设计来描绘机动性。 重要的是,该设计必须与竞争对手阿迪达斯的设计不同。

Swoosh 由两条曲线组成,传达运动并包括拟声词。 大声说出“嗖嗖”这个词。 你有什么考虑? 甚至这个词本身也带有动感。 她首先在薄纸上涂鸦图案,然后将其叠加在一张鞋画上。

奈特和他的商业伙伴最初对这个设计不以为然,但他们还是决定继续使用 Swoosh。 这个标志现在代表的不仅仅是运动。 对于一家身价数十亿美元、已成为体育权威的公司来说,Swoosh 代表的是一种生活方式,而不是一种特定的产品。

直到 1995 年,耐克都在 Swoosh 中使用 Futura Bold 字样。Futura 是一种基于几何设计的无衬线字体,在 1995 世纪流行。 它旨在传达远见和效率。 耐克在 XNUMX 年后从设计和字体中撤消了他们的名字,但它的品牌已经建立:戴维森的 Swoosh 是耐克的主要标识。

来源:LogoBot(耐克标志)

于是,Swoosh 诞生了。 戴维森因对该项目的贡献获得了 35 美元的补偿。

公司成功后,戴维森获得了一枚镶嵌钻石的戒指和一个装有 500 股耐克股票的信封。

Swoosh 的 35 美元旅程开始

该公司控制着全球鞋业市场超过 62% 的份额,并没有在一夜之间取得主导地位。 放大,最重要的视觉品牌方面之一,耐克标志,是在短短八年内创造出来的——剩下的就是历史。

让我们从 1971 年开始; 菲尔·奈特(Phil Knight)即将成立的公司(现称为耐克)成立 6 年后。

菲尔注意到,他的一个学生卡罗琳·戴维森(Carolyn Davidson)是一名新闻爱好者,在选修了设计课程后进入了设计行业,但在担任会计教授期间没有足够的钱来上课。 他邀请她以自由职业者的身份为他的公司 Blue Ribbon Sports 工作。

展望未来,Knight 选择在墨西哥开设自己的鞋类公司,该工厂最初似乎是一个以足球或足球运动员鞋为中心的品牌。

他回到戴维森寻找条纹,这是鞋标的短语。 他们还确定设计应该具有运动感,但不能类似于阿迪达斯的三条纹标志。

心愿已成

据报道,公司名称耐克的灵感来自奈特的同事杰夫约翰逊的一个梦想。 在杰夫的梦中,一位名叫耐克的希腊女神出现了,她也是耐克标志设计的灵感来源。

胜利女神耐克女神据说影响了无数勇敢的战士帮助他们的国家赢得冲突。 代表耐克女神翅膀的旋风被认为为前往战区的战士带来了灵感和勇气。

虽然没有证据,但一些专家认为,包括绰号“耐克”、短语“Swoosh”和座右铭“Just Do It”在内的所有方面都暗示着来自希腊女神的隐藏灵感。

戴维森通过在薄纸上勾勒并勾勒出徽标,然后将其覆盖在鞋图上,开始制作徽标。 耐克刻度/旋风标记是使用两条曲线创建的,以表示运动和拟声词。 Knight 和 BRS 的高管最终从大约六个选项列表中选择了现在称为 Swoosh 的那个。

全球喜爱的 swoosh 设计历时 17 小时,售价 35 美元。 奈特最初对这个设计不以为然,但他希望随着时间的推移它会在他身上成长。 他不知道它会在世界各地的人们身上生长。

没有尤里卡时刻

耐克标志开发者收到了一个重要的奖项,虽然是延迟的,但它是一个带有 Swoosh 标志的珍贵戒指,作为感谢礼物,以及 500 股该公司的股份,尽管这不是最终的标志。

戴维森的标志描绘了耐克女神的翅膀,股东们认为它与丝带有关。 然而,既然我们知道该公司将形象与他们的座右铭联系起来,我们将标志解释为速度和能量的隐喻。 尽管如此,这种观点还是花了很长时间才出现的。

耐克标志的历史; 他们不只是这样做

图片来源:DesignBro(耐克标志)

继 BRS 和第一版 Swoosh 之后,该公司对标志进行了一些小调整。

公司名称全部用小写和草书字母书写,Swoosh 由 Davidson 于 1971 年开发。

1978 年,公司决定设计一种在公司名称下方以所有字母和粗体显示的勾号/旋风。 这次迭代的另一个变化是以更大的几何形状的形式增加了一丝力量。

1985 年发生了重大变化:标志被封闭在一个盒子中,标志的调色板从黑白变为红白。 此外,第一次出现,“JUST DO IT”发生在 1980 年代后期。

不用说,公司恢复了原来的颜色,与现在的标志相同。 1995 年推出的唯一 Swoosh 以比以前的版本更基本的方式代表了速度和运动能力。

从不起眼的开始和对细节的一丝不苟,我们可以理解菲尔奈特关于耐克标志历史的评论,“Swoosh 标志不是一个'灵光乍现'的时刻。”

耐克标志设计元素

最简单的标志设计之一是耐克标志。 由于其简单性,旋风符号是一个令人难忘的商业标志。 公司的品牌识别主要依靠这个标志。

耐克标志形状:正如我们之前提到的,旋风标志的设计类似于希腊胜利女神耐克的翅膀。 所以,由于女神,卡罗琳戴维森想到了翅膀的形状。

耐克颜色:多年来,耐克标志出现了多种颜色。 它多年来一直以漆黑的颜色出现。 然后,该品牌的颜色在某个时候变成了基本的橙色。 移动到红色,现在又变回黑色。

耐克标志字体: 标志的字体是一个符号。 然而,标语“Just Do It”有时会出现在标志上。 在其他情况下,徽标还将包括公司名称。 文本中使用 Futura Bold 字体。 耐克标志用大字书写,用于宣传品牌。

字母 K 略微倾斜,以使公司名称脱颖而出。 直到 1995 年,“Nike”这个名字出现在 Futura Bold 标志的顶部。

1995 年,公司名称“耐克”从徽标中删除。 唯一剩下的标志设计特征是旋风,它是公司的主要标识符。

耐克的背景

Phil Knight 和 Bill Bowerman 于 1964 年联手创办了 Blue Ribbon Sports。在简单的握手之后,每个人承诺 500 美元在美国进口和销售日本鞋 Tiger。

当时,全世界的大多数运动员都青睐德国制鞋商。 因此,两人创立了 Blue Ribbon Sports Inc.,该公司后来被称为耐克,一个成功的运动装备品牌。

耐克的开端

比尔鲍尔曼喜欢慢跑并与他的运动员一起工作以提高他们的表现。 在俄勒冈大学,他是全国知名的田径教练。 菲尔奈特是参加鲍尔曼计划的田径运动员。 随后,他前往斯坦福大学攻读MBA。

Knight 和 Bowerman 都认为鞋技术可能会得到改进。 奈特甚至写了一篇论文,概述了高品质的日本鞋如何与当时的世界领先品牌竞争。

鲍尔曼努力为他的运动员创造舒适、便宜和安全的鞋子。 虽然他的第一个模型失败了,但奈特的文章让他实现了自己的梦想。

在决定独自工作之前,奈特向许多投资者提出了他的想法。 鲍尔曼建议当他向他的老教练提出他的想法时,他们会联系起来并建立伙伴关系。

成长中的公司

随着蓝带体育的发展,它拥有大量的邮购销售和自己的商店。 创始人开始意识到,除了分销和直销之外,他们未来还可以涉足制造业。 结果,他们开始了创建制鞋公司耐克的第一步。 同时,他们还推出了著名的耐克耐克标志。

人们认为,有两个关键标准将决定他们的最终成功。 首先是奈特和鲍尔曼当时还在试验制鞋技术。 他们从未停止思考如何让鞋子变得更好。

当最好的运动鞋发挥出最佳状态时,运动员的表现必然会提高。 结果,鲍尔曼和奈特能够生产出各种新颖的设计,并被竞争对手在俄勒冈州当地的试验中使用。

其次,耐克的长期成功可能与现在对品牌的看法有关,与世界著名的运动员如 迈克尔·乔丹 和罗杰·费德勒(Roger Federer)宣传这双鞋。 运动员的支持和广告对于耐克革命性的鞋类和技术至关重要。

一开始,该品牌能够得到史蒂夫·普雷方丹的推广和代言,他在他们的鞋子上做得非常出色。 普雷方丹穿着耐克运动鞋在 1972 年慕尼黑奥运会上表现非常出色。 他还登上了《体育画报》杂志。

耐克的起起落落

耐克在整个 1980 年代经历了几次高潮和低谷。 有氧运动成为一种世界性的热潮,这种运动需要使用特殊的鞋类。 耐克本可以利用这个机会生产和销售健美操鞋,但他们搞砸了。

幸运的是,耐克有机会很快恢复自己的状态。 他们创造并推出了最新的“安全气囊”技术,其中包括带有半透明鞋底的酷炫时尚设计。 他们还同时推出了臭名昭著的“Bo Knows”广告和交叉训练鞋。 1980 年代,耐克的“Jordan Air”品牌人气飙升。 Jordan Air 是历史上最著名和最持久的品牌之一。

耐克扩张

耐克在 1990 年代和 2000 年代开始涉足足球、高尔夫、运动服和其他运动领域。 耐克标志现在可以在各种产品上找到,包括健身技术、休闲服装、运动服装,当然还有运动鞋。

然而,耐克的形象最近因其麻烦的运动员而受到损害,如兰斯·阿姆斯特朗和泰格·伍兹。 尽管如此,不可否认的是,该公司的业务遍及全球,其赞助范围已扩展到体育界。

耐克的投资

除了利用名人来吸引客户外,耐克还收购了许多小企业,以保持竞争优势并扩大成功。 同时,他们卖掉了许多小企业以帮助平衡账目。

目前,Hurley International 和 Converse 是该公司的两个主要子公司。 网球、足球和篮球运动员都有自己的运动鞋系列。 此外,奥运会的运动员也没有被遗忘!

耐克已经成长为现在的成功公司,在全球拥有至少 44,000 名员工,这要归功于大量的辛勤工作和一些良好的判断。 该公司价值约 10 亿美元,年收入达数亿美元。

耐克的成功归功于公司永无止境的创新和适时的投资,从而带来了数亿美元的年收益。

时间线摘要

1964: Blue Ribbon Sports 由 Phil Knight 和 Bill Bowerman 创立。

1971:在与 Asics(以前的 Onitsuka Tiger)断绝联系后,Blue Ribbon Sports 采用了波特兰州立大学学生 Carolyn Davidson 以 35 美元开发的 swoosh 标志。 同年,鲍尔曼为 Waffle Trainers 创造了独特的鞋底。 他把橡胶塞进华夫饼机里。

1972: 罗马尼亚网球运动员伊利·纳斯塔斯与耐克签署了第一份代言协议。

1978:随着革命性 Tailwind 运动鞋的推出,耐克将“Air”技术注册为商标。

1980:耐克股票以每股 18 美分的价格向公众出售。

1984:迈克尔乔丹与耐克签署赞助协议,推出“Air Jordan”品牌。

1987:耐克为新鞋品牌“Air Max”制作了一个广告,其中包含披头士乐队的“Revolution”歌曲。 这是第一个包含披头士乐队音乐的广告。

1988:第一部“Just Do It”广告发布,描绘了一位 80 岁的伟大运动员沃尔特·斯塔克在金门大桥上慢跑。

1989:由足球和棒球明星博杰克逊主演的“博知道”商业活动首次亮相。

在这一年 1990,第一家耐克镇店在俄勒冈州波特兰开业。

In 1991, Jeff Ballinger 发表了一篇论文,揭露了印度尼西亚耐克工厂恶劣的工作条件和低工资。 耐克通过制定其首个工厂行为规范来采取行动。

1996: 泰格伍兹由耐克签下。

1998:面对强烈反对,耐克提高了员工的最低工资,加强了监控,并在其国际业务中纳入了美国 OSHA 对清洁空气的规定。

1999: 耐克的发明者比尔鲍尔曼去世,享年 88 岁。

21st世纪

2002: 冲浪服制造商 Hurley International 被耐克收购。

2003:科比·布莱恩特和勒布朗·詹姆斯由耐克签约。

2004: 耐克以 309 亿美元收购匡威。

菲尔奈特于同年辞去耐克总裁兼首席执行官的职务,但在威廉佩雷斯接任公司新任首席执行官时仍担任董事长。

2008:德里克·杰特(Derek Jeter)由耐克签约。

2012:耐克成为 NFL 的官方球衣供应商。

2015:耐克成为 NBA 的官方球衣供应商。

2018:耐克首次推出由运动员和政治家科林·卡佩尼克主演的广告活动,收到了正面和负面的反馈。

诉讼

平面设计师 Ari Saal Forman 制作了他的 Ari Menthol 10s 鞋,将 Nike Air Force 1 的设计与 Newport 的名称和颜色融合在一起,Lorillard(Newport 的前任所有者)和耐克在 2006 年起诉了他。这双鞋“致力于Forman 表示,这两个品牌获得最多,付出最少。 由于诉讼,福尔曼不再被授权拥有一对薄荷醇 10。 

耐克于 2021 年起诉 MSCHF 的“撒旦鞋”,这是耐克 Air Max 97 的定制版本,具有明显的撒旦形象。 耐克声称商标侵权,并且他们的标志被错误地与撒旦教相关联。 据美国地区法官称,改装后的鞋子无法上市。

像耐克这样简单的标志设计的好处

作为任何小型企业的品牌推广工作的一部分,重要的是要注意您使徽标尽可能简单。 不要包含过多的信息。 这样观众就不会负担过重或消耗过多的信息。

此外,具有简单调色板的徽标通常看起来更值得信赖。 一个简单的标志具有更具标志性和迷人的感觉。

耐克的标志在完美的时间被取消了商标。 他们推迟了去品牌化,直到他们的公司发展壮大并在世界范围内享有盛誉。

少即是多 + 可发音的标志是耐克标志设计的两个格言。

在整个耐克标志的改变中,耐克标志的智慧一直是“少即是好”。 通过去除字体,耐克标志传达了一种冒险和勇敢的感觉。

另一个聪明的举措是使 swoosh 标志具有发音,因为它可以读作“like”、“check”、“tick”或“right”。 自然,“Nike”是“New”和“Like”这两个词的组合。

外卖

虽然耐克自 1964 年成立以来经历了起起落落,但该公司并没有表现出放缓的迹象,而且它的未来似乎比以往任何时候都更加光明。 这个品牌和标志的成功故事巧妙而新颖,为许多现代体育公司树立了标准。 如果没有该公司的产品,现在许多耐克粉丝将无法正常工作。

仿冒品和复制品的增加可能是耐克成功的另一个标志。 某些地区的许多体育用品与耐克的商标和符号相似(如果不相同)。 但是,如果您想要耐克的质量和保修,则必须直接从制造商处购买。

1995 年,公司名称“耐克”从徽标中删除。 唯一剩下的标志设计特征是旋风,它是公司的主要标识符。

耐克标志被归类为图标标志,耐克标志作为主要标识。

胜利女神耐克女神据说影响了无数勇敢的战士帮助他们的国家赢得冲突。 代表耐克女神翅膀的旋风被认为为前往战区的战士带来了灵感和勇气。

  1. Blue Ribbon Home Warranty Reviews 2023- 查看最佳计划
  2. 7个将为您带来更多利润的小型企业品牌理念
  3. 有效性定义以及如何在 202 年扩展任何业务3
  4. 星巴克标志:演变、意义、品牌模式和提示
0股
发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被公开。 必填 *

你也许也喜欢

NIKE LOGO: The Story Behind Great Branding!!!

Nike Logo

There are no doubts about a few firms that come to mind when you think about legendary American brands. Some of the most well-known companies include Apple, McDonald’s, Coca-Cola, and Google. In fact, you only need to look at the logos of these companies to figure out what they are! Nike is another corporation that has developed a distinct brand identity that allows customers to instantly recognize its products and has become a trusted and well-known brand for its shoes, clothes, and athletic products. However, as popular as Nike’s logo is, did you know that the “swoosh” was first created as a $35 design?

This post covers all you should know about the Nike logo, which will also go a long way in helping you understand the importance of branding and how to do it rightly.

What Makes a the Nike Logo (Swoosh) Iconic? (Summary)

Carolyn Davidson, a graphic design student at Portland State University, was sitting in the hallway in 1971. She said that she didn’t have enough money to take a class. Phil Knight, an accounting professor, approached her about doing freelance work for his company, Blue Ribbon Sports. Blue Ribbon Sports decided to create their own football shoe line, known as Nike. Knight enlisted the help of Davidson once more to develop a logo for the new company.

The design took around 17 and a half hours to complete. When placed on a shoe, Davidson wanted to portray mobility in a design that was clean and traditional. Importantly, the design had to be distinct from that of competitor Adidas.

The Swoosh was made up of two curving lines that convey motion and include onomatopoeia. Say the word “swoosh” out loud. What do you have in mind? Even the word itself carries a sense of motion. She began by doodling motifs on tissue paper, which she then layered over a shoe drawing.

Knight and his business partners were initially unimpressed with the design, but they decided to go forward with the Swoosh nevertheless. The logo now stands for a lot more than just motion. For a multibillion-dollar corporation that has established itself as a sports authority, the Swoosh represents a way of life rather than a specific product.

Nike was inscribed in Futura Bold within the Swoosh until 1995. Futura is a sans serif font based on geometric designs that became popular during the twentieth century. It’s meant to convey foresight and efficiency. Nike withdrew their name from the design and hence the font after 1995, but its brand was established: Davidson’s Swoosh is Nike’s primary identification.

Source: LogoBot (Nike Logo)

As a result, the Swoosh was born. Davidson was compensated $35 for her contributions to the project.

Davidson was then given a ring with an inlaid diamond and an envelope containing 500 shares of Nike stock after the company’s success.

The Swoosh’s $35 Journey Begins

The company, which controls more than 62 percent of the global shoe market, did not achieve its dominance overnight. Zooming in, one of the most important visual branding aspects, the Nike logo, was created in just eight years – and the rest is history.

Let us begin by looking at the year 1971; 6 years after the inception of Phil Knight’s soon-to-be company, now known as Nike.

Phil noticed that one of his students, Carolyn Davidson, a journalism aficionado who went into the design sector after taking a design course as an elective, did not have enough money to enroll in a class while working as an accounting professor. He invited her to work for his company, Blue Ribbon Sports, as a freelancer.

Moving forward, Knight chose to start his own footwear firm with a factory in Mexico, which first appeared to be a brand centered on shoes for soccer or football players.

He went back to Davidson for a stripe, which is a phrase for a shoe logo. They also determined that the design should have a sense of motion but not be similar to Adidas’ three-stripe emblem.

A Wish Fulfilled

According to reports, the company’s name, Nike, was inspired by a dream that Knight’s colleague, Jeff Johnson, had. In Jeff’s dream, a Greek goddess named Nike appeared, and she was also the inspiration for the Nike logo design.

Goddess Nike, the Goddess of Victory, is said to have influenced countless brave warriors to help their country win conflicts. The swoosh, which represents Goddess Nike’s wings, are thought to have carried inspiration and boldness to fighters heading to battle zones.

While no proof exists, some experts believe that all of the aspects, including the moniker “Nike,” the phrase “Swoosh,” and the motto “Just Do It,” hints at a hidden inspiration from the Greek Goddess.

Davidson began work on the logo by sketching and outlining it on tissue paper, then overlaying it over a shoe drawing. The Nike tick/swoosh mark was created using two curving lines to represent movement and onomatopoeia. Knight and BRS executives eventually chose the one that is now known as the Swoosh from a list of roughly six options.

The globally adored swoosh was designed over the course of 17 hours for $35. Knight was initially unimpressed with the design, but he expected it to grow on him over time. He had no idea that it would grow on people all around the world.

No Eureka Moment

The Nike logo developer received a major, though delayed, award in the shape of a valuable ring with the Swoosh as an appreciation gift, as well as 500 shares of the firm, although it was not the final logo.

The logo for Davidson depicted the Goddess Nike wing, and stockholders thought it was related to a ribbon. However, now that we know the company relates the image to their motto, we interpret the emblem as a metaphor for speed and energy. Nonetheless, this point of view took a long time to emerge.

History of Nike Logo; They Didn’t Just Do It

Image Credit: DesignBro (Nike Logo)

Following BRS and the first version of Swoosh, the business made a number of minor tweaks to the logo.

The company name was written in all lowercase and cursive letters, with the Swoosh developed by Davidson in 1971.

In 1978, the company decided on a design that had a tick/swoosh beneath the company name in all letters and bold. Another change in this iteration was the addition of a hint of strength in the form of a larger geometric shape.

In 1985, there were significant changes: the logo was enclosed in a box, and the logo’s color palette shifted from black and white to red and white. Also, the first appearance of, “Just Do It” occurred in the late 1980s.

It goes without saying that the corporation returned to its original colors, which are the same as those in its present logo. The lone Swoosh, introduced in 1995, represents speed and athleticism in a more basic fashion than previous incarnations.

Given the humble beginnings and meticulous attention to detail, we can understand Phil Knight’s comment about the history of the Nike logo, “Swoosh logo was not a ‘eureka’ moment.”

Elements of Nike Logo Design

One of the most simple logo designs is the Nike logo. The swoosh symbol is a memorable business sign thanks to its simplicity. The company’s brand identity is mainly reliant on this sign.

Nike Logo Shape: As we’ve earlier mentioned, the swoosh emblem is designed to resemble the wing of Nike, the Greek Goddess of Victory. So, due to the goddess, Carolyn Davidson had the shape of the wing in mind.

Nike Color: Over the years, the swoosh symbol has come in a variety of hues. It appeared in a pitch-black color for many years. The brand’s color was then changed to a basic orange at some point. Moved to red and now back to black.

Nike Logo Font: The font of the logo is a symbol. However, the tagline “Just Do It” appears over the emblem on occasion. On other occasions, the logo will also include the corporate name. The Futura Bold typeface is used in the text. The Nike logo is written in large characters, which serves to promote the brand.

The letter K is slightly tilted in order to make the firm name stand out. Until 1995, the name “Nike” featured on top of the emblem in Futura Bold.

In 1995, the corporate name “Nike” was removed from the logo. The only remaining logo design feature is the swoosh, which serves as the company’s primary identifier.

Nike’s Background

Phil Knight and Bill Bowerman teamed up to start Blue Ribbon Sports in 1964. Each man committed $500 after a simple handshake to import and sell the Japanese shoe Tiger in the United States.

At the time, the majority of athletes all over the world favored German shoe manufacturers. As a result, the two founded Blue Ribbon Sports Inc., which would later become known as Nike, a successful sports gear brand.

Nike’s Beginnings

Bill Bowerman enjoyed jogging and working with his athletes to improve their performance. At the University of Oregon, he was a nationally regarded track and field coach. Phil Knight was a track and field athlete who participated in Bowerman’s program. He then moved on to Stanford University to get his MBA.

Both Knight and Bowerman believed that shoe technology might be bettered. Knight even wrote a paper outlining how high-quality Japanese shoes might compete with the world’s leading brands at the time.

Bowerman worked hard to create shoes that were comfortable, inexpensive, and safe for his athletes. While his first models failed, Knight’s article enabled him to realize his dream.

Knight pitched his ideas to a number of investors before deciding to work on his own. Bowerman advised that they link up and form a partnership when he presented his ideas to his old coach.

A Growing Company

Blue Ribbon Sports had a ton of mail-order sales and its own shop as it grew. The founders began to realize that, in addition to distribution and direct sales, manufacturing might be something they could venture into in the future. As a result, they started the first steps toward founding Nike, a shoe manufacturing corporation. They also introduced the famed Nike swoosh symbol at the same time.

It is thought that there are two crucial criteria that will determine their ultimate success. The first was that Knight and Bowerman were still experimenting with shoe technology at the time. They never stopped thinking about how they could make shoes better.

When the best sports shoes are performing at their best, an athlete’s performance will inevitably improve. As a result, Bowerman and Knight were able to produce a variety of novel designs, which were used by competitors at local Oregon trials.

Second, Nike’s long-term success can be related to how the brand is perceived now, with world-famous athletes such as Michael Jordan and Roger Federer promoting the shoes. Athletes’ support and advertising were critical for Nike’s revolutionary footwear and technology.

In the beginning, the brand was able to get Steve Prefontaine’s promotion and endorsement, and he did a fantastic job in their shoes. Prefontaine did exceedingly well at the 1972 Munich Olympics while wearing Nike sneakers. He was also featured in the Sports Illustrated magazine.

The Nike Ups and Downs

Nike had several highs and lows throughout the 1980s. Aerobics became a worldwide craze, and this type of exercise necessitated the use of special footwear. Nike could have taken advantage of the opportunity to produce and sell aerobics shoes, but they blew it.

Fortunately, Nike was given the opportunity to rehabilitate itself rather fast. They created and debuted their newest “airbag” technology, which included cool, trendy designs with translucent soles. They also debuted the infamous “Bo Knows” adverts and cross-training shoes at the same period. During the 1980s, Nike’s “Jordan Air” brand surged in popularity. Jordan Air is one of the most well-known and long-lasting brands in history.

The Nike Expansion

Nike began branching out into soccer, golf, sportswear, and other sports fields in the 1990s and 2000s. The Nike logo can now be found on a variety of products, including fitness technology, casual clothing, workout apparel, and, of course, athletic shoes.

However, Nike’s image has recently suffered as a result of its troublesome athletes, like Lance Armstrong and Tiger Woods. Nonetheless, there’s no denying that the firm has a global presence, and its sponsorships extend far into the sporting world.

Nike’s Investments

Aside from leveraging celebrities to attract clients, Nike has purchased a number of small businesses in order to remain ahead of the competition and expand their success. Simultaneously, they’ve sold off a slew of tiny businesses to help balance the books.

For the time being, Hurley International and Converse are two of the company’s primary subsidiaries. Tennis, football, and basketball players each have their own sporting shoe collection. Also, athletes from the Olympics have not been forgotten!

Nike has grown to be the successful corporation it is now, with at least 44,000 workers throughout the world, thanks to a lot of hard work and some good judgments. The corporation is valued at about $10 billion, with annual revenues in the hundreds of millions of dollars.

Nike’s success has been attributed to the company’s never-ending innovation and well-timed investments, which have resulted in annual earnings of several hundred million dollars.

Timeline Summary

1964: Blue Ribbon Sports was founded by Phil Knight and Bill Bowerman.

1971: After severing connections with Asics (previously Onitsuka Tiger), Blue Ribbon Sports adopts the swoosh emblem developed for $35 by Carolyn Davidson, a Portland State University student. Bowerman creates the distinctive sole for Waffle Trainers the same year. He’d stuffed rubber into a waffle maker.

1972: Ilie Nastase, a Romanian tennis player, signed the first-ever endorsement deal with Nike.

1978: With the launching of its revolutionary Tailwind sneaker, Nike trademarked “Air” technology.

1980: Nike shares are sold to the public for 18 cents each.

1984: Michael Jordan inks a sponsorship deal with Nike, introducing the “Air Jordan” brand.

1987: Nike produces a commercial for the new shoe brand “Air Max,” which features The Beatles’ “Revolution” song. It was the first commercial to include music by The Beatles.

1988: The first “Just Do It” commercial was released, portraying Walter Stack, an 80-year-old great athlete, jogging across the Golden Gate Bridge.

1989: The “Bo knows” commercial campaign, starring football and baseball star Bo Jackson, debuts.

In the year 1990, the first Nike town shop opened in Portland, Oregon.

In 1991, Jeff Ballinger issued a paper exposing horrible working conditions and low wages in Nike factories in Indonesia. Nike takes action by establishing its first factory regulations of conduct.

1996: Tiger Woods is signed by Nike.

1998: In the face of significant opposition, Nike raises its employees’ minimum salary, increases monitoring, and incorporates US OSHA regulations for clean air in its international operations.

1999: Bill Bowerman, the inventor of Nike, dies at the age of 88.

21st Century

2002: Hurley International, a surfwear manufacturer, was purchased by Nike.

2003: Kobe Bryant and LeBron James are signed by Nike.

2004: Converse was purchased by Nike for $309 million.

Phil Knight resigns as Nike’s president and CEO in the same year but remains chairman when William Perez takes over as the company’s new CEO.

2008: Derek Jeter was signed by Nike.

2012: Nike becomes the NFL’s official kit provider.

2015: Nike becomes the NBA’s official kit provider.

2018: Nike debuts an ad campaign starring athlete and politician Colin Kaepernick, which received both negative and positive feedback.

Lawsuits

After graphic designer Ari Saal Forman produced his Ari Menthol 10s shoes, which blended the design of the Nike Air Force 1 with Newport’s name and colors, Lorillard (the previous owner of Newport) and Nike sued him in 2006. The shoes were “dedicated to the two brands who have taken the most and given the least,” according to Forman. Forman is no longer authorized to own a pair of Menthol 10s as a result of the litigation. 

Nike sued MSCHF in 2021 for the “Satan Shoes,” a customized version of the Nike Air Max 97 featuring clearly Satanic imagery. Nike claimed trademark infringement and that their logo was incorrectly associated with Satanism. The modified shoes could not be marketed, according to a US district judge.

Benefits of a Simple Logo Design like Nike’s

As part of branding efforts for any small business, it is important to note that you make the logo as simple as possible. Do not include too excessive information. This is so that audiences will not be overburdened or consume excessive amounts of information.

Furthermore, a logo with a simple color palette often appears more trustworthy. A simple logo has a more iconic and captivating sense about it.

Nike’s logo was debranded at the perfect time. They held off on debranding until their company grew to be large and well-known around the world.

Less is more + Pronounceable logo are two Nike logo design maxims.

Throughout Nike’s logo alteration, the wisdom of the Nike logo has been “less is better.” By removing the typography, the Nike logo conveys a sense of adventure and bravery.

Another clever move was to make the swoosh logo pronounceable, as it may be read as “like,” “check,” “tick,” or “right.” Naturally, “Nike” is a combination of the words “New” and “Like.”

The Takeaway

While Nike has had its ups and downs since its inception in 1964, the corporation is showing no signs of slowing down, and its future appears brighter than ever. The success story of this brand and logo is smart and original, setting the standard for many modern sporting companies. Many Nike fans nowadays would be unable to function without the company’s products.

The rise in knockoffs and duplicates could be another sign of Nike’s success. Many sporting goods in some areas have similar, if not identical, trademarks and symbols to Nike’s. However, if you want Nike’s quality and warranty, you’ll have to buy directly from the manufacturer.

Nike Logo FAQs

In 1995, the corporate name “Nike” was removed from the logo. The only remaining logo design feature is the swoosh, which serves as the company’s primary identifier.

The Nike logo is categorized under the icon type of logo, with the swoosh sign as the primary identifier

Goddess Nike, the Goddess of Victory, is said to have influenced countless brave warriors to help their country win conflicts. The swoosh, which represents Goddess Nike’s wings, are thought to have carried inspiration and boldness to fighters heading to battle zones.

  1. Blue Ribbon Home Warranty Reviews 2021- See Best Plans
  2. 7 SMALL BUSINESS BRANDING IDEAS THAT WILL YIELD YOU MORE PROFIT
  3. EFFECTIVENESS Definition & How to Scale Any Business in 2021
  4. STARBUCKS LOGO: Evolution, Significance, Branding Models & Tips
0 Shares:
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You May Also Like