إدارة تكلفة المشروع: كيفية إنشاء خطة إدارة التكلفة

إدارة تكلفة المشروع

تريد المنظمات أن تكون مشاريعها ناجحة وأن تلبي توقعات العملاء والأهداف الداخلية. لكن ما هو الوضع الفعلي؟ وفقًا لتحليل PMI ، تم تصنيف 14 بالمائة من مشاريع تكنولوجيا المعلومات التي تم فحصها بالفشل. فقط 57٪ من المشاريع اكتملت في حدود ميزانياتها الأولية ، والباقي تجاوز الهدف الذي حددوه لأنفسهم.
هذه بلا شك أخبار سيئة للشركات ، حيث إن تجاوز التكاليف لا يقلل فقط من هوامش الربح ولكن أيضًا يحد من قدرتها على تنفيذ المشاريع المستقبلية. يمكن أن يساعد فهم إدارة تكلفة المشروع وكيفية أن تكون فعالاً فيه الشركات على البقاء على المسار الصحيح.
في هذا المنشور ، سنحدد إدارة تكلفة المشروع ، ونناقش مزاياها ، ونتجاوز المراحل المطلوبة في إنشاء خطة إدارة التكلفة. أيضًا ، سنرى أيضًا مثالاً على إدارة تكلفة المشروع ونتطرق إلى الحاجة إلى البرامج في الإدارة.

إدارة تكلفة المشروع

تُعرف ممارسة تقدير التكاليف والتخطيط والتحكم فيها طوال دورة حياة المشروع بهدف الحفاظ على النفقات ضمن الميزانية المتفق عليها باسم إدارة تكلفة المشروع.

لكي يعتبر المشروع ناجحًا ، من الضروري أن:

  • يفي بالمتطلبات والنطاق.
  • جودة التنفيذ ممتازة.
  • تم الانتهاء منه في الوقت المحدد ، و
  • تم تشييده في الوقت المحدد وفي حدود الميزانية.

نتيجة لذلك ، تعد إدارة تكلفة المشروع واحدة من أهم ركائز إدارة المشروع وقابلة للتطبيق بغض النظر عن المنطقة ، مثل التصنيع أو البيع بالتجزئة أو التكنولوجيا أو البناء. يساعد في تطوير خط الأساس المالي الذي يمكن لمديري المشاريع من خلاله تقييم الوضع الحالي لتكاليف المشروع ، وإذا لزم الأمر ، إعادة تنظيم الاتجاه.

ما هي أهمية إدارة تكاليف المشروع؟

أهمية إدارة التكلفة واضحة. لإعطاء مثال على إدارة تكلفة المشروع من واقع الحياة ، إذا قررت بناء منزل ، فإن الخطوة الأولى هي تحديد ميزانيتك. عندما تعرف المبلغ الذي تريد إنفاقه على المشروع ، فإن الخطوة التالية هي تقسيم الميزانية الإجمالية إلى نفقات للمهام الفرعية وبنود أصغر.

ستحدد الميزانية نقاط القرار الحاسمة مثل: المصمم الذي سيتم تعيينه - مصمم متطور سيقوم ببناء وتسليم المشروع من البداية إلى النهاية ، أو شخص يمكنه المساعدة في بعض العناصر والعمل بميزانية أصغر؟ كم عدد الطوابق التي يجب أن يحتوي عليها المنزل؟ ما نوعية المواد التي يجب استخدامها؟

بدون ميزانية ، ليس من الصعب الإجابة على هذه المخاوف فحسب ، بل من المستحيل أيضًا تحديد ما إذا كنت على المسار الصحيح بمجرد بدء المشروع. يتم تضخيم نطاق هذه المشكلة في المنظمات الكبيرة بسبب التشغيل المتزامن للعديد من المشاريع ، والتغيرات في الافتراضات الأولية ، وإضافة النفقات غير المتوقعة. هذا هو المكان الذي قد تكون فيه إدارة التكلفة في متناول اليد.

  • يمكن لمديري المشاريع حفظ الإدارة باستخدام تدابير فعالة لخفض التكاليف.
  • ضع توقعات واضحة مع أصحاب المصلحة.
  • يزحف نطاق التحكم نتيجة لشفافية العميل.
  • تتبع التقدم واتخاذ الإجراءات التصحيحية في أقرب وقت ممكن.
  • حافظ على الهوامش المخططة ، وزد عائد الاستثمار ، وتجنب خسائر المشروع.
  • قم بإنشاء بيانات لاستخدامها كمعيار للمشاريع المستقبلية ولتتبع اتجاهات التكلفة على المدى الطويل.

خطة إدارة تكلفة المشروع

خطة إدارة تكلفة المشروع هي استراتيجية لتخطيط وتنفيذ ميزانية المشروع. بالطبع ، يتم ذلك لضمان اكتمال مشروعك في الوقت المحدد وفي حدود الميزانية. ومع ذلك ، إذا لم يكن لديك خطة شاملة لإدارة تكلفة المشروع ، فسوف يفشل كل من هذين الأمرين ، مما يكلفك أنت ومؤسستك الكثير من المال.

كيف يمكنك وضع خطة إدارة تكلفة المشروع؟

تُعرف إدارة التكلفة أحيانًا بأسماء مهام فرعية أكثر دقة مثل إدارة الإنفاق وشفافية التكلفة ومحاسبة التكاليف. تتكون عادةً من أربع عمليات: تخطيط الموارد وتقدير التكلفة والميزنة ومراقبة التكاليف.

# 1. تخطيط موارد المشروع

تُعرف عملية تحديد الموارد اللازمة لتنفيذ المشروع وإتمامه باسم تخطيط الموارد. يعد الأشخاص (مثل الموظفين والمقاولين) والمعدات أمثلة على الموارد (مثل البنية التحتية ومركبات البناء الكبيرة وغيرها من المعدات المتخصصة ذات الإمداد المحدود).

قبل أن يبدأ أي عمل فعلي ، يكتمل تخطيط الموارد في بداية المشروع.

للبدء ، يجب على مديري المشروع أولاً إعداد هيكل تقسيم العمل (WBS). يجب عليهم فحص كل مهمة فرعية في WBS والسؤال عن عدد الأشخاص ونوع القدرات ونوع المعدات أو المواد المطلوبة لإكمال هذه المهمة.

فيما يلي بعض المؤشرات التي يجب وضعها في الاعتبار أثناء متابعة العملية:

  • قبل تحديد المهام الفرعية والموارد ذات الصلة ، ضع في اعتبارك البيانات التاريخية - الجداول الزمنية والجهود السابقة.
  • ضع في اعتبارك التعليقات الواردة من الشركات الصغيرة والمتوسطة وأعضاء الفريق - يعمل النهج التعاوني بفعالية ، لا سيما في المشاريع التي تفتقر إلى البيانات التاريخية.
  • افحص تأثير الوقت على متطلبات الموارد. على سبيل المثال ، قد لا يكون المورد متاحًا لعدة أشهر ، مما يتسبب في تأخر المخطط الزمني للمشروع. قد يكون لهذا تأثير على تقديرات التكلفة.

على الرغم من حقيقة أن هذه الخطوة تحدث أثناء مرحلة التخطيط ، يجب على مديري المشروع مراعاة الحقائق على الأرض. على سبيل المثال ، قد تكتشف متطلبًا لمورد ذي خبرة معينة ؛ ولكن ، إذا كان مثل هذا المورد لا يمكن الوصول إليه داخل المنظمة ، فيجب عليك التفكير في التعاقد مع مقاول أو تدريب موظفيك على رفع السرعة إليهم. كل هذه العناصر الواقعية لها تأثير على إدارة التكلفة.

# 2. تقدير التكاليف

تُعرف عملية حساب المصاريف المرتبطة بجميع الموارد المطلوبة لإكمال المشروع باسم تقدير التكلفة. نطلب المعلومات التالية لإجراء حسابات التكلفة:

  • الموارد المطلوبة (الناتج من الخطوة السابقة)
  • تكلفة كل مورد (على سبيل المثال ، تكلفة التوظيف لكل ساعة ، وتكاليف توظيف البائعين ، وتكاليف شراء الخادم ، ومعدلات المواد لكل وحدة ، وما إلى ذلك)
  • الإطار الزمني المطلوب لكل مورد
  • قائمة الافتراضات
  • المخاطر التي قد تكون موجودة
  • نفقات المشروع السابقة ، وإذا أمكن ، معايير الصناعة
  • نظرة ثاقبة على الصحة المالية وهياكل التقارير للشركة

من المحتمل أن يكون التقدير هو الخطوة الأكثر صعوبة في إدارة التكلفة لأن الدقة أمر بالغ الأهمية. يجب على مديري المشاريع أيضًا مراعاة المصاريف الثابتة والمتغيرة والنفقات العامة والتضخم والقيمة الزمنية للنقود.

كلما زاد الفرق بين النفقات المقدرة والفعلية ، قل احتمال نجاح المشروع. ومع ذلك ، هناك العديد من نماذج التقدير للاختيار من بينها. إذا كان لديك الكثير من بيانات التكلفة السابقة من مشاريع مماثلة ، فإن التقدير المقابل يعد خيارًا مفيدًا. تفضل بعض الشركات المنهجيات الرياضية مثل النمذجة البارامترية أو أسلوب تقييم ومراجعة البرنامج (PERT).

ثم هناك مسألة ما إذا كنت تريد الانتقال من أعلى إلى أسفل أو من أسفل إلى أعلى. عندما تتوفر بيانات التكلفة السابقة ، يعمل التسعير التنازلي بشكل جيد. في هذه الحالة ، عادة ما يكون لمديري المشاريع خبرة سابقة في مشاريع مماثلة وبالتالي يمكنهم اتخاذ قرار مستنير. يعمل من أسفل إلى أعلى بشكل جيد للمشاريع التي تفتقر فيها المؤسسات إلى الخبرة ، ومن المنطقي حساب تقدير التكلفة على مستوى المهمة ثم رفعها إلى الأعلى.

تقدير التكلفة كأداة لدعم القرار

في كثير من الحالات ، تقوم فرق إدارة المشروع بتطوير حلول متعددة لمشروع ما ، ويساعدهم تقدير التكلفة في تحديد المسار الذي يجب اتخاذه. هناك العديد من منهجيات تقدير التكاليف المتاحة للمساعدة في ذلك تحليل مقارن، بما في ذلك التكلفة المستندة إلى النشاط وتكلفة العمل وتكاليف دورة الحياة.

على سبيل المثال ، تأخذ تكلفة دورة الحياة في الاعتبار دورة الحياة الكاملة للمشروع. غالبًا ما يتم التغاضي عن تكاليف الصيانة ، على سبيل المثال ، في مشاريع تكنولوجيا المعلومات ، لكن تكلفة دورة الحياة تأخذ في الاعتبار المدى الطويل وتحسب استخدام الموارد حتى نهاية الدورة. وبالمثل ، فإن الهدف من مشاريع التصنيع هو تقليل تكاليف الخدمة والاستبدال في المستقبل.

يمكن أحيانًا استخدام عملية التقدير من قبل الفرق لتقييم وتقليل التكاليف. تساعد الهندسة القيمية في إدارة المشروع ، على سبيل المثال ، في الحصول على أقصى استفادة من المشروع مع تقليل التكلفة.

# 3. ميزانية التكلفة

يمكن النظر إلى ميزانية التكلفة على أنها امتداد للتقدير أو كعملية متميزة في حد ذاتها. الميزنة هي عملية تخصيص التكاليف لجزء معين من المشروع ، مثل المهام أو الوحدات الفردية ، خلال فترة زمنية محددة. تشمل الميزانيات احتياطيات الطوارئ التي تم تخصيصها للتعامل مع النفقات غير المتوقعة.

افترض أن التكاليف الإجمالية لمشروع مدته ثلاث سنوات هي 2 مليون دولار. ومع ذلك ، نظرًا لأن تخصيص الميزانية يعتمد على الوقت ، يقرر مدير المشروع التركيز على الربعين الأولين في الوقت الحالي. يحددون عناصر العمل التي يجب إكمالها والميزانية ، على سبيل المثال ، 35,000 دولار لهذه الفترة الزمنية وبنود العمل هذه. للوصول إلى هذا الرقم ، يستخدم مدير المشروع هيكل تقسيم العمل (WBS) وبعض طرق التقدير التي تمت مناقشتها في القسم السابق.

تضع الموازنة خط أساس للتكلفة يمكن من خلاله قياس أداء تكلفة المشروع وتقييمه في المستقبل. بدون الميزانية ، سيكون إجمالي التكلفة المقدرة رقمًا غير متبلور يصعب تحديده كميًا في منتصف الطريق. يتيح لك تقييم أداء المشروع تحديد مقدار الميزانية المطلوبة للمراحل المستقبلية من المشروع.

سبب آخر لتشديد الميزانيات هو أن المنظمات تعتمد بشكل متكرر على التدفقات النقدية المستقبلية المتوقعة لتمويل نفسها. يمتلك مدير المشروع مجموعة مالية محدودة خلال المراحل الأولية ويجب أن يحدد الأهداف وفقًا لذلك. إنه مثل البدء بالأساس وطابق واحد من المنزل ثم الانتهاء من باقي المشروع حيث يمكنك توفير المزيد من المال.

# 4. مراقبة الكلفة

مراقبة التكلفة هي عملية قياس تباينات التكلفة من خط الأساس واتخاذ الإجراء المناسب لسد تلك الفجوة ، مثل زيادة الميزانية المخصصة أو تقليل نطاق العمل. إنها عملية مستمرة تحدث طوال دورة حياة المشروع. ينصب التركيز هنا على كل من القياس وتقديم التقارير الواضحة في الوقت المناسب.

تعتبر خطة إدارة التكلفة ، جنبًا إلى جنب مع خط الأساس للتكلفة ، مدخلاً هامًا للتحكم في التكلفة. تتضمن هذه الخطة تفاصيل مثل كيفية قياس أداء المشروع ، وعتبة الانحراف ، والإجراءات التي سيتم اتخاذها في حالة انتهاك الحد الأدنى ، وقائمة الأشخاص والأدوار مع سلطة اتخاذ القرار التنفيذية.

إدارة القيمة المكتسبة (EVM) هي طريقة شائعة لقياس أداء التكلفة. كمثال على إدارة تكلفة المشروع ، ضع في اعتبارك ما يلي:

مثال

تقيس تقدم المهمة "س" في نهاية الأسبوع وتكتشف أنها اكتملت بنسبة 25٪. كيف تعرف ما إذا كنت على المسار الصحيح لإكمال المهمة في حدود الميزانية؟

أولاً ، يحدد مدير المشروع القيمة المقدرة للمهمة (في مرحلة التخطيط). افترض أن المهمة X لها ميزانية 4000 دولار أمريكي ومن المتوقع أن تكتمل نصفها بنهاية الأسبوع.

القيمة المخططة للمهمة X (PV) بالأسبوع = 4000 دولار * .5 = 2000 دولار

القيمة المكتسبة (EV) للمهمة X مقسومة على عدد الأسابيع = 4000 دولار * .25 = 1000 دولار

يجب عليك الآن حساب التكلفة الفعلية (AC) للعمل ، والتي تتضمن متغيرات إضافية مثل تكاليف المعدات والمواد (على سبيل المثال ، 800 دولار).

قيمة التعريض - PV = 1000 دولار - 2000 دولار = - 1000 دولار.

قيمة التعريض - التيار المتردد = 1000 دولار - 800 دولار = فرق التكلفة 200 دولار

يشير تباين الجدول السالب إلى أن المهمة تتأخر عن موعدها ، ولكن يشير تباين التكلفة الإيجابي إلى أنها قيد التشغيل ضمن الميزانية.

عند التعامل مع مئات المهام في المشاريع الكبيرة ، يمكن أن توفر مراقبة التكاليف الشفافية التي يحتاجها صانعو القرار للاستجابة بسرعة للوضع.

برنامج لإدارة تكلفة المشروع

تصبح إدارة التكلفة ، مثل الجوانب الأخرى لإدارة المشروع ، معقدة عندما يكون هناك العديد من المتغيرات في اللعب. الإجراء في حد ذاته معقد ، ويتطلب الاهتمام الدقيق بالتفاصيل بالإضافة إلى اتباع نهج صارم. يمكن مساعدة هذه العملية بشكل كبير عن طريق استخدام برنامج إدارة تكلفة المشروع.

دعونا نلقي نظرة على بعض فوائد استخدام برنامج إدارة تكلفة المشروع:

  • تساعد أتمتة التحليل الكمي الذي يستغرق وقتًا طويلاً أثناء التقدير والقياس في تقليل الخطأ البشري.
  • يتيح تكامل البيانات عبر التخطيط والتقدير والميزنة والتحكم المراقبة المستمرة والاستجابات السريعة والاستباقية بدلاً من التدخلات لمرة واحدة.
  • يتم دعم اتخاذ القرار من خلال برنامج إدارة تكلفة المشروع ، والذي يستخدم التنبؤ بالسيناريوهات وتحليل ماذا لو لتقييم الحلول البديلة.
  • توفر لوحات التحكم وغيرها من واجهات المستخدم الغنية تقارير بسيطة ومباشرة.
  • يقلل برنامج إدارة تكلفة المشروع من تعقيد إدارة العملات المتعددة في المشاريع المنتشرة عبر مواقع جغرافية متعددة.
  • تدعم العديد من حلول تكلفة المشاريع عمليات تكامل الجهات الخارجية ، مما يسمح بجمع البيانات وتحليلها.
  • مع توافر بيانات الأداء من مشاريع متعددة ، أصبح من الممكن وضع المعايير والتوحيد القياسي.

مراقبة التكاليف وأداء المشاريع الكبيرة

وفقًا لتقرير PMI Pulse of the Profession لعام 2018 ، قال 41٪ من المشاركين في الاستطلاع إن مشاريعهم معقدة. ليس من المفاجئ إذن أن 40٪ من المشاركين في الاستطلاع يصنفون "الاستثمار في التكنولوجيا لتمكين نجاح المشروع بشكل أفضل" على رأس أولوياتهم.

ترتبط إدارة التكلفة ارتباطًا وثيقًا بقدرة المنظمة على إكمال المشاريع الحالية والمستقبلية بنجاح. يمكن أن يؤدي الاستثمار في برامج إدارة التكلفة التي يمكن الاعتماد عليها إلى تحقيق وفورات كبيرة. لن يتعامل معها حل إدارة التكلفة الجيد كوظيفة منفصلة ، ولكنه سيعززها كمكون أساسي لأداء المشروع والمحفظة ، وسيقوم بربط البيانات عبر المشاريع.

ما هي مزايا إدارة التكلفة في المشروع؟

لا ينبغي لمديري المشاريع التغاضي عن الفوائد التجارية للإدارة الفعالة للتكلفة. بعض هذه الفوائد هي كما يلي ؛ 

يعزز الخطط المستقبلية


تساعد إدارة تكلفة المشروع في إعداد الميزانيات المستقبلية من خلال تعظيم تقرير المورد السابق لبناء الدقة. 

يساعد في تجنب المخاطر

وعادة ما يتضمن علاوة مخاطر لضمان عدم تعريض نجاح المشروع للخطر بسبب التكاليف غير المتوقعة.

احترس من تجاوز التكلفة

إنها تمكن مديري المشاريع من تقسيم التكاليف مما يحد من زيادة الإنفاق. من خلال تخصيص التكاليف للمشروع ، يمكن للمديرين تجنب الإنفاق الزائد على المدى الطويل.

الأسئلة الشائعة حول إدارة تكلفة المشروع

ما هي التضمينات الشائعة في خطة إدارة التكلفة؟

خطة إدارة التكلفة هي وثيقة تحدد المعايير والمهام التي يجب إكمالها كجزء من إدارة المشروع. تتضمن خطة إدارة التكلفة كلاً من تقديرات تكلفة المدخلات ، أو مقدار الأموال التي سيتم إنفاقها ، أو توقعات مخرجات التكلفة ، أو مقدار الأموال المستلمة.

ما هي الخطوة الأولى في إدارة تكلفة المشروع؟

تستلزم المرحلة الأولى من إدارة التكلفة تحديد الموارد اللازمة لإكمال جميع مهام المشروع.

ما هي أنواع التكلفة الأربعة؟

الأنواع الأربعة الرئيسية للتكلفة مباشرة وغير مباشرة وثابتة ومتغيرة.

ما هي تكلفة المشروع؟

يشار إلى المبلغ الإجمالي للمال المطلوب لتنفيذ مشروع أو جزء من العمل باسم تكلفة المشروع، والتي تشمل التكاليف المباشرة وغير المباشرة.

  1. الموارد المالية: أفضل 7 مصادر ابحث عنها أيضًا في عام 2021 (+ دليل مفصل)
  2. إدارة معالم المشروع: دليل مفصل مع أمثلة
  3. ما هي إدارة مخاطر المشروع؟ خطوات إنشاء خطة تقييم المخاطر
  4. إدارة نطاق المشروع: أمثلة على خطة إدارة التعريف والنطاق
  5. تمويل المشروع: دليل بسيط لبدء أي مشروع (+ أفضل الاختيارات)

0 مشاركة:
اترك تعليق

لن يتم نشر عنوان بريدك الإلكتروني.

ربما يعجبك أيضا

Project Cost Management: How to Create a Cost Management Plan

Project Cost management

Organizations want their projects to be successful and to meet both client expectations and internal goals. But what is the actual situation? According to a PMI analysis, 14 percent of the IT projects examined were rated a failure. Only 57% of the projects were completed within their initial budgets, with the remainder exceeding the target they had set for themselves.
This is undoubtedly bad news for businesses, as cost overruns not only reduce their margins but also limit their ability to execute future projects. Understanding project cost management and how to be effective at it can help firms stay on track.
In this post, we will define project cost management, discuss its merits, and go over the stages required in creating a cost management plan. Also, we’ll also see an example of project cost management and go over the need for software in the management.

Project Cost Management

The practice of estimating, planning, and controlling costs throughout the project life cycle with the goal of keeping expenditures within the agreed budget is known as project cost management.

For a project to be considered successful, it is necessary that:

  • It meets the requirements and scope.
  • Its execution quality is excellent.
  • It was completed on time, and
  • It was constructed on time and within budget.

As a result, project cost management is one of the most important pillars of project management and is applicable regardless of the area, such as manufacturing, retail, technology, or construction. It aids in the development of a financial baseline against which project managers may assess the current status of their project costs and, if necessary, realign the direction.

What Is the Importance of Project Cost Management?

The significance of cost management is obvious. To give an example of project cost management from real life, if you decide to build a house, the first step is to determine your budget. When you know how much you want to spend on the project, the following step is to break down the overall budget into expenses for sub-tasks and smaller line items.

The budget will determine critical decision points such as: which designer to hire—a high-end one who will construct and deliver the project from start to finish, or someone who can assist with a few elements and work on a smaller budget? How many stories should the house have? What material quality should be used?

Without a budget, not only is it difficult to answer these concerns, but it is also impossible to determine whether you are on the correct track once the project is started. The scope of this problem is amplified in large organizations due to the concurrent operation of several projects, changes in initial assumptions, and the addition of unanticipated expenditures. This is where cost management might come in handy.

  • Project managers can save management by using effective cost-cutting measures.
  • Establish clear expectations with stakeholders.
  • Control scope creeps as a result of customer transparency.
  • Track progress and take corrective action as soon as possible.
  • Maintain planned margins, boost ROI, and avoid project losses.
  • Create data to use as a standard for future projects and to track long-term cost trends.

Project Cost Management Plan

A project cost management plan is a strategy for planning and executing a project’s budget. Of course, this is done to ensure that your project is completed on time and within budget. However, if you do not have a comprehensive project cost management plan in place, both of those things will fail, costing you and your organization a lot of money.

How Do You Make a Project Cost Management Plan?

Cost management is sometimes known by more precise sub-task names such as spend management, cost transparency, and cost accounting. It usually consists of four processes: resource planning, cost estimation, budgeting, and cost control.

#1. Project Resource Planning

The process of identifying the resources needed to execute and complete a project is known as resource planning. People (such as employees and contractors) and equipment are examples of resources (such as infrastructure, large construction vehicles, and other specialized equipment in limited supply).

Before any actual work begins, resource planning is completed at the start of a project.

To get started, project managers must first prepare the work-breakdown structure (WBS). They must examine each subtask in the WBS and ask how many people, what kind of abilities, and what kind of equipment or material are required to complete this task.

Here are a few pointers to keep in mind as you go through the process:

  • Before determining sub-tasks and the related resources, consider historical data—past timelines and effort.
  • Consider feedback from SMEs and team members—a collaborative approach works effectively, especially in projects that lack historical data.
  • Examine the effect of time on resource requirements. For example, a resource may not be available for several months, causing the project’s timeline to slip. This may have an effect on cost estimates.

Despite the fact that this step occurs during the planning stage, project managers must account for ground realities. For example, you may discover a requirement for a resource with specific expertise; but, if such a resource is not accessible within the organization, you must consider hiring a contractor or training your staff to bring them up to speed. All of these real-world elements have an impact on cost management.

#2. Cost Estimation

The process of calculating the expenses associated with all of the resources required to complete the project is known as cost estimation. We require the following information to do cost calculations:

  • Resources required (output from the previous step)
  • The cost of each resource (e.g., staffing cost per hour, vendor hiring costs, server procurement costs, material rates per unit, etc.)
  • The time frame for which each resource is required
  • Assumptions list
  • Risks that may exist
  • Previous project expenses and, if applicable, industry benchmarks
  • Insight into the financial health and reporting structures of the company

Estimation is likely the most difficult step in cost management because accuracy is critical. Project managers must also consider fixed and variable expenses, overheads, inflation, and the time value of money.

The bigger the difference between estimated and actual expenses, the less likely a project is to succeed. There are, however, numerous estimating models to choose from. If you have a lot of past cost data from similar projects, analogous estimating is a useful option. Some businesses prefer mathematical methodologies such as parametric modeling or the program evaluation and review technique (PERT).

Then there’s the question of whether to go top-down or bottom-up. When past costing data is available, top-down pricing works well. In this case, project managers typically have prior experience with similar projects and can thus make an informed decision. Bottom-up works well for projects in which organizations lack experience, and it makes sense to calculate a cost estimate at the task level and then roll it up to the top.

Cost Estimation as a Decision Support Tool

In many cases, project management teams develop multiple solutions for a project, and cost estimation aids them in deciding which path to take. There are numerous costing methodologies available to aid in this comparative analysis, including activity-based costing, job costing, and lifecycle costing.

For example, lifecycle costing takes into account a project’s entire end-to-end lifecycle. Maintenance costs, for example, are frequently overlooked in IT projects, but lifecycle costing considers the long term and accounts for resource usage until the cycle’s end. Similarly, the goal of manufacturing projects is to reduce future service and replacement costs.

The estimation process can sometimes be used by teams to evaluate and reduce costs. Value engineering in project management, for example, aids in obtaining the most out of a project while reducing the cost.

#3. Cost Budgeting

Cost budgeting can be viewed as an extension of estimation or as a distinct process in its own right. Budgeting is the process of allocating costs to a specific portion of a project, such as individual tasks or modules, over a set period of time. Budgets include contingency reserves that are set aside to deal with unexpected expenses.

Assume the total costs for a three-year project are $2 million. However, because budget allocation is time-based, the project manager decides to focus on the first two quarters for the time being. They identify the work items that must be completed and budget, say, $35,000 for this time period and these work items. To arrive at this figure, the project manager employs the work breakdown structure (WBS) and some of the estimation methods discussed in the preceding section.

Budgeting establishes a cost baseline against which the project’s cost performance can be measured and evaluated in the future. Without the budget, the total estimated cost would be an amorphous figure that would be difficult to quantify halfway. The evaluation of project performance allows you to determine how much budget is required for future phases of the project.

Another reason to tighten budgets is that organizations frequently rely on anticipated future cash flows to fund themselves. The project manager has a limited financial pool during the initial phases and must set goals accordingly. It’s like starting with the foundation and one floor of a house and then finishing the rest of the project as you save more money.

#4. Cost Control

Cost control is the process of measuring cost variances from the baseline and taking appropriate action to close that gap, such as increasing the budget allocated or reducing the scope of work. It is an ongoing process that occurs throughout the lifecycle of a project. The emphasis here is on both measuring and timely and clear reporting.

The cost management plan, along with the cost baseline, is a critical input for cost control. This plan includes details such as how project performance will be measured, what the deviation threshold is, what actions will be taken if the threshold is breached, and a list of people and roles with executive decision-making authority.

Earned value management (EVM) is a popular method of measuring cost performance. As an example of project cost management, consider the following:

Example

You measure the progress of task X at the end of the week and discover that it is 25% complete. How do you know if you’re on track to complete the task within the budget?

First, a project manager determines the task’s estimated value (at the planning stage). Assume Task X has a $4000 budget and is expected to be half-completed by the end of the week.

Task X’s planned value (PV) by week = $4000 *.5 = $2000

Earned value (EV) of task X divided by the number of weeks = $4000 *.25 = $1000

You must now calculate the actual cost (AC) of the work, which includes additional variables such as equipment and material costs (for example, $800).

EV – PV = $1000 – $2000 = -$1000.

EV – AC = $1000 – $800 = $200 cost variance

The negative schedule variance indicates that the task is running behind schedule, but the positive cost variance indicates that it is running under budget.

When dealing with hundreds of tasks in large projects, cost control can provide the transparency that decision-makers need to respond quickly to the situation.

Software for Project Cost Management

Cost management, like other aspects of project management, becomes complicated when there are numerous variables at play. The procedure itself is complex, necessitating meticulous attention to detail as well as a strict approach. This process can be greatly aided by the use of project cost management software.

Let us take a look at some of the benefits of using project cost management software:

  • The automation of time-consuming quantitative analysis during estimation and measurement aids in the reduction of human error.
  • Data integration across planning, estimation, budgeting, and control enables continuous monitoring and prompt, proactive responses rather than one-time interventions.
  • Decision-making is aided by project cost management software, which uses scenario forecasting and what-if analysis to evaluate alternative solutions.
  • Dashboards and other rich UIs provide simple and straightforward reporting.
  • Project cost management software reduces the complexity of multicurrency management in projects spread across multiple geographic locations.
  • Many projects costing solutions support third-party integrations, allowing data to be gathered and analyzed.
  • With the availability of performance data from multiple projects, benchmarking and standardization are feasible.

Cost Control and the Performance of Large-Scale Projects

According to the 2018 PMI Pulse of the Profession Report, 41% of respondents said their projects are complex. It comes as no surprise, then, that 40% of survey respondents rank “investing in technology to better enable project success” as their top priority.

Cost management is inextricably linked to an organization’s ability to complete current and future projects successfully. Investing in dependable cost management software can yield significant savings. A good cost management solution will not treat it as a separate function, but will leverage it as an essential component of project and portfolio performance, and will correlate data across projects.

What Are The Advantages of Cost Management in Project?

The business benefits of efficient cost management should not be overlooked by project managers. Some of these benefits are as follows; 

It Fosters Future Plans


The project cost management help in preparing future budgets by maximizing the report of the previous resource to build accuracy. 

Helps In Avoiding Risk

It usually includes a risk allowance to guarantee that the project’s success is not jeopardized by unanticipated costs.

Guard Against Cost Overrun

It enables project managers to apportion costs this limits overspending. By allocating costs to the project, managers can avoid overspending in the long run.

Project Cost Management FAQs

What are the common inclusions in the Cost Management Plan?

A Cost Management Plan is a document that outlines the criteria and tasks that must be completed as part of project management. A Cost Management Plan includes both input cost estimates, the amount of money that will be spent, cost output projections, or the amount of money received.

What is the first step in Project Cost Management?

The first phase of cost management entails defining the resources needed to complete all project tasks.

What are the 4 types of cost?

The four major types of cost are direct, indirect, fixed, and variable.

What is the cost of a project?

The overall amount of money required to execute a project or piece of work is referred to as the Project Cost, which includes both direct and indirect costs.

  1. FINANCIAL RESOURCES: 7 Best Sources too look out for in 2021 (+ Detailed Guide)
  2. Project Milestones Management: Detailed Guide with Examples
  3. What is Project Risk Management? Steps in Creating a Risk Assessment Plan
  4. Project Scope Management: Definition & Scope Management Plan Examples
  5. PROJECT FINANCE: Simple Guide to Kick start any Project(+ best picks)

0 Shares:
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You May Also Like