CAR INSURANCE COLORADO: Coverage, Cost & Best Options

Car Insurance Coverage Colorado Springs best cheap
Image by Freepik

Colorado is a beautiful western state and a fantastic destination for nature lovers. This state has everything you could want: ski down a mountain, walk through a forest, rappel down a canyon wall, or whitewater raft down a river. As you drive through Colorado’s mountains, you’ll need to make sure you have the cheap car insurance that the state requires. In this article, I explain everything you need to know about car insurance coverage in Colorado Springs and the things you need to put in place. Why not dive in now?

Best Car Insurance Companies in Colorado

Getting the best car insurance in Colorado is very important so as to avoid any issues with your car insurance. However, your insurance cost is based on a number of criteria, so if that doesn’t describe you, read on for a comparison of the state-required minimum coverage rates in Colorado for drivers with good and bad credit, as well as those who are younger than 25. The following are the best car insurance companies in Colorado:

 #1. American National P&C

Insuring a vehicle with American National P&C could cost as little as $23.58 per month if you fit their profile of safe Colorado drivers. Coverages such as gap insurance, which helps pay for repairs not covered by the basic policy, and Added Coverage Endorsement (ACE) are available at the customer’s discretion. There are a number of ways to save money with American National, including combining your insurance and never filing a claim. It is one of the best car insurance companies in Colorado.

#2. Grange

Grange is an insurance company based in Ohio that only works with independent brokers. The lowest auto insurance required by Grange for their Colorado driver profile could cost as little as $29.33 every month. Grange also provides new-car replacement, roadside assistance, and uninsured or underinsured driver coverage in addition to the usual options. Grange’s OnTrack is a car savings program that provides incentives to drivers who log their safe driving behavior using a smartphone app.

#3. Colorado Farm Bureau Mutual

Car insurance from Colorado Farm Bureau Mutual starts at $35.42 per month for the profile of a typical Colorado driver. In addition to car, home, business, farm, ranch, and life insurance, the corporation also employs agents all around the state of Colorado. An app is also available for policy reviews, claims filing, agent access, and emergency roadside service requests, all of which can be made at any time.

#4. State Farm

The average full coverage quotation from State Farm is $1,185 annually, 29% less than the average for the state of Colorado. At about $37 a month, State Farm is far and away Colorado’s least expensive car insurer. If you purchase less insurance, your monthly payments may be lower, but you will be less protected in the event of an accident. Drivers in Colorado who have been ticketed for speeding can get the best rates by shopping with State Farm, which averages about $107 per month. Insurance from State Farm is $710 cheaper annually for people who have received a speeding ticket than the national average.

After a collision where you are found at fault, the average monthly premium for State Farm drops to about $120. If you have a history of accidents or citations, you may also want to look into State Farm because their prices are 43% lower than the national average.

#5. USAA

Members of the United States armed forces, together with their families, can get insurance through USAA. USAA offers basic auto insurance at $36.91 per month for drivers with their Colorado profile. When you insure multiple vehicles with USAA, you can save money. You can also save money by making automatic payments and by keeping your vehicle in a garage on a military base, among other reductions. USAA SafePilot is a program that monitors a driver’s habits in order to provide cost savings of up to 30%.

#6. Geico

If you fit their description for a Colorado driver, Geico’s minimum coverage car insurance policy might cost as little as $41.61 per month. You can save money on car insurance with Geico by qualifying for one of their many discounts based on your vehicle, driving record, degree, or connection. Furthermore, Geico provides 24-hour roadside assistance, car rental reimbursement, and mechanical breakdown insurance in addition to the standard full-coverage options.

#7. Travelers

If you’re a young driver in Colorado, Travelers is a good option because of its low rates. New vehicle replacement, ridesharing insurance, roadside assistance, and accident forgiveness are just a few of the coverage choices provided by the company.

Note: Prices can change at any time. So, always check the site of any of the car insurance companies you want to go for and get their current quotation whenever you are ready to buy your car insurance

Colorado Auto Insurance Requirements

Having liability coverage for your vehicle is a legal requirement in the state of Colorado. Damages and injuries sustained by third parties are covered by liability insurance. If you back into a neighbor’s fence, for instance, your neighbor may file a claim against your liability insurance to recover the costs associated with repairing the fence. Colorado drivers are required to have at least:

  • $25,000 for bodily injury to one person
  • $50,000 for bodily injury to multiple people in one accident
  • $15,000 for property damage in one accident

However, the state of Colorado’s bare minimums for auto insurance often fall far short of actual needs. Multiple injuries in an accident can quickly rack up medical bills that exceed $50,000, leaving you vulnerable to a lawsuit for the remaining amount. If you have the means, it’s smart to invest in more than the bare necessities.

Car insurance providers in Colorado are also obligated to provide you with uninsured motorist (UM) and underinsured motorist (UIM) protection. When an uninsured driver causes a collision, UM will cover the costs of repairs and medical care. If you are involved in a collision with a driver who does not have enough insurance, UIM will help cover the costs of repairs and medical care.

A minimum of 25/50 is also required for UM/UIM coverage. You have the option of formally declining this coverage in writing.

How Does Colorado Law Determine Your Premiums, and What Can Affect Them?

Finding affordable Colorado car insurance requires an understanding of the criteria insurers use to set premiums. Your auto insurance premiums can be affected by both things you can change, like your driving record and credit score, and things you can’t, like your age and gender.

When calculating your auto insurance premium in Colorado, insurers might consider the following criteria:

  • Age
  • Gender
  • Relationship status
  • Rating of creditworthiness
  • Model and year of vehicle
  • Claims Record
  • History of Driving
  • Location
  • Driving frequency

Choosing the Right Car Insurance Company in Colorado

It’s easier to shop around for vehicle insurance if you prioritize your needs and compare policies from different providers. Here are some things to think about:

  • Total cost: When comparing similar policies, some providers provide better deals than others. Compare prices to find the best one for you.
  • Coverage: If something happens, having more car insurance coverage in Colorado Springs will protect you more.
  • Customer service: When filing a claim, the last thing you need is stress from the insurance company. You can narrow down your options by looking at customer service and claim satisfaction ratings.

How to Get Cheap Car Insurance in Colorado

Car insurance rates in Colorado have been on the rise, even for safe drivers. Cheap car insurance in Colorado will also make you spend less. Fortunately, despite the rise in rates, everyone can benefit from a few basic guidelines:

  • Drive safely: If you desire lower premiums, it’s in your best interest to avoid moving offenses and accidents. 
  • Compare quotes: Make sure you’re receiving the best deal on insurance by comparing quotes from multiple providers.
  • Policy Bundling: When you bundle your insurance policies with one provider, you can save a lot.
  • Reshop: Make sure you’re not missing out on lower rates by not shopping around for car insurance every six months to a year.
Read Also: DWELLING INSURANCE: How Much Dwelling Coverage You Need

Colorado SR-22 Permit Application Process

Drivers with several significant offenses, especially those involving alcohol, may be forced to file an SR-22. The state of Colorado requires you to maintain evidence of insurance in the form of an SR-22 form issued by your insurance provider. The procedures for obtaining this protection are outlined below:

#1. Insured Already

If you have a current insurance policy, getting an SR-22 may be a simple process. Call your insurer and have them submit the SR-22 form for you. If your insurance provider is unwilling to require such documentation, you may want to look elsewhere.

#2. Uninsured

The SR-22 form and your high-risk driving profile will result in higher premiums when you apply for auto insurance. Some insurance companies won’t insure you if you need to carry an SR-22, while others won’t refuse to do so.

#3. For Drivers Without a Vehicle

Getting an SR-22 is more challenging if you don’t have access to a vehicle, as you’ll need to provide proof of insurance in order to get the certificate. If that’s the case, you’ll need to get non-owner car insurance before submitting your SR-22. Since a non-owners policy does not cover physical damage to your vehicle, it is often less expensive than a normal policy.

Do You Need Full Car Insurance Coverage in Colorado Springs?

Full-coverage car insurance in Colorado Springs covers everything from injuries to property damage and uninsured motorists to collisions and comprehensive coverage. The minimal car insurance policy in Colorado is 25/50/15, which is not considered complete coverage. If you are financing your vehicle, though, your lender may insist on comprehensive coverage.

Does Colorado Have High Insurance Rates?

When you compare Colorado to the rest of the U.S., its car insurance rates are about average. It could be a tad more pricey than usual.

Is it Necessary to Get Car Insurance in Colorado?

Car insurance is mandatory for motorists operating a motor vehicle in Colorado. Coverage for both property damage and personal injuries is included. Comprehensive, collision, and medical payments insurance are all available, and additional coverage can be obtained for them if desired.

Which Cars Are Required to be Insured in Colorado?

All cars, trucks, and other vehicles used for business or pleasure must have insurance in Colorado. All vehicles are included in this category, whether they are cars, trucks, SUVs, minivans, motorcycles, or anything else.

When Is the Best Time to Buy Car Insurance in Colorado?

You must register and insure your vehicle within ten days of your arrival in Colorado or within ten days of purchasing a new car.

What Happens if My Car is Not Properly Insured in Colorado?

As a Class I misdemeanor, driving without insurance in Colorado is a serious offense. License suspension until proof of insurance is provided and a fine of up to $500 for a first violation. A suspension of 4 months is imposed for a second offense, and a ban of 8 months is imposed for a third. If this continues, you could go to jail. Your car insurance premiums may increase when a coverage gap has gone unresolved.

When I Have an Accident in Colorado, Do I Have to Notify the Authorities?

Any collision involving injuries or property damage must be reported to the police in Colorado. Colorado law classifies failing to report traffic accidents as a Class 2 misdemeanor, punishable by up to 90 days in jail and a fine of $150 to $300. It’s also possible that you won’t need to notify anyone about the collision if the police are already there.

Is There No-Fault Insurance in Colorado?

Colorado has no-fault insurance. Rather, Colorado is the guilty party. When a driver is at fault in a collision, they must pay for everyone’s medical bills and fix whatever was broken.

Do I Need Uninsured Motorist Coverage in Colorado?

Insurance protection against drivers without insurance is optional in Colorado. This coverage guards against accidents with uninsured or hit-and-run motorists.

Is Liability Insurance Required in Colorado?

Liability insurance is mandatory for Colorado drivers. Both bodily injury and property damage have minimum coverages that must be met.

Final Thoughts

Going for the best car insurance in Colorado is a very important thing to consider as a motorist in Colorado. That is why you shouldn’t joke with every piece of information in this article. I do hope you find this article helpful.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like