内部控制:内部控制的定义、类型和示例

内部控制

内部控制是公司为确保财务和会计数据的准确性、鼓励问责制和避免欺诈而实施的系统、政策和流程。 本文将向您介绍什么是内部控制、会计、示例和 COSO 框架。  

内部控制:概述

自 2000 年代初的会计丑闻以来,内部控制已成为美国每家公司的一项关键业务职能。 实施后,2002 年萨班斯-奥克斯利法案被实施以保护投资者。 特别是从会计欺诈和提高业务披露的准确性和可信度。 因此,使管理层对财务报告负责并生成审计线索。 这对公司治理产生了重大影响。 此外,被认定未能适当建立和管理内部控制的管理人员面临严重的刑事后果。

损益表附带的审计员观点取决于对用于创建损益表的流程和记录的审计。 同时,外部审计员将检查公司的会计系统。 并将内部控制作为审计的一部分,并提供对其有效性的看法。

更重要的是?

内部审计评估公司的内部控制,包括公司治理和会计制度。 此外,他们保证遵守规章制度。 财务报告和数据准确及时。 通过在外部审计发现问题之前发现问题并修复差距,可以保持运营效率。 内部审计在公司的运营和公司治理中越来越重要。  

尽管没有两个内部控制系统是相同的,但许多关于财务诚信和会计准则的关键思想已经建立了标准的管理方法。 尽管内部控制的成本可能很高,但有效实施内部控制有助于简化运营、提高运营效率并防止欺诈。

无论组织的政策和程序如何,都只能提供相当大的保证,即内部控制正在发挥作用并且财务信息是准确的。 此外,人为判断限制了内部控制的效率。 出于运营效率的原因,公司可能经常授予高层员工否决内部控制的权力,而内部控制可以通过串通来规避。

内部控制类型 

以下是内部控制的类型及其解释。

控制可以首先是预防性的,阻止欺诈和错误,或者其次是侦探性的,在问题发生后发现问题。 通过合作,他们可以通过解决现有问题和预防未来问题来促进正在进行的业务活动。

预防性内部控制

预防性内部控制操作,包括详细的文档和授权标准。 从而在第一时间努力防止错误或欺诈的发生。 此过程的一个基本组成部分是任务分离。 这保证没有一个人可以授权或记录。 或者控制金融交易和相关资产。 内部控制包括发票授权和费用核查。 此外,预防性内部控制还涉及限制对设备、库存、货币和其他资产的物理访问。

侦探内部控制

检测控制是捕捉对象的另一种方法。 或者您错过了第一道防线的事件。 然而,这里最重要的活动是和解。 用于分析数据集并在存在重大差异时采取适当的行动。 最后,会计公司的外部审计和库存等资产的内部审计是侦探控制的例子。

内部控制会计示例

以下是会计内部控制的例子。

#1。 职责分离:内部控制示例

在这种情况下,不同员工之间的工作职责是分开的,以限制错误或不当行为的危险。

#2。 物理限制:内部控制示例

当基础设施、库存、证券、现金以及其他贵重物品受到物理保护时。 然而,这可以通过使用锁、保险箱或其他环境限制来实现。 此外,访问权限仅限于具有必要权限的人。

#3。 和解

确保交易信息正确,所有交易均在文件中正确记录。 在不同人员维护的类似记录之间进行比较。 此外,从银行对账单进行核对以验证登记/记录就是一个例子。 登记

#4。 政策和流程 

提供指导和教育以确保在必要的质量水平上始终如一的绩效的政策、流程和文件已经到位。 因此,应在所有组织级别提供这些信息。 部门以及大学/组织。

#5。 审查交易和活动

经理对交易、运营和总结报告的审查有助于跟踪目标和目的的有效性。 还可以识别问题、识别趋势等。 具体实例包括:每月将预算报表与实际成本进行比较。 检查个人或非业务相关电话的电话活动数据。 员工查看他们的考勤卡和加班时间。

#6。 信息处理控制

基本上,在处理信息时,会进行一些内部控制,以确保交易的正确性、完整性和授权。 此外,对输入的数据执行修改检查或与批准的控制文件或总数进行比较。 此外,交易以数字方式进行核算,并管理文件总数。 并且还与过去的余额和控制账户核对。 对数据、文件和程序的访问受到限制,新系统的开发和对现有系统的更改也是如此。

#7。 模板

将财务文书工作正式化可促进一致性,这使得 审计 过程更容易。 尽管某些报告(例如资产负债表或损益表)具有共同的样式。 其他论文可能因业务团队而异。 此外,为估算、发票、采购订单、资金请求、收据和支出报告开发和使用相同的模板可确保在审计期间可以比较类似的项目。 精简这些项目是公司在采用更可见的控制系统时经常忽略的关键内部会计控制。

#8。 试算表

使用复式记账法可以保证账簿始终保持平衡。 然而,在复式记账系统中仍然可能发生错误和欺诈,因此为什么应该使用这种方法使用试算表。 试算表是一种会计控制,可以增加系统的稳定性。 通过维护贷方和借方的内部记录,组织可以及早发现问题。

#9。 备份数据

最容易被忽视的内部会计控制系统是数据备份。 由于准确的财务数据需要平台之间的技术连接,因此财务输入损失可能会歪曲报告并混淆审计。 此外,当技术出现故障时,以前的报告和关键数据可能会丢失,从而导致报告延迟并影响基本的会计任务。

当计算机服务器出现故障时,将数字文件备份到云端可以防止数据丢失。

重要信息

实施有效的会计控制是毫无意义的,除非员工接受培训以在发现问题或可疑行为时采取行动。 必须制定正式的程序来教育员工如何处理出现的问题。 此外,当怀疑有错误或恶意时,所有工人都应该知道他们可以告诉谁以及期望得到什么样的回应。 此外,他们的身份因此必须得到保护。

COSO的全部含义

Treadway 委员会的发起组织委员会 (COSO) 于 1992 年创建了一个用于评估内部控制的 COSO 框架。因此,该模型作为公认的内部控制框架得到广泛应用。 并且通常被视为公司判断其内部控制系统有效性的黄金标准。

COSO 内部控制框架

内部 控制将 COSO 框架模型定义为“由实体的董事会、管理层和其他人执行的过程,以合理确定以下目标的实现。 运营的有效性和有效性、财务报告的可靠性,以及最后遵守适用的法律法规。 

有效内部控制系统的基本五个组成部分协同工作,以支持实体的使命、战略和相关业务目标:

#1。 环境控制

  • 保持您的正直和道德理想。
  • 确保做出精通的承诺。
  • 利用董事会和审计委员会。
  • 促进管理思想和工作作风。
  • 建立组织架构。
  • 确定授权和职责。
  • 利用人力资源政策和程序。

#2。 风险评估

  • 第一,制定全公司目标。
  • 其次,纳入过程级目标。
  • 三是进行风险识别和分析。
  • 最后,必须管理变革。

#3。 活动受到控制

首先,遵守政策和程序,然后,提高安全性(应用程序和网络),管理应用程序更改过程,为业务连续性/备份做准备,应该进行外包。

#4。 通讯和信息

评估信息的质量,评估沟通的效果。

#5。 监控

持续观察情况,进行单独评估,并声明任何缺陷。

通过有针对性的领导、共同的价值观和强调控制责任的文化。 此外,这些组成部分协同工作,为组织内强有力的内部控制奠定了基础。 此外,在所有级别和所有职能部门定期识别和审查公司面临的众多风险。 此外,提前计划了控制措施和其他程序,以处理和最大程度地减少重大危险。 信息对于识别风险和实现通过既定渠道分布在整个企业的业务目标至关重要。 最后,定期对整个系统进行监控,及时处理故障。

有哪五项内部控制?

内部控制框架由五个相互关联的要素组成:控制环境、风险评估、控制措施、信息和沟通以及监控。

什么是内部控制的目标?

内部控制旨在阻止错误和异常、发现问题并确保采取正确的步骤来解决这些问题。

什么内部控制最重要?

角色分离、适当的交易和活动许可、充分的文件和记录保存、对资产和数据的物理控制以及独立的绩效检查是最重要的控制程序。

内部控制的好处是什么?

内部控制通过使公司以流程为导向而非以人为导向,降低了过度依赖少数关键人员的风险。 内部控制可以帮助您找到运营和合规程序中的重叠部分,从而为您提供精简业务的机会。

谁负责内部控制?

内部控制必须由管理层建立。 管理层必须维持足够的规则和程序,以维持有效的内部控制。 分享这些指导方针和政策。

什么是内部控制清单?

内部控制清单是一种工具,校园社区可以使用它来评估和改进内部控制,鼓励有效和高效的业务实践,并提高部门或职能部门的合规性。

总结

内部控制是公司为确保财务和会计数据的准确性、鼓励问责制和避免欺诈而实施的系统、政策和流程。

  1. 内部控制会计:它是什么以及会计系统
  2. 财务审计:您所需要的一切,简化!! (+详细的pdf)
  3. 商务沟通:如何制定有效的沟通策略
0股
发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被公开。 必填 *

你也许也喜欢

Internal Control: Definition, Types, and Examples Of Internal Control

Internal control

Internal control is the system, policy, and process put in place by a corporation to assure the accuracy of financial and accounting data, encourage accountability, and avoid fraud. This article brings to you what internal control is, the accounting, examples, and the COSO Framework.  

Internal Control: An Overview

Since the early 2000s accounting scandals, internal control has become a critical business function for every corporation in the United States. Following their implementation, the Sarbanes-Oxley Act of 2002 was put into place to protect investors. Particularly from accounting fraud and to improve the accuracy and trustworthiness of business disclosures. Hence, making management liable for financial reporting and generating an audit trail. This has had a significant impact on corporate governance. Moreover, managers who are determined to have failed to appropriately establish and manage internal control face substantial criminal consequences.

The auditor’s view that comes with an income statement is dependent on an audit of the processes and records that were utilized to create them. Meanwhile, external auditors will examine a company’s accounting systems. And internal control as part of an audit and offer a view on their effectiveness.

What’s More?

Internal audits assess a company’s internal controls, which include its corporate governance and accounting systems. In addition, they guarantee that rules and regulations are follow. That financial reporting and data are accurate and timely.  And that operational efficiency is maintain by discovering problems and fixing gaps before they detect it in an external audit. Internal audits are increasingly important in a company’s operations and corporate governance.  

Although no two internal control systems are the same, many key ideas concerning financial honesty and accounting standards have established standard management methods. Although internal control might be costly, effective implementation of internal control can help to streamline operations, boost operational efficiency, and prevent fraud.

Irrespective of an organization’s policies and procedures, only considerable assurance can be supplied that internal control is functioning and financial information is accurate. Moreover, human judgment limits the efficiency of internal control. For operational efficiency reasons, a company may frequently grant high-level workers the authority to overrule internal controls, and internal controls can be evaded through collusion.

Types of Internal Control 

Below are types of Internal control and their explanation.

Controls can be Firstly, preventative, deterring fraud and mistakes, or Secondly, detective, identifying problems after they occur. Working together, they can boost ongoing business activities by resolving existing issues and preventing future ones.

Preventive Internal Control

Preventive internal control operations, which include detailed documenting and authorization standards. So as to try to prevent mistakes or fraud from occurring in the first place. A fundamental component of this process is the separation of tasks. Which guarantees that no single person is in a place to authorize, record. Or be in control of a financial transaction and the associated asset. Internal control includes invoice authorization and expense verification. Furthermore, preventative internal controls also involves restricting physical access to equipment, inventories, currency, and other assets.

Detective Internal Control

Detective control is an alternative process to catch objects. Or events that you miss the first line of defense. However, the most significant activity here is reconciliation. Which is use to analyze data sets and take appropriate action when there are material disparities. Finally, external audits from accounting companies and internal audits of assets such as inventory are examples of detective controls.

Internal Control Accounting Examples

The following are the accounting internal control examples.

#1. Duties Separation: Internal Control Examples

This is when there is a segregation of work responsibilities among different employees in order to limit the danger of error or inappropriate behavior.

#2. Physical Restrictions: Internal Control Examples

When infrastructure, inventory, securities, cash, as well as other valuables are physically protect. However, this can be accomplish by employing locks, safes, or other environmental restrictions. Moreover, access has limit to those with the necessary authority.

#3. Reconciliations

To ensure that transaction information is correct and all transactions are properly in document. Comparisons are done between similar records maintained by various personnel. Moreover,  Conducting a reconciliation from bank statements to verify register/records is one example.  register

#4. Policies and Processes 

Policies, processes, and documentation that give guidance and education to ensure consistent performance at a necessary level of quality are in place. Hence, these should be provided at all organizational levels. Departmental as well as University/Organizational.

#5. Review of Transactions and Activities

Manager reviews of a transaction, operation, and summary reports aid in tracking effectiveness against goals and objectives. Also identifying problems, identifying trends, and so on. Particular instances include: comparing budget statements to actual costs on a monthly basis. Examine telephone call activity data for personal or non-business-related phone calls. Employees review their time cards and overtime hours.

#6. Control for Information Processing

Basically, when information is processed, a number of internal control is carried out to ensure the correct, completeness, and authorization of transactions. Moreover, modifying checks or comparing to approved control files or totals are performed on data entered. In addition,  transactions are accounted for numerically, and file totals are managed. And also reconciled with past balances and control accounts. Access to data, files, and programs is restricted, as is the development of new systems and changes to existing ones.

#7. Templates

Formalizing financial paperwork fosters consistency, which makes the auditing process easier. Although some reports, such as a balance sheet or profit and loss statement, have a common style. Other papers might vary greatly amongst business teams. Moreover, developing and using the same templates for estimations, invoices, purchase orders, funding requests, receipts, and expenditure reports ensures that similar items can be compared during an audit. Streamlining these items is a key internal accounting control that companies often ignore in their drive to adopt more visible control systems.

#8. Trial Balances

Accounting using double-entry guarantees that the books are constantly balance. Nevertheless, mistakes and fraud can still occur in a double-entry accounting system, hence why trial balances should be utilized with this method. Trial balances are a type of accounting control that adds stability to the system. By maintaining an internal record of credits and debits allows organizations to discover problems early on.

#9. Backup data

The most overlooked internal accounting control system is data backups. Since accurate financial data necessitates technological connection between platforms, financial input loss can skew reports and muddle audits. Moreover, when technology fails, previous reports and crucial data can be lost, causing reporting delays and affecting essential accounting tasks.

When computers servers fail, backing up digital files to the cloud protects data from loss.

Notable Information

Implementing effective accounting controls is pointless unless workers are train to act when they spot a problem or suspect conduct. Formal procedures must be developed to educate personnel on how to handle problems when they emerge. Moreover, when there is a suspicion of mistake or malicious intent, all workers should know who they can tell and what kind of response to expect. Furthermore, their identities must be secured as a result of this.

Full Meaning Of COSO

The Treadway Commission’s Committee of Sponsoring Organizations (COSO) created a COSO Framework for evaluating internal control in 1992. Hence, this model has been extensively as the generally acknowledged framework for internal control. And is commonly regard as the gold standard against which firms judge the efficacy of their internal control systems.

COSO Internal Control Framework

Internal control defines the COSO Framework model as “a process carried out by an entity’s board of directors, management, and other people to offer reasonable certainty of the attainment of objectives in the following. Efficacy and effectiveness in operations, Reliability of Financial Reporting, Finally, compliance with applicable laws and regulations. 

The underlying five components of an effective internal control system work together to support an entity’s mission, strategies, and related business objectives:

#1. Environment Control

  • Maintain your integrity and ethical ideals.
  • Ensure to make a commitment to mastery.
  • Make use of the board of directors and the audit committee.
  • Facilitate the ideology and working style of management.
  • Establish an organizational structure.
  • Determine the delegation of authority and duty.
  • Make use of human resource policies and procedures.

#2. Risk Evaluation

  • Firstly, Create company-wide goals.
  • Secodly, Incorporate process-level goals.
  • Thirdly, Conduct a risk identification and analysis.
  • Finally, Change must be managed.

#3. Activities Under Control

First of all, adhere to policies and procedures, Then, boost security (application and network), Manage the application change process, Prepare for business continuity/backups, Outsourcing should be done.

#4. Communication and Information

Assess the information’s quality, Evaluate the efficacy of communication.

#5. Monitoring

Continuously watch the situation, Carry out separate evaluations, Declare any flaws.

Through directed leadership, common values, and a culture that emphasizes responsibility for control. Moreover, these components work together to lay the groundwork for strong internal control within the organization. Furthermore, the numerous risks that the company faces are identified and reviewed on a regular basis at all levels and across all functions. Furthermore, control efforts and other procedures are plan ahead of time to handle and minimize major hazards. Information crucial to recognizing risks and fulfilling business objectives distribut across the enterprise via established channels. Finally, the whole internal control system is regularly monitored, and faults are treated in a timely manner.

Conclusion

Internal control is the system, policy, and process put in place by a corporation to assure the accuracy of financial and accounting data, encourage accountability, and avoid fraud.

  1. Internal Control Accounting: What It Is And Systems Of Accounting
  2. Financial Audit: All you need, Simplified!! (+ Detailed pdf)
  3. Business Communication: How to develop an Effective Communication Strategy
0 Shares:
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You May Also Like