什么是蓝领工人? 示例和 2023 年薪水

什么是蓝领工人

体力劳动在蓝领工作中很常见。 从事这些统计上收入较低的工作的人通常来自工人阶级。 探索这个行业的历史和蓝领工人工作的例子。

什么是蓝领工人?

蓝领工人更典型地受雇于非办公室环境(建筑工地、生产线、驾驶等)。 他们用双手和身体能力履行职责。 蓝领工人包括建筑工人、机器操作员、磨坊工人、装配工和卡车司机。

蓝领工作的概念并没有具体说明工人的技能数量或收入类型:他们可以是熟练的或不熟练的,有薪的或有薪的。 这确实意味着员工更有可能从事会弄脏衣服的工作,例如土壤或油脂。 这就是“蓝领”一词的由来,它可以追溯到 XNUMX 世纪初,当时这些工人穿着比“白领”工人更黑的衣服,或者更能抵抗体力劳动增加磨损的衣服,例如蓝色牛仔布。 但是,其他服务职业的工人,例如家庭保健助理或收银员,也可能被归类为蓝领。

根据美国联邦法律,蓝领工人通常不受加班或最低工资规定的约束; 但是,一些州可能会豁免特定类型的蓝领工人,例如司机。

美国有多少蓝领工人?

美国劳工统计局 (BLS) 提供了每个行业的工人数量,包括蓝领工作。 以2018年为例,建筑工人约1,405,000万人,维修工人1,488,000万人。
根据 2018 年《华盛顿邮报》的报告,大约 13.9% 的工人从事蓝领职业。
根据 BLS 数据,经济和政策研究中心绘制了一张描绘蓝领工作增加的地图。 根据几项研究,雇主目前很难找到蓝领工作的工人。

蓝领高薪工作的例子

以下是美国年收入超过 50,000 美元的蓝领工人工作的一些示例。

#1。 Diver National 平均年薪:$53,535

潜水员的主要职责包括拆除、安装和修理各种水下设备和结构。 为了帮助他们,他们使用潜水设备以及手和动力仪器,如焊接设备或钻头。 潜水员可能会进行实验或测试,或拍摄建筑物,以便更好地检查它们。

#2。 维修经理全国平均年薪:$54,549

主要职责:维修经理雇用和培训员工,进行设施维修,并在员工执行工作时对其进行监督。 他们根据需要订购供应品,并确保所有设备都能正常运行。

#3。 警官:全国平均年薪:$55,376

主要职责:警察执法并逮捕违法行为。 他们在指定区域巡逻,接听警察派遣电话,识别潜在的危险情况或条件,并协助侦探进行刑事调查。

#4。 电工:电工的全国平均收入:每年 56,948 美元

电工建造和维修电线和照明系统,这在家庭、工业和公司中很常见。 他们评估工业设备和电气元件,例如断路器,以保证适当的维护和安全操作。

#5。 刑事调查员:全国刑事调查员平均工资:每年 57,995 美元

主要职责:刑事调查员调查杀人、持械抢劫和性侵犯等罪行。 在调查期间,他们收集证据以帮助解决犯罪。 刑事调查员还收集笔记并采访线人、证人和可能的对象,以更好地了解犯罪情况。

#6。 飞机机械师:全国平均年薪:$58,240

飞机机械师的主要职责包括检查和修理飞机发动机。 它们确保所有机械部件都能正常运行,并有助于识别任何损坏、缺陷或功能障碍。 飞机机械师使用手动和电动工具(如锯和磨床)履行职责。 他们还确保所有飞机都遵守航空规则和规定。

#7。 水管工/管道工:全国平均年薪:59,087 美元

主要职责:管道工或管道安装工是安装、修理和更换管道、水龙头和马桶的人。 他们测试管道系统以确保它们处于良好的运行状态。 水管工和管道安装工使用蓝图来寻找维修面板并进行必要的维修。

#8。 Derrick hand:美国的年薪是65,478美元。

主要职责: 井架手,通常被称为井架工,根据他们正在处理的钻机执行各种任务。 他们通常向石油司钻报告并协助将钻杆支架引导到石油井架顶部的指状物中。

#9。 生产经理:全国平均年薪:$68,107

主要职责包括计划生产计划、确定必要的资源、估算生产成本、与客户和经理进行谈判以及监督制造过程。 他们还验证是否遵守了健康和安全法律。

#10。 指挥:全国指挥平均工资:每年 77,852 美元

火车或铁路售票员负责人员和货物的安全有序转移。 售票员的其他职责包括检查客票、协助乘客和宣布火车到达特定车站。

#11。 锅炉制造商:全国平均工资:80,027 美元

主要职责:锅炉制造商设计和维修蒸汽锅炉以及锅炉房辅助设备。 他们使用所需的蓝图对齐锅炉结构或平台部件以形成锅炉框架罐或大桶。 手动和电动工具、螺丝扣和水平仪是锅炉制造商在工作中使用的工具之一。

#12。 施工经理:全国平均年薪:$76,205

施工经理负责从头到尾监督施工项目。 他们计划可交付成果,估算项目成本,并参观施工现场以确保按时完成。 施工经理还保证所有项目都遵守施工和安全法律。

了解有关成为施工经理的更多信息

#13。 总承包商:全国平均年薪:117,713美元。

主要职责:总承包商提供建设项目所需的设备、材料和服务。 他们经常使用分包商来完成项目的部分或全部建设工作。

蓝领和白领有什么区别?

蓝领和白领之间的区别与他们的看法有很大关系。 这涵盖了我们如何看待各个行业、个人的教育水平、他们的外表和社会阶层。 但是,请记住,这一切都不一定基于事实。 更多的是关于人们被引导相信每个人是如何定义的。

行业认知

白领工作被认为比蓝领工作更受欢迎。 这是因为社会经常认为办公室工作优于那些需要体力劳动或艰苦劳动的工作。 简而言之,由于工作的性质,办公室工作比制造业或农业部门的工作更可取。

如果一个国家的基础设施足够完善,可以为其工人提供需要集中精力而非体力活动的安全办公桌工作,那么这个国家就足够强大,可以减轻谋生必需品中体力的负担。

教育培训

有一种假设是蓝领工人的受教育程度低于白领工人。 这是因为办公室工作通常需要接受高等教育。 例如,一家寻求会计师的公司通常需要新员工拥有会计或金融本科学位。 蓝领工人可能只需要一些可以在工作中或在贸易学校学习的技能。

这两个名称的历史基础可能自成立以来没有发生重大变化。 “蓝领”一词来自体力劳动者服装的普遍外观。 蓝色牛仔裤、工装裤和连体裤就是这种服装的例子。 深色调,如蓝色,用于隐藏可能弄脏工作服的污垢和其他材料。 白领与穿着白色系扣衬衫打领带的商务人士有关。

社会团体

解释这两个术语的另一种方法是相信白领不仅比蓝领赚更多的钱,而且来自不同的社会阶层。 白领被认为具有更高的地位,因为他们挣得更多,受教育程度更高。 另一方面,由于体力劳动和可能缺乏教育,蓝领工人被认为在社会阶梯上处于较低地位。 请记住,情况并非总是如此。

“蓝领”这个词是贬义词吗?

有可能的。 虽然在蓝领行业工作并没有错,但“蓝领”一词历来被用来侮辱或冒犯他人。 这是因为人们普遍认为蓝领工人的收入能力与白领工人不同,而且受教育程度较低。 另一个常见的误解是蓝领工人处于社会阶梯的底部。 尽管由于技术原因,两者之间的区别变得模糊,但该短语仍然具有一些负面含义。

为什么用衣领颜色来定义工作?

工人经常穿的那种衣领、衬衫或服装被用来对工作进行分类。 例如,蓝领工人被归类,因为他们经常穿着蓝色(牛仔布)衬衫和服装,这可能隐藏与某些职业(如机械师或工厂工人)相关的油污、残留物和污物。 白领之所以被称为是因为他们在西装下穿白衬衫。

有没有其他的领子颜色可供选择?

是的。 然而,其中许多并不像蓝领和白领工作那样普遍。 金领代表能力更强、需求量更大的白领。 其中包括医生、工程师、律师和飞行员。 红领工人是政府雇员,他们的工资由红墨水预算支付。 农民也可能属于这一类。 Pink-collar 是一个古老的词,用于表示传统上由女性主导的行业,例如护理和秘书工作。 绿领是最新的领色之一,指的是环境部门的工作。

其他领与蓝领

虽然蓝领和白领是最普遍的,但其他象征劳动不同部分的领子却鲜为人知。 与白领和蓝领不同,其他类别不是由穿着任何特定颜色衬衫的工人组成。 而是他们的颜色。 它们如下:

  • 金领: 此类别包括法律和医学专业。 这可能是对这些职业要求的更高收入的参考。
  • 灰领: 正式白领但经常将蓝领工作作为其工作的一部分的个人,例如工程师。
  • 粉红领: 这个群体包括服务人员,例如护士、秘书、教师、销售人员和侍应生。 粉领工作之所以如此命名,是因为它们传统上由女性担任。
  • 红领 指用于在预算中表示薪水的红色墨水。 该部门的工人大多是在各级政府工作的公务员。
  • 绿领: 这个类别是指在环境领域工作的人。 绿领工作和人员在保护和可持续发展相关领域工作。

总结

蓝领工人只是几种工人中的一种。 它历来被用来描述受教育程度低或没有受过教育且技能有限的低收入个人。 从历史上看,蓝领工人从事需要体力劳动的工作。 但是,由于技术进步,情况发生了变化。 今天,许多蓝领工人的教育水平更高,技能更多,收入与他们的白领同事一样多(如果不是更多的话)。

参考资料

0股
发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被公开。

你也许也喜欢

WHAT IS A BLUE COLLAR WORKER? Examples & 2023 Salaries

what is a blue collar worker

Manual labor is common in blue-collar jobs. Those who work in these statistically lower-paying jobs are usually from the working class. Discover the history of this profession and examples of blue-collar worker jobs.

What Is a Blue Collar Worker?

Blue-collar workers are more typically employed in non-office settings (construction sites, production lines, driving, etc.). They carry out their responsibilities using their hands and physical abilities. Blue-collar workers include construction workers, machine operators, millwrights, assemblers, and truck drivers.

The concept of a blue-collar job does not specify the amount of skill or the sort of income workers receive: they can be skilled or unskilled, waged or salaried. It does imply that employees are more likely to work in jobs that will get their garments soiled, such as soil or grease. This is the origin of the term “blue collar,” which dates back to the early twentieth century, when these workers wore darker garments than “white collar” workers, or clothes more resistant to the increased wear and tear of physical labor, such as blue denim. However, workers in other service occupations, such as home health aides or cashiers, may also be classified as blue-collar.

Blue-collar workers are generally not exempt from overtime or minimum wage rules under federal law in the United States; however, some states may exempt specific sorts of blue-collar workers, such as drivers.

How Many Blue-Collar Workers Are There in the United States?

The Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) in the United States supplied the number of workers in each profession, including blue-collar jobs. In 2018, for example, construction laborers were roughly 1,405,000, while maintenance and repair workers totaled 1,488,000.
According to a 2018 Washington Post report, approximately 13.9 percent of workers are in blue-collar occupations.
Based on BLS data, the Center for Economic and Policy Research has created a map depicting the increase in blue-collar jobs. According to several studies, employers are currently having difficulty finding workers for blue-collar jobs.

Examples of Well-Paying Jobs For Blue-collar Worker

Here are some examples of blue-collar worker jobs with annual earnings over $50,000 in the United States.

#1. Diver National annual salary average: $53,535

Divers’ primary responsibilities include removing, installing, and repairing various underwater equipment and structures. To assist them, they employ dive equipment as well as hand and power instruments such as welding equipment or drills. Divers may conduct experiments or tests, or photograph buildings, in order to better inspect them.

#2. Repair manager National average annual salary: $54,549

Primary responsibilities: Repair managers hire and train staff, make facility repairs, and supervise their employees while they carry out their jobs. They order supplies as needed and ensure that all equipment is operational.

#3. Police officer: National average annual salary: $55,376

Primary responsibilities: Police officers enforce the law and make arrests for infractions. They patrol their assigned areas, answer police dispatch calls, identify potentially dangerous circumstances or conditions, and assist detectives with criminal investigations.

#4. Electrician: National average income for an electrician: $56,948 per year

Electricians build and repair electrical wiring and lighting systems, which are commonly found in homes, industries, and companies. They evaluate industrial equipment and electrical components such as circuit breakers to guarantee appropriate maintenance and safe operation.

#5. Criminal Investigator: National average salary for a criminal investigator: $57,995 per year

Primary responsibilities: Criminal investigators investigate crimes such as homicides, armed robberies, and sexual assaults. During their investigations, they gather evidence to aid in the resolution of a crime. Criminal investigators also collect notes and interview informants, witnesses, and possible subjects to gain a better knowledge of the crime.

#6. Aircraft mechanic: National average annual salary: $58,240

Aircraft mechanics’ primary responsibilities include inspecting and repairing aircraft engines. They ensure that all mechanical components perform properly and assist in identifying any damage, flaws, or dysfunction. Aircraft mechanics conduct their responsibilities using manual and power tools such as saws and grinders. They also make certain that all aircraft follow aviation rules and regulations.

#7. Plumber/pipefitter: National average annual salary: $59,087

Primary responsibilities: A plumber or pipefitter is someone who installs, fixes, and replaces pipes, faucets, and toilets. They test plumbing systems to ensure they are in good operating order. Plumbers and pipefitters use blueprints to find service panels and make necessary repairs.

#8. Derrick hand: Annual salary in the United States is $65,478.

Primary responsibilities: A derrick hand, often known as a derrickman, performs a variety of tasks depending on the rig they’re working on. They typically report to the oil driller and assist in guiding the drill pipe stands into the fingers at the top of an oil derrick.

#9. Production Manager: National average annual salary: $68,107

Primary responsibilities include planning production schedules, determining necessary resources, estimating production costs, negotiating with clients and managers, and overseeing the manufacturing process. They also verify that both health and safety laws are followed.

#10. Conductor: National average salary for conductor: $77,852 per year

Train or railroad conductors are responsible for the safe and orderly transfer of people and cargo. Other responsibilities of a conductor include checking passenger tickets, assisting passengers, and announcing the train’s arrival at a specific station.

#11. Boilermaker: National average salary: $80,027

Primary responsibilities: Boilermakers design and repair steam boilers as well as boiler house auxiliaries. They align boiler constructions or plat parts to form boiler frame tanks or vats using the required blueprints. Hand and power tools, turnbuckles, and levels are among the tools used by boilermakers on the job.

#12. Construction Manager: The national average annual Salary: $76,205

Construction managers are in charge of overseeing a construction project from start to finish. They plan deliverables, estimate project costs, and visit the construction site to assure timely completion. Construction managers also guarantee that all projects adhere to construction and safety laws.

Learn More About Becoming a Construction Manager

#13. General contractor: The national average annual salary: $117,713.

Primary responsibilities: General contractors offer the equipment, materials, and services required for a construction project. They frequently use subcontractors to complete some or all of the construction work on a project.

What Is the Difference Between a Blue-Collar and a White-Collar Worker?

The distinctions between a blue-collar and a white-collar worker have a lot to do with how they’re perceived. This covers how we perceive various industries, the level of education of individuals, their appearances, and social classes. However, keep in mind that none of this is necessarily founded on fact. It’s more about what people are led to believe about how each is defined.

Industries’ Perception

White-collar jobs are thought to be more desirable than blue-collar jobs. This is because society frequently considers office jobs to be superior to those that entail manual or strenuous labor. Simply put, due to the nature of the work, an office job is more desirable than one in the manufacturing or agricultural sectors.

If a country’s infrastructure is sophisticated enough to provide its workers with safe desk jobs that need cerebral concentration rather than physical activity, then the country is powerful enough to remove the weight of physical from the necessities of earning a living.

Education

There is an assumption that a blue-collar worker is less educated than a white-collar worker. This is due to the fact that an office job often necessitates a post-secondary education. A corporation seeking accountants, for example, often needs new workers to have an undergraduate degree in accounting or finance. Blue-collar workers may just need a few skills that can be learned on the job or at a trade school.

The historical basis for the two names may not have changed significantly since their inception. The term “blue-collar” comes from the prevalent appearance of a manual worker’s clothes. Blue jeans, overalls, and boilersuits are examples of such attire. Dark hues, such as blue, serve to conceal dirt and other materials that may soil work attire. White-collar is connected with business people wearing white button-down shirts with ties.

Social Groups

Another approach to explain these two terms is the belief that white-collar workers not only earn more money than blue-collar workers but also come from different social classes. White-collar workers are perceived to have higher status because they earn more and are more educated. Blue-collar workers, on the other hand, are thought to be lower on the social ladder due to manual labor and possibly a lack of education. Keep in mind that this isn’t always the case.

Is the Term “Blue-Collar” Derogatory?

It is possible. While there is nothing wrong with working in a blue-collar profession, the term “blue-collar” has historically been used to insult or offend people. This is because there is a widespread belief that blue-collar workers do not have the same earning capacity as white-collar workers and are less educated. Another common misconception is that blue-collar workers are at the bottom of the social ladder. While the distinctions between the two are blurred because of technology, the phrase still has some negative connotations.

Why Is Collar Color Used to Define Jobs?

The sort of collars, shirts, or apparel that workers frequently wore was used to classify jobs. Blue-collar workers, for example, were classed because they frequently wore blue (denim) shirts and apparel, which might conceal the oil, residue, and filth associated with certain occupations such as mechanic or factory worker. White-collar workers were so dubbed because they wore white shirts under their suits.

Are There Any Other Collar Colors Available?

Yes. However, many of these are not as common as blue-collar and white-collar jobs. White-collar workers with greater abilities and in higher demand are represented by the gold collar. Doctors, engineers, attorneys, and pilots are among them. Red-collar workers are government employees whose salaries are paid from the red ink budget. Farmers may also fall within this category. Pink-collar is an old word that was used to denote traditionally female-dominated industries such as nursing and secretarial work. The green collar is one of the newest sorts of collar colors, referring to jobs in the environmental sector.

Other Collars vs. Blue Collar

While blue and white collars are the most prevalent, other collar collars that signify distinct parts of the labor are less well-known. The other categories, unlike white and blue collars, are not formed from workers wearing any specific color of the shirt. Rather, their colors. They are as follows:

  • Gold Collar: This category comprises legal and medical specialties. This could be a reference to the higher income these occupations command.
  • Gray Collar: Individuals who are officially white-collar yet regularly perform blue-collar work as part of their jobs, such as engineers.
  • Pink Collar: This group includes service workers such as nurses, secretaries, schoolteachers, salespeople, and wait staff. Pink-collar jobs were so named because they were traditionally held by women.
  • Red collar refers to the red ink used to denote salaries in a budget. Workers in this sector are mostly civil servants who work at various levels of government.
  • Green Collar: This category refers to those who work in the environmental field. Green collar jobs and persons work in conservation and sustainability-related fields.

Conclusion

Blue-collar workers are simply one of several types of workers. It has historically been used to characterize low-income individuals with little or no education and limited skills. Historically, blue-collar workers have worked in jobs that required manual labor. But, because of technological improvements, that has changed. Many blue-collar workers today have higher levels of education, and more skills, and earn as much (if not more) than their white-collar colleagues.

References

0 Shares:
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You May Also Like