如何在 QuickBooks- 专家指南中输入退回的支票

空头支票

空头支票、NSF 支票、退回支票、橡皮支票、不足支票、虚假支票等,对个人或 商科 任何大小。 这种非法行为既有民事处罚,也有刑事处罚,尽管要证明刑事案件的成本要高得多,而且难以证明。

在本文中,您将了解如何在 QuickBooks 中记录退回的支票。 QuickBooks 没有退回支票功能,因此该过程需要几个步骤。

什么是退回支票?

退回支票是一种俚语,指的是由于账户持有人资金不足 (NSF) 而无法处理的支票。 银行退回这些支票,也称为橡皮支票,或“弹回”而不是兑现,并且银行向支票发行人收取 NSF 费用。

支出支票可能是非法的,犯罪范围可以从轻罪到重罪,具体取决于金额以及活动是否涉及跨越州界。

支票退回费用

如果账户资金不足并且银行决定兑现支票,它将向账户持有人收取 NSF 费用。 如果银行接受支票但账户为负数,则会收取透支费。 如果账户仍为负值,银行可能会收取延长的透支费。

不同的银行对支票和透支收取不同的费用。 然而,截至 2019 年,平均透支费用为 33,361 美元。 银行通常对价值 24 美元的发票收取此费用。这些发票包括支票,以及 电子 付款和一些借记卡交易。

如果支票弹跳会发生什么?

银行费用只是兑现支票过程的一部分。 在许多情况下,受益人也会收取费用。 例如,如果有人在杂货店写了一张支票并且支票被退回,杂货店可以保留将支票连同支票费用一起退回的权利。

在其他情况下,如果支票退回,收款人会将问题报告给 ChexSystems 等借记机构,后者会收集支票和储蓄账户的财务数据。 来自 ChexSystems 等组织的负面报告可能使消费者将来难以开设支票和储蓄账户。 在某些情况下,公司会编制一份已兑现支票的客户名单,并禁止他们在该设施重写支票。

如何在 QuickBooks 中记录退回的支票:分步过程

要记录退回支票,您必须执行以下操作:

  • 步骤1: 减少退还给您的存入支票的银行余额。
  • 步骤2: 重新打开原始发票并显示未付款。
  • 步骤3: 记录您的银行收取的资金不足费用 (NSF)。
  • 步骤4: 向您的客户收取 NSF 费用。

如何以 Record 在 QuickBooks O 中退回支票n线

Record Bounce Check 功能只能在单用户模式下使用,并且仅适用于检查通过客户付款窗口进行的付款。 如果您有退回的 ACH 项目,请在继续执行这些步骤之前将您的付款方式更改为“验证”。 如果您的付款方式显示为灰色或您无法完成这些步骤,请转到选项 2。

适用于Windows的QuickBooks

正如在 quickbooks 上看到的那样

选项 1:使用记录退回检查功能

  1. 在MyCAD中点击 软件更新 顾客,然后选择 客户中心.
  2. 选择 交易 标签,然后选择 已收款项.
  3. 双击您要记录为 NSF 的付款。
  4. 在接收付款窗口中,选择 记录退回支票 主功能区选项卡上的图标。
    备注:支票不能等待在未存款资金账户中清算,因为它必须已经清算银行才能退回。
  5. 在 Manage Bounced Check 窗口中,输入以下信息,然后选择 下一个.
    备注: 所有这些字段都是可选的。 如果银行没有收取任何额外费用,或者您不想向客户收取费用,您可以将其留空。

    • 银行费用和日期
    • 银行费用费用账户
    • 增益级
    • 客户费用(您将向客户收取多少费用)
  6. QuickBooks 将向您展示 退回支票摘要,让您知道幕后会发生什么。 例如,您可能会看到:
    • 以下发票将被标记为未付
    • 以下费用将从您的银行账户中扣除。
    • 将为您要向客户收取的费用创建此发票。
  7. 选择 完成.

选项 2:手动记录退回的支票

  1. 创建一个项目和收入帐户以跟踪退回的支票及其相关费用。
    重要: 只需要设置一次,如果你之前设置过,请继续第 2 步。

    1. 创建收入账户:
      • 类型:收入账户
      • 账户名称:退回支票收入
    2. 创建空头支票收费项目:
    3. 类型:其他费用
      • 项目名称:空头支票费用
      • 金额或百分比:保留为 0.00
      • 税法:不征税
      • 帐户:选择 退票收入 (在步骤 a 中创建)。
  2. 创建日记帐分录以冲销原始付款。
    1. 来自 公司菜单, 选择 制作一般日记帐分录。
    2. 在“一般分录”窗口中,从您的应收账款中扣除相同金额的 NSF 支票。
    3. 在备注栏中输入描述交易的备注。
      例如:: 退回检查 #123 – NSF
    4. 在名称列下选择与 NSF 检查关联的客户或工作的名称。
    5. 贷记收到原始存款的支票或银行账户。
    6. 选择 保存并关闭.
  1. 将发票的付款切换到冲销日记帐分录。
    1. 来自 业务报告 菜单中选择 客户应收账款,然后选择 客户余额明细.
    2. 双击 NSF 交易的原始支付行。
    3. 在“接收付款”窗口中,将复选标记从发票移动到冲销日记帐分录。
    4. 选择 保存并关闭.

备注:这将使您的银行账户减少被退回支票的金额。 退回支票所来自的发票将被标记为未付。
用户添加的图片

  1. (可选)重新发送未结发票
    1. 转到退回支票的来源发票。
    2. 添加项目 Bad Check Charge(在步骤 1 中创建)。  备注:如果银行没有收取任何额外费用,或者您不想向客户收取费用,您可以跳过此步骤。
    3. 点击 邮件 主功能区选项卡上的图标,然后选择 发送.

Mac 版 QuickBooks 桌面

备注:如果客户付款是您已在 QuickBooks 中输入的支票,并且未存入未存入资金帐户,则您只能使用退回支票功能。

  1. 去 顾客 菜单,然后选择 收款.
  2. 找到并打开支票,然后选择 空头支票.
  3. 完成所需的信息。 请注意,对于银行费用,如果您没有,QuickBooks 会创建一个银行服务费用费用帐户。
  4. 选择 下一个. 您将看到发票、支票和银行费用的简要说明。
  5. 选择 Record. 发票现在未付款且未结清。 它还包括为您的客户收取的退票费用。 如果您没有,QuickBooks 会为该费用创建一个退回支票费用收入帐户。

在 QuickBooks 中记录退回检查的重要性

当支票兑现时,QuickBooks Online 中显示的余额被高估了,因为兑现的支票显示为存款。 请务必立即调整 QuickBooks 银行余额,以便显示正确的金额。 您还需要提供证据证明客户仍然欠您原始发票以及您为退回支票收取的费用。

登记支票很复杂,涉及几个步骤。 有几种方法可以注册兑现支票。 但是,我们将展示我们认为最有效的方法,同时仍保持纸质路线并尽可能轻松地协调您的 QuickBooks 银行活动。

如何避免退回检查

消费者可以通过跟踪他们的余额、使用一个独特的系统来减少他们开出的支票数量,在该系统中,每笔借记和存款都会立即记录在支票登记簿中,或者通过使用网上银行密切监控他们的支票账户。 .

消费者还可以为储蓄账户充值并将其链接到他们的支票账户以支付透支。 或者,消费者可以少开支票或使用现金、借记卡、即时在线支付(如移动钱包、PayPal 等)进行可自由支配的支出。

退回支票法

写空头支票可能会导致严重的刑事处罚。 为避免这些后果,重要的是要知道编写退回支票有一些您可能会采取的法律行动和对策。

犯罪类型

当一个人故意开出一张他们知道在开出支票的银行账户中不可用的金额的支票时,就会出现空头支票。 在某些情况下,必须将支票写入已关闭的帐户。 在其他情况下,您需要开出金额大于该帐户余额的支票,将支票存入另一个帐户,并在支票兑现之前提取资金。

在某些情况下,一个人会为无法使用的钱开一张支票,但相信几天后存入的未来存款将能够支付它。

如果在您的银行通知您资金不足后的几天(通常是十天)内支付支票,许多州不会将其定为犯罪或解雇某人。 但是,如果使用此流程的人忘记存款或忽略从银行收到的通讯,他们可能会陷入危险境地。

许多州对知道账户资金已用完这一要素的定义很模糊。 法律假定一个人作为一个合理的人行事,核实陈述并积极了解账户中有多少。 因此,在许多州,一个人不需要知道他账户中的确切金额,政府就可以证明被告“知道”他写了一张空头支票。

刑事处罚

该罪行的定罪严重程度取决于州法律如何定义该罪行。 在某些情况下,这可能会产生民事和刑事影响。 在其他情况下,只能受到民事处罚。 在纽约,根据支票的面值,一个人可能面临最长三个月的监禁和最高 750 美元的罚款。

在加利福尼亚州,如果一个人被判有罪,他们最多可以被关押一年。 在德克萨斯州,当开出空头支票被视为刑事犯罪时,处罚尤其严厉。 一个人可能面临 180 天至两年的州监狱监禁,并被处以最高 10,000 美元的罚款。

一些州有三倍或三倍的损害赔偿,因此一个人必须支付支票面值的三倍,但须遵守一定的最低或最高付款额。

民事责任

除了可能的刑事后果外,一个人还可以根据民法受到惩罚。 银行或收到空头支票的人可以向民事法庭提起诉讼。 可能会要求被告支付判决费用,其中可能包括法庭费用和法律费用。

罚款

支票出纳员可能需要支付高额费用。 许多银行对支票收取 25 至 35 美元的费用。 此费用适用于每张兑现支票。 只要银行遵循客户协议中规定的程序,通常就有能力按特定顺序处理交易。

这意味着他们可以在积分当天到达之前处理所有费用。 即使一个人进行了存款,银行在处理存款之前清算的每笔交易也可能会产生额外费用。 考虑到所有额外费用,这可能不足以使帐户恢复为黑色。

其他后果

如果一个人反复兑现支票,银行可能会决定关闭该账户。 在支付该支票的公共福利或自动支付某人的工资时,这可能会造成障碍和挑战。

一些公司报告开支票的模式,并与银行和零售商分享这些信息。 因此,零售商可能拒绝接受甚至没有在该特定公司兑现支票​​的人的支票。 这也可能导致未来的帐户被拒绝。 如果支票被兑现,个人的信用报告可能会显示出支票错误的迹象。

一个人可以根据这些指控保持犯罪记录,他可以在她的余生中追随。 此外,由于犯罪或信誉不佳,您可能会被拒绝某项工作。

被指控开支票的人可以去找刑事辩护律师,向他和她解释被告的权利和对他的指控。 律师可以根据案件的具体情况帮助制定辩护,并寻求减少或驳回的指控。

退回支票恢复

根据 Brown & Joseph 律师事务所的说法,如果银行说他们收到了支票,请致电客户。 如果您不是普通客户,请使用支票上的电话号码(如果有)。 告诉他们支票已经结清,并询问他们是否可以用汇票、现金或 信用卡 通过电话。 您也可以要求他们支付银行添加的支票费用。

Groupon 建议,您还应该咨询银行。 也许银行犯了错误,或者您在客户存钱之前存入了支票。 除非您确定钱在那里或银行可以向您收取另一笔支票费用,否则不要尝试重新发送。

打电话给您的律师并查看您所在州适用的法律也是一个好主意。 例如,加利福尼亚州总检察长的网站规定,您必须先通过挂号信向该州的支票签发人发送“请求信”,然后才能采取法律行动。 州空头支票法还规定了如果您上法庭并获胜,您可以收取多少费用。 在许多州,这是支票金额的三倍。

如果客户拒绝付款或找不到客户,则需要更进一步。 你有几个选择。

  • 联系检察官。 一些州有一个空头支票退款计划,DA 办公室有人联系支票的作者并要求他们付款。 一封带有官方政府信笺抬头的信可能足以让某人吐钱。
  • 通过收债公司工作。 即使客户以您为目标,收债机构也有资源和技能来寻找人。 但是,您必须为服务付费。
  • 使用支票恢复服务。 一旦有足够的资金,这些组织就会监控账户并重新插入支票。
  • 当您的客户拒绝解决问题时,将其告上法庭。 根据支票的大小,您可以去小额索赔法庭,在那里您不需要也不能聘请律师。 即使作者不愿意骗你,如果他不付钱,你也能得到报酬。
  • 将所有文件保存在案子中,直到它们得到解决,这一点很重要。 保留支票、您发送的认证信函的副本、显示支票费用的银行对账单以及其他相关文件。

退回的支票信样本

弹跳检查信
来源: ezlandlordforms.com网站

我们还推荐:

9股
发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被公开。 必填 *

你也许也喜欢

How To Enter A Bounced Check In QuickBooks- Expert Guide

Bounced-Check

Bad checks, NSF checks, bounced checks, rubber checks, insufficient checks, bogus checks, etc., can be a big problem for an individual or business of any size. There are both civil and criminal penalties for this illegal act, although it is much more expensive and difficult to prove a criminal case.


In this article, you’ll learn how to record a bounced check in QuickBooks. QuickBooks doesn’t have a bounced check feature, so the process requires several steps.

What is a bounce check?

A returned check is a slang term for a check that cannot be processed because the account holder has insufficient funds (NSF). Banks return these checks, also known as rubber checks, or “bounce” instead of cashing them, and banks collect NSF fees from check issuers.

Spending checks can be illegal and the offense can range from a misdemeanor to a felony, depending on the amount and whether the activity involves crossing state lines.

Check bounced fee


If an account has insufficient funds and a bank decides to cash a check, it will charge the account holder a NSF fee. If the bank accepts the check but the account is negative, the bank will charge an overdraft fee. If the account remains negative, the bank may charge an extended overdraft fee.

Different banks charge different fees for checks and overdrafts. However, as of 2019, the average overdraft fee was $ 33,361. Banks typically charge this fee for invoices worth $ 24. These invoices include checks, as well as electronic payments, and some debit card transactions.

What happens if a check bounces?


Bank charges are only part of the process of cashing a check. In many cases, the beneficiary also charges a fee. For example, if someone writes a check at the grocery store and the check is returned, the grocery store may reserve the right to return the check along with a check fee.

In other cases, if a check bounces, the payee reports the problem to debit agencies like ChexSystems, which collect financial data on checking and savings accounts. Negative reports with organizations like ChexSystems can make it difficult for consumers to open checking and savings accounts in the future. In some cases, companies compile a list of customers who have cashed checks and prohibit them from rewriting checks at that facility.

How to Record a Bounced Check in a QuickBooks: Steps-by-step process

To record a bounce check, you must do the following:

  • Step 1: Reduce your bank balance for the deposited check that was returned to you.
  • Step 2: Reopen the original invoice and show that it was not paid.
  • Step 3: Record the Insufficient Funds Fee (NSF) charged by your bank.
  • Step 4: Charge your customer an NSF fee.

How to Record Bounced Check in QuickBooks online

The Record Bounce Check feature can only be used in single-user mode and only applies to check payments made through the Customer Payment window. If you have a returned ACH item, change your payment method to Verify before proceeding with the steps. If your payment method is grayed out or you can’t complete the steps, go to option 2.

QuickBooks for Windows


As seen on quickbooks.intuit

Option 1: Use the Record Bounced Check feature

  1. Go to Customers, then select Customer Center.
  2. Select the Transactions tab, then choose Received Payments.
  3. Double-click the payment you want to record as NSF.
  4. On the receive payments window, select the Record Bounced Check icon on the Main ribbon tab.
    Note: The check must not be waiting to be cleared in the Undeposited Funds account, as it would have to have cleared the bank in order to bounce.
  5. In the Manage Bounced Check window, enter the following information, then select Next.
    Note: All these fields are optional. You can leave them blank if there weren’t any additional charges from the bank or if you don’t want to charge your customer for it.
    • Bank Fee and Date
    • Expense Account for the Bank Fee
    • Class
    • Customer Fee (how much you will charge the customer)
  6. QuickBooks will show you the Bounced Check Summary, for you to know what will happen behind the scenes. For example, you may see:
    • The following invoices will be marked unpaid
    • The following fees will be deducted from your bank account.
    • This invoice will be created for the fee you want to charge your customer.
  7. Select Finish.

Option 2: Manually record bounced check

  1. Create an item and income account for tracking bounced checks and their associates charges.
    Important: This only needs to be set up once, if you’ve done this before, proceed to step 2.
    1. Create an income account:
      • Type: Income Account
      • Account Name: Bounced Checks Income
    2. Create Bad Check Charge item:
    3. Type: Other Charge
      • Item Name: Bad Check Charge
      • Amount or %: Leave it at 0.00
      • Tax Code: Non-taxable
      • Account: Select Bounced Checks Income (created in step a).
  2. Create a journal entry to reverse the original payment.
    1. From the Company menu, select Make General Journal Entries.
    2. In the General Entries window, debit your account receivables for the same amount of the NSF check.
    3. Enter a note in the Memo column describing the transaction.
      Example: Bounced check #123 – NSF
    4. Select the name of the customer or job associated with the NSF check, under the Name column.
    5. Credit the checking or bank account that received the original deposit.
    6. Select Save & Close.
  1. Switch the payment for the invoice to the reversing journal entry.
    1. From the Reports menu, select Customers Receivables, then choose Customer Balance Detail.
    2. Double-click the original payment line for the NSF transaction.
    3. In the Receive Payments window, move the check mark from the invoice to the reversing journal entry.
    4. Select Save & Close.

Note: This will reduce your bank account by the amount of the bounced check. The invoice where the bounced check came from will be marked unpaid.
User-added image

  1. (Optional) Resend open invoice
    1. Go to the invoice where the bounced check originated.
    2. Add the item Bad Check Charge (created in step 1).  Note: You can skip this step if there weren’t any additional charges from the bank or if you don’t want to charge your customer for it.
    3. Select the Email icon on the Main ribbon tab, then choose Send.

QuickBooks Desktop for Mac

Note: You can only use the Bounced Check feature if the customer payment is a check you already entered in QuickBooks, and isn’t deposited to the Undeposited Funds account.

  1. Go to the Customers menu, then select Receive Payment.
  2. Find and open the check, then select Bounced Check.
  3. Complete the info needed. Take note that for bank fees, QuickBooks creates a bank service charge expense account if you don’t have one.
  4. Select Next. You’ll see a brief explanation of what happens with the invoice, check, and bank fees.
  5. Select Record. The invoice is now unpaid and outstanding. It also includes a Bounced Check Charge for your customer. If you don’t have one, QuickBooks creates a Returned Check Charges income account for the charge.

The importance of recording a bounce check in QuickBooks

When a check is cashed, the balance shown in QuickBooks Online is overestimated since the cashed check is shown as a deposit. It is important that you adjust your QuickBooks bank balance immediately so that the correct amount is displayed. You will also need to provide evidence that the customer still owes you the original invoice and the fees you charge for returned checks.

Registering a check is complicated and involves several steps. There are several ways to register a cashed check. However, we’re going to present what we think is the most efficient way to do it, while still maintaining a paper route and making reconciling your QuickBooks banking activities as easy as possible.

How to avoid Bounce Checks

Consumers can reduce the number of checks they write by keeping track of their balance, using a unique system in which every debit and deposit is instantly recorded in a check register, or by closely monitoring their checking accounts using online banking. .

Consumers can also top up a savings account and link it to their checking account to cover overdrafts. Alternatively, consumers can write fewer checks or use cash, debit cards, instant online payments like mobile wallets, PayPal, or the like for discretionary spending.

Bounced Check Laws

Writing a bad check can result in significant criminal penalties. To avoid these consequences, it is important to know that writing a bounce check has some legal actions and countermeasures you may take.

Type of crime

Bad check writing occurs when a person intentionally writes a check for an amount they know is not available in the bank account for which the check was written. In some cases, a check must be written to an account that is already closed. In other cases, you will need to write a check for an amount greater than the balance in that account, deposit the check in another account, and withdraw the funds before the check can be cashed.

In some cases, a person will write a check for money that is not available but believes that a future deposit that will be made in a few days will be able to cover it.

Many states will not make it a crime or fire someone if the check is paid within a few days, usually ten, after your bank notifies you of insufficient funds. However, people who use this process can put themselves in a precarious situation if they forget to make the deposit or ignore a communication received from the bank.

Many states have vague definitions of the element of knowing that the account has run out of funds. The law assumes that a person is acting as a reasonable person, verifying statements and actively knowing how much is in an account. As a result, in many states, a person does not need to know the exact amount in his account for the government to show that the defendant “knew” that he had written a bad check.

Criminal penalties

The severity of the conviction for this crime depends on how the crime is defined in state law. In some cases, this can have civil and criminal implications. In other cases there can only be civil penalties. In New York, a person could face a prison sentence of up to three months and a fine of up to $ 750 based on the face value of the check.

In California, a person can stay in prison for up to one year if they are found guilty of the crime. In Texas, penalties are particularly harsh when it is considered a criminal offense to write a bad check. A person can face from 180 days to two years in state prison and be fined up to $ 10,000.

Some states have triple or triple damages, so a person must pay three times the face value of the check, subject to certain minimum or maximum payments.

Civil liability

In addition to the possible criminal consequences, a person can also be punished under civil law. The bank or the person who received the bad check can sue in civil court. The defendant may be asked to pay the verdict, which may include court costs and legal fees.

Fines

Check cashers may have to pay a hefty fee. Many banks charge between $ 25 and $ 35 for checks. This fee is applied to each cashed check. Banks generally have the ability to process transactions in a specific order as long as they follow the procedures set out in their customer agreement.

This means that they can process all charges before the credits arrive the same day. Even if a person makes a deposit, there may be an additional fee for each transaction that the bank clears before the deposit is processed. This may not be enough to bring the account back to black, given all the additional fees.

Other consequences

If a person repeatedly cashes checks, the bank may decide to close the account. This can create roadblocks and challenges when paying public benefits on that check or automatically paying a person’s salary.

Some companies report patterns for writing checks and share this information with banks and retailers. Therefore, a retailer may refuse to accept a check from someone who has not even cashed a check with that particular company. This can also result in future accounts being rejected. An individual’s credit report may show signs of a bad check letter if the check is being cashed.

A person can maintain a criminal record based on these allegations that he can follow for the rest of her life. Also, you may be denied a certain job due to a crime or poor creditworthiness.

People accused of writing checks can go to a criminal defense attorney to explain to him and her the rights of the defendant and the charges against him. An attorney can help formulate a defense based on the particular circumstances of the case and pursue reduced or dismissed charges.

Bounced check recovery

According to the Brown & Joseph law firm, if the bank says they received a check, call the client. If you are not a regular customer, please use the phone number on the check, if available. Tell them the check has cleared and ask if they can return it with a money order, cash, or credit card over the phone. You can also ask them to pay the check fees that the bank added.

You should also check with the bank, Groupon recommends. Perhaps the bank made a mistake or you deposited the check before the customer deposited the money. Do not try to resend it unless you are sure the money is there or the bank can charge you another check fee.

It is also a good idea to call your attorney and see what laws apply in your state. For example, the California attorney general’s website states that you must send a “request letter” by certified mail to the check writer in that state before you can take legal action. State bad check laws also dictate how much you can collect if you go to court and win. In many states, it is three times the amount of the check.

If the customer refuses to pay or cannot be found, you need to go one step further. You have several options.

  • Contact the prosecutor. Some states have a bad check refund program where the DA office has someone contact the writer of the check and ask them to pay. A letter on official government letterhead may be enough to get someone to spit money out.
  • Work through a debt collection agency. Even if the client is targeting you, debt collection agencies have the resources and skills to find people. However, you have to pay for the service.
  • Use a check recovery service. These organizations monitor the account and reinsert the check as soon as there are sufficient funds.
  • Take your client to court when he refuses to figure things out. Depending on the size of the check, you may be able to go to small claims court where you do not need and cannot hire an attorney. Even if the writer wasn’t willing to scam you, you can get paid if he doesn’t pay.
  • It is important to keep all documents in the case until they are resolved. Keep the check, a copy of the certified letter you sent, the bank statement showing the charges for the checks, and other relevant documents.

Bounced Check Letter Sample

bounce-check-letter
Source: ezlandlordforms.com

We Also Recommend:

1 Shares:
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like
corporate finance jobs, corporate finance pdf
Read More

CORPORATE FINANCE: The Complete Guide (+ free courses)

Table of Contents Hide What is Corporate FinanceUnderstanding Corporate FinanceTypes of Corporate FinanceCapital InvestmentsCapital Investment                                                                                                              Short-Term LiquidityImportance of…