绕过信任:定义及其工作原理

绕过信任
长老法律答案

制定遗产计划是资产管理的关键步骤。 如果您已婚并打算将资产留给您的配偶,这一点尤其重要。 根据您的财务目标,旁路信托可能对您的遗产规划有益。

什么是绕过信托?

避税信托,也称为豁免或 A/B 信托,旨在减少或消除已婚夫妇的遗产 应纳税额. 它通常被设置为不可撤销的信托。 这意味着未经信托接收人的批准,它不能被更改或失效。 它拥有第一个去世的配偶的财产。 但是,尚存的配偶仍然可以使用信托基金。 例如,他们可以利用信托收入和本金支付医疗费用。

一个人可以在死亡的情况下将其遗产转移给他们的配偶,而无需为指定的财产缴纳税款。 但是,如果第二个配偶去世并将遗产留给子女,则任何超过 11.58 万美元免税限额的资产将按最高 40% 的税率征税。 这意味着如果单亲父母不希望对资产征税,他们的孩子资产价值不应超过 11.58 万美元。 已婚夫妇的限额为23.56万美元。

绕过信托如何运作?

假设一对夫妇的遗产价值超过联邦遗产税豁免。 婚姻扣除额允许在配偶之间免税转移资产,允许已故配偶的遗产转移给尚存的配偶,而无需支付任何遗产税。

但是,遗产税可能在第二个配偶去世后到期。 如果没有合适的遗产计划,幸存配偶的遗产肯定会包括已故配偶的所有遗产,可能会超过遗产税豁免。 这最终将减少留给未来接受者的钱,很可能是他们的孩子。

您可以通过将资产转移到旁路信托来避免遗产税。 因此,当您的配偶去世时,信托资产将分配给最终受益人。

您可以使用旁路信托将您的资产在两个信托之间分配,以使其价值低于联邦遗产税豁免。 因为它由两个不同的信托(A 和 B)组成,所以旁路信托也称为 AB 信托。

A信托

因为它保留资产供未亡配偶使用,“A 信托”也称为婚姻信托或幸存者信托。 信托通常是可撤销的,尚存的配偶作为受托人,有权对其进行修改,并在他们认为合适的情况下使用和使用资产。

B信托

“B 信托”是一种不可撤销的信托,持有的所有其他资产都可以免税,这就是为什么它也被称为信用庇护信托或死者信托的原因。

如果一对已婚夫妇今天计划,B 信托的资产价值应低于 12.06 万美元。 旁路信托的最终受益人通常是这对夫妇未来的继承人,比如他们的孩子。 但是,幸存的配偶可能被允许获得不劳而获的信托收入。

当第二个配偶去世时,旁路信托中的资产无需进行遗嘱认证,直接转移给最终受益人。 由于 B 信托是不可撤销的,因此他们免征遗产税。 除非在州法律规定的特定条件下,否则它们不能更改或终止。 信托拥有不属于任何个人的资产。

您应该咨询遗产规划专业人士来编写信托工具的条款,因为它必须包含特定的语言才能在 IRS 税收规则下合法地作为旁路信托发挥作用。

幸存的配偶可以成为旁路信托的受托人吗?

尚存的配偶可能并且经常确实充当旁路信托的 B 信托的受托人。 请记住,作为受托人,尚存配偶不拥有信托资产,也不能利用它们谋取个人利益。 未在配偶的纳税申报表上不报告旁路信托财产。 他们将作为受托人单独提交绕过信托税。

根据 IRS 税法,幸存的配偶可能被允许通过将其用于特定费用(健康、教育、维护和支持)而获得绕过信托收入。 这种分配的钱将被视为收入,必须在他们的纳税申报表上报告。

谁从绕过信托中受益?

如果您不担心缴纳遗产税,则不需要旁路信托。 超过现行税法规定的高额遗产税豁免更为困难。

此外,2012 年通过的另一项税收改革规定了可携带性,这意味着已婚夫妇可以将他们的联邦免税额合并在一起(到 24.12 年总计高达 2022 万美元),减去已故配偶在世期间使用的任何免税额。

但是,该法规可以更改——除非国会采取额外行动,否则豁免金额将在 2025 年之后到期。 绕过信托仍然可以提供不可撤销信托的其他好处,例如资产保护。 如果您或您的配偶有前婚子女,旁路信托可以帮助确保将遗产分配给您选择的受益人。 (例如,您可能希望将资产分配给您的孩子,而不是幸存配偶的继子女或新伴侣。)

绕过信托的优势

夫妻通常出于以下原因建立旁路信托:

  • 避免浪费遗产税豁免。 这是减少或消除您后代继承税义务的合法方法; 为什么不利用它呢?
  • 为了避免遗嘱
  • 清偿债务并将资产分配给继承人。
  • 为确保如果尚存的配偶结婚或遵循不同的遗产计划以获得 A 信托中的财产,则 B 信托中的财产将按照死者的意愿进行分配。

为什么要在遗产规划中使用旁路信托?

对于拥有大量资产的已婚夫妇,旁路信托可以减少联邦(和州)遗产税。

高达年度免税额的资产不受家庭或信托 B 部分的联邦遗产税的约束。 2019 年的上限为 11.4 万美元,已婚夫妇翻倍至 22.8 万美元。 如果家庭信托中的资产不超过该金额,则无需缴纳联邦遗产税。

未亡配偶在婚姻信托下的资产无需缴纳联邦或州遗产税。 幸存的配偶还可以为他或她的继承人提供税收和信贷庇护福利。 二级信托可以为子女或孙子女的利益持有资产。

此外,在旁路信托中持有的资产允许尚存的配偶避免遗嘱认证。 这是法院系统规定的对死者资产进行清点的法律程序。 它还清偿债务并将资产分配给继承人。 遗嘱认证不适用于绕过或其他信托形式保存的资产。

为绕过信托提供资金的资产

旁路信托几乎可以由遗产所拥有的任何资产提供资金。 幸存的配偶和他或她的律师一起工作,选择在第一次死亡时应将哪些资产放入信托中,以实现最佳的税收后果。 为旁路信托提供资金的一些最好的资产是现金, 人寿保险,公司的折扣部分,并迅速升值。 其他资产,例如 IRA、分期付款合同、 电子债券和年金的效果较差,因为受益人必须为从这些资产中收到的钱缴纳所得税,因为死者没有为这些资产缴纳所得税。

绕过信托的潜在缺点

创建绕过信任可能既昂贵又耗时。 通常需要专门从事此类信托的遗产规划律师。 如果您没有很多资产,那么遗产税优惠可能不值得建立信托的成本。

此类信托也必须持续维持。 因此,尚存的配偶负责管理信托资产并跟踪它们的使用情况。 如果配偶年龄较大,他们可以指定其他人担任受托人。 因为受托人有权为其服务收取费用,这增加了信托的成本。

旁路信托或 B 信托不提供尚存配偶对信托不可撤销资产的完全控制权。 幸存的配偶可以从信托中获得多少资金可能存在限制。 计划者必须确保有足够的资产从 B 信托中剔除,以便为幸存的配偶提供财务支持。

旁路信托也不能确保免除州遗产税。 根据您所在州的规定,您或您的配偶可能仍需就你们中任何一方去世时收到的资产在州一级缴纳遗产税。 与此同时,联邦遗产税立法可能会改变。 如果实施了较低的遗产税免税限制,则较大遗产的税收优惠可能会受到限制或消除。

婚姻信托和旁路信托有什么区别?

尚存的配偶通常可以获得婚姻信托的收入和本金余额。 旁路信托的原则可用于配偶的生存费用,例如健康和支持。 但是,幸存的配偶通常无法访问它。

其他的事情要考虑

升值较高的资产应存放在 B 信托中,这些资产将从第一任配偶去世之日起进行估值,但直到第二任配偶去世才征税。 这里的逻辑是资产将继续升值。

最后,受托人必须评估 公平市场价值 截至第一配偶死亡之日的信托资产。 鉴于股票、房地产、基金和其他资产的价值波动,这可能会带来不便。

总结

如果你和你的配偶有一个旁路信托,问问你自己是否真的需要它。 从了解最新税收规则以及您当前财务状况的人那里获得专家指导。 鉴于围绕联邦遗产税立法的不确定性,您可以选择维持信托,以防遗产税豁免再次减少,并且您面临国家税收义务。 或者,您可以在信托中加入“免责声明”条款,允许未亡配偶选择是否使用信托复杂的节税条款。

您的遗产价值主要决定了绕过信托在您的遗产计划中的重要性。 这还取决于您希望您的继承人或配偶在您去世时支付多少遗产税。

如果减少遗产税豁免,您可能需要绕过信托。 另一方面,如果您没有那么多,绕过信任可能不太有效。

绕过信任常见问题解答

谁是旁路信托的受益人?

如果一对已婚夫妇今天计划,B 信托的资产价值应低于 12.06 万美元。 旁路信托的最终受益人是这对夫妇未来的继承人,比如他们的孩子。 但是,幸存的配偶可能被允许获得不劳而获的信托收入。

旁路信托和幸存者信托有什么区别?

当尚存的配偶去世时,旁路信托中的资产将分配给最终受益人(通常是第一个去世的配偶的子女)。 相反,幸存者信托通常是可撤销的。 幸存者信托是尚存配偶的遗产份额。

幸存的配偶可以改变绕过信任吗?

尽管绕过信托通常是不可撤销的,但可以在幸存配偶的一生中对其进行修改。 为此,所有受益人都必须同意调整。

0股
发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被公开。

你也许也喜欢

BYPASS TRUST: Definition and How It Works

Bypass Trust
Elder Law Answers

Creating an estate plan is a crucial step in asset management. This is especially important if you are married and intend to leave assets to your spouse. Depending on your financial objectives, a bypass trust may be beneficial to your estate planning.

What is a Bypass Trust?

A tax bypass trust, also known as an exemption or A/B trust, is designed to reduce or eliminate a married couple’s estate tax liability. It is typically set up as an irrevocable trust. This means it cannot be altered or invalidated without the approval of the trust receiver. It owns the property of the first spouse to pass away. However, the surviving spouse retains access to the trust funds. They can, for example, utilize the trust income and principal to pay medical expenditures.

A person may transfer their estate to their spouse without paying taxes on specified property in the event of death. However, if the second spouse dies and leaves the estate to the children, any assets over the $11.58 million exemption limit are taxed at rates of up to 40%. That means a single parent should not leave their children assets worth more than $11.58 million if they do not want the assets taxed. Married couples have a limit of $23.56 million.

How Does a Bypass Trust Work?

Assume a couple’s estate is worth more than the federal estate tax exemption. The marital deduction, which allows for a tax-free transfer of assets between spouses, allows the estate of a deceased spouse to pass to the surviving spouse without any estate tax being paid.

However, estate taxes may become due after the death of the second spouse. Without a suitable estate plan, the surviving spouse’s inheritance will most certainly include all the deceased spouse had, perhaps exceeding the estate tax exemption. This will eventually reduce the amount of money left for future recipients, most likely their children.

You can avoid estate tax by transferring your assets to a bypass trust. So, when your spouse dies, the trust assets are allocated to the final beneficiaries.

You can divide your assets between two trusts using a bypass trust to keep their values below the federal estate tax exemption. Because it is made up of two different trusts — the A and the B — a bypass trust is also known as an AB trust.

The A Trust

Because it retains assets for the use of the surviving spouse, the “A trust” is also known as a marital trust or survivor’s trust. The trust is often revocable, with the surviving spouse acting as trustee and having the authority to amend it as well as utilize and spend the assets as they see fit.

The B Trust

The “B Trust” is an irrevocable trust that holds all other assets up to the estate tax exemption, which is why it’s also known as a credit shelter trust or decedent’s trust.

If a married couple was planning today, the B trust should have assets worth less than $12.06 million. The bypass trust’s final beneficiaries are normally the couple’s future heirs, such as their children. However, a surviving spouse may be allowed to receive unearned trust income.

When the second spouse dies, the assets in a bypass trust are not subject to probate and transfer directly to the final beneficiaries. They are exempt from estate taxes since the B trust is irrevocable. They cannot be altered or terminated except under specific conditions set down by state law. The trust owns the assets which do not belong to any individual.

You should consult with an estate planning professional to write the terms of the trust instrument since it must contain specific language to function legally as a bypass trust under IRS tax rules.

Can a Surviving Spouse be the Trustee of a Bypass Trust?

The surviving spouse may, and frequently does, function as trustee of the bypass trust’s B trust. Remember that as trustee, the surviving spouse does not own the trust assets and cannot utilize them for personal gain. The bypass trust property is not reported on the surviving spouse’s tax return. They will file bypass trust taxes separately as the trustee.

In compliance with the IRS tax code, the surviving spouse may be allowed to receive the bypass trust income from utilizing it for specific expenses—health, education, maintenance, and support. The money from this distribution would be deemed income and must be reported on their tax return.

Who Benefits From a Bypass Trust?

If you’re not concerned about paying estate taxes, you don’t need a bypass trust. It’s more difficult to exceed the estate tax exemption, which has been set high under current tax law.

Furthermore, another tax reform passed in 2012 provided for portability, which meant that married couples could pool their federal exemption together (up to a total of $24.12 million in 2022), minus any portion of the exemption used during the deceased spouse’s lifetime.

However, the statute is open to change—the exemption amount will expire after 2025 unless Congress takes additional action. A bypass trust can still provide other benefits of an irrevocable trust, such as asset protection. If you or your spouse have children from a prior marriage, a bypass trust can help ensure that the inheritance is distributed to the beneficiaries of your choice. (For example, you may wish for the assets to be distributed to your kid rather than the surviving spouse’s stepchild or a new partner.)

The Advantages of a Bypass Trust

Couples typically establish a bypass trust for the following reasons:

  • To avoid wasting estate tax exemptions. This is a legitimate approach to decreasing or eliminating your descendant’s inheritance tax obligation; why not take advantage of it?
  • In order to avoid probate
  • To settle debts and distribute assets to heirs.
  • To ensure that if the surviving spouse marries or follows a different estate plan for possessions in the A trust, those in the B trust are distributed in accordance with the deceased’s wishes.

Why Should You Use a Bypass Trust in Estate Planning?

For married couples with large assets, a bypass trust can reduce federal (and state) estate tax.

Assets up to an annual exemption amount are not subject to federal estate tax with the family or B portion of the trust. The cap for 2019 is $11.4 million, which doubles to $22.8 million for married couples. If the assets in the family trust do not exceed that amount, they are not liable to federal estate tax.

The surviving spouse’s assets under a marital trust are not subject to federal or state estate tax. The surviving spouse can also provide his or her heirs with tax and credit shelter benefits. Secondary trusts can hold assets for the benefit of children or grandchildren.

Furthermore, assets held in a bypass trust allow the surviving spouse to avoid probate. That is the legal procedure regulated by the court system for inventorying a deceased person’s assets. It also settles debts and distributes assets to heirs. Probate does not apply to assets kept in a bypass or other sort of trust.

Assets for Funding a Bypass Trust

A bypass trust can be funded by nearly any asset owned by the estate. Working together, the surviving spouse and his or her attorney choose which assets should be placed into the trust at the time of the first death to achieve the optimum tax consequences. Some of the finest assets to fund a bypass trust are cash, life insurance, a discounted part in a firm, and rapidly appreciating shares. Other assets, such as IRAs, installment contracts, E-bonds, and annuities, are less effective because the beneficiary must pay income taxes on the money received from those assets because the decedent did not pay income taxes on those assets.

Potential Drawbacks of the Bypass Trust

Creating a bypass trust can be expensive and time-consuming. An estate planning attorney who specializes in this sort of trust is usually required. If you don’t have a lot of assets, the estate tax benefits may not be worth the cost of setting up the trust.

Such trusts must also be maintained on an ongoing basis. As a result, the surviving spouse is in charge of managing trust assets and keeping track of how they are spent. If the spouse is older, they can appoint someone else to act as trustee. Because the trustee is entitled to a charge for their services, this increases the cost of the trust.

A bypass or B trust does not provide the surviving spouse complete control over the trust’s irrevocable assets. There may be limitations on how much money a surviving spouse can get from the trust. Planners must ensure that enough assets are left out of the B trust to provide financial support for the surviving spouses.

A bypass trust does not also ensure exemption from state estate tax. Depending on your state’s regulations, you or your spouse may still owe estate tax at the state level on assets received when either of you dies. Meanwhile, federal estate tax legislation could be altered. If lower estate tax exemption limitations are ever implemented, the tax benefits for larger estates may be limited or eliminated.

What is the Difference Between a Marital Trust and a Bypass Trust?

The surviving spouse can usually access both the income and the principal balance of the marital trust. The principle in a bypass trust can be used for surviving spouse expenses such as health and support. However, it is not normally accessible to the surviving spouse.

Other Things to Consider

Higher-appreciating assets should be placed in the B trust, where they will be valued from the date of the first spouse’s death but will not be taxed until the second spouse dies. The logic here is that the asset will continue to appreciate.

Finally, the trustee must assess the fair market value of the trust assets as of the death date of the first spouse. This can be inconvenient given the fluctuating values of stocks, real estate, funds, and other assets.

Conclusion

If you and your spouse have a bypass trust, ask yourself if you truly need it. Get expert guidance from someone who is current on tax rules as well as your current financial circumstances. Given the uncertainties surrounding federal estate tax legislation, you may elect to maintain the trust in case the estate tax exemption is reduced again, and you face a national tax obligation. Alternatively, you might include a “disclaimer” clause in the trust that allows the surviving spouse to choose whether or not to use the trust’s intricate tax-saving provisions.

The value of your estate mainly determines the significance of a bypass trust in your estate plan. It also depends on how much estate tax you want your heirs or spouse to pay when you die.

If the estate tax exemptions are reduced, you may require a bypass trust. On the other hand, a bypass trust may be less effective if you don’t have as many.

Bypass Trust FAQs

Who are the beneficiaries of a bypass trust?

If a married couple was planning today, the B trust should have assets worth less than $12.06 million. The bypass trust’s final beneficiaries are the couple’s future heirs, such as their children. However, a surviving spouse may be allowed to receive unearned trust income.

What is the difference between a bypass trust and a survivor's trust?

When the surviving spouse passes away, the assets in the Bypass Trust are distributed to the ultimate beneficiaries (which are usually the children of the first spouse to die). In contrast, a Survivor’s Trust is frequently revocable. The Survivor’s Trust is the estate’s share for the surviving spouse.

Can surviving spouse change bypass trust?

Despite the fact that the Bypass Trust is ordinarily irrevocable, it can be amended during the life of the surviving spouse. To accomplish this, all beneficiaries must consent to the adjustments.

0 Shares:
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You May Also Like