更安全的资助:2022 年资格、奖项、要求和操作指南

FEMA 2021 年更安全赠款奖
形象信用效用

充足的火灾和应急响应补助金(SAFER)的人员配备 是一项直接向消防部门和志愿消防员利益组织提供现金的倡议,以帮助他们提高或维持社区中训练有素的“一线”消防员的数量。
SAFER 的目的是提高当地消防部门遵守 NFPA 人员配备和运营标准的能力。 在本文中,我们将讨论 FEMA 更安全的拨款奖励 2022 和 2022 财年更安全的拨款。

FEMA 拨款更安全

FEMA 更安全的消防安全拨款为装备和教育应急响应人员提供了必要的资金。 以及,提高效率,加强社区的复原力。

SAFER 应用程序询问有关他们试图实现的 NFPA 标准的一般性问题。 因此,他们现有的达到该标准的能力,以及他们如何达到标准取决于赠款资金的批准。 导致符合 NFPA 1710 或 NFPA 1720 相关部分的最大百分比增加的申请的预分数高于导致合规增加较少百分比的申请。

回顾上一年的火灾报告以查看您的部门在人员配备和响应时间方面是否达到标准是至关重要的。 如果没有,您的部门有多少百分比的时间没有达到预期? SAFER 计划的融资基准处于这一水平。 如果您的部门符合 1710 或 1720 标准,则您没有资格获得 SAFER 融资。

2022 年更安全的补助金

设立了更安全的赠款奖励,以直接向消防部门和志愿消防员利益团体提供现金。 这是为了帮助他们增加社区中合格的前线消防员的数量。 今年,FEMA 为 SAFER 拨款预留了 355 亿美元。 2022年初是申请期。

因此,2022 年更安全赠款奖的申请时间现已开放。

更安全的补助金奖

充足的消防和应急响应 (SAFER) 拨款申请于 8 月 12 日进行,一直持续到 XNUMX 月 XNUMX 日。

所有三项申请——SAFER、消防员援助赠款 (AFG) 和防火和安全赠款——将在政府赠款计划的历史上首次同时开放。

FEMA 非常清楚,全国的消防和紧急医疗服务部门正面临着严重的人员和财务挑战。 因此,2022 SAFER 拨款申请中没有成本分摊义务或职位限制。 因此,以下是更安全的赠款奖励和资格。

招聘和保留的活动和优先事项

招募和保留工作的目标是增加训练有素、合格和称职的消防员的数量。 谁能够安全地应对接受者响应区域内的危机。

SAFER 应用程序特别考虑以下程序:

  • 包括招聘和保留的协调员。
  • 说明新雇用的消防员是否会接受入门级体检和疫苗,以及是否会提供年度体检。
  • 消防员接受培训成为消防员 II 和 EMT 或只是消防员 II。
  • 是更多的志愿者,还是有大量的志愿消防员?
  • 人员流动率高,人员配备水平远低于满足要​​求的理想水平。 NFPA 标准 1710 或 1720
  • 根据需求分析提供信息。
  • 作为他们努力的一部分,他们已经建立或将建立消防合作伙伴关系。

消防员招聘的活动和资格

SAFER 提供三类经济援助——主要是向志愿者、组合和职业消防部门。 这有助于他们通过直接向他们授予招聘活动补助金来建立他们的一线消防员干部。

重新雇用申请期开始前两年内被解雇的消防员;

留用:留用申请截止日期后120日内即将下岗的消防员; 要么

雇用:应雇用额外的消防员。

只有在获得 SAFER 计划赠款后受雇(新雇用类别)或重新雇用(重新雇用类别)的消防员才有资格获得赠款资金(除非在保留类别下授予)。

在所有三个类别中,只有全职职位才有资格获得融资。 全职职位是每年至少支付 2,080 小时的职位。 例如,您每周工作 40 小时,每年工作 52 周。

无论附带职责如何,SAFER 计划赠款资金将仅用于支付所有三个类别的运营工作,其主要任务(超过 50% 的时间)是在灭火车辆上。

除了他们的主要业务任务外,志愿消防部门和大多数志愿消防部门可能会雇用人员来填补官员级别的职位(例如,主管、消防检查员、培训官员、安全官员)。

重新雇用职位必须在申请期开始前两年内被解雇,才有资格获得融资。 在申请时,将需要官方签署并发布的裁员通知的副本。

其他信息:

在申请期开始前收到正式裁员通知(包括裁员行动的具体日期)的消防员,以及在申请期结束后 120 天内面临即将裁员的消防员,有资格获得 SAFER 补助金保留类别下的奖项。 但是,裁员必须在申请期日期或之前开始。 在申请时,还需要官方签署并发布的裁员通知的副本。

提交申请时部门的员工必须符合保留类别的资格。 注意:如果保留职位在提交后出现空缺,部门必须用新员工填补空缺,以保持运营人员水平。

另请参阅: GRANTMAKER:顶级资助基金会和软件解决方案

在特定时间范围内未完成的裁员通知没有机会,也没有资格在重新雇用或保留类别中获得融资,直到他们在初始激活日期后 14 天内提供额外通知。 不符合这些要求的人必须在新员工类别下提交申请。

任何不按照官方裁员通知的措辞执行或不符合上述标准的裁员行动将没有资格获得重新雇用或保留类别下的资金。 不符合这些要求的人必须在新员工类别下提交申请。 祝你好运!

2022 财年更安全的补助金

AFG 和 SAFER 赠款计划为当地消防和 EMS 部门提供直接援助,以帮助他们购买设备、培训和仪器,以及招募和留住职业和志愿者人员。 AFG 和 SAFER 有资格每年获得 750 亿美元,但 360 财年 AFG 和 SAFER 拨款只有 2022 亿美元。

援助消防员补助金 (AFG)

消防员补助金 (AFG) 的重点是帮助/消防部门和非附属紧急医疗服务组织实现其消防和应急响应需求。 消防部门、非附属紧急医疗服务团体和州消防培训机构也是符合条件的申请人。 设备、培训、车辆购置、设施升级和消防员健康/健身都是符合条件的活动。 财政年度为 324 亿美元,申请截止日期为 XNUMX 月。

防火和安全补助金

防火和安全 (FP&S) 补助金功能旨在覆盖高风险目标群体,并减少因火灾和火灾相关风险造成的死亡和受伤人数。 消防员安全和研发 (R&D) 也得到 FP&S 资金的支持。 消防机构、大学和国家消防服务团体都是符合条件的申请人。 降低社区风险、预防纵火、荒地消防员的健康和安全都是符合条件的活动。 财政年度为 36 万美元,2022 年初为申请期。

SAFER 和 FIRE 赠款计划的创建是为了协助消防部门满足其主要的人员配备、设备、培训以及健康和安全需求。 SAFER 拨款用于支付雇佣工人以维持安全人员配备水平的成本,而《消防法》拨款则用于支付设备、培训和其他消防部门需求的成本。

到 710 财年,SAFER 和 FIRE 法案的资金总额为 355 亿美元,每个 2020 亿美元。尽管近年来略有增加,但这些项目的资金仍低于 810 亿美元的历史最高水平。 总统的财政年度预算提议削减这两个项目的资金。 SAFER 和 FIRE 拨款分别获得 688.688 亿美元和 344,344 亿美元。

结论

FEMA SAFER 拨款需要漫长的申请流程,因此您可以访问他们的 官网 启动您的应用程序。 为了更好地掌握这个项目,我不能足够强调阅读资助机会通知 (NOFO) 和其他相关文件的必要性。

与其他 FEMA 计划一样,请确保您拥有当前的奖励管理系统 (SAM) 注册和有效的数据通用编号系统 (DUNS) 编号。 最后,尽早开始并在提交之前让其他人检查您的申请。 如需跟进 FEMA 更安全的拨款更新,请订阅 商业收益.

常问的问题

什么是更安全的赠款?

SAFER 赠款计划直接向代表志愿消防员利益的消防部门和国家、州、地方或部落组织提供资金,以帮助他们增加消防员的数量,以帮助他们达到行业最低标准并实现 24-小时人员配备。

更安全的赠款如何运作?

SAFER 补助计划的目标是直接向消防部门和志愿消防员利益团体提供资金,帮助他们增加消防员的数量,从而帮助社区达到行业最低标准并实现 24 小时值班以提供足够的消防。

谁有资格获得 FEMA 拨款?

您必须是美国公民、非公民国民或符合条件的外国人,并且满足以下所有要求才有资格享受此福利计划: 您必须是美国总统所在地区的损失受害者已宣布灾难。

相关文章

  1. 保护您的企业免受火灾的 4 种方法
  2. 财务代理:最佳实践和 2022 年详细指南
  3. 酌情财政政策:2022 年权威指南(+详细示例)
  4. 如何启动非营利组织:7 年 2022 个以上可行的提示
0股
发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被公开。

你也许也喜欢

SAFER GRANT: 2022 Eligibility, Awards, Requirements & How-to Guide

FEMA safer grant awards 2021
image credit utility

The Staffing for Adequate Fire and Emergency Response Grant (SAFER) is an initiative to provide cash directly to fire departments and volunteer firefighter interest organizations to help them raise or sustain the number of trained, “first line” firefighters available in their communities.
The purpose of SAFER is to improve the local fire department’s ability to comply with NFPA staffing and operating standards. In this article, we’ll be discussing FEMA safer grant awards 2022 and FY 2022 safer grant.

FEMA Grant Safer


FEMA safer grant for fire safety provides needed funding to equip and educate emergency responders. As well as, improve efficiency, and strengthen community resilience.

The SAFER application asks general questions about the NFPA standard they’re trying to fulfill. Hence, their existing ability to meet that standard, and how they’ll meet the standard is dependent on grant funds approval. Pre-scores for applications that result in the greatest percentage increase in compliance with the relevant section of NFPA 1710 or NFPA 1720 are higher than for applications that result in lesser percentage increases in compliance.

It’s crucial to go over your fire reports from the previous year to see if your department is up to par in terms of staffing and response time. If not, what percentage of the time does your department fall short of meeting expectations? The SAFER program’s financing benchmark is at this level. You are not eligible for SAFER financing if your department meets the 1710 or 1720 criteria.

Safer Grant 2022


SAFER grant awards were established to provide cash directly to fire departments and volunteer firefighter interest groups. This is to assist them in increasing the number of qualified frontline firefighters available in their communities. This year, FEMA has set aside $355 million for the SAFER grant. Early 2022 is the application period.

So, the application time for the Safer grant award 2022 is now open.

Safer Grant Awards


The Staffing for Adequate Fire and Emergency Response (SAFER) grant application was on Feb. 8 and went through to March 12.

All three applications – SAFER, Assistance to Firefighters Grants (AFG), and the Fire Prevention and Safety grant – will be open at the same time for the first time in the government grant program’s history.

FEMA is well aware that fire and EMS departments across the country are facing serious personnel and financial challenges. As a result, there is no cost-sharing obligation or position restriction in the 2022 SAFER grant application. So, below are the safer grant awards and eligibilities.


Activities and Priorities for Recruitment and Retention

The goal of the recruitment and retention effort is to enhance the number of trained, qualified, and competent firemen. Who are capable of safely responding to crises within the recipient’s response area.


The SAFER application gives special consideration to programs that:

  • Include a Coordinator for Recruiting and Retention.
  • Indicate whether newly hired firefighters will receive an entry-level physical and vaccines, as well as whether annual medical checks will be provided.
  • Firefighters get trainings to be Firefighter II and EMT or just Firefighter II.
  • Are largely more of volunteers, or have a large number of volunteer firefighters?
  • Have a high rate of turnover and staffing levels that are far below the ideal levels to meet the requirements. NFPA standards 1710 or 1720
  • Provide information based on a Needs Analysis.
  • As part of their effort, they have established or will build fire service partnerships.

Activities and Eligibility for Firefighters Hiring

SAFER provides financial assistance in three categories-basically to volunteer, combination, and career fire departments. This helps them build their cadre of frontline firefighters by awarding hiring activity grants directly to them.

Rehire firemen who were laid off within the previous two years prior to the application period’s start;

Retain: Retaining firemen who are about to be laid off within 120 days of the application deadline; or

Hire: Additional firefighters should be hired.

Only firefighters employed (New Hire category) or rehired (Rehire category) after the SAFER program grant offer of the award are eligible for grant funds (except if awarded under the Retention category).

In all three categories, only full-time positions are eligible for financing. A full-time position is one that is paid for a minimum of 2,080 hours per year. For example, you work 40 hours per week, 52 weeks per year.


Regardless of collateral duties, SAFER program grant funding will only be used to pay for operational jobs in all three categories whose primary assignment (more than 50% of the time) is on a fire suppression vehicle.

In addition to their primary operational task, volunteer and mostly volunteer fire departments may hire persons to fill officer-level positions (e.g., chief, fire inspector, training officer, safety officer).

Rehire positions must have been laid off in two years prior to the commencement of the application period to be eligible for financing. At the time of application, copies of the official signed, and issued layoff notices will be required.

Additional information:

Firefighters who have received a formal layoff notice prior to the start of the application period, which includes a specific date for the layoff action, and those who are facing imminent layoff – within 120 days of the application period’s close – are eligible for the SAFER grant awards under the Retention category. However, the layoffs must begin on or before the application period date. At the point of application, copies of the official signed, and issued layoff notices will also be required.

Employees of the department at the time the application is submitted must be eligible for the Retention category. Note: If a retention position becomes vacant after submission, departments must fill the opening with a new employee in order to maintain the operating personnel level.

Read Also: GRANTMAKER: Top Grantmaking Foundation and Software Solutions

A layoff notice that is not complete within the specific timeframes does not stand a chance and will also not be eligible for financing in the Rehire or Retention categories until they provide an additional notice within 14 days of the initial activation date. Those who do not meet these requirements must submit an application under the New Hire category.

Any layoff action that is not carried out in line with the wording of the official layoff notice or fails to meet the above criteria will be ineligible for funding under the Rehire or Retention category. Those who do not meet these requirements must submit an application under the New Hire category. Good luck!

FY 2022 Safer Grant

The AFG and SAFER grant programs provide direct aid to local fire and EMS departments to help them purchase equipment, training, and apparatus, as well as recruit and retain career and volunteer personnel. AFG and SAFER are eligible to get $750 million per year, however, only $360 million came in for FY 2022 AFG and SAFER grant.

Assistance to Firefighters Grants (AFG)

The Assistance to Firefighters Grant (AFG) is focusing on helping/ fire departments and non-affiliated emergency medical service organizations achieve their firefighting and emergency response demands. Fire departments, non-affiliated emergency medical service groups, and state fire training institutes are also eligible applicants. Equipment, training, vehicle acquisition, facility upgrades, and firefighter wellness/fitness are all eligible activities. The fiscal year 2021 is $324 million and also the deadline for applications is December 2021.

Fire Prevention and Safety Grants

Fire Prevention and Safety (FP&S) Grants function with the goal to reach high-risk target groups and reduce the number of deaths and injuries caused by fire and fire-related risks. Firefighter safety and research and development (R&D) also receives support from FP&S funding. Fire agencies, universities, and national fire service groups are all eligible applicants. Community risk reduction, arson prevention, wildland firefighter health, and safety are all eligible activities. The fiscal year 2021 is $36 million and early 2022 is the application period.

The creation of the SAFER and FIRE grant programs was to assist fire departments with their major staffing, equipment, training, and health and safety demands. SAFER grants cover the costs of employing workers to maintain safe staffing levels, whereas FIRE Act grants cover the costs of equipment, training, and other fire department needs.

SAFER and FIRE Act funds totaled $710 million – $355 million each – for Fiscal Year 2020. Despite slight increases in recent years, funding for the programs has remained below an all-time high of $810 million. The president’s budget for the Fiscal Year 2021 proposes cutting funding for both programs. With SAFER and FIRE grants receiving $688.688 million and $344,344 million, respectively.

Conclusions

The FEMA SAFER grant requires a lengthy application process, so you can visit their website to start your application. To develop a working grasp of this program, I cannot emphasize enough the necessity of reading the Notice of Funding Opportunities (NOFO) and other associated documents.

Please ensure that you have a current System for Award Management (SAM) registration and an active Data Universal Number System (DUNS) number, as with other FEMA programs. Finally, begin early and have someone else examine your application before submitting it. For a follow-up on FEMA safer grant updates subscribe to BusinessYield.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is a safer grant?

The SAFER Grant Program provides funding directly to fire departments and national, state, local, or tribal organizations that represent volunteer firefighters’ interests in order to assist them in increasing the number of firefighters in order to help them meet industry minimum standards and achieve 24-hour staffing.

How does the safer grant work?

The SAFER Grant Program’s goal is to give direct money to fire departments and volunteer firefighter interest groups to help them increase the number of firefighters in order to help communities meet industry minimum criteria and achieve 24-hour manning to provide adequate fire protection.

Who qualifies for a FEMA grant?

You must be a U.S. citizen, a non-citizen national, or a qualifying alien, and meet all of the following requirements to be eligible for this benefit program: You must be a victim of losses in an area where the President of the United States has declared a disaster.

Related Article

  1. 4 WAYS TO PROTECT YOUR BUSINESS FROM FIRE DISASTER
  2. Fiscal Agent: Best Practices & Detailed 2022 Guide
  3. Discretionary Fiscal Policy: 2022 Definitive Guide(+Detailed Examples)
  4. How to Start Nonprofit Organization: 7+ Actionable Tips in 2022

0 Shares:
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You May Also Like