先发战略——如何受益 [案例研究]

先发战略

简单来说,先行者战略意味着成为第一个开始、创新或引入业务的人,或者仅仅是第一个进入市场的人。 虽然没有新的想法,但是有新的方法来实现旧的想法,它变成了一个新的业务。 雅虎邮件一直是一个电子消息、搜索和新闻平台,直到谷歌以其创新理念进入市场,即单个电子邮件帐户不仅仅是邮件目的,而是成为通往数十种其他产品的门户。 一个账号,多重福利。 他们在旧的基础上进行了创新和发明。

这与 快速追随者策略 这意味着将没有创新变化的东西准确地复制到另一个从未有过的地方。 这是中国商业成功的唯一战略。 毕竟,如果你不能创新,那就从创新者那里拿走、模仿、降价。 有时,对于快速追随者来说,价格是他们唯一的竞争武器。 你制作 YouTube,他们制作土豆,你制作 WhatsApp,他们复制来制作微信。 企业可以通过跟随而成功,但您必须快速跟随并拥有足够的现金和工具来执行。 对于中国来说,它的人口使其复制模型为市场做好了准备。

另请参阅: 快速追随者战略:中国人如何建立巨型企业

应用先行者策略可能是一种优势,尤其是在竞争者开始发展之前的初始阶段。 先发战略有利也有弊,但只要企业不断引领创新,当然可以采取某些战略,使进入市场几乎不可能或至少困难重重,它可能是最好的。

先发战略的缺点

有很多先行者战略业务已经倒闭。 黑莓是智能手机的领导者,现在无处可寻。 成为先行者不是一个到达的位置,而是对卓越的持续追求。

诺基亚曾是手机之王,但由于未能引领智能手机时代而失去了这一地位。 企业确实有起有落,但远见应该是非常重要的。

以下是先发战略的缺点

1. 你设定节奏

如果你成功了,你就会引领别人效仿,你失败了,你会成为别人的教训,让其他企业重新制定策略,更好地利用你作为成功的跳板。

2.你打破市场壁垒

让我们以尼日利亚企业 Gokada 为例,该企业是一家骑手预订企业。 您从您的应用程序预订,并让骑自行车的人在您选择的目的地的任何地方接您。 他们发现了市场,面对了挑战,克服了阻力,在打破了信任问题的障碍后被人们所接受。

然后,Opera 的乘车预订业务 Oride 加入进来,为自行车车主提供更高的报酬,为公众大幅降低价格,并提供激励措施,让 Gokada 无法再竞争,因为它已成为一场价格战。 Gokada 无法与一家从中国投资者那里获得超过 150 亿美元资金的公司与 Gokada 的 10 万美元资金竞争。 Oride 受益于穷人 Gokada 的创新想法,他没有华丽的预算来进行价格战。

3.你成为可行性研究

先动者策略有这个缺点,一旦有人在市场空间中取得成功,市场几乎被验证为可行。 事实上,竞争的存在是业务可行的标志,只需找到一个独特的价值主张并开始你的。 先行者阻止这种情况的方法之一是使进入市场变得非常困难或几乎不可能。

这种先行者策略真的有好处吗?

是的当然! 让我们来看看一些美国企业,如苹果、亚马逊、谷歌、微软、Adobe、思科等。 美国在商业创新方面一直处于领先地位,其他企业无法追赶,只能尝试复制。

想象一下第一个鼓起勇气修建铁路的人? 他做了所有的铁路,介绍了业务,并开始运营,甚至在竞争对手出现后,他垄断了业务足够长的时间,成为他那个时代的最富有的人。那是安德鲁卡内基。

这是先行者的好处

1、抢占市场先机

在其他企业甚至没有想到进入市场之前,你就可以享受市场利润并长期垄断。 这是彼得泰尔在他的书中指出的观点之一 零到一。

2.市场主导地位

当事情做对了,加上无情的竞争策略,就能主宰市场。 想到可口可乐,他们从第一天就开始考虑市场主导地位。 有时你会听到企业宣传 5% 甚至 1% 的市场份额。 你听说美国有 91 名穿冬鞋的女性,如果我们能赢得这个数字的 10%,我们每年将赚取 491 亿美元。

那不是可口可乐。 他们的愿景是让每个家庭每天都能饮用这种饮料,尽管他们因生产糖和碳酸水而受到批评,但他们仍然是市场领导者。 他们的秘密之一就是强大的品牌!

3、更大的市场份额

这个市场份额可能不会持久,但你一定会喜欢它一段时间,如果你学会了如何统治,你会更喜欢它。 亨利福特创新并迈向成为第一个为普通人生产汽车的人。 市场份额和利润份额如此之大,令投资者满意,在原油高峰期快速上涨的情况下,他成为了地球上的首富。

在竞争对手想进来之前,你必须已经获得了除非他们运行免费增值策略,否则几乎无法渗透的市场忠诚度。

作为先行者需要做什么

1. 远见与创新

亨利福特发表声明,如果我问人们他们想要什么,他们会说一匹更快的马! 有时人们不知道他们想要什么,所以你必须为他们引领市场。 先发战略需要先发思维和快速行动执行

2.差异化

Apple 的口号一直是“Think different”,这在他们的产品设计中随处可见。 一流的设计,强大的技术创新和超越市场的优质产品。

3. 主导地位

谷歌接管了互联网领域,成为了互联网的百科全书。 建立一个社区,成为一棵容纳所有技术之鸟的树。 想要为您的业务应用程序提供地图,您依赖 Google。 想要在您的互联网平台上进行某种形式的数据分析? 谷歌给你一个,想要大量的移动应用程序? 谷歌有一个平台,拥有中国企业在中美贸易战之前大部分依赖谷歌平台的开源安卓操作系统。

你不能竞争,你只能竞争。 这是先发策略中最重要的因素之一,主宰还是被主宰!

1股
1评论
发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被公开。 必填 *

你也许也喜欢

First mover strategy – How to benefit [Case study]

first mover strategy

First Mover strategy in simple terms simply means being the first to start, Innovate or introduce a business or simply being the first to enter the market. Although there is no new idea, there are new ways to implement old ideas that it becomes a new business. Yahoo mail has been an electronic messaging, search and news platform until Google came into the market with their innovative idea whereby a single email account serves more than a mailing purpose to becoming a gateway to tens of other products. One account, multiple benefits. They innovated and invented added to the old.

This when compared to fast follower strategy which means to copy exactly what has been with no innovative change to another place it has never been. Which is the single strategy for Chinese success in business. After all, if you can’t innovate, take from the innovators, imitate and cut prices. For the fast follower sometimes, price is their only competitive weapon. You make YouTube, they make Tudou, you make WhatsApp they copy to produce Wechat. A business can succeed by following but you must follow fast and have enough cash and tools to execute. For China, its population makes its copied model market-ready.

Read Also: Fast follower strategy: How the Chinese are building giant businesses

Applying the first mover strategy can be an advantage especially on the initial stage until competitors start evolving. The first-mover strategy has its pros and cons but can be the best as long a business keeps leading innovation and of course taking certain strategies to make market entrance almost impossible or at least difficult.

CONS of first mover strategy

There are a lot of first mover strategy businesses that have gone out of business. Blackberry was the smartphone leader and now is nowhere to be found. Becoming a first-mover isn’t an arrival position, it’s a continuous pursuit of excellence.

Nokia was the king of phone but lost that position as they failed to lead the smartphone era. It’s true that businesses rise and fall but foresight should be of great importance every first-mover business which Nokia failed in and failed so fast not to even follow up.

Here are the cons of first mover strategy

1. You set the pace

If you succeed you lead the path for others to copy, you fail, you become a lesson for others on what not to do so other Businesses restrategize and come out better using you as a springboard to success.

2. You break the market barriers

Let’s take an example from a Nigeria business, Gokada, a rider booking business. You book from your app and have a bike rider come pick you anywhere you are to your chosen destination. They discovered the market, faced the challenges, pulled off the resistance and got accepted by people after the breaking the barrier of trust issues.

Then Oride, opera’s ride-booking business came on board, offered better pay to bike owners, slashed the price for the public, gave incentives that Gokada can no longer compete as it has become a price war. Gokada couldn’t compete with a company that had over 150million USD in funding from Chinese investors against Gokada’s 10million USD funding. Oride benefitted on the innovative idea of poor Gokada who had no flamboyant budget to take on a price war.

3. You become a feasibility study

The first mover strategy has this con, once someone is succeeding in a market space, the market is almost validated to be feasible. In fact, the presence of competition is a sign that business is feasible, just find a unique value proposition and start yours. One of the ways a first mover can block this is to make an entrance into the market very difficult or almost impossible.

Are there really benefits to this first mover strategy?

Yes of course! Let’s take a look at some American businesses like Apple, Amazon, Google, Microsoft, Adobe, Cisco and many others. America has always taken the lead in business innovation that other business can’t catch up with but can only try to copy.

Imagine the first man who took the courage to construct railways? He did all the railways, introduced the business and started operations that he became the richest man of his time by monopolizing the business even long enough after competitors set in. That was Andrew Carnegie.

Here are the benefits for a first-mover

1. First to reap the market benefit

You will get to enjoy the market profits and monopolize for long before other businesses even think of penetrating the market. This is one of the points pointed by Peter Thiel in his book Zero to One.

2. Market dominance

When things are done right with ruthless competitive strategy, can dominate the market. Thinking of coca-cola, they started thinking about market dominance from day one. Sometimes you hear businesses pitch 5% market share or even 1% market share. You hear pitch like there are 91milloin women in America who wear winter shoes if we can win 10% of this number we will earn 491million USD yearly.

That wasn’t coca-cola. Their vision was for the drink to be consumed in every family every day and despite the criticisms on them for producing sugar and carbonated water they are still the market leader. One of their secrets has been strong branding!

3. Larger market share

This market share might not last but you will surely enjoy it for some time, if you learn how to dominate, you will enjoy it the more. Henry Ford innovating and making the move to be the first to produce cars for the common man. The market share and profits share was so large that he satisfied investors yet became the richest man on earth despite crude oil’s fast-rising at its peak.

Before competitors think of coming in, you must have gained the market loyalty that hardly can penetrate except they run the freemium strategy.

What it takes to execute as a first-mover

1. Foresight and innovation

Henry Ford made a statement, if I have asked people what they wanted, they would have said a faster horse! Sometimes people don’t know what they want so you have to lead the market for them. First mover strategy demand first-mover thinking with fast action to execute

2. Differentiation

Apple’s mantra has always been “Think different” and it can be seen all over their product designs. Top-notch designs with strong tech innovation and premium offer that beats the market.

3. Dominance

Google took over the internet space and became the encyclopedia of the internet. Building a community to become a tree that houses all the birds of technology. Want a map for your business app, you depend on Google. Want a form of data analytics on your internet platform? Google gives you one, want loads of mobile apps? Google has a platform and owns the open source android operating system that the Chinese businesses depending on the majority of the google platform until the china America trade war.

You can’t afford to compete, you can only compete. This is one of the most important factors in the first mover strategy, dominate or be dominated!