什么是投资银行家? 角色、要求和薪水

什么是投资银行家

成为投资银行家都需要教育、认证和经验。 这些专业人士为私人和公共组织提供财务建议,帮助他们通过投资和股票投资组合增加资本。
尽管在高压力的情况和环境中工作,投资银行家可以获得高于平均水平的薪水,并且经常发现他们的工作是有益的。 本指南解释了如何成为一名投资银行家,包括关键技能、典型的职业道路、薪水和认证要求。

什么是投资银行家?

投资银行家是一名投资专业人士,他们利用他们对金融服务行业的知识、分析能力和有效的说服沟通技巧来协助机构客户进行融资和并购等活动。

投资银行家为各种客户提供企业融资服务,包括初创公司、成熟的组织,在某些情况下还包括政府。 他们是企业、组织或其他公司实体的财务增长和发展的关键参与者,无论他们是为投资银行还是另一个组织的投资银行部门工作。

投资银行家是一个广义的术语,涵盖从入门级投资银行家到执行副总裁的各种职位。

投资银行的类型

公司金融和行业覆盖是投资银行业务的两个子集。 公司指派投资银行家在经纪公司的这些子集中工作。 本节深入探讨两种投资银行业务。

#1。 企业融资

公司金融领域的投资银行家通过购买股票、债券和其他投资帮助个人和组织筹集资金。 他们负责合并、收购和首次公开募股 (IPO) 的准备工作。

#2。 行业覆盖

这个投资银行部门专注于特定行业或商业类型。 专业人员必须随时了解其指定业务部门的任何变化或趋势。 行业覆盖领域的专业人士经常向利益相关者报告他们的发现。

投资银行家的角色是什么?

这是一条受欢迎的职业道路,因为成功的投资银行家可以赚取高薪,拥有众多社交机会,并在公司成功故事中扮演重要角色。 尽管如此,投资银行家的日常工作通常要求很高,节奏很快,并且可能被那些喜欢更轻松的工作与生活平衡的人认为压力很大。 如果您想以灵活的时间安排每周工作 40 小时,那么投资银行业务可能不适合您。

重要的投资银行技能

#1。 分析能力

投资银行家必须具备分析能力,才能分析大量经济数据并从他们的发现中得出结论。
注重细节在这种高压力的工作环境中,即使是微小的错误也可能意味着公司在获得资金后蓬勃发展和公司破产之间的区别。 为了匹配他们工作的高风险,投资银行家必须密切关注细节。

#2。 信心

投资银行家必须向提供或需要大笔资金的客户传达信心。 该领域的专业人士可以受益于在高压情况下保持冷静和放心。

#3. 沟通

每天,这些专业人员都与广泛的利益相关者互动,包括同事、经理和客户。 所有投资银行家都必须能够与各种受众进行清晰的沟通。

#4。 做决定

投资银行家必须代表他们的客户做出艰难的决定。 个人和企业寻求投资银行家的建议,他们必须能够分析趋势和预测,才能做出合理的投资决策。

#5。 数学能力

为了在投资银行业务中寻找融资机会的数字,需要高超的数学技能。 这些专业人士还必须对经济学有扎实的了解。

#6。 了解道德与合规

这些专业人员必须精通管理投资的法规和法律。 一些客户可能更喜欢更有道德的投资,因此这些银行家可以通过发现长期机会并趁热打铁而受益。

投资银行家的工作前景

这个要求很高的职位长期需要 12 小时或更长的工作日,每周工作 100 小时。 然而,它的薪水确实不错——即使是入门级的投资银行家,每年也能赚到六位数。

职业生涯的未来似乎也很光明。 美国劳工统计局 (BLS) 预测,从 10 年到 2021 年,证券、商品和金融服务销售代理的就业人数将增加 2031%。投资银行家属于这一类。 这比全国所有职业预计的5%的增长率要快。

根据美国劳工统计局的说法,这种强劲的预期增长是由于人口老龄化以及由此导致的传统养老金下降。 然而,该机构警告说,随着十年的发展,金融服务行业的整合以及自动交易系统可能会减缓投资银行家的增长。

投资银行家的薪水是多少?

在美国,投资银行家的平均年薪为 162,715 美元或每小时 78.23 美元。 投资银行家薪水的底层 10% 每年约为 95,000 美元,而前 10% 的收入为 276,000 美元。
投资银行家的薪水受他或她所在位置的影响。 阿拉斯加、佛蒙特州、缅因州、新罕布什尔州和马萨诸塞州的投资银行家薪水最高。

如何成为投资银行家

#1。 获得学士学位

学士学位是成为投资银行家的最低要求。 准专业人士可以攻读工商管理学士学位或会计学士学位。 金融和经济学是另外两个相关专业。 未来的投资银行家也可以将他们的选修课重点放在公司融资上。
在金融业蓬勃发展的城市(如纽约市)附近就读学校,可以提供更多的实习和交流机会。

#2。 想想研究生院。

拥有 MBA 或其他硕士学位的投资银行家通常会在该领域的中级和高级职位上受到追捧。 虽然只有学士学位就可以成为投资银行家,但硕士学位可以帮助你脱颖而出,获得更多的工作机会。

#3。 获得经验

除了获得在职专业经验外,学生还可以通过完成实习来开始他们的职业生涯。 实习生可以与雇主和导师建立长期的关系,以获得未来的工作机会。 经验对于晋升到更负责任的投资银行角色也很重要。

#4。 成为 FINRA 的成员。

要进入投资银行界,每位候选人都必须在金融业监管局 (FINRA) 注册。 所有准证券专业人士都必须通过系列 7 考试。 要在 FINRA 注册,投资银行家还必须通过 79 系列考试。
系列 7 考试有 125 个问题,需要 45 小时 79 分钟才能完成。 Series 75 考试要求投资银行家在 2.5 小时内完成 79 个问题。 准投资银行家通常为 60 系列考试准备 100 到 XNUMX 小时。

投行职业之路

许多投资银行公司将为大学生和应届毕业生提供带薪实习,这可以计入所需的经验年限,并有助于建立人脉。 一些投资银行公司可能更喜欢拥有商学院高级学位的候选人,但在将时间和金钱投入到高级学位之前,请务必研究您感兴趣领域的职位要求。

入门级投资银行家有时被称为“初级银行家”,但职称更可能使用“分析师”一词来表示真正的入门级职位,并使用“助理”来表示需要一些经验的角色。 另一方面,那些拥有丰富投资银行经验的人将被称为“高级银行家”。 在此类别中,职称可能包括“副总裁 (VP)”、“高级副总裁 (SVP)”、“董事”或“董事总经理”。

成为投资银行家需要多长时间?

要成为投资银行家,您必须先完成学士学位,然后再花时间准备和获得 FINRA 执照。 硕士学位可能需要额外两年才能完成,通常由中级和高级投资银行家获得。

投资银行家教育培训

在投资银行领域取得成功需要高水平的教育和技能。 雇主通常希望候选人拥有金融、会计、经济学或相关领域的学士学位。 入门级职位通常需要在职培训。 拥有高级学位的个人可能会从助理级别开始,并且可能有更多的晋升机会。

攻读金融学位课程专业的工商管理硕士学位是成为投资银行家的第一步。 投资组合分析、金融市场和机构、管理会计和投资管理是典型的课程主题。
雇主应该期望 MBA 金融课程的毕业生能够:

  • 解决现实世界的企业级财务问题。
  • 利用投资政策和战略发展背后的技术、理论和概念。
  • 检查利率和影响利率的因素。
  • 评估投资组合表现

做投资银行家难吗?

有可能的。 大多数投资公司更喜欢名牌大学的候选人,这些大学通常具有高昂的学费、严格的入学政策和严格的课程作业。 然而,拥有任何学校学士学位的个人仍然可以找到入门级的投资银行工作。

投资银行家的薪水高吗?

一般来说,是的——投资银行家赚了很多钱。 即使是该领域的入门级专业人士,每年的收入也可以超过 100,000 美元。 另一方面,投资银行家在高压力环境中工作很长时间。

我适合从事投资银行业务吗?

在申请投资银行职位之前,请考虑您对“为什么要投资银行?”这个问题的回答。 许多投资银行面试开始时都会问这个问题。 如果您不知道如何回答这个问题,请考虑强调其中一些特征(如果它们能很好地描述您)。

#1。 数据驱动的思想家

如前所述,投资银行家需要分析技能来帮助他们就关键财务决策向组织提供建议。 投资银行家不必是职业数学家,但他们确实需要数学技能来执行定价和金融模型计算。

#2。 以销售为导向的沟通者

人际交往能力和有说服力的沟通对于从事融资或帮助初创企业获得资金的投资银行家至关重要。 投资银行家必须是代表客户的杰出作家和公众演说家。 此外,投资银行家必须熟练开发和展示“推介书”,以便从潜在投资者和客户那里赢得新业务。

#3。 道德与合规领导者

最后,熟练的投资银行家努力获得有关其客户所在市场的知识和专业知识。 他们应密切关注管理客户行业的法律法规,并在指导客户做出长期盈利和道德决策方面拥有既得利益。

总结

投资银行家工作的声望使其成为一个理想且具有竞争力的领域。 如果您具有财务能力、出色的沟通能力以及敏锐的分析和数学能力,您可能有资格在该行业寻求机会。 当您将这些知识与您可以从金融学位课程的 MBA 中学到的知识结合起来时,您可能会成为一名有价值的投资银行家。

参考资料

0股
发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被公开。

你也许也喜欢

WHAT IS AN INVESTMENT BANKER? Roles, Requirements and Salary

What is an Investment Banker

Education, certification, and experience are all required to become an investment banker. These professionals offer financial advice to private and public organizations, assisting them in increasing capital through investments and stock portfolios.
Despite working in high-stress situations and environments, investment bankers can earn above-average salaries and frequently find their work rewarding. This guide explains how to become an investment banker, including key skills, typical career path, salary and certification requirements.

What Is an Investment Banker?

An investment banker is an investment professional that use their knowledge of the financial services industry, analytical skills, and effective persuasive communication skills to assist institutional clients with activities such as capital raising and mergers and acquisitions.

Investment bankers provide corporate finance services to a diverse range of clients, including startups, established organizations, and, in some cases, governments. They are key players in the financial growth and development of a business, organization, or other corporate entity, whether they work for an investment bank or the investment banking division of another organization.

An investment banker is a broad term that encompasses positions ranging from entry-level investment banker to executive vice president.

Types of Investment Banking

Corporate finance and industry coverage are two subsets of investment banking. Companies assign investment bankers to work in these subsets within brokerages. This section delves into two kinds of investment banking.

#1. Corporate Finance

Investment bankers in corporate finance assist individuals and organizations in raising capital through the purchase of stocks, bonds, and other investments. They are in charge of mergers, acquisitions, and the preparation for initial public offerings (IPOs).

#2. Industry Coverage

This branch of investment banking focuses on specific industries or types of commerce. Professionals must stay informed about any changes or trends in their assigned business sector. Professionals in the industry coverage field frequently report their findings to stakeholders.

What Is the Role of an Investment Banker?

This is a popular career path because a successful investment banker can earn a high salary, have numerous networking opportunities, and play a prominent role in company success stories. Nonetheless, an investment banker’s day-to-day work is typically demanding, fast-paced, and may be considered stressful by those who prefer a more relaxed work-life balance. If you want to work a typical 40-hour week with flexible scheduling, investment banking may not be the right path for you.

Important Investment Banking Skills

#1. Analytical Capabilities

Investment bankers must be analytical in order to analyze large amounts of economic data and draw conclusions from their findings.
Attention to Detail In this high-stress work environment, even minor errors can mean the difference between a company thriving after receiving capital and a company going bankrupt. To match the high stakes of their work, investment bankers must pay close attention to detail.

#2. Confidence

Investment bankers must convey confidence to clients who provide or require large sums of money. Professionals in this field can benefit from remaining calm and assured in high-pressure situations.

#3. Communication

On a daily basis, these professionals interact with a wide range of stakeholders, including coworkers, managers, and clients. All investment bankers must be able to communicate clearly to a variety of audiences.

#4. Decision-Making

Investment bankers must make difficult decisions on behalf of their clients. Individuals and businesses seek the advice of investment bankers, who must be able to analyze trends and forecasts in order to make sound investment decisions.

#5. Math Abilities

To crunch the numbers for funding opportunities in investment banking, sharp math skills are required. These professionals must also have a solid understanding of economics.

#6. Understanding of Ethics and Compliance

These professionals must be well-versed in the regulations and laws that govern investments. Some clients may prefer more ethical investments, so these bankers can benefit by spotting long-term opportunities and striking while the iron is hot.

Job Prospects for Investment Bankers

This demanding position long requires 12-hour or longer workdays, totaling 100-hour work weeks. It does, however, pay well—even entry-level investment bankers can earn six figures per year.

The future of the career appears to be bright as well. The Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) predicts a 10% increase in employment for securities, commodities, and financial services sales agents between 2021 and 2031. Investment bankers fall into this category. This is faster than the national projected growth rate of 5% for all occupations.

According to the BLS, this strong projected growth is due to an aging population and the resulting decline in traditional pensions. However, the agency warns that financial services industry consolidation, as well as automated trading systems, may slow growth for investment bankers as the decade progresses.

What Is the Salary of an Investment Banker?

In the United States, an investment banker earn an average salary of $162,715 per year or $78.23 per hour. The bottom 10% of investment banker salary is approximately $95,000 per year, while the top 10% earn $276,000.
The salary of an investment banker is affected by his or her location. Alaska, Vermont, Maine, New Hampshire, and Massachusetts has the highest salary for an investment banker.

How to Become an Investment Banker

#1. Acquire a Bachelor’s Degree

A bachelor’s degree is the bare minimum for becoming an investment banker. Prospective professionals can pursue a bachelor’s degree in business administration or a bachelor’s degree in accounting. Finance and economics are two other relevant majors. Prospective investment bankers can also focus their electives on corporate finance.
Attending a school near a city with a thriving financial sector, such as New York City, can provide more internship and networking opportunities.

#2. Think about Graduate School.

Investment bankers with MBAs or other master’s degrees are typically sought after for mid-level and advanced positions in the field. Though you can become an investment banker with only a bachelor’s degree, a master’s degree can help you stand out from the crowd and get more job opportunities.

#3. Acquire Experience

Along with gaining on-the-job professional experience, students can begin their careers by completing internships. Interns can establish long-term relationships with employers and mentors for future job opportunities. Experience is also important for advancing into more responsible investment banking roles.

#4. Become a member of FINRA.

To enter the investment banking world, each candidate must register with the Financial Industry Regulatory Authority (FINRA). All prospective securities professionals must pass the Series 7 exam. To register with FINRA, investment bankers must also pass the Series 79 exam.
The Series 7 exam has 125 questions and takes three hours and 45 minutes to complete. The Series 79 exam requires investment bankers to complete 75 questions in 2.5 hours. Prospective investment bankers typically prepare for the Series 79 exam for 60 to 100 hours.

The Path to a Career in Investment Banking

Many investment banking firms will offer paid internships to college students and recent graduates, which can count toward the required years of experience and help with networking. Some investment banking firms may prefer candidates with advanced degrees from business schools, but before devoting time and money to an advanced degree, make sure to research position requirements in your field of interest.

Entry-level investment bankers are sometimes referred to as “junior bankers,” but job titles will more likely use the term “analyst” to indicate a true entry-level position and “associate” to indicate a role that requires some experience. Those with significant investment banking experience, on the other hand, will be referred to as “senior bankers.” In this category, job titles may include “vice president (VP),” “senior vice president (SVP),” “director,” or “managing director.”

How Long Does It Take To Become an Investment Banker?

To become an investment banker, you must first complete a bachelor’s degree, followed by additional time spent preparing for and obtaining FINRA licensure. Master’s degrees, which can take an additional two years to complete, are typically earned by mid-level and advanced investment bankers.

Investment Banker Education and Training

A high level of education and skill is required for success in the investment banking field. Employers typically expect candidates to have a bachelor’s degree in finance, accounting, economics, or a related field. On-the-job training is typically required for entry-level positions. Individuals with advanced degrees may start at the associate level and may have more opportunities for advancement.

Enrolling in a Master of Business Administration with a specialization in Finance degree program is the first step toward becoming an investment banker. Portfolio analysis, financial markets and institutions, managerial accounting, and investment management are typical course topics.
Employers should expect MBA Finance program graduates to be able to:

  • Solve real-world, corporate-level finance problems.
  • Utilize the techniques, theories, and concepts underlying the development of investment policy and strategy.
  • Examine interest rates and the factors that influence them.
  • Assess portfolio performance

Is It Difficult to Work as an Investment Banker?

It is possible. Most investment firms prefer candidates from prestigious universities, which typically have high tuition costs, strict admission policies, and rigorous coursework. Individuals with bachelor’s degrees from any school, however, can still find entry-level investment banking jobs.

Do Investment Bankers Get a Good Salary?

In general, yes—investment bankers make a lot of money. Even entry-level professionals in this field can earn more than $100,000 per year. Investment bankers, on the other hand, work long days in high-stress environments.

Is a Career in Investment Banking Right for Me?

Before applying for an investment banking position, consider your answer to the question “Why investment banking?” which is asked at the start of many investment banking interviews. If you’re stumped on how to respond to this question, consider emphasizing some of these characteristics if they describe you well.

#1. Thinkers who are Data-Driven

As previously stated, investment bankers require analytical skills to assist them in advising organizations on critical financial decisions. Investment bankers do not have to be career mathematicians, but they do need math skills to perform pricing and financial model calculations.

#2. Communicators Who Are Sales-Oriented

Interpersonal skills and persuasive communication are essential for investment bankers who work in capital raising or help startup businesses secure funding. Investment bankers must be exceptional writers and public speakers on behalf of their clients. Furthermore, investment bankers must be skilled in developing and presenting “pitch books” in order to win new business from potential investors and clients.

#3. Leaders in Ethics and Compliance

Finally, skilled investment banker strives to gain knowledge and expertise about the markets in which their clients operate. They should pay close attention to the legal regulations that govern their clients’ industries and have a vested interest in guiding their clients to long-term profitable and ethical decisions.

Conclusion

The prestige of the job of an investment banker makes it a desirable and competitive field. If you have a financial aptitude, excellent communication skills, and sharp analytical and mathematical abilities, you may be qualified to pursue opportunities in the profession. When you combine this knowledge with what you can learn from an MBA in Finance degree program, you could be on your way to a rewarding career as an investment banker.

References

0 Shares:
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You May Also Like