商业发展公司(BDC):它是如何运作的?

业务-发展-公司-BDC

什么是商业发展公司?

商业发展公司 (BDC) 是一个投资于中小型企业以及陷入困境的公司的组织。 BDC 帮助中小型企业在其发展的早期阶段成长。 在陷入困境的企业中,BDC 帮助企业重新找到坚实的财务基础。

业务发展公司如何运作

国开行利用其资金发放贷款或购买美国中小型企业的所有权,其中大部分为私营企业。 出于税收目的,大多数 BDC 被视为受监管的投资公司 (RIC),而不是应税公司。 作为税收优惠的回报,BDC 必须每年将至少 90% 的收入分配给股东,类似于房地产投资信托 (REIT)。 由于其高股息和利息支付,投资者经常使用国家开发银行作为收入工具。

BDC 与风险投资基金类似,它们都投资于公司,但它们之间的主要区别在于准入。 风险投资基金一般只提供给合格投资者、大型机构和高净值个人。 您必须限制投资者的数量并执行某些标准才能不被标记为 RIC。 但是,BDC 对任何有权访问交易所的人开放。

BDC 有哪些类型?

BDC 有两种类型,它们是:

  • 调用交易方式
  • 经典批处理方法

如何获得 BDC 资格?

要获得商业发展公司 (BDC) 的资格,公司必须满足多项要求。 首先,国开行的目的是为中小企业和陷入困境的企业提供融资机会。 为确保国家开发银行履行职责,政府要求它们将至少 70% 的资金投资于合格资产(用于它们应该帮助的公司的术语)。

其次,BDC 必须设在美国。 CDB 受美国证券交易委员会 (SEC) 的监管。 BDC 必须在 SEC 注册并遵守报告要求,包括其持有的投资的季度摘要。

BDC 如何赚钱?

BDC 通常通过两种方式赚钱。

首先,一些 BDC 通过投资股票来赚钱,这意味着他们购买投资组合公司(即他们投资的公司)的优先股或普通股。

然而,大多数国家开发银行通过投资债务来赚钱。 在这种情况下,公司投资于有担保和无担保债务(有担保债务由抵押品(一种资产)担保,而无担保债务则不是)。 债务 BDC 还投资于优先债务,即借款人必须先偿还债务才能履行其他义务。

投资于债务而非股票的 CDB 往往风险较小。 由于您投资的公司有偿还债务的合同义务,因此损失主要投资的风险较小。

什么是 BDC 贷款?

当业务开发公司 (BDC) 向其已投资的其中一项业务提供贷款时,这被称为业务开发公司贷款。

如何投资商业发展公司

您可以投资 BDC 以及股票、共同基金和 ETF。 每个 BDC 都有一个股票代码,投资者可以在其经纪或 IRA 账户中购买股票。 在共同基金中,投资者可以以基金的资产净值购买股票,基金不限于特定数量的股票。 但是,像 BDC 这样的封闭式基金会在 IPO 中发行一定数量的股票

国家开发银行不被视为低风险投资。 在购买股票之前,您应该评估自己的风险承受能力并与财务顾问讨论期权。

了解 如何发现高收益投资

最大的商业发展公司

尽管国会在 1980 年制定了 BDC 表格,但大多数 BDC 直到 2000 年代初才在今天的市场上存在。 因此,为了做出明智的投资决策,不需要分析大量的信息和历史记录。 如果您想投资 BDC,请考虑历史悠久的大型 BDC。 以下是按管理资产衡量的 10 大 BDC:

  • 战神资本公司(ARCC):6.96亿美元
  • 猫头鹰岩资本(ORCC):5.70亿美元
  • 展望资本公司 (PSEC):3.20 亿美元
  • FS KKR资本公司(FSK):3.03亿美元
  • Golub Capital BDC, Inc (GBDC):2.35 亿美元
  • 高盛 BDC 公司 (GSBD):1.57 亿美元
  • Main Street Capital Corp (MAIN):1.43亿美元
  • 新山金融公司(NMFC):1.19亿美元
  • 大力神资本(HTGC):1.18亿美元
  • TPG Specialty Lending Inc. (TSLX):1.14 亿美元6

业务发展公司 (BDC) - 监管要求

指定已注册的 BDC 英伟根据 40 法案,投资公司 (RIC) 意味着他们必须满足有关其收入来源和资产多元化的某些要求。 RIC 必须至少 90% 的收入来自投资的资本收益、利息或股息。 RIC 还必须以利息、股息或资本收益的形式将至少 90% 的净投资收入分配给其股东。

所有 BDC 还必须满足以下要求:

  • 必须有一个基本上独立的董事会
  • 您必须至少每季度对资产进行一次估值
  • 您需要向 SEC 提交定期报告(例如 10-K、10-Q 和 8-K 表格以及代理说明)。
  • 必须任命一名首席合规官(向董事会报告)并遵守合规程序以防止违反联邦证券法。
  • 您必须保持忠诚声明,以确保 BDC 不会被盗窃和盗用。

投资 BDC 的利弊是什么?

让我们谈谈投资商业开发公司 (BDC) 的一些好处。 首先,CDB 是一项负担得起的投资。 与类似的风险投资公司不同,在 BDC 中获得股票对普通投资者来说很容易。

投资 BDC 的另一个好处是它们通常会产生高于平均水平的股息。 这种好处的主要原因之一是 BDC 的税收结构比许多公司更实惠,在这些公司中,它们不必为分配给股东的利润缴纳公司税。

尽管有优势,但 CDB 并非没有风险。 最初,BDC 主要关注中小型企业或有财务困难的公司。 换句话说,他们投资的是没有机会证明自己的公司,或者可能没有妥善管理他们已经拥有的资金的公司。

因此,这些公司始终存在无法按 BDC 预期执行的风险。 由于 BDC 倾向于投资具有相似特征的公司,因此它们的多元化程度也低于其他共同基金。

同样重要的是要记住,每次您将资金投资于股票市场时,都会将您的资金置于风险之中。 没有与回报保证相关的投资机会。 如果您不投资于政府支持的安全,则存在固有风险。

除了风险之外,还有其他缺点。 BDC 通常会收取高额费用,从而降低回报。 国家开发银行在交易债务工具时可能会收取贷款处理费。 他们还经常收取激励和管理费。

还请阅读: 年轻商业新手的明智投资技巧

投资 BDC 的税务影响是什么?

为确保您能够就任何投资做出明智的选择,进行充分的研究至关重要。由于长期收益的潜力,应考虑将业务开发公司 (BDC) 纳入税收优惠账户例如个人退休计划 (IRA)。

投资者可以从积极创收的复合回报中获利

”和“BDC”是此类工具的示例。 只要您将其保存在税收优惠账户中,您就不必为他们产生的任何资金缴纳年税,只要是这种情况。 “这意味着,如果您明智地选择投资,这些收益有可能更快地复合和建立您的投资组合。”

但是,BDC 并不是每个人的正确选择。 风险承受能力较低的投资者可能无法吞下机会。 但对于愿意做足功课并承认风险是换取更高股息收益率的以收入为中心的投资者来说,业务发展公司 (BDC) 可能是对已经充分多元化的投资组合的一个有吸引力的补充。

  1. 营运资金贷款:文件、示例以及如何获得营运资金的资金
  2. 小型商业创意 2023(40 多个创意和商业计划)
  3. 2023年在线商业理念(更新+商业计划和指南)
0股
发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被公开。

你也许也喜欢

BUSINESS DEVELOPMENT COMPANY(BDC): How Does It Work?

Business-Development-Company-BDC

What is a Business Development Company?

A business development company (BDC) is an organization that invests in small and medium-sized businesses, as well as companies in difficulty. A BDC helps small and medium-sized businesses grow in the early stages of their development. In distressed businesses, BDC helps businesses find a solid financial foundation again.

How business development companies work


CDBs use their capital to make loans or to buy ownership of small and medium-sized businesses in the US, most of which are privately owned. For tax purposes, most BDCs are treated as regulated investment companies (RICs) rather than taxable companies. In return for favorable tax treatment, the BDC must distribute at least 90% of its income to shareholders every year, similar to real estate investment trusts (REITs). Due to their high dividend and interest payments, investors often use CDBs as income instruments.

BDCs are similar to venture capital funds in that they both invest in companies, but the main difference between them is access. Venture capital funds are generally only available to accredited investors, large institutions and high net worth individuals. You have to limit the number of your investors and enforce certain criteria in order not to be marked as a RIC. However, BDCs are open to anyone with access to an exchange.

How To qualify as a BDC?

To qualify as a Business Development Company (BDC), a company must meet several requirements. First, the purpose of CDBs is to provide funding opportunities for small, medium, and distressed businesses. To ensure that CDBs do their job, the government requires them to invest at least 70% of their money in qualifying assets (the term used for the companies they are supposed to help).


Next, the BDCs must be based in the United States. CDBs are under the supervision of the Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC). BDCs must register with the SEC and comply with reporting requirements, including a quarterly summary of the investments they hold.

How does a BDC Make Money?

A BDC generally makes money in two ways.


First, some BDCs make money by investing in stocks, which means they buy preferred or common stocks in their portfolio companies (i.e., the companies they invest in).

Most CDBs, however, make money by investing in debt. In this case, the company invests in secured and unsecured debt (secured debt is secured by collateral, a type of asset, whereas unsecured debt is not). Debt BDCs also invest in senior debt, that is, debt that borrowers must pay off first before they can meet other obligations.

CDBs that invest in debt rather than stocks tend to be less risky. Because the company you invested in has a contractual obligation to repay your debtors, there is less risk of losing your main investment.

How to Invest in a Business Development Company

You can invest in BDCs as well as stocks, mutual funds and ETFs. Each BDC has a ticker symbol and investors can buy shares in their brokerage or IRA account. In mutual funds, investors can buy shares at the net asset value of the fund and the funds are not limited to a specific number of shares. However, closed-end funds like BDCs issue a certain number of shares as part of an IPO


CDBs are not considered a low-risk investment. You should assess your risk tolerance and discuss options with a financial advisor before buying stocks.

Learn How to spot High-yield investment

Largest Business Development Company

Although Congress created the BDC Form in 1980, most BDCs have only existed in the market today since the early 2000s. As a result, there isn’t an abundance of information and history that needs to be analyzed in order to make informed investment decisions. If you’re looking to invest in BDCs, consider the larger ones with a long history. These are the 10 largest BDCs as measured by assets under management:

  • Ares Capital Corp (ARCC): $ 6.96 billion
  • Owl Rock Capital (ORCC): $ 5.70 billion
  • Prospect Capital Corporation (PSEC): $ 3.20 billion
  • FS KKR Capital Corp (FSK): $ 3.03 billion
  • Golub Capital BDC, Inc (GBDC): $ 2.35 billion
  • Goldman Sachs BDC Inc (GSBD): $ 1.57 billion
  • Main Street Capital Corp (MAIN): $ 1.43 billion
  • New Mountain Finance Corp (NMFC): $ 1.19 billion
  • Hercules Capital (HTGC): $ 1.18 billion
  • TPG Specialty Lending Inc. (TSLX): $ 1.14 billion6

Business Development Company (BDC)- Regulatory Requirements

Designation of BDCs as Registered Investment Companies (RIC) under the 40 Act means that they must meet certain requirements regarding their source of income and asset diversification. RICs must derive at least 90% of their income from capital gains, interest, or dividends from investments. RICs must also distribute at least 90% of net investment income to their shareholders in the form of interest, dividends, or capital gains.

All BDCs must also meet the following requirements:

  • Must have a largely independent board of directors
  • You must value assets at least quarterly
  • You will need to file regular reports with the SEC (such as Forms 10-K, 10-Q, and 8-K, and proxy instructions).
  • Must appoint a chief compliance officer (report to the board) and follow compliance procedures to prevent violations of federal securities laws.
  • You must maintain a declaration of loyalty to ensure the BDC against theft and misappropriation.

What are Ups and Downsides BDC?

Let’s talk about some of the benefits of investing in a Business Development Company (BDC). First, CDBs are an affordable investment. Unlike similar venture capital firms, getting their hands on stocks in a BDC is easy for the average investor.

Another benefit of investing in BDCs is that they often generate above-average dividends. One of the main reasons for this benefit is that BDCs have a more affordable tax structure than many companies, where they don’t have to pay corporate tax on the profits they distribute to shareholders.

Despite their advantages, CDBs are not without risk. Initially, BDCs mainly focus on small or medium-sized businesses or companies with financial difficulties. In other words, they’re investing in companies that haven’t had a chance to prove themselves, or companies that may not have properly managed the money they already had.

As a result, there is always a risk that these companies will not perform as expected by the BDC. Because BDCs tend to invest in companies with similar characteristics, they are also less diversified than other mutual funds.

It’s also important to remember that every time you invest your money in the stock market, you are putting your money at risk. There is no investment opportunity associated with a return guarantee. If you don’t invest in government-backed security, there is an inherent risk.

Besides the risk, there are other disadvantages. BDCs typically come with high fees that reduce returns. CDBs may charge loan processing fees when trading debt instruments. They also often charge incentive and management fees.

READ ALSO: Wise Investment Tips For Young Business Newbies

0 Shares:
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like