公寓保险:2022 年的承保范围和保单

公寓保险
HPM 保险

如果您拥有公寓,您的房主协会将承保发生灾难时的外部损坏。 但是,它们不会涵盖对您的公寓内部或您的财物造成的任何损坏。 这就是公寓保险的用武之地:公寓保险(HO-6 政策),也称为墙内保险,保护您单位内的一切。 Businessyield 根据可负担性、客户满意度和财务稳健性对最佳公寓保险公司进行了排名。

什么是公寓保险?

公寓保险类似于房主保险和租房者保险,但它是专门为公寓创建的。 虽然您的房主协会通常对建筑物外部的任何损坏负责,但您对单元内部的任何损坏负责。

公寓保险保护您的财物,包括电器、个人物品和公寓本身。 它可以涵盖各种来源的损坏,例如火灾和烟雾、故意破坏、闪电等。 虽然您可能认为您的 HOA 的主要政策为您提供了充分的保护,但仍然有必要确保您单位内的所有物品都能防止损坏。

什么是 HO-6 政策?

公寓保险的另一个短语是 HO-6 保单。 Condo 保险和 HO-6 保险通常是指同一份保险单。 在保险市场上,基本房屋保险是HO-3保单,租房者保险是HO-4保单,综合房主保险是HO-5保单。

5 年排名前 2022 的公寓保险公司

了解您的需求并比较报价是找到最好的公寓保险公司的重要步骤。 Bankrate 考虑了诸如京东等公司的覆盖选项、定价、可用性和第三方评分等方面。根据我们的研究,我们与 Power 和 AM Finest 合作确定了最佳公司。 但是,请记住,您的需求因场景而异,因此最适合您的公寓业务可能会有所不同。

#1。 国营农场保险

State Farm 的常规公寓计划包括大多数人需要的所有基本保险,以及一系列出色的补充保险选项。 如果小偷从您的账户进行欺诈性转账,或者您无意中收到假钞,假币和伪造费用保护最多可以赔偿 1,000 美元。 在设备故障或断电的情况下,冷藏产品覆盖范围可以帮助支付更换冰箱或冰柜中损坏的食物的费用。

#2。 伊利

伊利的公寓保险非常基本,但是,它们具有一些出色的可选保险类型。 其中包括碎片处理保险和锁更换保险,在犯罪后重新设置或更换锁的费用高达 250 美元。 在承保损失之后,您的伊利保单还可能涵盖临时维修以防止更多损坏。 伊利保险还包括一项独一无二的功能,涵盖人类或狗的紧急急救费用。

#3. 河马

河马是一个相对较新的品牌,但值得公寓业主研究。 有许多公寓保险政策选项,包括家庭办公设备、备用水、设备故障和贵重物品的保险。 您还可以通过在您希望的生效日期前八天或更长时间请求报价、住在 HOA 社区、无抵押贷款或购买新公寓来节省您的保单费用。 Hippo Home Care 还可以帮助您进行日常维护,这有助于防止损坏发生。

为什么需要公寓保险?

虽然您可能认为您的房主协会涵盖了对您的公寓的损坏,但这通常只涵盖您建筑物的外部和任何共享使用空间。 您的公寓内没有任何东西由您的房主协会投保,并且需要单独的公寓保险。 公寓保险涵盖以下内容:

  • 该装置已受到物理损坏。
  • 个人物品
  • 医疗费用和责任
  • 丧失使用保障
  • 公寓损失评估

在某些情况下,您可以通过额外的保险来补充您的公寓保险。 如果您拥有非常有价值的财产,您可能希望获得额外的保险以保护它。 如果您居住的地区容易发生洪水、地震或其他当前保单未涵盖的自然灾害,您可能需要考虑增加额外的保险范围。

公寓保险涵盖什么?

典型的 HO-6 公寓保险单包含以下承保范围:

#1。 住宅覆盖

您的 HO-6 政策的这一部分涵盖了特定的危害,例如火灾和闪电、风和冰雹、故意破坏等,这些危害会导致您单位内部的结构部件损坏,但不包括在建筑物的总体政策范围内。 墙壁、地板、窗户和任何附加的固定装置或组件,例如厨柜、内置书柜和浴室配件,可能包括也可能不包括在内。 为确保您对您的单元结构有足够的覆盖范围,请索取建筑经理或业主协会的总体政策副本,其中指定单元的哪些结构特征是管理层或 HOA 的责任。 覆盖水平各不相同。

#2。 个人财产保险

这可以保护您的财物,包括衣服、家具、小工具、电器、炊具、珠宝等。 一般来说,您应该选择与您的物品价值相当的保险数量。 您的保险公司将根据保单以两种方式之一决定索赔金额:

  • 实际现金价值: 向您支付物品的当前现金价值,减去折旧。
  • 重置成本范围: 重置成本保险以当前市场价格为您报销相同或同等价值的物品。

#3。 个人责任险

如果有人在您的公寓中受伤或您不小心损坏了他们的个人财产并被追究法律责任,此保险将涵盖您的法律费用以及他们的医疗费用。 根据保险公司的不同,责任限制通常在 100,000 美元到 500,000 美元之间。 如果您的资产价值超过此值,您应该考虑购买保护伞保险单以提供进一步保护。

#4。 额外的生活开支

如果您在公寓维修或重建期间无法居住,您的公寓保险单将涵盖酒店住宿和餐厅用餐等费用。 这也称为使用损失覆盖率。

其他公寓保险替代方案

除了常规保险之外,您的保险公司还可能提供补充保险。 这些是一些例子:

  • 损失评估的覆盖范围。 如果代表主公寓保险单提出的索赔超出了承保范围,例如在冰雹后修复建筑物的屋顶,超额费用可能会转嫁给单位所有者。 损失评估保险将补偿您的部分费用,直至您的保单承保范围。
  • 水害。 因倒水或下水道或排水管溢出而造成的水损坏不在公寓保险范围内。 此补充保险将协助支付损坏或毁坏的财产。
  • 地震活动或洪水:如果您居住在高风险地区,您可能需要购买明确涵盖此类事件的保险。

什么不包括公寓保险?

公寓保险不涵盖某些风险、危害和义务。 这些是一些例子:

  • 正常恶化
  • 白蚁的侵扰
  • 公共空间损坏
  • 故意造成伤害或损坏
  • 洪水和地震造成的损失

我需要什么类型的公寓保险?

如果您有抵押贷款并为购买公寓或合作公寓提供资金,您的贷方将要求您购买公寓保险。 即使您完全拥有您的单位,您的 HOA 或公寓组织也可能需要保险。

许多因素会影响您需要多少公寓保险。 这些是一些例子:

  • 公寓 HOA 总体保单涵盖哪些结构性损坏? 总体政策是否仅针对基本面,例如墙壁、窗户和门的损坏,还是还包括地板、天花板和固定装置? 了解主保单涵盖的内容将决定您需要多少住房保障。
  • 您需要多少钱来更换您的个人物品? 专家主张全面盘点您的房屋内容并计算更换所有物品的费用,以确定您的个人财产需要多少保险。
  • 如果有人在您的公寓内受伤,您能否承担法律和医疗费用? 如果您被发现对您的公寓中发生的伤害或财产损失负有责任,您可能需要承担法律和医疗费用。 个人储蓄、公寓股权、退休账户和其他资产可用于抵消这些费用。 您的责任险应足以保护您的资产。 责任保险限额通常从 100,000 美元到 500,000 美元不等。
  • 如果您在维修或重建公寓期间必须住在其他地方,您能否自掏腰包? 虽然公寓保险会在您的公寓维修期间报销您的生活费用,但您是否有办法在很长一段时间内为替代住宿提供保障? 根据保险公司的不同,使用损失保险通常限于住宅和个人财产保险总额的 20%。

公寓保险的费用是多少?

根据全国保险专员协会 2019 年的数据,公寓保险的平均费用为每年 512 美元,这是可用的最新版本。 公寓保险的费用根据您居住的地方、您需要多少保险以及您选择的免赔额而有很大差异。 查看您所在州的典型公寓保险费:

州/领地年平均成本
阿拉巴马$559
阿拉斯加州$408
亚利桑那$407
阿肯色州$549
加利福尼亚州$563
科罗拉多州$431
康涅狄格$409
特拉华$445
佛罗里达$997
格鲁吉亚$516
夏威夷$325
爱达荷州$426
伊利诺伊$394
印地安那$347
爱荷华州$265
堪萨斯州$404
肯塔基$395
路易斯安那州$765
缅因州$349
马里兰州$324
马萨诸塞$447
密歇根州$378
明尼苏达$326
密西西比州$617
密苏里州$403
蒙大拿$410
内布拉斯加$358
内华达$444
新罕布什尔$347
新泽西州$457
新墨西哥$415
纽约$578
北卡罗来纳$502
北达科他州$293
俄亥俄州$312
俄克拉何马州$655
俄勒冈$375
宾夕法尼亚$393
罗德岛$524
南卡罗来纳$504
南达科他州$303
田纳西$479
德州$531
犹他州$271
佛蒙特$354
弗吉尼亚州$371
华盛顿$390
华盛顿特区$377
西弗吉尼亚$320
威斯康星$258
怀俄明$409
资料来源:全国保险专员协会,2019 年数据

如何购买公寓保险

许多出售房主保险的组织也出售公寓计划。 考虑以下容易获得的公司:

  • 好事达。
  • 阿米卡。
  • 丘布。
  • 农民。
  • 自由互助保险公司
  • 全国。
  • 国家农场保险。
  • 旅行者。

公寓保险报价通常可在保险公司的网站上或直接致电他们获得。 如果您不想做功课,您可以聘请独立代理为您比较报价。

如何降低公寓保险费用

节省公寓保险费用的三个主要策略:

  • 环视四周。 为了找到您想要的公寓保险的最优惠价格,我们建议您从至少三个保险公司那里获得报价。
  • 寻找便宜货. 如果您将您的公寓和汽车保险与同一家保险公司合并,您或许可以省钱。 如果您的设备具有烟雾报警器和锁舌锁等安全功能,一些保险公司会提供节省。
  • 增加您的保险免赔额。 除非您确信您有足够的储蓄以在紧急情况下支付较大的金额,否则不要这样做。 否则,降低的保费可能无效。

公寓保险与 HOA 保险

HOA保险涵盖两种类型的保险:责任和财产。 如果有人在会所、大堂或游泳池等公共区域受伤,总保单的责任保险可以帮助支付医疗费用和法律费用,但不包括客人在您的公寓墙壁内遭受的伤害。

公寓管理可以从三种不同形式的财产保险中进行选择:

  • 全面覆盖 为单位所有者提供最大的保护,因为它涵盖了公寓的建筑以及任何共享财产。 它通常还涵盖您对公寓所做的更改,例如定制的瓷砖和墙面覆盖物。
  • 墙内覆盖,也称为单一实体覆盖,提供比裸墙覆盖更多的保护。 它涵盖了建筑物的结构和系统,以及厨房橱柜和下沉式书柜等单元内的内置功能。
  • 裸墙覆盖 对单位所有者的保护最少,因为它只覆盖公共区域、建筑结构及其系统,例如电线和管道。 您的公寓内部不包括在内。

在获得 HO-6 公寓保险单之前,了解 HOA 保单已经包含多少承保范围非常重要。 如果您的综合体有全包政策,您可能不需要太多的住宅保险。 然而,HOA 政策排除也很重要。 例如,一项总体政策可能涵盖您公寓的内部结构,但不包括您安装的非标准固定装置,例如昂贵的进口瓷砖或定制的彩色玻璃窗。

公寓保险常见问题

HO6和HO3有什么区别?

拥有 HO-3 和 HO-6 保险的房主有不同的需求。 HO-3 保险适用于单户住宅,而 HO-6 保险适用于公寓。 有一些相似之处,例如它们都涵盖个人财产、责任、医疗费用和使用损失。

什么是 HO6 保险单?

HO6 保险单是为公寓或合作公寓业主提供的房主保险。 您拥有自己的公寓或合作公寓,并且可能对它的任何损坏负责。

公寓保险比房屋保险贵吗?

因为它涵盖了额外的危险,所以对于相同的面积(例如您的房子、园丁、游泳池等),房屋保险单的费用很容易是公寓保险单的两倍。 因为您只保护建筑物的一部分,您将为公寓业主保险支付更少的费用。

参考资料

0股
发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被公开。

你也许也喜欢

CONDOMINIUM INSURANCE: Coverages and Policies In 2022

condominium insurance
HPM Insurance

If you own a condo, your homeowner association will cover exterior damage in the event of a disaster. They will not, however, cover any damage to the interior of your condo or your belongings. That’s where condo insurance comes in: condominium insurance (HO-6 policy), also known as walls-in coverage, protects everything within your unit. The best condominium insurance firms were ranked by Businessyield based on affordability, customer happiness, and financial soundness.

What Is Condominium Insurance?

Condominium insurance is comparable to homeowners insurance and renters insurance, but it is specifically created for condominiums. While your homeowner association is usually responsible for any damage to the outside of your building, you are responsible for any damage to the inside of your unit.

Condo insurance protects your belongings, including appliances, personal belongings, and the apartment itself. It can cover damage from a variety of sources, such as fire and smoke, vandalism, lightning, and more. While you may believe you are adequately protected by your HOA’s master policy, it is still necessary to ensure everything inside your unit prevents damage.

What is an HO-6 Policy?

Another phrase for condominium insurance is an HO-6 policy. Condo insurance and HO-6 insurance are commonly used to refer to the same insurance policy. Basic home insurance is an HO-3 policy, renters insurance is an HO-4 policy, and comprehensive homeowners insurance is an HO-5 policy in the insurance market.

The Top 5 Condominium Insurance Companies in 2022

Understanding your needs and comparing quotes are essential steps in locating the finest condo insurance company. Bankrate considered aspects such as coverage options, pricing, availability, and third-party scores from companies such as J.D. Based on our study, we partnered with Power and AM Finest to identify the best firms. However, keep in mind that your needs are unique to your scenario, therefore the finest condo business for you may vary.

#1. State Farm Insurance

State Farm’s regular condo plans include all of the fundamental coverages that most people require, as well as an excellent array of supplemental coverage options. If a thief makes a fraudulent transfer from your account or you unintentionally receive a counterfeit bill, counterfeit money and forgery expense protection can reimburse up to $1,000. Refrigerated products coverage can assist pay to replace damaged food in your refrigerator or freezer in the case of equipment failure or a power loss.

#2. Erie

The condo insurance in Erie is very basic, however, they feature some outstanding optional coverage types. These include debris disposal coverage and lock replacement coverage, which pays up to $250 to rekey or replace locks following a crime. Following a covered loss, your Erie policy may also cover temporary repairs to prevent more damage. Erie Insurance also includes a one-of-a-kind feature that covers the expense of emergency first aid for humans or dogs.

#3. Hippo

Hippo is a relatively new brand, but it’s worth investigating for condo owners. There are numerous condominium insurance policy options, including coverage for home office equipment, water backup, equipment malfunction, and valuables. You could also save money on your policy by requesting a quote eight or more days before your desired effective date, living in an HOA neighborhood, being mortgage-free, or purchasing a new condo. Hippo Home Care may also assist you with routine maintenance, which can help prevent damage before it occurs.

Why Do You Need Condominium Insurance?

While you may believe that your homeowner association covers damage to your condo, this often only covers the exterior of your building and any shared-use spaces. Nothing inside your condo is insured by your homeowner association and requires separate condominium insurance coverage. Condo insurance covers the following:

  • The unit has been physically damaged.
  • Personal belongings
  • Medical payments and liability
  • Coverage for loss of use
  • Condo loss evaluation

In some situations, you may be able to supplement your condominium insurance with additional coverage. If you have exceptionally valuable property, you may want to obtain additional coverage to protect it. If you reside in an area prone to floods, earthquakes, or other natural disasters that aren’t covered by your current policy, you may want to consider adding additional coverage.

What Does Condominium Insurance Cover?

A typical HO-6 condominium insurance policy contains the following coverages:

#1. Dwelling coverage

This section of your HO-6 policy covers specific hazards such as fire and lightning, wind and hail, vandalism, and so on that cause damage to structural components of your unit’s interior but are not covered by the building’s master policy. Walls, floors, windows, and any attached fixtures or components such as kitchen cabinets, built-in bookcases, and bathroom fittings may or may not be included. To ensure you have adequate coverage for the structure of your unit, request a copy of the building manager’s or owner association’s master policy, which specifies which structural features of the unit are the responsibility of the management or HOA. The level of coverage varies.

#2. Personal property coverage

This safeguards your belongings, including clothing, furniture, gadgets, appliances, cookware, jewelry, and so on. In general, you should select a quantity of coverage equivalent to the value of your things. Your insurer will decide claim amounts in one of two ways, depending on the policy:

  • Actual cash value: Pays you the current cash value of your item(s), less depreciation.
  • Replacement cost coverage: Replacement cost coverage reimburses you for things of the same or equal worth at the current market price.

#3. Personal liability coverage

If someone is injured in your apartment or you accidentally damage their personal property and are found legally liable, this coverage will cover your legal fees as well as their medical bills. Depending on the insurer, liability limitations often range from $100,000 to $500,000. If your assets are worth more than that, you should consider purchasing an umbrella insurance policy to provide further protection.

#4. Extra living expenditures

If you are unable to reside in your condo while it is being repaired or rebuilt, your condominium insurance policy will cover expenses such as hotel stays and restaurant meals. This is also known as loss-of-use coverage.

Other condominium insurance coverage alternatives

Your insurance carrier may also provide supplementary coverage in addition to regular coverage. These are some examples:

  • Coverage for loss assessment. If a claim filed on behalf of the master condominium insurance policy exceeds the coverage limit, such as fixing the building’s roof after a hailstorm, the excess cost may be passed on to the unit owners. Loss assessment coverage will reimburse you for your portion of the expense up to the coverage level of your policy.
  • Water harm. Water damage caused by backups or overflowing in a sewer line or drain is not covered by condo insurance. This supplementary coverage will assist in the payment of damaged or destroyed property.
  • Seismic activity or flooding: If you reside in a high-risk location, you may need to obtain insurance that covers these types of events explicitly.

What Isn’t Condominium Insurance Covered For?

Condo insurance does not cover certain perils, hazards, and obligations. These are some examples:

  • Normal deterioration
  • Infestations of termites
  • Common space damage
  • Intentionally causing injury or damage
  • Damage from flooding and earthquakes

What Type of Condominium Insurance Do I Need?

If you have a mortgage and financed the purchase of your condo or co-op unit, your lender will require you to carry condominium insurance. Your HOA or condominium organization may require insurance coverage even if you own your unit entirely.

A number of factors influence how much condo insurance you require. These are some examples:

  • What structural damage is covered by the condominium HOA master policy? Is the master policy only for the fundamentals, such as damage to the walls, windows, and doors, or does it also cover the flooring, ceiling, and fixtures? Knowing what the master policy covers will determine how much dwelling coverage you require.
  • How much money would you need to replace your personal belongings? Experts advocate taking a full inventory of your house contents and calculating how much it would cost to replace everything to decide how much coverage you need for your personal property.
  • Can you cover legal and medical costs if someone is injured in your condominium? If you are found culpable for an injury or property damage that occurred in your condo, you may be held liable for legal and medical expenses. Personal savings, condo equity, retirement accounts, and other assets can be used to offset those expenses. Your liability coverage should be sufficient to protect your assets. Liability coverage limits often vary from $100,000 to $500,000.
  • Can you pay out of your own pocket if you have to live somewhere else while your condo is being repaired or rebuilt? While condo insurance will reimburse you for living expenses while your apartment is being repaired, do you have the means to cover alternative accommodation for a lengthy period of time? Depending on the insurer, loss-of-use coverage is typically limited to 20% of total dwelling and personal property coverage.

What is the Cost of Condominium Insurance?

According to the National Association of Insurance Commissioners 2019 data, the average cost of condominium insurance is $512 per year, the most recent version available. The cost of condominium insurance varies greatly based on where you reside, how much coverage you require, and the deductible you select. Check out your state’s typical condo insurance premium:

StateAverage annual cost
Alabama$559
Alaska$408
Arizona$407
Arkansas$549
California$563
Colorado$431
Connecticut$409
Delaware$445
Florida$997
Georgia$516
Hawaii$325
Idaho$426
Illinois$394
Indiana$347
Iowa$265
Kansas$404
Kentucky$395
Louisiana$765
Maine$349
Maryland$324
Massachusetts$447
Michigan$378
Minnesota$326
Mississippi$617
Missouri$403
Montana$410
Nebraska$358
Nevada$444
New Hampshire$347
New Jersey$457
New Mexico$415
New York$578
North Carolina$502
North Dakota$293
Ohio$312
Oklahoma$655
Oregon$375
Pennsylvania$393
Rhode Island$524
South Carolina$504
South Dakota$303
Tennessee$479
Texas$531
Utah$271
Vermont$354
Virginia$371
Washington$390
Washington, D.C.$377
West Virginia$320
Wisconsin$258
Wyoming$409
Source: National Association of Insurance Commissioners, 2019 data

How to Purchase Condominium Insurance

Many organizations that sell homeowners insurance also sell condo plans. Consider the following companies that are readily available:

  • Allstate.
  • Amica.
  • Chubb.
  • Farmers.
  • Liberty Mutual Insurance Company
  • Nationwide.
  • State Farm Insurance.
  • Travelers.

Condo insurance quotes are typically available on the insurers’ websites or by phoning them directly. If you’d rather not do the homework, you can hire an independent agent to compare quotes for you.

How to Reduce Condominium Insurance Costs

There are three main strategies to save money on condo insurance:

  • Look around. To discover the best price for the condominium insurance coverage you desire, we recommend receiving quotes from at least three insurance companies.
  • Look for bargains. If you combine your condo and auto insurance with the same insurer, you may be able to save money. Some insurers provide savings if your unit has security features such as smoke alarms and deadbolt locks.
  • Increase your insurance deductible. Do not do this unless you are convinced that you have adequate savings to cover the larger sum in the event of an emergency. Otherwise, the decreased premium may be ineffective.

Condominium Insurance vs. HOA Insurance

HOA insurance covers two types of coverage: liability and property. A master policy’s liability coverage can assist pay medical bills and legal fees if someone is injured in a common area, such as a clubhouse, lobby, or swimming pool, but it does not cover injuries experienced by guests within the walls of your condominium.

Condominium management can select from three different forms of property insurance coverage:

  • All-in coverage provides the maximum protection for unit owners because it covers the building of the condo as well as any shared property. It also usually covers changes you’ve made to your apartments, such as bespoke tile and wall coverings.
  • Walls-in coverage, also known as single entity coverage, provides somewhat more protection than bare walls coverage. It covers the structure and systems of the building, as well as built-in features within units such as kitchen cabinets and sunken bookcases.
  • Bare wall coverage offers the least protection to unit owners because it only covers common areas, the building structure, and its systems, such as electrical wiring and plumbing. The interior of your condo is not included.

Before obtaining an HO-6 condominium insurance policy, it is important to understand how much coverage the HOA policy already includes. If your complex has an all-inclusive policy, you may not need much dwelling coverage. However, HOA policy exclusions are significant as well. A master policy, for example, may cover the internal construction of your condo but exclude non-standard fixtures you install, such as expensive imported tiling or a custom stained-glass window.

Condominium Insurance FAQs

What is the difference between HO6 and ho3?

Homeowners with HO-3 and HO-6 insurance have different needs. HO-3 insurance is intended for single-family homes, while HO-6 insurance is intended for condominiums. There are some similarities, such as the fact that they both cover personal property, liability, medical payments, and loss of use.

What is an HO6 insurance policy?

An HO6 insurance policy is homeowners insurance for condominium or co-op unit owners. You own your condo or co-op apartment and are likely accountable for any damage to it.

Is condo insurance more expensive than house insurance?

Because it covers additional hazards, a house insurance policy can easily cost twice as much as a condo insurance policy for the same square footage (e.g. your house, gardener, pool, etc). Because you are only safeguarding a piece of the building, you will pay less for condo owner insurance.

References

0 Shares:
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You May Also Like