第 504 节、ADA 和公立学校

第 504 节、ADA 和公立学校
图片来源:lowa Compass

第 504 节、ADA 和公立学校是三项不同的立法,它们的共同主题是为残疾学生服务。 这些法律中的每一项都有自己的一套标准来确定什么是残疾以及它如何影响一个人参与教育环境的能力。 虽然公立学校环境是残疾学生参与的典型环境,但应该如何进行以及教育工作者需要进行哪些调整和修改仍然是争论的问题。 第 504 节是一项宽泛的法规,它使残障人士免于在联邦资助的计划和活动中受到歧视。 ADA 通过创建一系列公共实体在提供服务和访问时必须遵循的准则来帮助确保这些权利。

第504 是一项联邦民权法,禁止残疾人在接受联邦财政援助的计划或活动中受到歧视。 这意味着公立学校和接受联邦资助的学校受 504 条款的影响最大。

什么是504部分?

第 504 节是一项联邦民权法,禁止残障人士在接受联邦财政援助的计划或活动中受到歧视。 这意味着公立学校和接受联邦资助的学校受第 504 节的影响最大。第 504 节措辞宽泛,并在如何实施其规定方面赋予教育实体广泛的自由裁量权。 具体而言,第 504 节禁止在联邦财政援助的接受者开展的任何计划或活动中歧视残疾人,前提是该计划或活动与接受者执行某些联邦指导职能的义务直接相关。

什么是 ADA?

ADA 是一项联邦民权法,要求公共实体以及州和地方政府机构确保残疾人在就业、州和地方服务和交通方面享有平等机会。 此外,ADA 禁止在所有公共场所(例如旅馆、医生办公室和学校)歧视残疾人。 公共场所一词被广泛定义为包括“对公共场所具有实际或推定控制权”的所有实体。 这包括租赁公共财产的私人实体。” 最后,ADA 还要求电信服务、电话公司和公共交通必须为残障人士提供他们的服务和项目。

第 504 节和 ADA 服务和保护的资格:

第 504 节保护参加联邦资助计划或活动的残障人士免受歧视,前提是他们正在接受康复计划、接受职业康复服务并受雇于或参与教育或课外活动。 一般规则是,所有根据 IDEA 接受援助的学生都必须受到第 504 条的保护,并且不能受到 歧视. 这包括通过私立、地方、州或联邦机构在校外接受部分指导和/或服务的学生。 对于参加住院治疗设施和日间课程的学生来说也是如此。

ADA 还保护患有严重限制主要生活活动的残障人士免遭歧视。 这些残疾,就其性质而言,必须是永久性的,因为它们“无限期地持续到死亡”并且“不是暂时的或缓解的”。 例子包括瘫痪且自事故发生后无法行走的人,或盲人因此看不见的人。 这些人无论年龄大小都可以申请 ADA 保护。

IDEA 对残疾的定义:

IDEA 法规对“残疾”一词的定义如下:“就 B 部分而言,残疾是精神或身体损伤的一种状况,无论是先天性还是因意外或受伤而获得,导致一项或多项主要生活活动受损。 该定义还包括有此类损伤记录的人和被视为具有此类损伤的个人。” 术语主要生活活动是指对日常生活和独立生活都很重要的功能。

第 504 节和 ADA 对残疾的定义:

与 IDEA 下的残疾定义类似,第 504 节和 ADA 将损伤定义为“严重限制一项或多项主要生活活动的身体或精神障碍”。 此外,第 504 节和 ADA 禁止在接受联邦财政援助的计划或活动中歧视残疾人。

根据第 504 条和 ADA,“实质性限制”是指“实质性损害”主要生活活动的损害。 确定损伤是否严重限制了主要生活活动涉及两个步骤:首先,必须确定个人是否存在身体或精神损伤; 其次,必须确定损伤是否导致个人难以进行一项或多项主要生活活动。

PaaS

简而言之,第 504 节和 ADA 是联邦民权法,禁止在接受培训的项目或活动中歧视残疾人 联邦财政援助. 根据 ADA 或第 504 条,一旦发现某人有残障,他们将与处于类似情况下的所有其他人一样获得平等的计划、服务和活动机会。 这意味着程序必须符合 ADA 和第 504 节以确保平等访问。

发表评论

您的电邮地址不会被公开。 必填带 *

你也许也喜欢

Section 504, the ADA, and Public Schools

Section 504, the ADA, and Public Schools
Photo Credit: lowa Compass

Section 504, the ADA, and public schools are three different pieces of legislation that have as their common theme serving students with disabilities. Each of these laws has its own set of criteria for what constitutes a disability and how it may affect one’s ability to participate in educational settings. While the public school setting is the paradigmatic environment in which students with disabilities are expected to participate, how this should be done and what accommodations and modifications are necessary on the part of educators remain issues of contention. Section 504 is a broad statute that exempts individuals with disabilities from discrimination in federally-funded programs and activities. The ADA helps to ensure these rights by creating a series of guidelines that must be followed by public entities when providing services and access.

Section 504 is a federal civil rights law that prohibits individuals with disabilities from being discriminated against in programs or activities receiving federal financial assistance. This means that public schools and schools that receive federal funding are the most affected by Section 504.

What is Section 504?

Section 504 is a federal civil rights law that prohibits individuals with disabilities from being discriminated against in programs or activities receiving federal financial assistance. This means that public schools and schools that receive federal funding are the most affected by Section 504. Section 504 is broadly worded and gives broad discretion to educational entities regarding how to implement its provisions. Specifically, Section 504 prohibits discrimination against persons with disabilities in any program or activity conducted by a recipient of federal financial assistance if that program or activity is directly related to the recipient’s obligation to carry out some federally-directed function.

What is the ADA?

The ADA is a federal civil rights law that requires public entities and state and local government agencies to ensure equal opportunity for persons with disabilities in employment, state, and local services and transportation. In addition, the ADA prohibits discrimination against people with disabilities in all public accommodations, such as hotels, physicians’ offices, and schools. The term public accommodation is defined broadly to include all entities with “actual or constructive control over a place of public accommodation. This includes private entities that lease public property.” Finally, the ADA also requires that telecommunications services, telephone companies, and public transportation must provide individuals with disabilities access to their services and programs.

Eligibility for Section 504 and ADA Services and Protection:

Section 504 provides protection from discrimination to individuals with disabilities who participate in federally-funded programs or activities if they are in a rehabilitation program, received vocational rehabilitation services, and are employed by or participate in an educational or extracurricular activity. The general rule is that all students receiving assistance under IDEA must be protected under Section 504 and can not be subjected to discrimination. This includes students who receive some of their instruction and/or services outside of school through private, local, state, or federal agencies. This is also true for students attending programs that are part of residential treatment facilities as well as day programs.

The ADA also provides protection from discrimination to individuals who have a disability that substantially limits a major life activity. These disabilities must, by their nature, be permanent in that they “continue indefinitely until death” and are “not transitory or remitting.” Examples include a person who is paralyzed and has not been able to walk since the accident or a person who is blind and who, therefore, cannot see. These individuals can claim ADA protection regardless of age.

The Definition of Disability Under the IDEA:

IDEA regulations define the term “disability” as follows: “For purposes of Part B, a disability is a condition of mental or physical impairment, whether congenital or acquired by accident or injury, which results in impairment in one or more major life activities. This definition also includes persons who have a record of such an impairment and individuals who are regarded as having such an impairment.” The term major life activities refer to functions that are of importance both to daily life and to independent living.

The Definition of Disability Under Section 504 and the ADA:

Similar to the definition of disability under the IDEA, Section 504 and the ADA define impairment as “a physical or mental impairment that substantially limits one or more major life activities.” In addition, Section 504 and the ADA prohibit discrimination against individuals with disabilities in programs or activities that receive federal financial assistance.

Under Section 504 and the ADA, “substantially limits” means an impairment that “substantially impairs” major life activities. The determination of whether an impairment substantially limits major life activities involves a two-step process: First, a finding must be made as to whether the individual has a physical or mental impairment; and second, it must be determined if the impairment causes the individual to have difficulty in performing one or more major life activities.

Conclusion:

In short, Section 504 and the ADA are federal civil rights laws that prohibit discrimination against individuals with disabilities in programs or activities receiving federal financial assistance. Once an individual is found to have a disability under the ADA or Section 504, they will receive equal access to programs, services, and activities as all other individuals in similar circumstances. This means that programs must be compliant with the ADA and Section 504 to ensure equal access.

0 Shares:
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You May Also Like