加州四大就业歧视类型

加州四大就业歧视类型
图片来源:SHRM

歧视可以采取许多不同的形式。 当某人受到不同和不公平的对待时,每天都会使用该术语。 就业歧视是指某人因种族、民族、性别、宗教、性取向等而受到比其他人更差的待遇。

它可能涉及一切,从因为性别或残疾而没有获得与其他求职者相同的机会,到对一个人的性取向或种族出身的冒犯性评论。

就业歧视适用于所有就业阶段,包括招聘过程。 因此,雇主必须努力通过所谓的积极措施促进工作场所的平等权利和机会。 雇主也有责任意识到这一点,了解就业歧视的确切定义,然后知道如何处理和防止此类事件的发生。

尽管它是一个进步的州,例如加利福尼亚,在工作场所有很多种族歧视事件,

据统计,仅2011年就有多达 2,372 项种族歧视指控 由加利福尼亚的工人和申请人提交。 假设您碰巧在加利福尼亚州经营一家企业。 在这种情况下,您应该知道联邦和州法律禁止该州的雇主根据我们上面提到的特征歧视员工。

在下面的文章中,我们将分解 加州工作场所的四种歧视 这样雇主就可以学会在工作场所识别他们,并从一开始就防止歧视的发生。

Pexels

种族歧视

工作场所的种族歧视基于实际的种族、肤色、原籍国或种族。 一个人的面部特征、头发类型,甚至肤色都可能包含在这种歧视中,在某些情况下,工人可能会因为与另一个种族的人的关系而面临歧视。

种族歧视发生在某人拒绝雇用合格的候选人,为某人提供他们不符合资格的任务或项目,不给某人应得的晋升,解雇他们,并且仅仅因为某人的种族而使实际工作场所成为敌对环境.

如果您觉得自己在工作场所遇到种族歧视,如果您正在考虑向责任方提出歧视索赔,您应该联系可以帮助您的就业律师。 信誉良好的律师将帮助您为您的索赔建立强有力的法律基础,并获得您应得的正义。 许多员工问自己的第一个问题是“在加州聘请就业律师需要多少钱?” 因此,在雇用某人之前,请准备好对与起诉您的雇主相关的费用进行一些研究,安排咨询,并讨论费用和条款。

性别和性别歧视

Pexels

尽管性别和性别歧视在工作场所是严格禁止和非法的,但它仍然每天都在发生。 性别和性别歧视包括基于员工性别、性取向或识别性别的歧视。

它还可能包括怀孕歧视,以及对男性和女性父母或哺乳母亲的歧视。 此外,它还包括基于分娩或相关医疗状况的歧视。 这种类型的就业歧视的一个例子是雇主无法根据其怀孕的状态获得晋升或被雇用。

性别和性别歧视可以在任何时间、任何地点发生,但对员工的身体、心理和情绪健康有着深远的影响。 在工作场所经历过性别歧视影响的人完全有权提出索赔。

年龄歧视

Pexels

年龄歧视是指一个人没有被给予与其他人相同的机会,仅仅因为他们在相同情况下比其他人年轻或年长。 它可以发生在不同年龄的人参与同一活动的任何工作场所。 年龄歧视 在加利福尼亚州是禁止的,根据员工的年龄和假定的能力水平区别对待员工是违法的。

有时很难知道您是否受到年龄歧视。 有时你也可能同时因为几个不同的事情而受到歧视,例如年龄和性别。 如果您决定提出索赔,请联系可以帮助您确定后续步骤的就业律师。

残疾歧视

雇主有义务为残疾雇员提供公平待遇。 这意味着提供平等的就业机会、同工同酬、员工薪酬、工作培训和非敌对的工作环境。 任何行动、听力、视觉和心理障碍在工作场所都受到法律保护,雇主必须防止它们发生。

这种类型的歧视是一种破坏性的做法,残疾歧视法对那些基于对个人健康状况的恐惧或刻板印象行事的雇主尤其不宽容。 例如,雇主不能拒绝有癌症病史的合格候选人的工作,认为这种情况会复发并导致该人错过工作。

最后的思考

种族、性别和性别、年龄和残疾歧视是加州历史上普遍存在的四种主要就业歧视类型。 雇主必须系统地采取积极措施,以基于歧视的理由反对歧视并促进工作场所的平等权利和机会。 如果您在工作中受到歧视,请找一位合格且知识渊博的律师来帮助您处理您的案件。

0股
发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被公开。

你也许也喜欢

Top 4 Types of Employment Discrimination in California

Top 4 Types of Employment Discrimination in California
Photo Credit: SHRM

Discrimination can take many different forms. The term is used daily when someone is being treated differently and unfairly. Employment discrimination is when someone is treated worse than someone else based on race, ethnicity, gender, religion, sexual orientation, and more.

It can be about everything from not being given the same chances as other job seekers because of gender or disability to offensive comments about a person’s sexual orientation or ethnic origin.

Employment discrimination applies to all employment stages, including the hiring process. Employers must therefore work to promote equal rights and opportunities in the workplace through so-called active measures. The employer also has a responsibility to be aware of this, learn the exact definition of employment discrimination, and then know how to deal with and prevent such occurrences.

Even though it’s a progressive state, California, for example, has a lot of racial discrimination incidences at workplaces,

According to statistics, in 2011 alone, there were as many as 2,372 racial discrimination charges filed by California-based workers and applicants. Suppose you happen to run a business in the state of California. In that case, you should know that federal and state laws prohibit employers in this state from discriminating against employees based on the characteristics we mentioned above.

In the article below, we will break down four types of discrimination in the workplace in California so employers can learn to recognize them in the workplace and prevent discrimination from happening in the first place.

Pexels

Racial Discrimination

Racial discrimination in the workplace is based on the actual race, skin color, country of national origin, or ethnicity. A person’s facial features, hair type, and even complexion can be included in this discrimination and in certain cases, workers may face discrimination due to a relationship they have with a person of another race.

Racial discrimination occurs when someone refuses to hire a qualified candidate, gives someone with undesirable tasks or projects they’re overqualified for, not giving someone the promotion they deserve, discharges them, and also makes the actual workplace a hostile environment solely because of someone’s race.

If you feel like you’re experiencing racial discrimination in the workplace, you should contact an employment lawyer who can help you if you’re considering pursuing a discrimination claim against the responsible parties. A reputable lawyer will help you develop a strong legal basis for your claim and get the justice you deserve. The first question many employees ask themselves is “how much does it cost to hire an employment lawyer in California?” So before hiring someone, get ready to do some research about the charges associated with suing your employer, schedule a consultation, and discuss the fees and terms.

Sex and Gender Discrimination

Pexels

Although sex and gender discrimination is strictly forbidden and illegal in workplaces, it still happens every day. Sex and gender discrimination encompasses discrimination based on an employee’s gender, sexual orientation, or identifying gender.

It could also include pregnancy discrimination, as well as discrimination against parents, both male, and female, or nursing mothers. In addition, it also includes discrimination based on childbirth or related medical conditions. An example of this type of employment discrimination would be an employer not being able to get a promotion or get hired based on their status as pregnant.

Sex and gender discrimination can happen at any time and in any place, but it has far-reaching effects on employees’ physical, psychological, and emotional health. People who’ve experienced the effect of gender discrimination in the workplace have every right to file a claim.

Age Discrimination

Pexels

Age discrimination means that a person is not given the same opportunities as others, just because they are younger or older than others in the same situation. It can occur in any workplace where people of different ages participate in the same activity. Age discrimination is prohibited in California and it is against the law to treat employees differently based on their age and assumed level of ability.

Sometimes it is difficult to know if you have been subjected to age discrimination. Sometimes you can also be discriminated against because of several different things at the same time, for example, both age and gender. If you’ve decided to file a claim, contact an employment lawyer who can help you determine your next steps.

Disability Discrimination

Employers are obligated to provide fair treatment to employees with disabilities. This means providing equal employment opportunities, equal pay, employee compensation, job training, and a non-hostile work environment. Anything from mobility, hearing, visual and psychological disabilities are legally protected in the workplace and employers must prevent them from occurring.

This type of discrimination is a damaging practice and disability discrimination law is particularly unforgiving of employers who act based on fears or stereotypes about a person’s medical condition. For instance, an employer cannot deny a job to a qualified candidate who has a history of cancer, thinking that the condition will recur and cause the person to miss work.

Final Thoughts

Racial, sex and gender, age, and disability discrimination are the four major types of employment discrimination historically pervasive in California. The employer must systematically work with active measures to counter discrimination and promote equal rights and opportunities in the workplace based on the grounds for discrimination. If you’ve been discriminated against at work, find a qualified and knowledgeable lawyer to help you with your case.

0 Shares:
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You May Also Like