独资企业 VS 有限责任公司:哪个更好? (你应该知道的)

独资企业与有限责任公司
图片来源:福布斯

开始新业务时,为您的业务选择最佳结构至关重要。 根据启动费用、责任保险和税收影响等因素,您可以选择独资企业或有限责任公司。 也就是说,我们将比较独资企业与有限责任公司在税收方面的关系、它们的优缺点以及它们如何为在线业务工作,尤其是在加利福尼亚州。 

独资企业与有限责任公司:总体概述

什么是独资企业?

独资企业是由一个管理企业的人拥有的单人企业。 您不是独立于您的企业的法律和税务实体。 你是公司。

在独资企业中,您拥有行业拥有的资产以及债务、收入和义务。 当您报税时,您需要为您的营业利润纳税,这些利润会反映在您的所得税申报表中。 除非您使用商号(通常称为“做生意”或 DBA),否则您的公司名称将默认为您的姓名。

如果您拥有独资企业,您将被称为“独资经营者”。 在大多数情况下,您不需要做任何事情来建立独资企业; 当您进行第一笔商业交易时,它就会发生。 一些州、城镇或县可能会要求您获得营业执照或许可证,但这并不表示您是否是独资所有人。

什么是LLC?

独资企业结合了人与企业之间的一切,而有限责任公司则在两者之间设置了法律障碍。 LLC 是一个独立的法人实体。 LLC 拥有和欠付的是 LLC 拥有和欠付的,而不是您。

对于希望保护其财产的任何人来说,这是一个令人信服的解决方案。 LLC 可以由一个人(称为成员)持有,但也可以有多个所有者。

独资企业与。 LLC:优点和缺点

了解经营独资企业与有限责任公司的利弊至关重要。

在决定哪种结构最适合您的公司时,请考虑以下几个方面。

#1。 复杂

独资企业是最基本的企业类型。 形成它时,文书工作要少得多。 您实际上只需要开始做生意并确保您拥有所有必要的执照和许可证。

但是,在开展业务之前,有限责任公司必须完成一些进一步的流程。 为您的公司选择名称、聘请注册代理人、提交组织章程(并支付申请费)、准备经营协议、获得 EIN 和获得保险是其中的一些阶段。

#2。 成本

除了许可和许可所需的费用外,组建独资企业是免费的,因为不涉及其他费用。 这种类型的公司结构没有正式的持续义务,甚至没有书面协议。

话虽如此,任何企业都需要钱才能开始。 独资企业要求您使用贷款或您自己的资产来支持自己的业务。 为独资企业获得贷款可能很困难,因为许多金融机构不愿向独资企业而非有限责任公司、合伙企业或公司提供贷款。 独资经营者经常需要为发放给企业的贷款提供个人担保,如果企业被起诉,这可能会导致个人承担责任。

有限责任公司可以通过其他方式筹集资金,例如通过增加可以贡献自己的出资的新成员以及通过创建新的成员利益类别。

#3. 税收

独资经营者的所有商业利润都要征税。 结果,收入被转嫁给所有者。 但是,由于美国国税局认为此类业务不受重视,单一成员有限责任公司同样可能以这种方式征税。 因此,如果单一成员有限责任公司不采用公司税,它将被归类为独资企业。 虽然此类税款会转嫁给独资企业和单一成员有限责任公司的所有者,但这些所有者仍可能从公司税收减免中受益。

此外,这两种商业模式都可能有资格获得高达总业务收入 20% 的转嫁扣除。 由于《减税和就业法》,这是一项于 2018 年生效的新扣除额。

如果您经营独资企业,您将作为个体经营者纳税。 这意味着您的商业资金被视为个人收入。 另一方面,有限责任公司可以作为独资企业、合伙企业或公司征税。 但是,有限责任公司必须做出决定。 如前所述,如果您不进行选择,您就有可能被视为独资企业(单一成员有限责任公司)或合伙企业(多成员有限责任公司)。

独资企业与有限责任公司:简而言之利弊

LLC的优点

对于不想将工作和个人结合起来的人来说,“有限责任”这个词可能非常有吸引力。

此外,成立有限责任公司的公司可能被投资者和可能的商业伙伴视为更专业。 与其他一些更复杂的业务安排相比,组建有限责任公司并不难。

LLC的缺点

对于没有多余资金可花的个人,成立有限责任公司可能会给他们的财务带来压力。 这并不是说它没有价值。 然而,利润不高的单人企业可能会发现难以证明支出的合理性。 此外,大多数州要求有限责任公司每年或每两年支付一次费用以保持其有限责任公司注册。

还有文书工作的问题,必须提交以组建有限责任公司,并且每年或每两年更新一次以保持其活跃。 如果您不喜欢管理任务,您可以花钱请人代劳。

独资企业的优点

独资企业是最简单的企业形式。 任何人都可以通过做生意来建立一个。 个人申报表可用于报税,收入在附表 C 中报告。

独资企业的缺点

它缺乏保护,但在简单性方面有所弥补。 因为你是你的公司,无论是卷入诉讼还是负债累累,解决问题都是你的责任。

对于那些需要将工作和个人资金分开的人来说,这不是最好的情况,例如在拥有资产或申请贷款时。 在某些州,它同样仅限于单一所有者(或配偶的合伙)。 如果你想引入合作伙伴,你将不得不放弃你的独资企业身份。

独资企业与有限责任公司:他们的税是如何征收的?

独资企业与有限责任公司之间的差异与税收无关。 即使您成立了有限责任公司,您仍将作为独资企业征税,利润将转入所有者的收入。 对于单一成员有限责任公司,这是默认的税收状况。

如果您的有限责任公司拥有众多所有者,您将根据自己的所有权部分分别纳税。 有限责任公司与其所有者的合法分离不会影响您的税务情况。

独资企业和有限责任公司之间最重要的税收区别是有限责任公司提供税收灵活性。 也就是说,您可以要求作为 S Corp 或 C Corp 征税。

独资企业与。 LLC:在线业务

因此,您选择开设在线零售店。 您正在考虑网站设计、营销、搜索引擎优化、资金、客户支持、运输、生产和其他事情。 您还必须为您的公司选择一个法律结构。 作为个人,您可以作为独资经营者或有限责任公司经营。 如果您的互联网业务中有其他成员/经理(即使是您的配偶),您必须注册 LLC。

独资企业与有限责任公司在线业务启动

独资企业是最基本的企业形式,因为您不需要在国家注册您的公司名称,并且可以使用您的社会安全号码而不是获取雇主识别号码。 如果您成立有限责任公司,如果您有多个成员,则必须首先起草一份经营协议。

然后你必须在你的国务卿办公室在线注册,支付费用,并提交称为组织章程的介绍性文件。 对于单一成员有限责任公司,您可能还需要申请联邦和州雇主识别号码,或者您可以使用您的社会安全号码进行操作。 在国务卿的网站上调查您所在州的法规。 无论您经营何种类型的互联网业务,请务必获得适当的州营业执照。 大多数州都包含用于组建有限责任公司的在线表格。

独资企业与有限责任公司:在线业务财务和税收

无论您是单一成员有限责任公司还是独资经营者,净税收影响都是相同的:您的联邦收入将记录在 IRS 表格 1040 的附表 C 中。根据 Ecwid,您将只被征税一次,而不是合并公司所有者,他们被征税两次:一次是在公司层面,另一次是在他们的纳税申报表上。 关于企业账户,大多数银行对个人独资企业和有限责任企业的处理是一样的,但首先要与我们的金融机构核实。

如果您的在线零售业务必须向州内客户收取销售税,您的业务结构不应影响您向州缴纳此税的方式。 该州的起始和年度注册费用是为在线业务创建有限责任公司的唯一额外费用。

独资企业与有限责任公司:在线业务会议、记录和报告

非营利组织和公司有义务召开董事会会议,但有限责任公司和独资企业则没有。 根据您所在州的法律,这两种类型的企业可能都需要报告季度或月度销售额。 该州要求有限责任公司提交年度报告和费用,以通知该州他们仍在运营。 无论业务类型如何,您在线零售业务的所有其他会计和记录都将保持不变。

独资企业与有限责任公司:在线业务增长潜力

如果您打算扩大规模、雇用人员、增加工资或增加新的企业主,您现在应该组建一家有限责任公司。 虽然您的初始运营协议会将您的有限责任公司设置为由您经营的单一成员有限责任公司,但您将来可以更改它以适应扩展。 另一方面,独资企业需要更大的扩张空间。 但是,如果您愿意,您可以将您的独资企业重建为新的有限责任公司。

加利福尼亚州的独资企业与有限责任公司

加州独资企业与有限责任公司是加州潜在企业主在决定业务形式时的一个典型问题。 这两种商业形式各有优缺点。

加州的独资企业与有限责任公司:有什么区别?

在加利福尼亚州,您可以作为独资经营者或有限责任公司经营,但不能同时经营。 在独资企业和有限责任公司之间做出决定时,您应该考虑两个关键的区别:责任和税收。 独资企业与其所有者没有任何法律上的分离。 所有者将获得所有收入,并将对所有损失和债务负责。

另一方面,有限责任公司为其成员提供有限责任,使他们免于对公司的财务承诺承担个人责任。 由于美国国税局认为单一成员有限责任公司是一个不受重视的实体,因此独资企业和有限责任公司通常被同等征税。 单一成员有限责任公司通常在美国国税局 1040 表上提交其成员的收入和成本,就像独资企业一样。

希望成为自己老板的个人可能会从组建独资企业或组建单一成员有限责任公司中获利。 这使您可以监督公司的管理、财务、营销和政策。 如果您是独资经营者或单一成员有限责任公司的所有者,则无需征求其他所有者的同意或与其他任何人协商。

那些刚接触企业所有权的人可能更愿意与他人合作制定关键的业务决策。 拥有其他成员可以帮助您从不同的经验中学习,分配营销和管理职责,并可能找到更多的钱。

总结

您公司名称后面的首字母“LLC”看起来很专业,可以为您提供更多客户的信誉。 知道您已在当局登记,他们会感到更加安全,并且不太可能带着他们的钱逃跑。 成立有限责任公司的另一个好处是它可以保护您的公司名称,一旦在国家注册,其他任何人都无法使用该名称。 此外,独资经营者在关闭公司时无需填写任何文件或遵循任何程序。 另一方面,LLC 经理必须通知关闭状态并根据运营协议分配所有资产。

常见问题解答

独资企业或有限责任公司哪个更好?

有限责任公司在法律保护和责任方面提供了显着的好处。 虽然申请费用与组建有限责任公司有关,但与您作为唯一所有者可能承担的数千美元相比,这些费用可能非常值得。 另一方面,独资企业可以自由成立。

LLC是否比个人独资企业缴纳更多税款?

有限责任公司缴纳的税款与独资企业相同。 转嫁税适用于有限责任公司和独资企业。

为什么选择有限责任公司?

有限责任公司允许您获得公司和合伙业务形式的好处。 在大多数情况下,有限责任公司保护您免受个人责任。 如果您的 LLC 破产或被起诉,您的个人资产(例如您的汽车、房屋和储蓄账户)不会处于危险之中。

  1. 独资经营许可证:如何获得
  2. 如何申报独资企业税:详细指南
  3. 业务结构:解释了不同类型的业务结构
  4. 如何在 2023 年开展房地产业务:详细指南

参考资料

0股
发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被公开。 必填 *

你也许也喜欢

SOLE PROPRIETORSHIP VS LLC: What is Better? (What You Should Know)

sole proprietorship vs llc
Image source: Forbes

Selecting the best structure for your business when starting a new business is vital. Depending on factors like start-up expenses, liability insurance, and tax implications, you might choose between sole proprietorship or LLC. That said, we’ll compare sole proprietorship vs. LLC with relation to taxes, their pros and cons, and how they work for an online business, especially in California. 

Sole Proprietorship vs. LLC: General Overview

What Is A Sole Proprietorship?

A sole proprietorship is a one-person business owned by one person who manages the business. You are not a separate legal and tax entity from your business. You are the company.

In a sole proprietorship, you own the assets owned by the industry and the debts, revenue, and obligations. When you file your taxes, you pay taxes on your business profits, and these profits are reflected on your income tax return. Unless you use a trading name, commonly known as “doing business as” or a DBA, your business name will be your name by default.

If you own a sole proprietorship, you’ll be referred to as a “sole proprietor.” In most cases, you don’t have to do anything to establish a sole proprietorship; it just happens when you make your first commercial transaction. Some states, towns, or counties may require you to obtain a business license or permit, but this does not indicate whether you are a sole owner.

What is an LLC?

Whereas a sole proprietorship combines everything between the person and the business, an LLC creates a legal barrier between the two. The LLC is a separate legal entity. What the LLC owns and owes is owned and owed by the LLC, not you.

This is a compelling solution for anyone wishing to safeguard their possessions. An LLC can be held by a single person (referred to as a member), but it can also have multiple owners.

Sole Proprietorship Vs. LLC: Pros and Cons

It’s essential to understand the pros and cons of running a sole proprietorship vs. an LLC.

Consider the following aspects when deciding which structure is best for your company.

#1. Complexity

The sole proprietorship is the most basic sort of business to establish. When forming it, there is significantly less paperwork. You actually only need to start doing business and make sure you have all of the necessary licenses and permits.

However, before conducting business, the LLC must complete a few further processes. Choosing a name for your firm, employing a registered agent, submitting the Articles of Organization (and paying a filing fee), preparing an Operating Agreement, obtaining an EIN, and obtaining insurance are some of these stages.

#2. Cost

Aside from the payments required for licensing and permissions, forming a sole proprietorship is free because no other charges are involved. There are no official ongoing obligations for this type of corporate structure, not even a written agreement.

Having said that, any business needs money to get started. A sole proprietorship requires you to support your own business using loans or your own assets. And obtaining a loan for a sole proprietorship may be difficult since many financial institutions are reticent to lend to a sole proprietorship rather than an LLC, partnership, or corporation. Sole proprietors are frequently required to personally guarantee a loan issued to the business, which may result in personal liability if the business is sued.

An LLC can raise money in other ways, such as by adding new members who can contribute their own capital contributions and by creating new classes of membership interests.

#3. Taxes

All business profits are taxed for a sole proprietor. As a result, the earnings are passed on to the owner. However, because such businesses are considered disregarded by the IRS, a single-member LLC may likewise be taxed in this manner. As a result, if the single-member LLC does not adopt corporate taxation, it will be classified as a sole proprietorship. While such taxes are passed on to the owners of sole proprietorships and single-member LLCs, such owners might still benefit from company tax deductions.

Furthermore, both business models may be eligible for a pass-through deduction of up to 20% of total business income. This is a new deduction that became effective in 2018 as a result of the Tax Cuts and Jobs Act.

You will be taxed as self-employed if you run a sole proprietorship. This means that your business money is considered personal income. A limited liability company, on the other hand, can be taxed as a single proprietorship, partnership, or corporation. However, the LLC must make the decision. As previously stated, if you do not make the election, you risk being regarded as a sole proprietorship (single-member LLC) or a partnership (multi-member LLC).

Sole Proprietorship vs. LLC: Pros and Cons In A Nutshell

Pros of LLC

For people who do not wish to combine work and personal, the words “limited liability” can be highly enticing.

Furthermore, companies that form an LLC may be perceived as more professional by investors and possible business partners. In comparison to some other more intricate business arrangements, forming an LLC isn’t that difficult.

Cons of LLC

For individuals who don’t have extra money to spend, incorporating an LLC may put a strain on their finances. That’s not to suggest it doesn’t have value; nevertheless, a single-person business that isn’t earning much profit may find it difficult to justify the expenditure. In addition, most states require LLCs to pay an annual or biannual fee to keep their LLC registration.

There’s also the issue of paperwork, which must be filed to form the LLC and kept up to date every year or two to keep it active. If you dislike administrative tasks, you can pay someone for them.

Pros of Sole Proprietorship

A sole proprietorship is the simplest form of business. Anyone can establish one simply by doing business. Personal returns can be used to file taxes, with earnings reported on Schedule C.

Cons of Sole Proprietorship

What it lacks in protection, it makes up for in simplicity. Because you are your firm, whether it is involved in a lawsuit or goes heavily in debt, it is your responsibility to resolve the situation.

This isn’t the best case for those who need to separate their work and personal funds, such as when owning assets or applying for loans. In some states, it is likewise restricted to a single owner (or a partnership of spouses). If you wish to bring in partners, you’ll have to give up your sole proprietorship status.

Sole Proprietorship Vs LLC: How Are Theirs Taxes Levied?

The disparity between sole proprietorship vs. an LLC has nothing to do with taxes. Even if you form an LLC, you’ll still be taxed as a sole proprietorship, with profits passing through to the owners’ income. For single-member LLCs, this is the default tax status.

If your LLC has numerous owners, you will each pay taxes based on your ownership portion. The legal separation of an LLC from its owner does not affect your tax situation.

The most significant tax distinction between a sole proprietorship and an LLC is that an LLC provides tax flexibility. That is, you can ask to be taxed as an S Corp, or a C Corp.

Sole Proprietorship Vs. LLC: Online Business

So, you’ve chosen to open an online retail store. You’re figuring out site design, marketing, search engine optimization, money, customer support, shipping, production, and other things. You must also choose a legal structure for your company. As an individual, you can operate as a sole proprietor or as a limited liability corporation. If you have another member/manager in your internet business (even if it is your spouse), you must register an LLC.

Sole Proprietorship vs. LLC Online Business Startup

A sole proprietorship is the most basic business form because you do not need to register your company name with the state and can use your Social Security number instead of acquiring an employer identification number. If you form an LLC, you must first draft an operating agreement if you have more than one member.

Then you must register with your Secretary of State’s office online, pay a fee, and file introductory paperwork known as the articles of organization. For a single-member LLC, you may also need to file for a federal and state employer identification number, or you may be able to operate using your Social Security number. Investigate your state’s regulations on the website of your Secretary of State. Regardless of the type of internet business you run, be sure you secure the proper state business licenses. Most states include online forms for forming an LLC.

Sole Proprietorship Vs LLC: Online Business Finance and taxation

The net tax effect will be the same whether you are a single-member LLC or a solo proprietor: Your federal income will be recorded on Schedule C of IRS Form 1040. According to Ecwid, you will be taxed just once, as opposed to incorporated firm owners, who are taxed twice: once at the corporate level and again on their tax return. Regarding business accounts, most banks handle sole proprietorships and limited liability businesses the same but verify with our financial institution first.

If your online retail business must collect sales tax from in-state clients, your business structure should not affect how you pay this tax to the state. The state’s starting and annual registration costs are the only additional cost of creating an LLC for an online business.

Sole Proprietorship Vs LLC: Online Business Meetings, Records, and Reports

Nonprofit organizations and corporations are obligated to hold board meetings, but LLCs and sole proprietorships are not. Depending on your state’s laws, both types of businesses may be required to report quarterly or monthly sales. The state requires LLCs to make an annual report and a fee to notify the state that they are still in operation. Regardless of the business kind, all other accounting and records for your online retail business will remain the same.

Sole Proprietorship Vs LLC: Online Business Growth Potential

If you intend to expand, hire personnel, increase payroll, or add new business owners, you should now form a limited liability company. While your initial operating agreement will set up your LLC as a single-member LLC run by you, you will be able to change it in the future to accommodate expansion. On the other hand, a sole proprietorship needs more room to expand. However, you can reconstruct your sole proprietorship corporation as a new LLC if you so desire.

Sole Proprietorship vs. LLC in California

California sole proprietorship vs. LLC is a typical question among potential business owners in California when deciding on a business form. Both of these business forms have advantages and disadvantages.

Sole Proprietorship vs. LLC in California: What Are The Differences?

In California, you can operate as a sole proprietor or an LLC, but not both. When deciding between a sole proprietorship and an LLC, you should consider two crucial differences: liability and taxes. A sole proprietorship does not have any legal separation from its owner. The owner will receive all earnings and will be held accountable for all losses and debts.

On the other hand, an LLC provides its members with limited liability, shielding them from personal accountability for the company’s financial commitments. Because the IRS considers a single-member LLC to be a disregarded entity, a sole proprietorship and an LLC are often taxed equally. A single-member LLC normally files its members’ income and costs on the IRS Form 1040, just like a sole proprietorship.

Individuals who desire to be their own boss may profit from forming a sole proprietorship or forming a single-member LLC. This allows you to oversee the company’s management, finance, marketing, and policies. If you are a lone proprietor or owner of a single-member LLC, there is no need to seek consent from other owners or confer with anybody else.

Those new to business ownership may prefer to work with others on critical business decisions. Having other members can help you learn from different experiences, distribute marketing and management responsibilities, and possibly find more money.

To summarize

The initials “LLC” behind your company name look professional, providing you credibility with more customers. They feel more secure knowing you are registered with the authorities and are less likely to flee with their money. Another advantage of forming an LLC is that it protects your business name, which cannot be taken by anyone else once registered with the state. In addition, a sole proprietor has no documents to fill out or procedures to follow if and when you close the firm. An LLC manager, on the other hand, must notify the state of the closure and distribute all assets following the operating agreement.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is better, a sole proprietorship or LLC?

An LLC offers significant benefits in terms of legal protection and liability. While filing expenses are associated with forming an LLC, they might be well worth it compared to the thousands of dollars you could be liable for as a sole owner. A sole proprietorship, on the other hand, is free to establish.

Do LLC pay more taxes than sole proprietorship?

LLCs pay the same amount of taxes as sole proprietorships. Pass-through taxes is available to both an LLC and a sole proprietorship.

Why choose an LLC?

An LLC allows you to get the benefits of both the corporation and the partnership business forms. In most cases, LLCs protect you from personal liability. Your personal assets, such as your car, house, and savings accounts, are not at danger if your LLC goes bankrupt or is sued.

  1. SOLE PROPRIETORSHIP LICENSE: How To Obtain One
  2. How To File Sole Proprietorship Taxes: Detailed Guide
  3. Business Structures: Different Types of Business Structures Explained
  4. HOW TO START A REAL ESTATE BUSINESS IN 2023: Detailed Guide

References

0 Shares:
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You May Also Like