什么是可接受的使用政策:您需要知道的一切

什么是可接受的使用政策
图片来源:安全计划

可接受的使用政策对您的业务至关重要。 员工的互联网活动,例如浏览非法网站,可能会将恶意软件注入公司网络并暴露出来。 此外,无意中将数据复制到存储云上可能会导致敏感公司数据的泄露。 因此,这些侵权行为可能会使公司面临法律诉讼。 受此疏忽影响的企业可能会因违反允许使用政策要求而提起诉讼。 继续阅读有关可接受使用政策如何运作的更多信息。

什么是可接受的使用政策?

可接受的使用策略,通常称为 AUP,是两方或多方之间的合同,规定应如何使用对公司网络或互联网的访问。 本文解释了用户在连接到此网络时可以做什么和不可以做什么。

AUP 对于为员工或学生提供互联网访问权限的企业和教育机构非常有用。 在被允许访问网络之前,他们必须同意这些条款和条件。 同样,当您加入互联网服务提供商时,您通常需要签署一份概述您协议条款的 AUP。

可接受使用政策涵盖哪些内容?

企业和其他设施使用 AUP 来保护其网络免受恶意用户的侵害。 审核的目标是确保每个人都仅出于必要目的使用互联网连接。 限制用户的行为可以帮助这些互联网服务提供商维护法律,同时保护其他用户免受网络安全威胁。 AUP 可能包括以下规定:

  • 使用服务时,避免触犯法律。
  • 不要试图危及网络或用户的安全。
  • 尽量不要发送垃圾邮件或垃圾邮件。
  • 不要试图用垃圾邮件或群发电子邮件使网站服务器超载。
  • 报告您观察到的任何异常网络活动。

为什么可接受的政策使用很重要?

如果您的公司提供互联网连接,您需要 AUP,原因如下:

#1。 防御网络安全威胁

企业和机构希望对其网络上发生的事情产生一些影响。 限制用户可以在 Internet 上浏览、下载和搜索的内容是维护安全网络的一部分。 如果学生或员工打开有问题的附件或访问不安全的网站,他们可能会将您的网络暴露给黑客和病毒。

#2。 确保用户没有从事非法活动。

AUP 可以帮助确保用户遵守法律。 例如,AUP 可以明确限制用户盗版音乐、电影或其他材料。 它可能会声明,如果用户违反这些规则,他们将被禁止使用网络。 在您的网络上违反法律的用户可能会成为您公司的责任,这就是为什么在您的 AUP 中详细说明这些被禁止的行为至关重要。

#3。 专注于生产力

学校也可以使用 AUP 来确保他们的学生专注于课堂作业,而不是在互联网上寻找乐趣。 此外,当年轻人使用互联网时,学校必须设置界限以保护他们免受不适当网站的侵害。 企业可以利用它来确保他们的员工专注于他们的任务,而不是社交媒体或个人互动。

起草可接受的使用政策时要考虑什么

在为您的公司开发 AUP 时,请牢记以下几点:

#1。 可接受的互联网使用

雇主应制定互联网使用政策,以确保其员工在工作时间内保持专注。 授予您团队的自主权级别应由他们执行的工作类型决定。 例如,创意团队可能需要更广泛地访问研究社交媒体趋势和流行文化。 其他团队可能需要访问新闻或当地报道才能正确开展工作。

在考虑什么是允许的时,请记住,您的员工希望被视为成年人。 过度受限的 AUP 可能会妨碍他们的工作,并给他们留下您不信任他们的印象。 许多企业限制以下类型的网站:

  • 社交媒体
  • 购物
  • 新闻资讯
  • 与个人的电子邮件/通信
  • 色情
  • 赌博
  • 违法行为

#2。 网络安全

大多数 AUP 旨在保护敏感信息。 描述员工在访问您的网络时应避免的风险做法至关重要。 数据泄露可能会花费您的公司及其员工大量的时间和金钱,因此在您的 AUP 中包含以下典型的安全策略:

  • 将所有密码保密并定期更改。
  • 在公司设备上,请勿使用公共 Wi-Fi。
  • 切勿打开任何意外的电子邮件附件或链接。 如果有任何可疑之处,请联系 IT 部门。
  • 注册双重身份验证。
  • 社交媒体仅允许用于专业目的。

#3。 个人信息

员工必须能够安全地相互传递机密信息。 概述员工如何在您的 AUP 中安全地提交、访问和保存公司数据。 如果发生数据泄露,AUP 可以指导员工如何解决问题。 概述当员工遇到网络问题时如何报告事件、向谁报告事件以及任何其他关键协议。

#4。 网站访客

许多机构为其访客提供单独的网络。 当访问者登录时,他们通常需要签署 AUP。 谨慎的做法是让您的法规对本文档中非雇员的人员更加严格。 确保客人无权访问内部文件或信息。

雇主如何改进可接受使用政策的执行

说服消费者同意您的条款和条件是一回事; 确保他们服从他们是另一回事。 使用以下建议来说服您的员工欣赏并遵循您的 AUP:

#1。 公开您的政策

用户经常在没有完全理解协议中包含的内容的情况下阅读 AUP。 因此,您的 AUP 规定也应包含在您的员工手册中。 此外,您应该向所有员工提供这些政策。 这可以在入职过程中完成,也可以作为 AUP 年度评估的一部分。

#2。 制定解决问题的计划

如果员工知道破坏您的 AUP 会产生实际后果,他们更有可能遵守您的参数。 如果检测到员工滥用网络会发生什么,制定明确的政策。 如果您发现用户违反了您的 AUP 规则,您必须施加一致的反响。 如果您一直为他们提供免费通行证,员工不太可能认真对待您的 AUP。

#3。 使用简单的语言和格式。

与其使用复杂的法律术语,不如用外行的话来编写您的 AUP。 合同律师可以帮助您创建一个易于理解的文档,但涵盖您的所有基础。 连同实际的措辞,确保其清晰易读。 为每个主题创建不同的部分。 长段落比项目符号和简短的单词更难阅读。

#4。 检查员工的知识

员工阅读政策后,测试他们的知识。 提前通知学生他们将被要求参加一个小测验,这将激发他们阅读完整的 AUP。 愿意解释 AUP 的任何方面,以便您的员工对其中包含的信息充满信心。

企业可接受使用政策的目的是什么?

可接受的使用政策是信息安全的关键组成部分,也是可用于证明“尽职调查”的文件。 在监管违规审计的情况下,这些标准可以保护网络和敏感的客户数据。

这些规则可以在发生数据泄露时保护您公司的声誉。

消费者、供应商、承包商和员工可能会给您的公司带来风险。 AUP 规则的主要目标是保护您的公司免受任何有权访问您的系统的人的侵害。

可接受的使用政策解决了无意和有意的用户行为。 此外,目标消费者了解指南的指示至关重要。 最重要的是,用户必须意识到法规会监控他们的行为,以便他们对自己的互联网活动负责。 仅此消息就可以阻止用户从事非法互联网活动和违反行为准则。

这些政策适用于组织中的每个人——没有例外——这包括更高的管理人员。

具有合法访问权限的用户当然可以在可疑活动对组织造成严重破坏之前帮助他们报告可疑活动。

什么是可接受的技术使用政策?

可接受的技术使用策略技术来帮助企业。 它可以保护您的公司免受未来潜在的麻烦。

AUP 可以保护您的公司免受潜在危险,例如被解雇的员工。 员工也可能限制访问某些网站。

为了实施这些规定,必须保持平衡。 访问互联网以进行精神休息的极端限制,例如阅读个人电子邮件,可能会影响企业的员工保留率。

这些只是员工为了遵守 AUP 要求而必须遵循的一些原则和指示:

  • 创建现实情况以证明可接受使用政策涵盖哪些技术。
  • 向员工解释 AUP 存在的原因以及合规性至关重要的原因。
  • 解释违反行为准则的后果。
  • 在讨论这些指南时,使用每个人都能理解的通用术语。
  • 更新允许使用标准对于确保不使用过时的技术至关重要。

一些组织可能会参考允许的工作场所技术使用法规。 另一方面,其他企业可能不会。

什么不应该是可接受使用政策的一部分?

AUP 访问仅用于合法目的。 用户接收、发送或保存的任何数据均由用户负责。 最重要的是,该材料受法律管辖。

违反的严格禁令包括:

  • 版权和商标数据的传输
  • 未经授权的产权专利
  • 威胁传播秘密材料
  • 未经授权访问网络数据监控系统
  • 发布诽谤、诽谤和威胁材料
  • 违反系统的安全和措施

可接受的使用政策禁止强调避免试图危害任何系统或网络安全的重要性。 最重要的是,商业信息和垃圾邮件是被禁止的。

AUP 的关键要素是什么?

网络管理员执行可接受的使用策略规定。 用户有责任遵守管理员制定的指导方针。

美国国家教育协会推荐了 AUP 行为准则的六个基本组成部分。

可接受使用政策的基本部分是……

#1。 序言

这是定义计算机系统涵盖和未涵盖的 AUP 目标的重要部分。 例如,教育机构翻译学生可以使用网络的条件以及限制。 序言指定用户应如何使用计算机服务。

#2。 定义部分 

这用外行的话解释了这些政策。 这将验证网络用户是否理解可接受使用政策所使用的语言和术语。

#3。 政策声明

可接受使用政策的计算机服务在政策声明中进行了描述。 这个关键组件总结了管理用户网络访问的规则。 例如,在教育机构中,学生将根据他们在计算机上执行的任务来访问网络。 在那种情况下,这将是一个课堂项目和家庭作业。

#4。 可接受的用途部分

可接受的使用部分根据 AUP 定义了计算机网络的行为准则——例如,学习中心。 它只允许学生将计算机网络用于教育目的。 员工和承包商将只能有限地访问工作站网络以完成与工作相关的任务。

#5。 不可接受的用途部分

不可接受的使用部分描述了可接受的使用政策认为可接受和不可接受的内容。 不可接受的使用部分的主要部分概述了行为准则。 它还监视用户通过网络发送和接收的内容。

可接受的使用政策通常禁止哪些类型的活动?

可接受的使用政策通常禁止的活动包括:未经授权访问系统或数据、黑客攻击或破解、分发恶意软件、下载或分发盗版软件、发送未经请求的电子邮件以及访问或分发不当或非法内容。

谁负责执行可接受的使用政策?

执行可接受的使用策略通常是组织的 IT 部门或安全团队的责任,并根据需要得到其他部门的支持。

如果员工违反可接受的使用政策会怎样?

如果员工违反可接受的使用政策,他们可能会受到纪律处分,情节严重者将被解雇。

如何向员工传达可接受的使用政策?

可接受的使用政策通常通过书面文档和培训相结合的方式传达给员工。 应在入职过程中与新员工一起审查,并应定期与所有员工一起审查。

如何更新或修改可接受的使用政策?

应根据需要定期审查和更新可接受的使用政策,以反映技术或法律要求的变化或解决新的或正在出现的威胁。 更新或修改政策的过程应包括相关利益相关者的意见,并应传达给所有员工。

结论,

所有教育机构和公司都必须有可接受的使用政策。 它有助于保护系统免受网络攻击和其他挑战。 

常见问题解答

可接受使用政策和合理使用政策有什么区别?

两者没有区别。 合理使用政策与可接受使用政策相同。

谁拥有可接受的使用政策?

本可接受使用政策归行政副主任所有,他负责确保所有有权访问国家信息资产的工人都了解该政策并了解他们的具体义务。

什么是 BYOD 政策?

BYOD 是一项允许员工将自己的设备用于工作相关目的的政策。

  1. 合同律师:您需要了解的有关合同律师的信息
  2. 最佳政策管理软件:2022 年评论
  3. 终止原因:可能导致它的原因
  4. 2022 年所有企业都需要关注网络安全的四个原因
  5. 最佳政策管理软件:2022 年评论

参考资料

0股
发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被公开。

你也许也喜欢

WHAT IS ACCEPTABLE USE POLICY: All You Need To Know

What is acceptable use policy
Image source: Security Program

An acceptable use policy is essential for your business. Employee internet activities, such as browsing unlawful websites, might inject malware into the company’s network and expose it. Furthermore, unintentional data copying onto a storage cloud can result in the release of sensitive company data. As a result, these infringements may expose the company to legal action. Businesses impacted by this negligence may file a lawsuit for violating permissible use policy requirements. Read on for more on how an acceptable use policy works.

What Is an Acceptable Use Policy?

An acceptable use policy, often known as an AUP, is a contract between two or more parties that specifies how access to a corporate network or the internet should be used. This paper explains what users may and may not do when they connect to this network.

An AUP is useful for businesses and educational institutions that give employees or students internet access. They must agree to these terms and conditions before being permitted network access. Similarly, when you join up with an internet service provider, you are normally required to sign an AUP that outlines the terms of your agreement.

What Does an Acceptable Use Policy Cover?

An AUP is used by businesses and other facilities to secure their networks from malicious users. The goal of an audit is to guarantee that everyone is only using an internet connection for necessary purposes. Limiting what users can do can assist these internet service providers in upholding the law while also protecting other users from cybersecurity threats. An AUP may include the following provisions:

  • While using the service, avoid breaking the law.
  • Do not attempt to compromise the network’s or users’ security.
  • Try not to send spam or trash mail.
  • Do not try to overload a website’s server with a spam or mass emails.
  • Report any unusual network activities you observe.

Why Are Acceptable Use of Policies Important?

If your company provides an internet connection, you need an AUP for the following reasons:

#1. Defending Against Cybersecurity Threats

Businesses and institutions desire to have some influence over what happens on their networks. Limiting what users may browse, download, and search for on the internet is part of maintaining a secure network. If a student or employee opens a questionable attachment or visits an insecure website, they may expose your network to hackers and viruses.

#2. Ensure that users are not engaging in illegal activity.

An AUP can help ensure that users are abiding by the law. An AUP, for example, may expressly restrict users from pirating music, movies, or other materials. It may state that if a user violates these rules, they will be barred from using the network. Users that violate the law on your network can become a liability for your company, which is why detailing these prohibited actions in your AUP is critical.

#3. Concentrate on Productivity

Schools may also employ an AUP to ensure that their pupils are focused on classwork rather than seeking things up on the internet for fun. In addition, when young people use the internet, schools must set boundaries to safeguard them from inappropriate websites. Businesses can utilize it to ensure that their staff is focused on their tasks rather than on social media or personal interactions.

What to Think About When Drafting an Acceptable Use Policy

When developing an AUP for your company, keep the following points in mind:

#1. Acceptable Internet Use

Employers should have an internet use policy in place to ensure that their staff stays focused during working hours. The level of autonomy granted to your team should be determined by the type of work they perform. For example, creative teams may require a broader range of access to research social media trends and pop culture. Other teams may require access to the news or local reports in order to conduct their jobs properly.

When considering what is permissible, keep in mind that your employees want to be treated like adults. An overly restricted AUP may impede their job and give them the impression that you do not trust them. Many businesses limit the following types of websites:

  • Social media
  • Streaming
  • Shopping
  • News
  • Email/communications with individuals
  • Pornography
  • Gambling
  • Illegal behavior

#2. Cybersecurity

Most AUPs are designed to protect sensitive information. It is critical that you describe the risky practices that employees should avoid when accessing your network. A data breach could cost your company and its employees a lot of time and money, so include the following typical security policies in your AUP:

  • Keep all passwords private and change them on a regular basis.
  • On corporate devices, do not utilize public Wi-Fi.
  • Never open any unexpected email attachments or links. Contact the IT department if anything appears suspect.
  • Enroll in two-factor authentication.
  • Social media is solely permitted for professional purposes.

#3. Personal Information

Employees must be able to securely convey confidential information to one another. Outline how employees can safely submit, access, and keep company data in your AUP. If a data breach occurs, an AUP can instruct employees on how to address the issue. Outline how to report an incident, who to report it to, and any other critical protocols for when an employee encounters a network problem.

#4. Visitors to the Site

Many establishments have a separate network for their visitors. When a visitor logs in, they are normally required to sign an AUP. It is prudent to make your regulations even harsher for people who are not employees in this document. Ensure that guests do not have access to internal files or information.

How Employers Can Improve the Enforcement of Acceptable Use Policies

It’s one thing to convince consumers to agree to your terms and conditions; it’s quite another to ensure they obey them. Use the following suggestions to convince your employees to appreciate and follow your AUP:

#1. Make Your Policies Public

Users frequently read over an AUP without fully comprehending what is included in the agreement. As a result, the provisions of your AUP should also be included in your employee handbook. In addition, you should make the policies available to all employees. This could be done during the onboarding process or as part of an annual evaluation of your AUP.

#2. Make a Plan to Address Issues

Employees are more likely to obey your parameters if they know there are real consequences for breaking your AUP. Establish a clear policy for what will happen if an employee is detected misusing the network. If you discover that a user is violating the rules of your AUP, you must impose consistent repercussions. Employees are unlikely to take your AUP seriously if you offer them a free pass all of the time.

#3. Use Simple Language and Formatting.

Rather than employing complicated legal jargon, compose your AUP in layman’s words. A contract lawyer can assist you in creating an easy-to-understand document that nevertheless covers all of your bases. Along with the actual wording, ensure that it is legible. Create distinct sections for each topic. Long paragraphs are far more difficult to read than bullet points and brief words.

#4. Examine Your Employees’ Knowledge

After employees have read the policy, put their knowledge to the test. Informing students ahead of time that they would be required to take a short quiz will inspire them to read the full AUP. Be willing to explain any aspect of the AUP so that your staff has confidence in the information included inside.

What is the Purpose of Acceptable Use Policies in Businesses?

Acceptable Use Policies are a critical component of information security and a document that can be used to demonstrate “due diligence.” In the case of a regulatory breach audit, these standards protect the network and sensitive client data.

These rules can protect your company’s reputation in the event of a data breach.

Consumers, vendors, contractors, and employees may pose a risk to your firm. The primary goal of AUP rules is to protect your company from anyone who has access to your systems.

Acceptable Use Policies address both unintentional and intentional user behavior. Furthermore, it is critical that the intended consumer understands the guidelines’ directions. Most essential, users must be aware that the regulations monitor their conduct so that they can be held accountable for their internet activities. This message alone may dissuade users from engaging in illicit internet activity and from violating the code of conduct.

The policies apply to everyone in the organization – no exceptions — and this includes higher management executives.

Users with lawful access can certainly assist in reporting suspicious activity before they wreak havoc on the organization.

What is an Acceptable Technology Use Policy?

Acceptable technology use policy technology to help businesses. It can shield your firm from potential future troubles.

The AUP can defend your firm against potential hazards such as a dismissed employee. Employees may also have restricted access to some sites.

There must be a balance in order to implement these regulations. Extreme restrictions on accessing the internet for a mental break, such as reading personal emails, can have an impact on staff retention in businesses.

These are only a few of the principles and directions that employees must follow in order to comply with AUP requirements:

  • Create realistic situations to demonstrate which technologies are covered by the acceptable use policy.
  • Explain to employees why the AUP exists and why compliance is critical.
  • Explain the ramifications of a violation of the code of conduct.
  • Use common terminology that everyone can comprehend when discussing these guidelines.
  • Updating permitted use standards is critical to ensuring that no obsolete technology is used.

Some organizations may refer to permissible workplace technology use regulations. Other businesses, on the other hand, might not.

What Should Not Be Part of Acceptable Use Policy?

AUP access is only for legal purposes. Any data received, sent, or kept by the user is the user’s responsibility. Most significantly, the material is governed by laws.

Strict prohibitions that are unlawful if broken include:

  • Transmission of copyright and trademark data
  • Unauthorized patenting of property rights
  • Threatening transmission of secret material
  • Unauthorized access to network data monitoring systems
  • Posting libelous, defamatory, and threatening material
  • Breach of the system’s security and measures

Acceptable use policy prohibitions emphasize the importance of avoiding attempting to compromise the security of any system or network. Most significantly, commercial messages and e-mail spamming are prohibited.

What are The Key Elements of an AUP?

The network administrator enforces acceptable usage policy regulations. It is the user’s responsibility to follow the guidelines as established by the administrator.

The National Education Association recommended six fundamental components for the AUP code of conduct.

The fundamental parts of the Acceptable Use Policy are…

#1. The Preamble

This is an important piece that defines the AUP aims that are and are not covered in computer systems. An educational institution, for example, translates the conditions under which students can use the network as well as the restrictions. The preamble specifies how users should utilize computer services.

#2. The Definition Section 

This explains the policies in layman’s terms. This verifies that network users comprehend the language and terminology used by the Acceptable Use Policies.

#3. The Policy Statement

The Acceptable Use Policy’s computer services are described in the Policy Statement. This crucial component summarizes the rules that govern network access for users. For example, in educational institutions, pupils will have network access according to the task they will perform on the computer. It will be a class project and homework in that scenario.

#4. The Acceptable Uses Section

Acceptable Uses Section defines the computer network’s code of conduct in accordance with AUP — for example, learning centers. It will only allow the student to use the computer network for educational purposes. Employees will have limited access to the workstation network for work-related tasks, as will contractors.

#5. The Unacceptable Uses Section

An Unacceptable Uses Section describes what the Acceptable Use Policy considers acceptable and unacceptable. The primary part of the unacceptable usage section outlines the code of conduct. It also monitors what users send and receive over the network.

In Conclusion,

All educational institutions and corporations must have an Acceptable Use Policy. It helps protect the systems from cyber attacks and other challenges. 

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the difference between acceptable use policy and a fair use policy?

There is no difference between the two. A fair use policy is the same as an acceptable use policy.

Who owns the acceptable use policy?

This Acceptable Use Policy is owned by the Deputy Director of Administration, who is responsible for ensuring that all workers having access to state information assets are aware of the policy and understand their specific obligations.

What is BYOD policy?

BYOD is a policy that permits employees to use their own devices for work-related purposes.

  1. CONTRACT LAWYER: What You Need To Know About a Contract Lawyer
  2. BEST POLICY MANAGEMENT SOFTWARE: 2022 Reviews
  3. TERMINATION FOR CAUSE: Reasons That Could Lead To It
  4. Four Reasons Why All Businesses Need to Pay Attention to Cybersecurity in 2022
  5. BEST POLICY MANAGEMENT SOFTWARE: 2022 Reviews

References

0 Shares:
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You May Also Like