工作场所的尊重:展示它的最佳方式及其重要性

工作场所的例子、标志、重要性和缺乏尊重。
图片来源:Traliant

健康的工作场所需要尊重作为基本要素。 超过一半的员工觉得他们缺乏工作场所高级管理人员的尊重。 尊重在工作场所的重要性怎么强调都不为过,因为它创造了良好的氛围并产生了良好的生产成果。 本文将讨论工作场所尊重的例子和标志。

什么是工作场所的尊重?

尊重是当你因为某人的属性或性格特征而善待某人时产生的一种感觉,但它也可能是对工作场所其他人的尊重的标志。 它还首先要承认与您一起工作的每个人在工作之外都有感情和个人生活。

然而,尊重不应该只对上级表现出来。 公司中的每个人都可以而且应该为他人着想。 在工作中尊重他人既简单又有效,无论是定期向同事道早安,还是在办公室厨房收拾自己的东西。

工作场所尊重的例子

员工和高级管理人员在工作场所始终表现出尊重是非常重要的。 了解工作场所尊重的价值是一回事; 在工作中表现出尊重是另一回事。 展示一个概念的最有效方式有时是通过示例。 因此,请确保您的行为符合以下商业沟通和工作场所的尊重示例。

#1。 对批评持开放态度

工作场所尊重的例子之一是向批评者开放。 当人们向您提供建设性批评时,将建设性批评视为改进工作的机会。 张开双臂接受批评,不要愤怒或防御。

#2。 道歉

为自己的错误承担责任并制定纠正措施计划。 道歉需要勇气(没有正当理由),这样做表明了你对同事和工作的尊重。 这是工作场所谦逊和尊重的主要标志之一。

#3。 注意他人

密切注意其他人在与您交谈或在会议中与您交换意见时所说的话。 想想他们在说什么和他们的意思,然后适当地回答。

#4。 表达感激之情

确保你的上司和同事知道你多么重视他们为帮助你在工作中取得成功所做的一切。 向您的主管发送感谢信。 对顾客的惠顾表示感谢。

#5。 高效参与

确保您的意见在整个会议期间受到尊重和相关。 把你的全部注意力集中在人们身上,不要干涉他们。

#6。 尊重

无论某人在公司内的职位如何,或者您是否直接与他们一起工作,请始终保持友善和体谅他人。 尊重的态度是无法替代的。

工作场所尊重的重要性

种族、性别和宗教不再是唯一的多样性类别。 它还包括性格差异、代际差异和工作方式的差异。 拥抱工作场所的多样性很重要,因为它拓宽了技能基础,让您的团队能够获得新的观点和知识。 简而言之,更多样化的劳动力意味着更有活力的经济,因此您必须强调工作场所尊重的价值以反映这一点。

没有人愿意相信他们被忽视了。 无论您是经理、所有者还是员工,您都希望相信您的意见、情绪和存在受到重视。 允许员工做出粗鲁或侮辱性的行为会导致糟糕的公司文化,并可能增加员工流失率。 以下内容对于工作场所的尊重很重要:

#1。 尊重减轻压力

工作场所工人的健康尤其受到减压的影响。 没有压力的员工更愿意讨论想法并与同事合作以实现目标。 员工的福祉会因尊重的增加和压力的减轻而受到心理和身体的影响。

#2。 员工满意度

员工可以对自己的工作感到满意,并在一天结束时带着成就感离开办公室。 对工作感到满意的员工更有可能申请内部晋升,并以他们曾经重视的同样尊重和考虑对待他们的团队。

#3。 尊重增强协作和生产力

尊重鼓励人们努力工作和创造性地思考,因为他们知道他们的想法会受到赞赏。 这是工作场所尊重的另一个重要性。 这样的工作场所提供了一个相互学习的机会,经理和员工都可以在其中发展自己的职业生涯。

#4。 尊重创造公平环境

无论背景如何,员工都有机会展示自己的能力,这是公司可以提供的最重要的事情之一。 “一个好机会”是一种有效的技巧,对于鼓励工作场所的各种员工相互尊重和参与非常重要。 只要员工有公平的参与机会,他们就可以在适当的环境中茁壮成长。

此外,您会看到更积极的企业文化、更高的员工满意度和更低的人员流动率。 尊重在工作中很重要,但这不仅仅是您员工的责任。

工作中尊重的迹象

作为一名员工,您总是希望看到您的尊重在工作中得到承认的证据。 但是,您可能很难识别出真正表明您受到尊重的迹象。 当工作变得困难时,很容易忽略雇主重视你的迹象。

如果你感到沮丧,不要屈服于情绪,想想所有这些表明你的同事尊重你的迹象。

#1。 渴望教书

一位渴望传授您茁壮成长所需知识的老板是他们尊重您的最佳指标之一。 为了改善您的客户服务,这包括帮助您更好地了解客户。 提高你的核心理解。 这还需要了解公司的运作方式。

#2。 防止事故和骚扰以确保您的安全

没有人会期待受到伤害或被欺负,相互信任是建立在身体和心理安全的基础上的。

此外,保证免受骚扰和敌对工作场所的雇主。 这促进了尊重和信任的气氛。

#3。 支持的 

当雇主提议时,员工会感到受到尊重 毫不动摇 协助。 当然,一家公司不可能执行每一项建议。 然而,当员工提出建议或决定支持某项事业时,他们应该感到受到鼓励。

雇主可以表现出关注、好奇心和敬业度,以便他们的员工在工作中感受到充分的支持。

#4。 健全的职业建议

当你的经理支持你的职业目标时,这是另一个重要的指标,表明你在工作中很受欢迎。 大多数工人渴望职业前景。 因此,当主管与您讨论您的目标以及如何实现这些目标时,您会感到感激。

#5。 协助解决问题

您在工作中受到尊重的最好迹象之一就是您的雇主愿意帮助您解决问题。 许多企业采用在工作中培训人员的策略。 因此,他们能够增加候选人的数量。

员工可以通过这种方式提高他们的技术和组织技能。 此外,这使工人能够理解和管理全天出现的各种情况。

工作场所缺乏尊重

在工作场所,缺乏尊重可能以许多不同的形式出现。 它可能是危险的明确或透明的。 它可能植根于企业文化,甚至植根于几个烂苹果。 您可以通过不当行为引起它,也可以由于他人的过错而经历它。

无论如何,重要的是要在工作场所出现这种明显的不尊重时认识到这一点。 在你制止同事侮辱你之前,你必须首先意识到它正在发生。 以下是工作场所缺乏尊重的一些迹象。

#1。 你被忽视了

这是一种狡猾的不尊重表现。 你的同事似乎相处得很好,但你觉得你的声音没有被听到。 你的推销在会议上被忽略了。 发送到整个办公室的电子邮件未打开。 

至关重要的是,不要自欺欺人,你是否真的需要改变,或者只是在应对不尊重的同事。 如果人们不听你的话,他们就不会认真对待你。

#2。 你的想法被盗了

没有什么比让同事偷走你的辛勤工作或绝妙的想法更令人沮丧的了。 在忙碌的工作场所,这可能偶尔会发生,没有任何恶意。 但是,如果这种情况开始频繁发生,则表明您在工作中受到不尊重。

#3。 你观察 Telltale 肢体语言

与同事交谈时,请注意他们的肢体语言。 不良迹象包括注意力不集中、缺乏眼神交流、冷笑和翻白眼。

#4。 你是八卦的话题

但是,如果您经常成为工作场所八卦的目标,那将是一个问题。 这表明当您的同事讨论您的个人或职业生活时,您没有得到应有的尊重。

#5。 你的权威不断受到质疑或忽视

办公室政治就是这样,在你的职业生涯中,你可能至少要与几个争夺领导权的同事打交道。

但是,如果您的权威不断受到挑战、批评或规避,您无疑应该注意,尤其是当您的敌人与您处于同一级别或在等级制度中处于较低位置时。 这表明你的同事根本不把你当回事。

#6。 你的时间没有得到重视

人们钦佩那些尊重他们并尊重他们时间的人。 避免计划不必要的会议,避免提出您已经可以回答的问题,以及花时间对个人做出回应。

在这种情况下,反之亦然:当你不尊重某人时,你就不会珍惜他们的时间。 不断打断并试图给你额外工作的员工不仅仅是迟钝。 他们在工作场所表现出缺乏尊重,浪费了您宝贵的时间。

如何创建一个更尊重的工作场所 

要处理由于工作场所缺乏尊重而在工作场所发生的负面事件,您需要能够及早指示迹象。 以下是如何营造更加尊重的工作氛围

#1。 以身作则

尊重和体面地对待您的员工不仅符合您作为领导者的最大利益; 你也需要它。 当你和你的团队在一起或公开演讲时,你必须格外小心,因为领导者扮演着更加明显的角色。

每个必须观察它的人很快就会意识到两个领导之间或领导与团队成员之间何时存在敌意或缺乏尊重。 这很尴尬! 此外,它会向团队的其他成员传达不尊重行为是可以接受的。

#2。 迅速制止不尊重行为

人们可能会错误地或故意地互相不尊重,但如果这种情况经常发生,通常是因为没有任何后果。 我坚信应该立即制止不良行为,因为如果你忽视或忽视它,它会迅速腐蚀组织的文化并破坏员工的士气。 如果现在不停止,它将成为一个更大的问题。

#3。 认可尊重的员工

公众承认可以极大地帮助在组织内部建立尊重文化。 这鼓励了同事之间的尊重,并树立了尊重他们在日常互动中遵循的榜样。

#4。 敏感性训练

如果这不足以鼓励工作中的尊重,总是有敏感性培训可用。 此外,它不一定是最后的手段。 在您的员工入职流程中包含一个简短的敏感性培训计划将帮助新员工立即了解对他们的期望。

总结  

工作场所的尊重不仅仅是给予一个概念应有的尊重,就像公司的原则一样。 它涉及使该概念成为每个员工常规行动的一部分。

尊重工作场所常见问题解答

如果工作场所没有尊重,会发生什么?

在最坏的情况下,工作场所的不尊重会导致侮辱甚至肢体冲突。

你在多大程度上表现出对员工的尊重?

  • 看到好的
  • 奖励结果
  • 鼓励努力。
  • 征求员工意见

你如何促进尊重?

  • 倾听并在场。
  • 认可并感谢他人。
  • 以同情纠正错误。
  • 根据什么是正确的而不是你喜欢谁来做出判断。

类似的帖子

  1. 商业道德:定义、示例和好处
  2. 营销导论:定义、概念、原则、类型
  3. 组织伦理:如何设计组织伦理和行为
  4. 理想的工作环境:2022 年要点、示例和特征
0股
发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被公开。

你也许也喜欢

RESPECT IN THE WORKPLACE: Best Ways to Demonstrate It & The Importance

Examples, Signs, Importance and lack of Respect at work place.
image source: Traliant

A healthy workplace requires respect as a fundamental element. More than half of workers feel like they lack respect from the senior management at their workplace. The importance of respect in the workplace cannot be overemphasized because it creates a good atmosphere and generates a good productive outcome. Examples and signs of respect in the workplace will be discussed in this piece.

What Is Respect in the Workplace?

Respect is a feeling that you get when you treat someone well because of their attributes or character traits, but it may also be a sign of respect for other people in the workplace. It also begins with acknowledging that everyone you work with has feelings and personal life outside of work.

Respect should not, however, only be shown to superiors. Everyone in the company may and ought to show consideration for others. Respecting others at work is simple and effective, whether it is by regularly saying good morning to your coworkers or by tidying up after yourself in the office kitchen.

Examples of Respect in the Workplace

It is of great importance that employees and senior management show respect in the workplace at all times. Understanding the value of respect in the workplace is one thing; showing respect at work is quite another. The most effective way to demonstrate a concept is sometimes through examples. Therefore, make sure your behaviors are in line with the following examples of respect in business communication and the workplace.

#1. Be Open to Critics

One of the examples of respect in the workplace is being open to critics. Consider constructive criticism as a chance to improve your work when people provide it to you. Accept criticism with open arms, and do not react angrily or defensively.

#2. Apologize

Accept responsibility for your mistakes and develop a plan for corrective action. It takes guts to apologize (without justification), and doing so demonstrates your respect for your coworkers and your job. This is one of the major signs of humility and respect in the workplace.

#3. Pay Attention to Others

Pay close attention to what other people are saying when they are speaking with you or exchanging ideas with you in meetings. Think about what they are saying and what they mean, and then answer appropriately.

#4. Express Gratitude

Make sure your superiors and coworkers know how much you value everything they do to help you succeed at work. Send your supervisor a thank-you note. Express your appreciation to customers for their patronage.

#5. Engage Productively

Make sure your opinions are respectful and relevant throughout meetings. Give people your entire attention and refrain from interfering with them.

#6. Be Respectful

Regardless of someone’s position within the company or whether you work directly with them, always be kind and considerate of others. A respectful attitude cannot be replaced.

The Importance of Respect in the Workplace

Race, gender, and religion are no longer the only categories of diversity. It also includes differences in personalities, generational differences, and working styles. It’s important to embrace workplace diversity since it broadens the skill base and gives your team access to fresh viewpoints and knowledge. Simply put, a more diverse workforce implies a more vibrant economy, so you must emphasize the value of respect in the workplace to reflect this.

Nobody wants to believe that they are being ignored. You want to believe that your opinions, sentiments, and presence are valued, whether you’re a manager, owner, or employee. Allowing rude or insulting behavior from your staff will lead to a bad company culture and probably increase employee turnover. The following are of importance for respect in the workplace:

#1. Respect Lessens Stress

The health of workers at the workplace is particularly impacted by stress reduction. Employees who are not stressed out are more comfortable discussing ideas and collaborating with coworkers to accomplish goals. The well-being of workers is impacted both mentally and physically by increased respect and decreased stress.

#2. Employee Contentment

Employees can feel content with their work and leave the office at the end of the day with a sense of accomplishment. Employees who are happy with their jobs are more likely to apply for internal promotions and to treat their teams with the same respect and consideration that they once valued.

#3. Respect Enhances Collaboration and Productivity

Respect encourages people to work hard and think creatively because they know their ideas will be appreciated. This is another importance of respect at the workplace. Such workplaces provide an opportunity for learning from one another, where managers and employees may both advance their careers.

#4. Respect Creates a Fair Environment

The chance for employees to demonstrate their abilities, regardless of background, is one of the most important things a company can provide. “A Good Chance” is an effective technique and of great importance for encouraging respect and participation among various employees in the workplace. Employees can thrive in the proper setting provided they are given a fair opportunity to participate.

Additionally, you’ll see a more positive corporate culture, higher employee satisfaction, and lower turnover. Respect is important at work, but it is not just your employees’ responsibility.

Signs of Respect at Work

As an employee, you constantly want to see evidence that your respect is acknowledged at work. It could be difficult for you to recognize the indications that truly show how much you are respected, though. It is simple to ignore the indications that your employer values you when work becomes difficult.

If you are feeling discouraged, instead of giving in to the emotion, think about all of these indications that your coworkers respect you.

#1. Eager to Teach

A boss who is eager to impart the knowledge you need to thrive is one of the best indicators that they respect you. In order to improve your customer service, this includes assisting you in bettering your understanding of the customer. Improve your core understanding. This also entails knowing how the firm runs.

#2. Prevent Accidents and Harassment to Keep You Safe

Nobody goes to work expecting to be harmed or bullied, and mutual trust is based on both physical and psychological safety.

Additionally, an employer who guarantees defense against harassment and a hostile workplace. This fosters a climate of respect and trust.

#3. Supportive 

Employees feel respected when their employer offers unwavering assistance. Of course, a company cannot implement every recommendation. However, when employees offer suggestions or decide to champion a cause, they should feel encouraged to do so.

Employers can show attention, curiosity, and engagement so that their staff members feel fully supported at work.

#4. Sound Career Advice

When your manager supports you in your career goals, this is another crucial indicator that you are well-liked at work. The majority of workers desire career prospects. Consequently, you feel appreciated when supervisors discuss your goals and how to attain them with you.

#5. Assistance With Problem-Solving

One of the best indications that you are respected at work is when your employer offers to help you solve problems. Many businesses adopt the strategy of training people on the job. Because of this, they are able to increase the number of candidates.

Employees can improve their technical and organizational skills through this. Additionally, this equips workers to understand and manage a variety of situations that arise throughout the day.

Lack of Respect in the Workplace

In the workplace, a lack of respect can appear in many different forms. It might be dangerously explicit or transparent. It may have its roots in corporate culture or even in a few rotten apples. You can either cause it by acting improperly or you can experience it as a result of someone else’s fault.

No matter what, it’s important to recognize this obvious lack of respect in the workplace when it appears. Before you can put a stop to coworkers insulting you, you must first realize that it is happening. Here are some signs of a lack of respect in the workplace.

#1. You’re Disregarded

This is a crafty display of disrespect. Your coworkers appear to be getting along just fine, but you feel that your voice isn’t being heard. Your sales pitches are ignored at meetings. Emails sent to the whole office go unopened. 

It’s crucial to not deceive yourself about whether you genuinely need to change or are simply coping with disrespectful coworkers. People don’t take you seriously if they don’t listen to you.

#2. Your Ideas Are Stolen

Nothing is more upsetting than having a coworker steal your hard work or brilliant idea. In a hectic workplace, this might occasionally occur without any malevolent undertones. However, if this starts to happen frequently, it’s a telltale sign that you’re being disrespected at work.

#3. You Observe Telltale Body Language

When speaking with your coworkers, be aware of their body language. Bad signs include inattentive conduct, lack of eye contact, sneering, and eye-rolling.

#4. You’re the Topic of Gossip

It is a problem, though, if you are routinely the target of workplace gossip. It’s an indication that you’re not getting the respect you deserve when your coworkers discuss either your personal or professional life.

#5. Your Authority Is Continuously Questioned or Ignored

Office politics being what they are, you’ll likely have to deal with at least a few coworkers vying for leadership during your career.

However, if your authority is consistently being challenged, criticized, or circumvented, you should undoubtedly pay attention, particularly if your enemies are on the same level as you or are in a lower position in the hierarchy. That indicates that your coworkers don’t take you at all seriously.

#6. Your Time Is Not Appreciated

People admire those who respect them and respect their time. Avoid planning unnecessary meetings, asking questions you can already answer, and taking an eternity to respond to individuals.

In this instance, the converse is also true: you don’t value someone’s time when you don’t respect them. It’s not only obtuseness on the part of that employee who keeps interrupting and trying to give you their additional work. They show a lack of respect in the workplace and are a waste of your valuable time.

How to Create a More Respectful Workplace 

To deal with the negative occurrences in the workplace as a result of lack of respect in the workplace, you need to be able to dictate the signs early enough. Here is what to do create a more respectful work atmosphere

#1. Lead by Example

Treating your staff with respect and decency is not only in your best interests as leaders; it is also required of you. You must take the utmost care while you’re with your team or speaking publicly because leaders play a much more visible role.

Everyone who has to observe it soon realizes when there is animosity or a lack of respect between two leaders or between a leader and a team member. That is awkward! Furthermore, it communicates to the remainder of the team that disrespectful behavior is accepted.

#2. Quickly Put an End to Disrespectful Conduct

People might be disrespectful to one another mistakenly or on purpose, but if it happens frequently, it’s usually because there are no repercussions. I firmly believe that poor behavior should be stopped right away because, if you ignore it or brush it off, it can swiftly corrode an organization’s culture and undermine employee morale. It will become a greater issue down the road if it isn’t stopped now.

#3. Recognize Respectful Staff

Building a culture of respect inside your organization can be greatly assisted by public acknowledgment. This encourages respect among coworkers and sets an example of respect for them to follow in their regular interactions.

#4. Sensitivity Training

There is always sensitivity training available if that isn’t sufficient to encourage respect at work. Additionally, it doesn’t have to be a final resort. Including a brief sensitivity training program in your employee onboarding process will help new hires understand what is expected of them right away.

Conclusion 

Respect in the workplace is more than just giving a concept due regard, much like a company’s principles. It involves making that concept a part of every employee’s regular actions.

Respect in the Workplace FAQs

What happens when there is no respect in the workplace?

Workplace disrespect can lead to insults and even physical fights in the worst circumstances.

To what extent do you show your employees respect?

  • See the good
  • Reward results
  • Encourage effort.
  • Seek employee input

How do you promote respect?

  • Listen and be present.
  • Recognize and thank others.
  • Correct errors with compassion.
  • Make judgments based on what is correct rather than who you like.

Similar Posts

  1. BUSINESS ETHICS: Definition, Examples, and Benefits
  2. INTRODUCTION TO MARKETING: Definitions, Concept, Principles, Types
  3. ORGANIZATIONAL ETHICS: How To Design Organizational Ethics and Behaviour
  4. Ideal Work Environment: 2022 Essentials, Examples & Characteristics
0 Shares:
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You May Also Like