昆虫学家薪水:昆虫学家做什么

昆虫学家的薪水
图片来源:; ZipRecruiter

昆虫学家是专门从事昆虫领域和实验室研究的生物学家。 大多数昆虫学家专注于某个物种或昆虫群,就像昆虫学的分支本身一样。 在这篇文章中,我们将了解法医昆虫学家是如何工作的,他们的薪水是多少,以及他们可以获得机会的可用工作或环境,特别是对于那些想成为昆虫学家的人。

昆虫学者

昆虫学家是生物科学家,专注于昆虫的实地和实验室研究。 大多数昆虫学家专注于他们致力于研究的特定物种或昆虫群,例如蜜蜂、蝴蝶、甲虫或蚂蚁。 研究蜜蜂的昆虫学家可能会决定将注意力集中在更窄的范围内,并发展出只研究单一物种的专业,例如蜜蜂。 通过研究与其感兴趣的特定物种的行为、营养、繁殖、疾病传播或害虫管理有关的主题,他们可以进一步专业化。

其他职业机会包括学习昆虫学古生物学或法医昆虫学的认证,它使用昆虫证据来支持警方调查(研究昆虫化石和进化)。 该职位通常需要执行以下任务的能力:

  • 在实验室环境或野外创建和开展基于昆虫的实验。
  • 收集和评估生物数据和样本
  • 了解昆虫的特征,例如它们如何与周围环境和其他物种相互作用、它们如何繁殖、它们的种群如何随时间变化、它们如何生病以及它们如何迁移
  • 研究、启动和保持昆虫育种计划
  • 计算、密切关注和控制昆虫数量
  • 撰写详细说明您的发现的学术文章、研究和研究论文

昆虫学家做什么的?

根据他们职位的性质,昆虫学家可能有广泛的具体职责。 从事研究项目的昆虫学家可以负责规划研究、照顾昆虫受试者、管理实验室助理、收集数据、评估数据、撰写报告以及在学术期刊上发表研究结果以供同行评审。 研究人员可能为政府、私营部门或公共部门工作,而实地工作通常需要长途跋涉。

从事教育工作的昆虫学家可能负责开展实验室活动、对测试进行评分、监督学生研究、指导研究生以及追求自己的研究目标。 担任大学教授的昆虫学家被迫公开他们的发现,因为任期通常与出版成功挂钩。 昆虫学领域的其他人可能在动物园、博物馆或医疗机构的公共教育部门工作。

法医昆虫学家

死后定居在人体组织中的昆虫是法医昆虫学在法医或医学犯罪背景下的主要焦点。 为了确定在人类遗骸上生长的昆虫的年龄,法医昆虫学家必须首先确定从定殖开始的最短时间、卵或幼虫第一次在遗骸上产卵的时间以及昆虫活动第一次开始的时间(称为死后间隔) ,或 PMI)。 在医学犯罪环境中,法医昆虫学经常用于:

  • 确定受害者死亡地点
  • 将受害者和嫌疑人联系在一起
  • 识别受创伤的区域
  • 确定死亡时间
  • 应提供替代毒理学和 DNA 样本

法医昆虫学家的职责

尽管一些法医昆虫学家为执法机构全职工作,但这些法医科学家中的大多数都是根据合同要求聘请的,以帮助法医、验尸官、警察部门和联邦组织解决与刑事死亡调查相关的紧迫问题。 当涉及刑事死亡调查时,法医昆虫学工作通常涉及:

  • 访问犯罪现场以记录、定位和识别人类遗骸,以及收集和保存生物和物证
  • 检查昆虫的几个要素,例如它们的种类、生长、发育阶段或对死后身体造成的任何伤害,以确定它们何时死亡
  • 检查犯罪前后的气候和天气趋势,以确定昆虫的生命周期
  • 弄清楚该地点的昆虫是由受害者还是罪魁祸首带到那里,或者它们是否是该地区的本地人
  • 撰写详尽而全面的昆虫学报告
  • 通过密切关注所有昆虫标本的处理,确保正确处理、识别和储存所有昆虫标本
  • 建立法医昆虫的收集、记录和个案工作流程

法医昆虫学家在犯罪现场收集任何证据时必须遵循特定程序和标准,以便在必要时将其用作法庭证据。 因此,执法人员经常陪同法医昆虫学家前往犯罪现场,以验证在收集和保存证据期间是否采取了所有必要的预防措施。 尽管法医昆虫学家工资缺乏易于获取的数据,但劳工统计局估计法医科学技术人员的平均年工资为 55,730 美元。 在同一时期,前 10% 的人的年薪为 85,210 美元。

昆虫学家薪水

昆虫学家赚了多少钱? 截至 28 年 2022 月 77,862 日,昆虫学家的平均工资为 63,920 美元,但正常薪酬范围为 95,977 美元至 XNUMX 美元。 工资范围可能会因各种关键方面而有很大差异,包括教育、证书、 补充 才能,以及您在特定领域工作的时间长度。 Salary 通过提供比任何其他网站更多的在线实时薪酬数据,帮助您确定准确的薪酬目标。 最近寻找的相关职位包括犹太教堂的执行董事、合同会计师; 和系统实习生。

截至 28 年 2022 月 86,971 日,加州昆虫学家的平均工资为 71,398 美元,正常薪酬范围为 107,207 美元至 XNUMX 美元。 昆虫学家的平均工资可能因城市和其他许多关键方面而有很大差异,例如学校教育、证书、补充人才以及您在特定领域工作的时间长短。 工资范围与昆虫学家工资相当的工作包括生物过程工程师、介入技术专家和职业治疗医生。

昆虫学家的工作 

凭借昆虫学学士学位,毕业生有多种职业选择。 一些昆虫学的职业。

  • 昆虫学的职业是生物、农业或基因研究
  • 调查昆虫学
  • 通用保健
  • 咨询(农业、环境、公共卫生、城市、食品加工)
  • 联邦和州政府组织
  • 环境与保护生物学
  • 医药行业
  • 管理自然资源
  • 犯罪昆虫学
  • 健康促进咨询(农业、环境、公共卫生、城市、食品加工)
  • 联邦和州政府组织
  • 环境与保护生物学
  • 医药行业
  • 管理自然资源
  • 医学、兽医或研究生院
  • 生产农业
  • 害虫预防
  • 从事化学、种子和肥料研究的企业
  • 养蜂业
  • 社区教育

目前昆虫学家可以从事的一些工作包括 

  • PreZero 美国,安大略省,加利福尼亚州
  • 美国农业部鱼类生物学家,加利福尼亚州南太浩湖
  • 加利福尼亚州圣贝纳迪诺县人力资源部环境健康专家实习生
  • Associates, 疟疾个案管理, Clinton Health Access Initiative, Inc., Los Angeles, CA
  • 农业技术员 - 加利福尼亚州弗雷斯诺弗雷斯诺县的季节性(额外帮助)
  • 加利福尼亚州沙夫特的 Wonderful Orchards 技术支持研究员

如何成为一名昆虫学家

研究生学位通常是高级研究工作或大学教学职责所必需的,这为拥有这些学位的昆虫学家提供了更多的工作机会。

昆虫学学位通常需要关于昆虫解剖学、生理学、繁殖、行为、遗传学、分类学、生命周期、进化、种群动态、寄生虫学、生态影响、生物控制和毒理学的课程。 统计学、普通生物学、生态学和化学课程可能需要作为学位的额外研究。

教育:昆虫学家必须持有昆虫学或与之密切相关的生物学学科的学士学位。 大多数昆虫学家继续攻读硕士学位或博士学位。 完成本科学位和相关实习后的水平。 许多著名的学院和大学提供本科昆虫学课程。 许多其他大学提供该领域的未成年人,帮助生物科学专业的学生为这条研究生水平的工作路线做好准备。

根据其成员资格,世界上最大的昆虫学会是美国昆虫学会。 董事会认证和助理认证是 ESA 的两个认证选项。 获得委员会认证 (BCE) 的昆虫学家必须完成两项广泛的测试,并且通常完成研究生水平的昆虫学学位。 持有相关认证 (ACE) 的昆虫学家必须通过一次综合考试。 (这些昆虫学家经常在害虫管理领域工作。)

昆虫学家的能力和技能

为了在这个职位上取得成功,你通常需要以下能力和特质:

  • 对昆虫感到舒适:昆虫学家必须能够处理昆虫及其副产品而不会感到紧张。
  • 观察技能:该领域经常要求观察和注意有关昆虫环境、行为和身体特征的细节。
  • 沟通能力:根据具体职位,他们必须能够以口头和书面形式将他们的发现传达给学者、学生、政策制定者和其他利益相关者。
  • 昆虫学家需要能够从通过研究、观察和实验获得的数据中做出推论。

工作环境和时间表

昆虫学家甚至法医的工作可以在大学、研究机构、动物园、水族馆、政府或私人农业组织、军事组织、公共卫生组织、生物技术公司和其他可以理解但仍属于昆虫学家领域的企业。

尽管大多数动物学家和野生动物生物学家都是全职工作,但实际工作时间取决于工作和雇主。 例如,教师可能在整个学年中大部分时间都在工作。 特别是,在进行实地考察时,研究人员可能会延长或不稳定的时间。

以下可比较的职业和中等收入是那些有兴趣成为昆虫学家的人的选择:

  • 林务员或保护科学家:60,970 美元
  • 服务或动物护理提供者:23,160 美元
  • 生物学技术员:43,800 美元
  • 69,400 美元用于环境科学家

总结

如果您有兴趣成为一名昆虫学家,这篇文章已经为您奠定了基础。 在这篇文章中,您将了解您需要了解的有关各种昆虫学家的所有信息,包括他们的职责、薪水范围以及有关其职业的其他重要信息。

常见问题

成为一名昆虫学家需要多长时间?

昆虫学理学士 是一个学位课程,需要 120 个学分才能完成,大约需要四年时间

对昆虫学家有需求吗?

BLS 预计动物学家和野生动物生物学家(包括昆虫学家)的工作,在 5 年至 2018 年间增长 2028%,这大约是所有职业的平均水平。

昆虫学学位值得吗?

是的。 获得昆虫学和线虫学硕士学位或研究生证书涉及您的时间和财务投资, 但可以在一个引人入胜且不断发展的领域中获得丰厚的职业

  1. 什么是法务会计:概述及其运作方式
  2. 法务审计:进行审计的成本和程序
  3. 商业会计指南:(+ 免费样本和课程)
  4. 保险经纪人薪水:作为保险经纪人的可能收入
  5. CLOUD Inventory:最佳基于云的库存软件和系统
0股
发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被公开。

你也许也喜欢

ENTOMOLOGIST SALARY: What Does an Entomologist Do

Entomologist salary
Image credit:; ZipRecruiter

An entomologist is a biologist who specializes in field and lab studies of insects. The majority of entomologists concentrate on a certain species or group of insects, just like the branches of entomology themselves. In this post, we will see how forensic entomologists work and how much they earn as a salary, as well as available jobs or environments where they can pick up opportunities, especially for those who want to become an entomologist.

Entomologist

Entomologists are biological scientists with a focus on field and laboratory study of insects. Most entomologists focus on a particular species or group of insects, such as bees, butterflies, beetles, or ants, to which they devote their research. An entomologist who studies bees may decide to focus more narrowly and develop a specialty in studying only a single species, such as honeybees. By researching topics pertaining to their particular species of interest’s behavior, nutrition, reproduction, disease transmission, or pest management, they can then specialize even further.

Other career opportunities include studying for certifications in entomological paleontology or forensic entomology, which uses insect evidence to support police investigations (studying insect fossils and evolution). The capacity to carry out the following tasks is typically necessary for the position:

  • Create and carry out insect-based experiments in lab settings or in the wild.
  • Assemble and evaluate biological data and samples
  • Learn about the traits of insects, such as how they interact with their surroundings and other species, how they reproduce, how their population changes over time, how they get sick, and how they migrate
  • Research, start, and keep insect breeding programs
  • Calculate, keep an eye on, and control insect numbers
  • Write scholarly articles, studies, and research papers that detail your findings

What Does an Entomologist Do?

Depending on the nature of their position, entomologists may have a wide range of specific responsibilities. Entomologists who work on research projects could be in charge of planning studies, taking care of the insect subjects, managing lab assistants, collecting data, evaluating data, writing reports, and publishing study results in scholarly journals for peer review. Researchers may work for the government, the private sector, or the public sector, and fieldwork frequently entails long distances.

Entomologists who work in education may be in charge of developing lab activities, grading tests, supervising student research, guiding graduate students, and pursuing their own research objectives. Entomologists who work as college professors are driven to publicize their discoveries since tenure is frequently tied to publishing success. Others in the field of entomology may work in public education capacities for zoos, museums, or healthcare institutions.

Forensic Entomologist

Insects that settle in human tissue after death are the main focus of forensic entomology in a medicolegal or medico-criminal context. In order to determine the age of insects growing on human remains, forensic entomologists must first determine the minimum time from colonization, the time when eggs or larvae were first laid on the remains, and the time since insect activity first started (called the postmortem interval, or PMI). In a medico-criminal setting, forensic entomology is frequently utilized to:

  • Identify the place of the victim’s death
  • Link the victim and the suspect together
  • Identify the traumatized areas
  • Establish the time of death
  • Alternative toxicological and DNA samples should be provided

Duties of a Forensic Entomologist

Although some forensic entomologists work full-time for law enforcement organizations, most of these forensic scientists are called in on a contract basis to help medical examiners, coroners, police departments, and federal organizations address pressing issues related to criminal death investigations. When it comes to a criminal death investigation, forensic entomology jobs frequently involve:

  • Visiting the crime site in order to record, locate, and identify human remains as well as to gather and preserve biological and physical evidence
  • Examining several elements of the insects, such as their species, growth, developmental stage, or any harm done to the postmortem body to ascertain when they died
  • Examining the climate and weather trends before and after the crime to identify the insect life cycles
  • Figuring out whether the insects at the site were brought there by the victim or the culprit or if they were native to the region
  • Composing thorough and comprehensive entomology reports
  • Ensuring correct handling, identification, and storage of all entomological specimens by keeping an eye on their handling
  • Establishing processes for the collecting, recording, and casework of forensic insects

A forensic entomologist must follow specific procedures and criteria when gathering any evidence at a crime scene in order for it to be used as evidence in court, if necessary. Because of this, law enforcement personnel frequently accompany forensic entomologists to crime scenes to verify that all necessary precautions are taken during the gathering and preservation of evidence. Despite the lack of easily accessible data on forensic entomologist pay, the Bureau of Labor Statistics estimates that the mean annual wage for forensic science technicians is $55,730. During the same time period, the top 10 percent received a yearly salary of $85,210.

Entomologist Salary

How much money is made by entomologists? As of June 28, 2022, the average salary of an entomologist was $77,862, but the normal compensation range was $63,920 to $95,977. Salary ranges can vary significantly depending on a variety of crucial aspects, including schooling, credentials, supplementary talents, and the length of time you’ve been working in a given field. Salary assists you in determining your precise pay target by providing more online, real-time compensation data than any other website. Related titles recently looked for include executive director of a synagogue, contract accountant; and systems intern.

As of June 28, 2022, the average entomologist salary in California is $86,971, with a normal compensation range of $71,398 to $107,207. An average entomologist salary can range significantly based on the city and a number of other crucial aspects, such as schooling, certifications, supplementary talents, and the length of time you’ve worked in a given field. Jobs with a wage range comparable to that of the entomologist salary include bioprocess engineer, interventional technologist, and doctor of occupational therapy.

Jobs for Entomologists 

With a B.S. in entomology, graduates have a variety of career options. Some entomology careers.

  • Entomology careers are in biological, agricultural, or genetic research
  • Investigative entomology
  • General Health
  • Consulting (agricultural, environmental, public health, urban, food processing)
  • federal and state government organizations
  • Biology of the environment and conservation
  • The industry of pharmaceutical
  • Managing natural resources
  • Criminal entomology
  • Health Promotion Consulting (agricultural, environmental, public health, urban, food processing)
  • Federal and state government organizations
  • Biology of the environment and conservation
  • Industry of pharmaceuticals
  • Managing natural resources
  • Medical, veterinary, or graduate school
  • Production farming
  • Pest Prevention
  • Businesses conducting chemical, seed, and fertilizer research
  • Apiculture
  • Community Education

Some of the jobs currently available for entomologists include 

  • PreZero US,  Ontario, CA
  • Fish Biologist, USDA, South Lake Tahoe, CA
  • Environmental Health Specialist Trainee, San Bernardino County HR, CA
  • Associates, Malaria Case Management, Clinton Health Access Initiative, Inc., Los Angeles, CA
  • AGRICULTURAL TECHNICIAN – SEASONAL (Extra-Help) at the County of Fresno Fresno, CA
  • Technical Support Researcher, Wonderful Orchards in Shafter, CA

How to Become an Entomologist

Graduate degrees are typically necessary for senior research jobs or college teaching responsibilities, giving entomologists with these degrees greater work opportunities in the profession.

Classes on insect anatomy, physiology, reproduction, behavior, genetics, taxonomy, life cycles, evolution, population dynamics, parasitology, ecological impact, biological control, and toxicology are typically required for entomology degrees. Classes in statistics, general biology, ecology, and chemistry may be required as additional studies for the degree.

Education: Entomologists must hold a Bachelor’s degree in entomology or a biological subject that is closely related. Most entomologists go on to pursue graduate-level studies at the M.S. or Ph.D. level after finishing their undergraduate degree and a relevant internship. Numerous prestigious colleges and universities offer undergraduate entomology programs. Many additional universities provide minors in the area that help biological science students be ready for this graduate-level job route.

The largest entomological society in the world, according to its claim of membership, is The Entomological Society of America. Board certification and associate certification are the ESA’s two certification options. Entomologists that are board certified (BCEs) must complete two extensive tests and typically finish graduate-level entomology degrees. Entomologists that hold associate certification (ACEs) must pass a single comprehensive exam. (These entomologists frequently work in the field of pest management.)

Entomologist Competencies & Skills

In order to succeed in this position, you often need the following abilities and traits:

  • Comfort with insects: Entomologists must be able to handle insects and their byproducts without being nervous.
  • Observational skills: The field frequently calls for observing and noting specifics about insects’ environments, behaviors, and physical characteristics.
  • Communication abilities: Depending on the specific position, they must be able to communicate their findings vocally and in writing to academics, students, policymakers, and other stakeholders.
  • Entomologists need to be able to make inferences from data obtained through research, observation, and experimentation.

The Environment and Schedule at Work

Entomologists’ and even forensic jobs can be in universities, research institutes, zoos, aquariums, governmental or private agricultural organizations, military organizations, public health organizations, biotechnology companies, and other businesses understandable and still in the field of an entomologist.

Although the majority of zoologists and wildlife biologists work full-time, the actual hours depend on the job and the employer. For instance, teachers might labor mostly throughout the academic year. In particular, when conducting fieldwork, researchers may put in extended or erratic hours.

The following comparable occupations and median earnings are options for those interested in becoming entomologists:

  • Forester or conservation scientist: $60,970
  • Service or animal care provider: $23,160
  • Technician in biology: $43,800
  • $69,400 for an environmental scientist

Conclusion

If you’re interested in becoming an entomologist, this post has already laid the groundwork for you. In this post, you’ll learn everything you need to know about the various types of entomologists, including their duties, salary ranges, and other important information about their careers.

FAQs

How long does it take to be an Entomologist?

The Bachelor of Science in Entomology is a degree program that requires 120 credits for completion, which can take about four years

Is there demand for entomologists?

The BLS expects jobs for zoologists and wildlife biologists, including entomologists, to grow 5 percent between 2018 and 2028, which is about average for all occupations.

Is an entomology degree worth it?

Yes. Earning a master’s degree or graduate certificate in entomology and nematology involves an investment of both your time and finances, but can lead to a lucrative career in a fascinating and constantly evolving field

  1. What is Forensic Accounting: Overview, and How it Works
  2. Forensic Audit: Cost and Procedures in Carrying Out an Audit
  3. Business Accounting Guide: (+ Free Samples & Courses)
  4. INSURANCE BROKER SALARY: Possible Earnings As An Insurance Broker
  5. CLOUD INVENTORY: Best Cloud-Based Inventory Software & Systems
0 Shares:
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You May Also Like