403(b) 与 401(k):哪个是更好的计划? (+优点和缺点)

403(b) 与 401(k)

作为工薪阶层的个人,有很多退休计划可供选择。 但是,如果您是自雇人士,您可能会选择 403(b) 或 401(k) 计划作为您的主要退休计划。 但是,它们之间有一些主要的相似之处。 但也有一些差异我们需要研究。 本文将揭示 403(b) 与 401(k) 的贡献限制。 我们还将讨论 403(b) 与 401(k) 的优缺点。 之后,我们将了解两者之间哪个更好。

图片来源:Debtfreeguys

当我们即将深入这个话题时,让我们首先分别讨论它们的含义。 现在坐下来,放松,学习和享受。 我们可以?

什么是 403(b) 计划?

403(b) 计划 是针对公立学校和免税公司的几名员工的退休计划。 涉及的个人包括教师、学校管理人员、教授、政府雇员等。

403(b) 计划与 401(k) 计划相关。 每个都允许员工以税收优惠的方式为退休储蓄。 但是,403(b) 中的投资选择通常更为有限,401(k) 仅对私营部门雇员开放。 

什么是 401(k) 计划?

401(a) 计划是一项退休计划,适用于在政府机构、非营利组织和政府教育机构工作的员工。 参与此计划的合格员工大多担任教师、管理人员和支持人员。 401(a) 计划属性在技术上与 401(k) 的属性相似,后者在基于利润的组织中更为固有。

401(a) 通常不允许员工为 401(k) 计划供款。 但是,如果员工离开组织,他有权将他的资金从 401(a) 转移到他的 401(k) 计划。

403(b) 与 401(k) 贡献限制

生活中的每一件事都有它的极限。 同样,403(b) 与 401(k) 的贡献限制。 每个计划都有其局限性。 让我们简要看看他们的贡献限制。

 

图片来源:Dwc401k

403(b) 的供款限额

403(b) 计划在许多方面类似于 401(k),它们的一个共同点是它们使您能够为退休做出大量贡献。

2020 年,19,500(b) 计划中员工的缴款限额为 403 美元,2021 年也是如此。对于 2020 年和 2021 年,6,500 岁及以上的人可以补缴 26,000 美元。 因此,将符合条件的总供款限额提高到 XNUMX 美元。

此外,一些雇主在他们的计划中增加了一个额外的补缴选项。 这使那些在该组织服务 15 年及以上的人可以额外捐款高达 3,000 美元。

401(k) 的供款限额

401 年 2021(k) 的供款限额与 2020 年相同,19,500 岁以下的人为 50 美元。50 岁及以上的人每年可以额外增加 6,500 美元的“补缴”供款。 因此,401 年的 2021(k) 捐款总额达到 26,000 美元。 对 401(k) 的供款通常在日历年年底前到期。

典型的 401(k) 是基于雇主的退休储蓄账户。 它是通过扣除税款之前的工资扣除来资助的。 这些捐款降低了应税收入,并有助于削减税单。 例如,如果您的每月付款为 10,000 美元,而您将其中的 2,000 美元用于 401(k),那么您的薪水中只有 8,000 美元需要纳税。 虽然这笔钱在您的帐户中,但随着它的增长,它会受到税收保护。  

是什么 403(b) 与 401(k) 的优缺点?

任何有优势的东西都有劣势。 同样,403(b) 与 401(k) 各有优缺点。 让我们来看看其中的一些。

403(b) 计划 优势

向 403(b) 账户供款的优势包括:

#1。 税收优势

 一般来说,403(b) 账户具有与 401(k) 和 IRA 相同的税收优惠。 您可以享受较小的税单,以换取退休分配税。 或者,如果您为自己的供款纳税,则可以在退休时免税提款。 这取决于您选择传统的还是 Roth 403(b)。

#2。 高贡献限制

 上面讨论的 403(b) 账户的缴款限额与 401(k) 缴款限额相当,远高于 IRA 缴款限额。

#3。 雇主匹配

 提供 403(b) 计划的雇主可能会提供匹配员工的部分个人贡献,就像提供 401(k) 的公司可能会做的那样。 每家公司都有自己的规则,关于如何、何时以及是否匹配员工的贡献。

#4。 更短的归属时间表

 归属时间表决定了您的雇主匹配资金何时由您保留。 这因公司而异,但 403(b) 归属时间表比 401(k) 归属时间表短。 一些 403(b)s 可能会提供立即归属,这意味着无论您何时离职,您都可以保留所有已获得的雇主匹配资金。

403(b) 计划 Di缺点

向 403(b) 账户供款时要识别的一些缺点是:

#1。 很少有投资选择

 直到最近,403(b)s 只提供可变年金。 虽然情况不再如此,但与 401(k) 或 IRA.

#2。 高额费用

 一些 403(b) 收取更高的费用,可能会消耗您的利润。 但是,并非所有人都如此。 为避免这种情况,请对计划的管理成本和与您的投资相关的任何费用进行一些调查。 此外,尽量保持这些尽可能低以最大化您的利润。

#3。 提前取款的处罚 

如果您在 403 59/1 之前从您的延税 2(b) 中提取资金,除了税款之外,您还需要支付 10% 的提前提取罚款。 但是,如果您有充分的理由,例如巨额医疗费用,则可以忽略处罚。 这也适用于 IRA 和 401(k)。

401(k)计划 优势

利用这种类型的投资有以下优势:

  • 显着的供款限额(目前,如果 19,500 岁或以下,每年 49 美元,如果 25,500 年 50 岁或以上,每年最高 2020 美元)
  • 所得税优惠包括用税前美元投资和账户上的延税增长,直到分配时
  • 潜在的雇主匹配
  • 紧急或金融危机情况下的贷款

401(k)计划 缺点

这些是 401(k) 计划的缺点。

  • 大多数计划的灵活性受到限制,因为它与投资选择的质量和数量有关。
  • 费用可能很高,尤其是在较小的公司计划中。
  • 提前取款的罚款相当于 10 59/1 岁之前取款金额的 2%。
  • 个人需要在计划提供者的帮助或指导下自行做出投资选择。
  • 成员需要随着时间的推移观察和控制他们的计划。 同样,计划提供者的帮助或指导很少。

403(b) 与 401(k):哪个更好?

计划的类型并不重要。 一个并不比另一个好。

不要评估 403(b) 和 401(k),而是估计计划的投资选择。 基本上,公司越大,计划费用越低。 因此,更多的人参与其中,从而降低了成本。 如果您管理一家小公司,请将成本较低的指数基金视为一种投资选择,而不是将资金投入价格较高的主动管理基金。

无论哪种方式,如果您的公司与您的贡献相匹配,请考虑参与该计划,直到他们将匹配的最高金额。 之后,如果该计划的费用很高,或者如果您想将投资扩展到您的 401(k) 或 403(b) 中未打开的选择,请开设 IRA。

是什么 403(b) 与 401(k) 计划?

401(k) 和 403(b) 计划有很多共同点,但它们的不同之处在于:

资格条件: 

401(k) 计划是开放的营利性公司,403(b) 计划由免税组织提供,例如学校、大学、医院、非营利组织和宗教组织。

投资选择:

 403(b) 计划仅涵盖共同基金和年金。 但是,401(k) 计划涵盖共同基金、年金、股票和债券。

雇主匹配

两种计划都提供雇主匹配,但较少的雇主提供与其 403(b) 计划匹配的雇主。 如果提供 403(b) 的雇主确实提供了匹配,他们必须遵守 1974 年通过的 ERISA(雇员退休收入保障法)制定的规定。遵守这些规定需要时间和金钱; 因此,大多数雇主都希望避免使用它们。

  成本: 

通过 403(b) 计划,政府不希望通过提供更高的管理成本来给非营利组织增加额外的负担。 然而,401(k) 计划对雇主来说更昂贵。 但没关系,这不会影响您作为员工。

总结

总之,403(b) vs 401(k) 计划都是好的计划。 一个并不比另一个好。 403(b) 与 401(k) 有其贡献限制。

不要评估 403(b) 和 401(k),而是估计计划的投资选择。

403 (b) 与 401 (k) 常见问题

403b 和 401k 哪个更好?

不要评估 403(b) 与 401(k),而是估计计划的投资选择。 基本上,公司越大,计划费用越低。 因此,更多的人参与其中,从而降低了成本。 如果您管理一家小公司,请将成本较低的指数基金视为一种投资选择,而不是将资金投入价格较高的主动管理基金。

403 B的缺点是什么?

向 403(b) 账户供款时要识别的一些缺点是:

  • 很少有投资选择
  • 高额费用
  • 提前取款的处罚: 

相关文章

  1. 401 (k) 撤回:规则和 4 种避免处罚的方法
  2. 401(a) 与 401(k):要理解的 13+ 个主要差异(带有简化指南)
  3. 男士服装商务休闲装:男士最佳商务休闲装(+tips)

0股
发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被公开。 必填 *

你也许也喜欢

403(b) vs 401(k): Which Is The Better Plan? (+ Pros And Cons)

403(b) vs 401(k)

There are lots of retirement plans to choose from as a working-class individual. However, if you are self-employed, you are possibly going to select either the 403(b) vs 401(k) plan as your main retirement plan. However, there are some major similarities between them. But there are also some differences we need to look into. This article will reveal the 403(b) vs 401(k) contribution limits. We will also discuss the advantage and disadvantages of 403(b) vs 401(k). Afterward, we will get to know which is better between both.

Photo Credit: Debtfreeguys

As we are about to dive into the topic, let us first discuss what they mean separately. Now sit, relax, learn, and enjoy. Shall we?

What Is A 403(b) Plan

403(b) plan is a retirement plan for several employees of public schools and tax-exempt companies. Individuals involved are teachers, school administrators, professors, government employees, among others.

The 403(b) plan is related to the 401(k) plan. Each allows employees a tax-advantaged means to save for retirement. However, investment options are usually more limited in a 403(b), and 401(k)s are only open to private-sector employees. 

What Is A 401(k) Plan

A 401(a) plan is a Retirement plan available for employees working in a government agency, nonprofit organization, and government educational institution. Qualified employees who participate in this plan mostly work as teachers, administrators, and support staff. The 401(a) plan attributes are technically similar to that of 401(k), which are more inherent in profit-based organizations.

The 401(a) usually does not allow an employee to contribute to the 401(k) plans. However, if the employee leaves the organization, he has the right to transfer his funds from the 401(a) to his 401(k) plan.

403(b) vs 401(k) Contribution Limits

Everything in life has its limit. Likewise, the 403(b) vs 401(k) contributions limits. Each plan has its limits. Let us take a brief look at their contribution limits.

 

Photo Credit: Dwc401k

Contribution Limits For 403(b)

403(b) plans are like 401(k)s in many ways, and one similarity they have in common is that they enable you to make large contributions toward retirement.

For 2020, $19,500 was the contribution limit for employees in a 403(b) plan, and it was the same in 2021. For both 2020 and 2021, people in their fifties and older can make a catch-up contribution of $6,500. Hence, bringing the total eligible contribution limit to $26,000.

Additionally, some employers add into their plans an additional catch-up contribution option. This allows those who have 15 years and above of service with the organization to make an additional contribution of up to $3,000.

Contribution Limits For 401(k)

The contribution limit to a 401(k) for 2021 is the same as 2020 at $19,500 for those younger than age 50. Those at age 50 and older can add an extra $6,500 per year in “catch-up” contributions. Hence bringing the total 401(k) contributions for 2021 to $26,000. Contributions to a 401(k) are generally due by the end of the calendar year.

A typical 401(k) is an employer-based retirement savings account. It is funded through payroll deductions before taxes have been taken out. Those contributions lower the taxable income and help cut the tax bill. For example, if your monthly payment is $10,000 and you contribute $2,000 of that to your 401(k), only $8,000 of your paycheck will be subject to tax. While the money is in your account, it is protected from taxes as it grows.  

403(b) vs 401(k) Advantages And Disadvantages

Everything that has an advantage has a disadvantage. In the same way, 403(b) vs 401(k) have their advantages and disadvantages. Let us take a look at some of them.

403(b) Plan Advantages

The advantages of contributing to a 403(b) account include:

#1. Tax advantages

 Generally, 403(b) accounts carry the same tax advantages as 401(k)s and IRAs. You can enjoy a smaller tax bill in exchange for taxes on distributions in retirement. Or tax-free withdrawals in retirement if you pay taxes on your contributions. That depends on whether you choose a traditional or Roth 403(b).

#2. High contribution limits

 Contribution limits for 403(b) accounts, discussed above, are on par with 401(k) contribution limits and much higher than IRA contribution limits.

#3. Employer matching

 Employers offering 403(b) plans may offer to match some of their employees’ personal contributions, just as companies offering a 401(k) might do. Each company has its own rules about how, when, and if it will match employee contributions.

#4. Shorter vesting schedules

 Vesting schedules determine when your employer-matched funds are yours to keep. This differs from company to company, but 403(b) vesting schedules are shorter than 401(k) vesting schedules. Some 403(b)s may offer immediate vesting, meaning you get to keep all employer-matched funds that have been made, no matter when you leave that job.

403(b) Plan Disadvantages

Some of the shortcomings to identify when contributing to a 403(b) account are:

#1. Few Investment Choices

 Up until recently, 403(b)s gives only changeable annuities. While this is no longer the case, this type of account allows more limited investment options than a 401(k) or an IRA.

#2. High Fees

 Some 403(b)s charge higher fees that can consume your profits. However, this isn’t true of all of them. To avoid this, make some inquiry into the plan’s administrative costs and any fees linked with your investments. Also, try to keep these as low as possible to maximize your profits.

#3. Penalties On Early Withdrawals 

If you withdraw funds from your tax-deferred 403(b) before 59 1/2, you’ll pay a 10% early withdrawal penalty in addition to taxes. However, the penalty is ignored if you have a good reason, like a huge medical expense. This is also applicable for IRAs and 401(k)s.

401(k) Plan Advantages

There are advantages of utilizing this type of investment:

  • Significant contribution limits (currently $19,500 per year if 49 years old or lesser and up to $25,500 if 50 or older in 2020)
  • Income tax benefits cover investing with pretax dollars and tax-deferred growth on the account until the time of distribution
  • Potential employer matching
  • Loans in the case of an urgency or financial crisis

401(k) Plan Disadvantages

These are the disadvantage of a 401(k) plan.

  • Most plans have restricted flexibility as it links to the quality and quantity of investment choices.
  • Fees can be high, notably in smaller company plans.
  • There can be early withdrawal penalties equal to 10% of the amount withdrawn before age 59 1/2.
  • The individual needs to make investment choices by themselves with very little help or direction from the plan provider.
  • Members need to observe and control their plans over time. Again with very little help or direction from the plan provider.

403(b) vs. 401(k): Which Is The Better?

The type of plan doesn’t really matter. One isn’t better than the other.

Instead of assessing a 403(b) vs a 401(k), estimate the plan’s investment choices. Basically, the larger the company, the lower the plan fees. Hence, more people are partaking, which brings costs down. If you manage a small company, examine lower-cost index funds as an investment option than placing money in higher priced actively managed funds.

Either way, if your company matches your contributions, consider partaking in the plan up to the highest amount they will match. After that, open an IRA if the plan’s fees are high or if you want to expand your investments to choices not open in your 401(k) or 403(b).

403(b) vs 401(k) Plan

401(k) and 403(b) plans have a lot in common, but here’s what sets them apart:

Eligibility: 

401(k) plans are open for-profit companies, and 403(b) plans are given by tax-exempt organizations, such as schools, universities, hospitals, nonprofit and religious organizations.

Investment Options:

 403(b) plans only cover mutual funds and annuities. However, 401(k) plans cover mutual funds, annuities, stocks, and bonds.

Employer Match

Both plans offer employer matching, but fewer employers offer matches with their 403(b) plans. If an employer who provides a 403(b) does offer a match, they have to follow the regulations created by ERISA—the Employee Retirement Income Security Act—passed in 1974. Complying with these regulations costs time and money; hence most employers want to avoid them.

  Cost: 

With the 403(b) plan, the government would not want to place extra burdens on a nonprofit organization by giving higher administrative costs. However, 401(k) plans are more expensive for employers. But never mind, this doesn’t affect you as an employee.

Conclusion

In conclusion, 403(b) vs 401(k) plans are all good plans. One is not better than the other. 403(b) vs 401(k) have their contribution limits.

Instead of assessing a 403(b) vs a 401(k), estimate the plan’s investment choices.

403 (b) vs 401 (k) FAQ

Which is better 403b or 401k?

Instead of assessing a 403(b) vs a 401(k), estimate the plan’s investment choices. Basically, the larger the company, the lower the plan fees. Hence, more people are partaking, which brings costs down. If you manage a small company, examine lower-cost index funds as an investment option than placing money in higher-priced actively managed funds.

What are the disadvantages of a 403 B?

Some of the shortcomings to identify when contributing to a 403(b) account are:

  • Few Investment Choices
  • High Fees
  • Penalties On Early Withdrawals: 

Related Article

  1. 401 (k) WITHDRAWALS: Rules and 4 ways to avoid penalties
  2. 401(a) vs 401(k): 13+ Major Difference to Understand (With Simplified Guide)
  3. Men’s Clothing Business Casual: Best business casual for men (+tips)

0 Shares:
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You May Also Like