年度百分比收益率:它如何与您的储蓄账户一起使用

年收益率
图片来源:Tokenhell

如果您有储蓄账户,那么年收益率对您来说非常重要。 为什么? 年收益率(或 APY)越高,您赚的钱就越多。 我们将在本章中解释如何计算年收益率。 但首先,让我们定义 APY。

年收益率的定义

年收益率(缩写为 APY)是一年内投资所赚取的利率,其中考虑了复利的影响。 以下公式用于计算年收益率:

年增长率 = (1 + r/n) n-1

这里,“r”代表规定的年利率,“n”代表每年的复利期数。 有效年利率或 EAR 是 APY 的另一个名称。

了解年收益率

当 APY 等于一个人的投资所支付的利率时,他正在赚取单利。 当APY大于利率时,利息是复利的。 这仅仅意味着他正在接受对他的兴趣的兴趣。

人们经常将 APY 与 APR 混为一谈。 没有复利的年利率称为 APR。 另一方面,APY 考虑了一年内复利的影响。 两者之间的区别会对借款人和投资者产生严重后果。

当银行或其他金融机构为货币市场账户和存款证等有息资产寻求客户时,促进其最佳 APY 而非 APR 符合他们的最佳利益。 由于 APY 大于 APR,因此对客户来说似乎是一项优越的投资。

APY 越高,复利期越频繁。 因此,那些将钱存入银行账户的人应该考虑这笔钱的复利频率。 通常,每日或每季度复利比每年复利更可取,但请先检查每个选择的报价 APY。

APY 示例

如果一个人以 1,000% 的年收益率将 5 美元存入储蓄账户,他将在年底收到 1,050 美元。

但是,银行可能每个月计算并支付利息,在这种情况下,他将在年底以 1,051.16 美元结束这一年。 在后一种情况下,他的年收益率将超过 5%。 这种差异起初可能并不显着,但在几年后(或加大投资)会变得相当大。 在这种情况下,我们计算年收益率如下:

(1+0.5/12)12-1= 5.116% 年收益率

年收益率(APY)可以准确地向投资者展示他们将获得多少利息。 他们可以使用这些知识比较选项。 他们将能够选择最好的银行以及是否愿意支付更高的利率。

如何计算年收益率

如果您知道您账户的利率,您可以使用以下公式手动计算年收益率:

(1 + r/n)n – 1 = APY

在这种情况下:

r 表示利率。

n 表示复利期数(如果利息按月复利,则为 12)

您的 APY 也可以由您的银行或信用合作社提供。

什么是复利?

复利定期发生,经常是每天或每月。 每日复利比每月复利更有利可图。

但是,除非您处理的是巨额金额,否则它通常太小而无需担心——即便如此,它也不会产生实质性的影响。 例如,100,000% APY 账户中的 0.50 美元在每天而不是每月复合时,一年仅多赚 0.10 美元。

在寻找新的储蓄账户或 CD 时,找到较高的年收益率应该是首要目标。 利率越高,你的钱就会增加得越快。

Apy 是否会发生变化?

这是由储蓄产品决定的。 如果您有储蓄账户,您的年收益率是可变的,可能会根据市场而上升或下降 情况. 如果您有 CD,那么您在注册时获得的费率通常是您在任期内获得的费率。 但是,如果您稍后注册另一张 CD,您可以获得不同的费率。

当美联储提高其关键利率时,储蓄账户和新 CD 的 APY 往往会同步上升。 当美联储像 2020 年 XNUMX 月两次那样降低目标利率时,APY 往往会下降。

无论基准利率如何,网上银行通常会提供最好的可用 APY——虽然这些机构倾向于在利率低时降低 APY,但在利率高时也会提高 APY。

要记住的重要一点是,由于网上银行提供最高的储蓄账户利率,它们可以帮助您比传统的实体银行更快地增加资金。

年收益率的意义

任何投资,无论是存款证 (CD)、股票还是政府债券,最终都以其回报率来衡量。 回报率本质上是在给定时间段(通常是一年)内投资增长的百分比。 但是,如果不同资产的复利期不同,则比较不同资产的回报率可能会有问题。 一个可能每天复利,而另一个可能定期或半年复利。

仅通过表示一年以上的百分比值来比较回报率会产生错误的答案,因为复利被忽略了。 了解复利发生的频率至关重要,因为存款倍增的频率越高,投资增长的速度就越快。 这是因为在此期间产生的利息每次复利时都会添加到本金余额中,并且未来的利息支付是根据更大的主要金额计算的。

在美国宣传计息账户时,银行必须包含 APY。 这会告诉潜在消费者一笔存款在一年内会产生多少钱。

APY 与 APR

APY 类似于​​用于贷款的年利率 (APR)。 APR 代表借款人在一年内为贷款支付的利息和费用的有效百分比。 APY 和 APR 都是标准化的利率指标,以年化百分比的形式给出。

然而,APY 认为 复利, 但 APR 没有。 此外,APY 等式不包括账户费用,只包括复利期。 这对投资者来说是一个至关重要的因素,他们必须权衡将从总体投资回报中扣除的任何费用。

APR 与 APY:利率

复利可以成为增加财富的非常有效的策略。 当利息复利时,您实际上是从您的利息中赚取利息,您投资和储蓄的时间越长,您的资金增长潜力就越大。

APR(年利率)和 APY(年收益率)是两个广泛用于描述储蓄账户、贷款、货币市场账户或存款证支付的利率的术语。 这些名称并没有表明这两个术语——以及它们所描述的利率——有何不同。

了解什么是 APR 和 APY 以及它们的计算方式将帮助您了解您的资金为您工作的难度。

一切都是为了复利 

APR 和 APY 是相对简单的定义词。 在储蓄账户的背景下,APY 代表投资支付的年利率。 APR 是指您在借贷的情况下为信用卡、贷款和其他债务支付的年化利率。 它包括贷款利率和贷方收取的任何费用。

APR 和 APY 之间的主要区别在于它们与您的储蓄、投资增长或借贷成本的关系。

在储蓄或投资方面,APY 会考虑对余额应用利息的频率,范围从每天到每年。 简而言之,您的利率复合频率越高,您的资金增长就越快。 APR 的功能不同。

复利是如何工作的

这是复利如何工作的说明。 假设您将 10,000 美元存入一个年利率为 5% 的在线储蓄账户。 如果一年只收取一次利息,一年后您将获得 500 美元。

另一方面,假设该利息按月计入您的余额。 这意味着 5% 的年利率将被分成 12 次较小的每月利息支付。

在这种情况下,每月的利率约为 0.42%。 第一个月后,您的 10,000 美元存款将使用此策略赚取 42 美元的利息。 也就是说,0.42% 将应用于第二个月的新余额 10,042 美元,依此类推。

在此示例中,即使 APR 为 5%,如果每月复利一次,一年后您会看到大约 512 美元的利息收入。 这意味着年收益率 (APY) 约为 5.12%。 如果您保持投资一年,这就是您将获得的实际利息金额。

当然,如果您正在考虑投资每年只对余额应用一次利息的东西,那么您的 APR 将与您的 APY 相同。 这不是常见的情况,您不太可能在银行遇到这种情况。

银行主要为储户推广 Apy

当银行为存款证或货币市场账户等有息投资寻找消费者时,宣传其最佳年收益率而不是最佳年收益率符合他们的最佳利益。

其原因不言而喻:年收益率较高,对消费者来说似乎是一项优越的投资。 找到较高的 APY 应该是当务之急,因为 APY 越高,复利的可能性就越大。

另一方面,在借款情况下,APR 则相反。 您希望车辆贷款、抵押贷款、信用卡或任何其他类型的融资的 APR 尽可能低。 APR 越低,您在整个贷款或信用额度期间支付的利息就越少。

此外,请记住,与借款相关的 APR 可以是可变的或固定的。 可变利率可以随着与其相关的指数利率的变化同时上升和下降。 另一方面,固定的 APR 将在整个还款期内保持不变。 因此,允许您预测您的每月付款和支付的总利息。 这对于通常持续 30 年的抵押贷款等长期贷款尤其重要。 与可变或可调整利率抵押贷款 (ARM) 相比,固定利率抵押贷款给借款人带来的风险较小。

APY如何确定?

年收益率(APY)标准化了回报率。 这是通过指示如果将资金存入一年,将以复利获得的实际增长百分比来实现的。 计算年利率百分比的公式为 (1+r/n)n – 1,其中 r 是期利率,n 是复利期数。

APY如何帮助投资者?

任何投资,无论是存款证、股票还是政府债券,最终都以其回报率来衡量。 APY 允许投资者通过逐一比较不同资产的不同回报来做出更有根据的选择。

你想要高APY还是低APY?

您的潜在投资回报率 (APY) 与您的资金投资率成正比。 但是,请记住,您的收入潜力与您目前拥有的现金量成反比。 APY 考虑了利率和利息的复利频率以得出最终数字。

1% 的 APY 好吗?

虽然一些支票账户提供超过 1% 的年利率,但绝大多数只提供微不足道甚至负的存款回报。 储蓄账户的典型年收益率 (APY) 仅为 0.1%; 然而,顶级储蓄账户提供至少 1% 的年回报率。

你能在APY上赚钱吗?

年收益率 (APY) 是衡量存款账户利率的指标。 储蓄账户、CD 和货币市场等存款账户是消费者赚取 APY 的常见场所。

现在最高的APY是多少?

截至 2023 年,您在全国任何地方的储蓄账户可以获得的最高年收益率为 4.10%。 (APY)。 将其与 FDIC 报告的全国储蓄账户平均利率(目前为 0.24% APY)进行比较,您会发现这只是我们下面排名中的最高利率之一。

为什么我的APY这么低?

当金融机构借出的钱的利率高于他们支付给储蓄账户存款的人的利率时,金融机构就会获利,这也是储蓄账户利率如此之低的原因之一。 当贷款利率较低时,金融机构通常会维持更低的储蓄账户利率以维持收入。

谁不符合 APY 的资格?

无法负担养老金计划的非正规经济中的工人有资格参加 APY,这是大约七年前推出的政府运营的社会保障养老金计划。

结论,

APY 决定了您在储蓄账户上赚取的利息金额。 因此,了解如何计算年收益率将使您深入了解开立储蓄账户时应注意的事项。

常见问题解答

年收益率是好事吗?

年收益率不错 因为它越高,你的钱增长得越快。

哪家银行的APY最高?

根据 Nerdwallet 的说法, APY最高的银行是Bread Savings.

我可以靠一百万美元的利息生活吗?

在股票市场投资一百万美元将在一年内赚取 96,352 美元的利息。 这足以维持生计。

  1. 共享证书:概述、模板、费率、格式(+快速工具)
  2. 免费商业支票账户:最佳 15+2022 选项和如何打开指南
  3. 现值公式:定义、示例、公式和计算
  4. 商业存款账户:2022 年最佳存款账户列表(更新)
  5. 财务费用:财务费用到底是什么? 为什么它们很重要?

发表评论

您的电邮地址不会被公开。 必填带 *

你也许也喜欢

THE ANNUAL PERCENTAGE YIELD: How It Works With Your Savings Account

the annual percentage yield
Image source: Tokenhell

If you have a savings account, the annual percentage yield will be of great importance to you. Why? The higher the annual percentage yield (or APY), the more money you make. We’ll explain how you can calculate the annual percentage yield in this chapter. But first, let’s define the APY.

Definition Of The Annual Percentage Yield

The annual percentage yield, abbreviated APY, is the rate earned on an investment over a year, taking into account the effects of compounding interest. The following formula is used to calculate the annual percentage yield:

APY = (1 + r/n) n-1

Here, “r” represents the stated annual interest rate, and “n” represents the number of compounding periods per year. The effective annual rate, or EAR, is another name for APY.

Understanding The Annual Percentage Yield

When the APY equals the interest rate paid on a person’s investment, he is earning simple interest. When the APY is greater than the interest rate, the interest is compounded. This simply means he is receiving interest on his interest.

People frequently mix up APY with APR. The annual interest rate without compounding interest is referred to as the APR. APY, on the other hand, takes into account the impact of compounding within a year. The distinction between the two can have serious consequences for borrowers and investors.

When banks or other financial institutions seek clients for interest-bearing assets such as money market accounts and certificates of deposit, it is in their best interests to promote their best APY rather than their APR. Because APY is greater than APR, it appears to be a superior investment for the client.

The higher the APY, the more frequent the compounding periods. As a result, those who save money in bank accounts should consider how frequently the money is compounded. Generally, daily or quarterly compounding is preferable to annual compounding, but check the quoted APY for each choice first.

Example of APY

If a person deposits $1,000 in a savings account with an annual percentage yield of 5%, he will receive $1,050 at the end of the year.

However, the bank may calculate and pay interest every month, in which case he would conclude the year with $1,051.16. In the latter situation, he would have earned an annual percentage yield of more than 5%. The difference may not be dramatic at first, but it becomes considerable over a few years (or with greater investments). In this case, we calculate the annual percentage yield as follows:

(1+0.5/12)12-1= 5.116% annual percentage yield

The annual percentage yield (APY) can show investors exactly how much interest they will receive. They can compare options using this knowledge. They will be able to choose the best bank and whether or not they want to pay a higher interest rate.

How to Calculate the Annual Percentage Yield

If you know your account’s interest rate, you can manually calculate the annual percentage yield using the following formula:

(1 + r/n)n – 1 = APY

In which case:

r denotes the interest rate.

n denotes the number of compounding periods (if interest is compounded monthly, this would be 12)

Your APY could also be provided by your bank or credit union.

What Is Compound Interest?

Compounding happens on a regular basis, frequently daily or monthly. Interest compounded daily is more profitable than interest compounded monthly.

However, unless you’re dealing with enormous amounts, it’s often too minor to be concerned about – and even then, it won’t make a substantial difference. For example, $100,000 in a 0.50 percent APY account earns only $0.10 more in a year when compounded daily rather than monthly.

Finding a high annual percentage yield should be a top goal when looking for a new savings account or CD. The higher the interest rate, the faster your money will increase.

Is Apy Subject to Change?

This is determined by the savings product. If you have a savings account, your annual percentage yield is variable and can rise or fall depending on market circumstances. If you have a CD, the rate you get when you sign up is usually the rate you’ll get for the duration of your term. However, if you sign up for another CD later, you can get a different rate.

When the Federal Reserve raises its key interest rate, APYs on savings accounts and new CDs tend to rise in tandem. When the Fed lowers its target rate, as it did twice in March 2020, APYs tend to fall.

Regardless of the benchmark rate, online banks often offer the best available APYs – while these institutions tend to lower their APYs when rates are low, they also increase them when rates are high.

The important thing to remember is that because internet banks offer the highest savings account rates, they can help you grow your money faster than traditional brick-and-mortar banks.

The Significance Of The Annual Percentage Yield

Any investment, whether a certificate of deposit (CD), a piece of stock, or a government bond, is ultimately measured by its rate of return. The rate of return is essentially the percentage of growth in an investment over a given time period, which is often one year. However, comparing rates of return across different assets might be problematic if they have different compounding periods. One may compound on a daily basis, whilst another may compound regularly or biannually.

Comparing rates of return by merely expressing the percentage value of each over one-year yields an erroneous answer because compounding interest is ignored. It is crucial to understand how frequently that compounding occurs, because the more frequently a deposit multiplies, the faster the investment grows. This is because the interest generated over that period is added to the principal balance each time it compounds, and future interest payments are computed on that greater main amount.

When advertising interest-bearing accounts in the United States, banks are required to include the APY. This tells potential consumers just how much money a deposit will generate over the course of a year.

APY vs APR

APY is similar to the annual percentage rate (APR) used for loans. The APR represents the effective percentage that the borrower will pay in interest and fees for the loan over the course of a year. Both APY and APR are standardized interest rate metrics given as an annualized percentage rate.

However, APY considers compound interest, but APR does not. Furthermore, the APY equation does not include account fees, only compounding periods. This is a crucial factor for an investor, who must weigh any fees that will be deducted from the overall return on investment.

APR vs. APY: Interest Rates

Compound interest can be a very effective strategy for increasing wealth. When interest compounds, you essentially earn interest on your interest, and the longer you invest and save, the more potential your money has to grow.

APR (annual percentage rate) and APY (annual percentage yield) are two terms that are widely used to describe the interest rate paid on a savings account, loan, money market account, or certificate of deposit. The names don’t make it apparent how the two terms—and the interest rates they describe—differ.

Understanding what APR and APY are and how they are calculated will help you understand how hard your money is working for you.

It’s All About Compounding 

APR and APY are relatively straightforward words to define. The APY, in the context of savings accounts, represents the annual interest rate paid on an investment. APR refers to the annualized interest rate you pay on credit cards, loans, and other debts in the context of borrowing. It covers both the interest rate on the loan and any fees charged by the lender.

The main distinction between APR and APY is how they relate to your savings, investment growth, or borrowing costs.

When it comes to savings or investments, APY takes into account how frequently interest is applied to the balance, which can range from daily to annually. Simply put, the more frequently your interest rate compounds, the faster your money grows. APR does not function in the same way.

How Compounding Works

Here’s an illustration of how compounding works. Assume you put $10,000 into an online savings account with a 5% APR. If interest is only applied once a year, you will have earned $500 after one year.

Assume, on the other hand, that interest is applied to your balance on a monthly basis. This means that the 5% APR would be divided into 12 smaller monthly interest payments.

In this situation, the interest rate would be around 0.42 percent every month. After the first month, your $10,000 deposit would earn $42 in interest using this strategy. That is, 0.42 percent would be applied to the new balance of $10,042 in the second month, and so on.

In this example, even though the APR is 5%, if interest is compounded once a month, you would see about $512 in earned interest after one year. That means the annual percentage yield (APY) is roughly 5.12 percent. And this is the real amount of interest you’ll earn if you keep the investment for a year.

Of course, if you’re thinking about investing in something where interest is only applied to the balance once a year, your APR will be the same as your APY. This is not a regular scenario, and you are unlikely to come across it at your bank.

Banks Primarily Promote Apy for Savers

When banks are looking for consumers for interest-bearing investments like certificates of deposit or money market accounts, it is in their best interest to advertise their best annual percentage yield rather than their best annual percentage rate.

The reason for this is self-evident: the annual percentage yield is higher, making it appear to be a superior investment for the consumer. Finding a high APY should be a priority, since the higher the APY, the more potential for compounding your money.

In a borrowing scenario, on the other hand, APR would be the inverse. You want the APR on a vehicle loan, mortgage, credit card, or any other sort of finance to be as low as feasible. The lower the APR, the less interest you’ll pay throughout the life of the loan or line of credit.

Also, keep in mind that APRs, which are linked to borrowing, can be variable or fixed. A variable rate can rise and fall in parallel with variations in the index rate to which it is linked. A fixed APR, on the other hand, would remain constant throughout the repayment term. Thus, allowing you to predict your monthly payments and total interest paid. This is especially crucial for long-term loans, such as mortgages, which typically last 30 years. Fixed-rate mortgages pose less risk to borrowers than variable or adjustable-rate mortgages (ARMs).

How Is APY Determined?

The annual percentage yield (APY) standardizes the rate of return. This is accomplished by indicating the real percentage of growth that will be gained in compound interest if the money is deposited for a year. The formula to calculate annual interest percentage is (1+r/n)n – 1, where r is the period rate and n is the number of compounding periods.

How Can an APY Help an Investor?

Any investment, whether a certificate of deposit, a piece of stock, or a government bond, is eventually measured by its rate of return. APY allows an investor to make a more educated selection by comparing different returns for different assets on an apples-to-apples basis.

In Conclusion,

The APY determines the amount of interest you earn on your savings account. Therefore, knowing how to calculate the annual percentage yield will give you an insight into what to look out for when opening a savings account.

Frequently Asked Questions

Is annual percentage yield a good thing?

The annual percentage yield is good because the higher it is, the faster your money grows.

What bank has the highest APY?

According to Nerdwallet, the bank with the highest APY is Bread Savings.

Can I live off interest on a million dollars?

Investing a million dollars in the stock market will earn you $96,352 in interest over the course of a year. And, this is enough interest to live on.

  1. SHARE CERTIFICATE: Overview, Templates, Rates, Formats(+Quick Tool)
  2. FREE BUSINESS CHECKING ACCOUNT: Best 15+2022 option & how –to-open guide
  3. Present Value Formula: Definitions, Examples, Formula & Calculations
  4. BUSINESS DEPOSIT ACCOUNTS: List of the Best Deposit Accounts in 2022 (Updated)
  5. FINANCE CHARGE: What Exactly Are Finance Charges? Why Are They Important?

0 Shares:
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You May Also Like